Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Monterey 2 stars

2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#14 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Breakfast was great a big variety. Love the rooms clean and fresh smelling. Love the extra touches the Neutrogena products and the coffee cups. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean and remodeled, A Little Out of the Way But a Good, Reasonable Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is a little out of the way, although there are fast food and other places to eat within a short walk

    Hampton has been remodeling their hotels and this one was very similar to one I stayed at elsewhere earlier this year. The hotel looks like it was recently remodeled and they addressed every detail. The room had modern outlets, with a number of plugs, USB plugs, etc. And plenty of space to lay out your stuff, or put it away. Same for the bathroom. Our room did not face the street so I don’t know about the noise level if you faced the street. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet was typical with plenty of choices, waffle machine, etc. Lots of parking, but one night it did get full. So if the hotel is full, parking on site might be a problem. The hotel is not in the best location if you wanted to walk to Cannery Row or Fisherman’s Wharf. You really need to drive, albeit just a few minutes. But, there is plenty of parking in Monterrey (albeit for a price), but the cost difference of staying at the Hampton is worth it. Staff was very attentive. And as is the case with the remodeled Hamptons, they have a little shop to get food items, snacks etc. wifi was fast and easily accessible and worked well web photos are fairly accurate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues.

    Very good location, near the highway and Monterey. Friendly staff & good breakfast. To go bags with water and snacks were a nice plus. Luggage carts available, which are also nice. Room was very nice, no issues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The rooms are great, the breakfast not so much. I would stay there again, though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I extended our stay before we arrived. I was quoted one price on the phone, but charged another once we got there. Since it was technically two reservations, I was given the option of staying in the room of our first night moving. I opted to stay. There was some miscommunication with my situation and the staff members, and after some very terse back and forth, we were able to stay in our room. I just expect a company to keep promises they make to their customers without having to argue for 30 minutes.

    We loved how clean the hotel was. The room was big and well appointed. The decor was fresh and updated. It was close to the aquarium and cannery row, which made navigating Monterey very easy to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    Denise and Sheevani at the front desk were terrific. Their customer service was exceptional. Bookings.com listed our reservation with an unidentifiable name. We will never use that service again. The front desk personnel was concerned we may have had reservations with another hotel and would be charged. They patiently waited and assisted us with WIFI service to help us find our reservation. Finally finding the confirmation number, the staff was able to find the reservation under a bizarre name. Denise and Sheevani were concerned, caring, cordial and patient. Wonderful customer service exceeding any expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Weekday Get Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Clean, decor nice, quiet location. Bathrm nice,continental brkfst good. Reception name Hope VERY accommodating. Much appreciated No complaints. Recommend Yes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car window was smashed in and things stolen from our car. Management never even tried to find us to apologize for something that happened on their property. We were told that happens often! This ordeal messed up our only full day in Monterey!

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator button is a little buggy, but other than that, its great!

    The morning spread was WAY past your average continental breakfast. There was a decent pastry selection, oatmeal station, fruit, breakfast meats and eggs, cereals, and a make your own waffles breakfast! We also arrived early, and the staff got our room ready ASAP. They really hustled, an its so appreciated. All facilities were up to cleanliness standards. The gym was small, but no one uses it, so it was like a private personal gym :) ALL YOU NEED.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Easy to get to off the freeway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more parking. Front desk staff should always ask what form of payment is being used before running the credit card on file.

    Easy to get to off the freeway. It was well kept and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    comfort stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the seating area is bit far to the area food was. location is bit far to the central area of monterey.

    the hotel is very new, in google map, it shows as a La Quinta Inn. but, it's a hampton inn now. size of room (queen beds room we have) is very good. big space near window for you to put and open your suitcase (we have 3 suitcases)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    The bed was nice and firm, my wife did not have any back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs a pool or jacuzzi. Was very disappointed to discover that they had neither here. It does not live up to the typical Hampton standard. It is an older re-branded property that Hampton has acquired and does not live up to that standard yet. The site itself is in a little bit of a sketchy area with questionable people living across the fence in a homeless lifestyle. make sure and lock your door.

    The bed was nice and firm, my wife did not have any back problems during our stay, which made us wonder if we may need a mattress like there's at home. The food was good with a nice daily variety of the hot selections.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight

    Great location. Easy access to everything. The Breakfast was good. The place was Clean and the staff were friendly. will be back again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't have a car it's impossible to stay there, it's far from the city center. But by car 10min way.

    The room was great, wonderful bed and pillows, breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Great place 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool but beach is really close. Parking situation late in evening is complicated. The night time manager actually moved his car so we could have his spot.

    Everything was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Hidden gem, great location and great accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good.

    Everything, especially the creshness of the property and the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Clean comfortable, and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all great.

    Spacious room, great location right next to a RailTrail into Monterey, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Consistent of Hampton Inn. Happy with stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little hard.

    Quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Just the job!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel with everything you need and nothing you don’t. An excellent inclusive breakfast along the way to start the day too. All good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition unit in our room too loud.

    Very clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for the money. Many options at breakfast. comfortable beds and big rooms. Great location when passing by to Big Sur

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Spacious comfy room, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average, with very limited healthy food options.

    Spacious comfy room, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for Monterey visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find needs a better street visibility

    Nice room. Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Pillows to bed uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows to bed uncomfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    they seems like forget put the shampoo in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they seems like forget put the shampoo in my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Relatively new but poor paint or flooring left bad smell and the place is a bit conjested
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a real bad new paint smell, toilet ran slow, and too much traffic noise.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff was wonderful - gave great tips on sites to see! Room was perfect size and breakfast hit the spot each day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Our room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the parking lot. Too small.

    Our room was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit out of the way but a very easy drive to all local attractions.

    Excellent rooms, the always good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    our stay was amazing and quiet
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the street signage was a lil vauge they were really hard to see making the property easy to miss

    the cleanliness of the room was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Nice And Elegant Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    The look the location and the landscape

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very nice place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    This hotel was an ideal location for us being a short drive from Monterey, with comfy clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, friendly, modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, clean place. Location near the highway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator

    Great breakfast, comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    one night stay, met expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    a couple of noisy and inconsiderate neighbors

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Very nice stay with my young daughters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door lock needs adjustment.

    Quiet, good location, and excellent complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very nice, rooms very clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed only one night and left early next day. No comment.

    Breakfast is good. Bed is comfy and and room is spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Definitely would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast ever in the hotel. Very nice clean modern room and bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel, staff and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Room and view was great. Real fast and snack accommodations were perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    9.6
    Everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok. Very helpful lady at the reception. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.6
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    He was clean and very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Extra big beds!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big room lovely beds great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Need more variety on hot food and fruits
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more variety on hot food and fruits

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Decent Stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not on the beach

    Clean, free parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.0
    No balcony that was advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony that was advertised. Definitely not a lake view. Unhelpful. Right next to noisy freeway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Very nice, clean place and convenient to sites nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, clean place and convenient to sites nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Love the hotel very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I looked up the price for another stay in September but the price went up $40.00 more.

    Love the hotel very clean and comfortable. We relaxed and enjoyed the lakeside view. Close to everything. Loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was good (selection).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The coffee provided in the room was not very good. And the coffee served with breakfast was way too hot.

    Breakfast was good (selection). Very clean. Large rooms, lots of space! Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms. Nice decor. Great staff. Good breakfast. Building is still under renovation, so some things look a like bit in-progress, but overall stay was great.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    5.8
    The Hotel is very rational in conception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is located side by side to a large motorway, so it can be noisy. The staff is not very supportive.

    The Hotel is very rational in conception. The rooms are large and confortable. The breakfast is abundant and good.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    4.2
    The hotel rooms were newly updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Where do I start...stained sheets, which I had to change myself. No maid service at night, renovating the place so things are under construction, only 1 elevator. Outside looks thrashed. Anything you may need from them you have to retrieve yourself, thin walls hear everything..

    The hotel rooms were newly updated. Convenient free breakfast. Rooms were decent in size.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location, close to everything, room is really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lobby was in remodelation when I was there and we couldn't use the elevator at all had to use the stairs,not really fun when you are in 3rd floor.

    Excellent location, close to everything, room is really good size and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    Rooms were very clean and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elevator was not working. The hotel was under construction and remodel. Very noisy.

    Rooms were very clean and new. People at check in and out were very helpful. The morning paper and breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Very happy with staff and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Renovations going on made the hallways and elevator look old and unkempt. Vending machines were in an inconvenient location.

    Very happy with staff and room. Room was very clean. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    3.8
    The hotel will be reasonable after they fix elevator and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel will be reasonable after they fix elevator and complete constructions. I've seen feedback from few weeks ago about constructions and non-working elevator and I've assume that by now it would be over, but I was mistaken The hotel is very close to HWY 1 - be sure to reserve a room on the other side of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is being remodeled so all the rooms as very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Related to the hotel being remodeled, the elevator was not working. It was not a problem for us as we did not have much luggage but it would make sense to contact them to see if the elevator would be functional at the time of your visit.

    The hotel is being remodeled so all the rooms as very nice and new. The staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    5.0
    leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I'm disable vet and the elevator was broke and we were on the third floor......the room was never cleaned....had to call front desk to get towels.....they would call us and follow up and never did.

    leaving

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    4.6
    room was clean
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Property was under construction! I am handicapped and was faced with stairs (elevator not working). Only one handicapped parking space which was not available, needed to walk through sand and debris to reach lobby. I was told I would receive an adjustment but it hasn't happened yet. Also exercise room was closed and not open to guests.

    room was clean

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Newly renovated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Thin walls. We can hear people talking outside and door banging. They need to improve on sound proofing their rooms

    Newly renovated room. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the continental...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a strange odor form the remodeling and the elevator wasn't working and I was traveling with my parents who both have cancer so climbing the stairs was a little difficult for them. The parking was also a big issue. I feel the room should be discounted more during the remodeling to compensate for a few of the inconveniences your guests have to deal with.

    The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.8
    It was close to the beach and wharf/tourist spots via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was 'under construction' which thankfully was in its final stages but 1.this was not mentioned on booking.com at the time of making reservation and 2. it would have swayed my booking decision. Disappointed this was not highlighted on the website. The hotel was overpriced for what it was. Facilities minimal, really just a place to sleep, no pool or restaurant bar.....more like a basic motel.

    It was close to the beach and wharf/tourist spots via car. Hotel is under 'facelift' so rooms were all updated with fresh decor and new bathroom facilities.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    The recently renovated room was very nice, and rivals some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Initially, I was a little weary upon entering the hallways that were still under construction, but I was relieved and more than impressed with the updated room interior and the bathroom. The eggs and sausage at the breakfast were a bit questionable, but you can't go wrong with the Belgian waffle standby.

    The recently renovated room was very nice, and rivals some of the more expensive chains in the area. Location was central, but you are separated from the coast by highway. For us, the savings were worth it- and I think we had better comfort/style than some of the more walkable choices in the area.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    We liked the nice clean room with comfortable beds, making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NA

    We liked the nice clean room with comfortable beds, making our family vacation a enjoyable weekend. Kids liked the Great continental breakfast. Very friendly staff. Definitely coming back.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    We got a remodeled room so it had updated stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom door didn't give much privacy when one is using the bathroom.

    We got a remodeled room so it had updated stuff. I like the layout of the room.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    - nicely maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the number of parking places is not fully adequate

    - nicely maintained hotel = proper location for jogging at seaside as well - very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    4.2
    Felt like we were price gouged because the Car Show was in...
    • Family with older children

    Felt like we were price gouged because the Car Show was in town. $400 plus for a room at a La Quinta is a rip off. Long way from actual downtown Monterey.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    I loved the spacious room and the newly bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My wifi kept disconnecting throughout my stay. Some of food not replenished. Apple juice machine broke down

    I loved the spacious room and the newly bathroom. Nightlight. Sliding drawers. Atrium was lovely. Bathroom ledge by mirror

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Location is convenient, near beach and stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I reserved two rooms. One room had a sliding door on the bathroom that leaves large gaps to look through, very little privacy.

    Location is convenient, near beach and stores. Hotel is located on street that takes you directly to the wharf and cannery row. Rooms are spacious, clean and a nuce large screen tv.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    Room was clean and newly remodeled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No workout room, no pool. Only a single ice machine on a different floor. Breakfast was crowded and difficult to gain access to. Eggs were sitting in a pool of liquid, but everything else on the menu was great. Beach too far to walk. TV channels were terrible choices and hard to find, no sleep timer.

    Room was clean and newly remodeled. Bathroom was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Free use of computer and printer was very useful as I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was average and served with plastic plates and cutlery but hey it was free and fast so you can't really complain

    Free use of computer and printer was very useful as I had some work to do whilst away. The rooms have just been renovated so everything is brand new, clean and comfortable. Really helpful staff. Close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    2.5
    On my way to the hotel, the hotel called and required a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On my way to the hotel, the hotel called and required a new credit card to hold my room. Without it they threatened to cancel my reservation. Giving it to them so they "just had one one file"- they then proceeded to charge the entire stay - not just that first night. The card was then maxed out so I couldn't go anywhere else. The first night there someone siphoned out my gas and I woke up to construction in the morning as they were "renovating". So much for a restful vacation. The rates published on booking.com were not the listed rates but an average, so even had they not tied up my credit card, had I tried to leave they would have then charged me the nightly exorbitant rate as opposed to the "average " rate that booking.com published! Beware!

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: