Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden 3 stars

116 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001, USA

#135 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1116 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) We booked a room with two queen beds. In spite of the photos available on the website, I was surprised at how cramped the room was. There was barely enough to walk around the beds and get to the bathroom-- barely any space for large suitcases. Room did not even have any coat hooks for jackets. (2) Although the hotel was newly renovated two years ago, the windows are not soundproof, and we could hear the loud traffic and construction work taking place on the streets below. (3) Disappointing breakfast. The hotel breakfast was highly praised in a number of reviews, but it was a basic, no frills breakfast (paper plates, plastic forks and knives). Fresh fruit consisted of only apples and bananas,

    The beds were comfortable. Hot coffee and tea available 24 h. It was really helpful that we were allowed to store our luggage at the hotel after check-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relatively small breakfast area. No fridge in rooms.

    Excellent location in Midtown Manhattan. Very friendly personnel. Comfortable beds. Decent breakfast. Quiet room. Free chocolate cookies at the front desk. Luggage service. Check out time at 12 pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! This hotel was great. My room was not overly large, but it was beautiful and super clean. King size bed was very comfortable

    This is going to be my go-to Madison Square Garden hotel from now on. The staff was very friendly and my room was everything I needed. I was very happy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is kinda slow, needs key card to use, for safety I think.

    Amenities are good, with free breakfast. Most staff are good, especially Jenina, very friendly and helpful. I requested for ref and microwave and both was provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need to use the lift to get to the bedrooms and it can be very full in the morning. The bath plug seal did. not work.

    The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. There is an extensive free hot buffet breakfast served from 6-10 and warm cookies in the early afternoon if you need any more calories.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have always appreciated the Hampton Inn hotels, but this one is a little below standard... rooms are to small, there is no place for anything, the closet is already full of things, the small table also. There is not even a drawer

    The excellent location, the staff, the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room... very small bathroom, small breakfast room... everything is small... Not a good Hampton Inn

    Good location, near Herald Square and the subway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing as well as the cleaning ness of the hotel room! The breakfast is actually really nice. I can highly recommend the hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outstanding location; a block from Penn Station, an easy walk to the Theater District, and a longer, but very pleasant, walk to Greenwich Village. Very helpful and efficient staff. Very nice room. Excellent shower!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Negative point: cleanliness in the breakfast room - tables not cleaned, and sticky. I was also a bit shocked by the fact that the cleaning lady was using the same cleaning towel for the trash bin, breakfast counter and toaster...

    The hotel is very well located, close to Times Square, Empire State, Herald Square, 5th Avenue, etc. and close to subway stations. The room was small and beds were comfy. No fridge in the room. Room with wiew on street was a bit noisy (not very well isolated despite the fact we were on 15th floor). Bathroom clean. Breakfast was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful! I would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small closet.

    Very good breakfast, Lots of choices. Coffie, tea, hot chocolate, cookies, apples avalilable the whole day. Good beds, good airconditioning, no street noice. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ice machine was not available after 9:00 pm. I booked on Bookings.com. I received an email from Hilton re my stay, prior to arrival, which gave a lower rate than the one I had when booked. Only the booking.com rate was honored.

    Bed was comfortable. room was clean. Staff was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved a room with a king bed but received one with two queens -- which meant that there was almost no space in the room for anything else. Also, in terms of decor, the rooms are almost featureless. A little color would make them much more appealing.

    All staff members (not just the front desk staff) are very friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a room on the street side and it was very noisy and the wifi was very spotty most times.

    Breakfast was great. There were a lot of people at the time we were there but the staff made sure that the food was always there. Never an empty dish of food or an empty coffee caraffe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom vanity And shower little small but you’re in New York

    The staff was very friendly and helpful for restaurants it was close to Madison Square Garden and the train station plus the weather was excellent for our trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    great staff,great breakfast,great room,very comfortable bed great location 5 minuts walk from penn station easy to get anywewre from hotel 10minuts walk to time squere brodway ave and more we made reservation in addvance but becouse of the snow air flight delay our flights so we had to make new reservation for 2 nights delay,becouse we paid in addvance i came to reception manager ms Medvedtskaya, Alena and told my problem and asked her if it possible to get the day refound ,she said immedtly ofcourse, that was not your problem and in 12 hours the money refound to my account that mean the best service and listening to costomer and respect him.we deffently will back and recomond to all to come to this hotel!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Everything was great very comfortable beds .breakfast choice was brilliant and all the staff were fantastic no matter what you needed .they were so good and helpful .location was great also loved it will definitely go stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room was crazy tiny as in so tiny that two people couldn't really pass easily between the end of the bed and the wall. No mini fridge. Huge wasted closet in the corner. Just NO ROOM in this room with 2 double beds (because they didn't have two queens). I don't expect lavish space, but I do expect a mini fridge. If you plan to spend any time in your room not sleeping--this place isn't for you. If you just want a place to crash at night, it's ok. Breakfast was great.

    Room was clean. Hotel was quiet. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was crowded and crazy, but that’s to be expected. Food was good and there was plenty. Doors slammed all night but that’s not the hotel’s fault, that’s other guests that don’t know basic etiquette.

    Awesome location; steps away from Penn Station. Convenient to get to Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, Times Square... just about everything. Staff was very friendly and room was clean. Loved the infused water available in the lounge area... a great refreshing treat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told about a parking deal with the garage across the street and had to negotiate with the garage attendants multiple times to get them to recognize the deal with Hampton inn. Very frustrating.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have been more comfortable. Pillows were flat.

    All around great stay at this hotel. It met expectations and did not disappoint. Great location only a couple of blocks from 33rd street path.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was basic, but not bad. Satisfactory, for sure. Shower could be a bit more powerful.

    Comfortable bed. Very friendly staff. Nice products in bathroom. Snacks at reception. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chair in the room was really big and cumbersome and took up a lot of space

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, tasty breakfasts and centrally located. 24 hour coffee station and warm biscuits in the afternoon👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that was annoying in this hotel is that you often have to wait an extreme amount of time for the elevator to come, at the reception there would be groups of people waiting to get to their room, other hotels with many floors do not have this problem, so not sure why they cannot sort this

    Comfortable room,friendly staff and great complimentary breakfasts.Free coffee,tea and hot chocolate are available at all times.Complimentary freshly baked cookies in the evening.Good location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not very soundproof. I could hear a lot of conversations and door banging in the hallway.

    The employees at this property were amazing. They were very helpful and friendly. They also made great cookies!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink was clean but the marble casing looked rather worn with an appearance that made it look dirty. That wasn't the case though, as I tried to clean it a little which still didn't help its appearance. It was just worn.

    I liked the location because it is near the train station. Staff was very helpful and friendly and most of all, honest. I left a small gift bag in the room and they called me to let me know. I couldn't get back to the hotel, less I miss my train. They agreed to mail it to me. I spoke with a young man named "Devon". I would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a one week stay not enough wardrobe space and no drawers/shelving for non hanging items. Not sure about allowing smelly dogs in rooms.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $50 deposit for each day staying at this place is very frustrating. Usually hotels charge $50 deposit for the whole stay.

    Everything was great. Clean room, comfy bed, good enough breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative which wasn't a big issue, no bar fridge in room.

    Location was excellent, staff were super helpful. I was stuck in NY for a few extra days due to JFK airport issues and had to use insurance to cover extra days. The front desk staff were very helpful and sorted it out for me quickly. Highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon/heating was noisy but was working hard due to the cold snap

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, fun breakfast making own waffles, plenty of breakfast and coffee available. Wonderful location near Penn Station .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is pretty small. But common in NYC. There was no fridge for leftover food or drinks.

    The breakfast was outstanding with eggs and meat and waffles. Not just your usual cereal. Coffee was so good. The beds were super cozy. I love the pillows! The location was amazing right by shopping transit and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the room had had a refrigerator and that the room had been just a little bit larger. It was sometimes difficult to get over to the closet with the desk and chair being so close.

    The staff were always friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows were super comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast menu should be more vegetarian-friendly.

    The breakfast offered by the hotel is great, you can always make yourself some waffles. They have a nice variety toppings to go along with them too! They changed the eggs menu daily, some days you could some western omelets and potato hash. The hotel is very accessible and has a few subways entries within the block. The hotel is located across a food court which you can always go if you're hungry, really convenient. There's a coffee shop too at the end of the block. The free wifi worked great and the rooms were always kept cleaned and tidy. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was checking out I asked if my room was available and they said yes. I asked if I can checkout late since my flight was afternoon but didn't agree

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing if I was being picky was the lack of heat in the bathroom but it's very minor.

    I loved this hotel. I have been to New York quite a few times and I had accepted that you wouldn't find a good hotel in New York. Then I found this. I loved it. The location was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delightful and such a good way to start the day. The beds were comfy and big. The room didn't have a lot of space but I didn't need any more space. The only negative would be that there was no heat in the bathroom but no big deal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very helpful, attentive and friendly. The location is great, Penn Station is around the corner, and you can walk anywhere from this location. It is very lively at nights but I sleep very well. The breakfast is complimentary and nice. It works to grab something and get out to enjoy the city! The room is a little tight but comfortable. All amenities needed. I think I'll try to book this hotel again next time I'm in NY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a wardrobe, there were no shelves or drawers in the bedroom, to put our clothes

    The staff were just delightful, very helpful and always smiling. Made our stay so happy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy hotel which can mean there’s lots of movement and doors opening and closing during the night. Paper plates and plastic cutlery at breakfast is cheap/tacky and feels like a corporate decision to try and hit recycling targets. Doesn’t sit well with the environmentally conscious!

    Amazing location and great value for money. Friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was, hands down, the cleanest hotel room I've ever experienced. Absolutely pristine. And the room was a nice size, too. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was pretty small for 4 people they could have added a few things to make it better. Like a rebatable table, a shelf underneath the bathroom sink and things like that

    The staff and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and great variety available. Staff were really helpful and welcoming. Fantastic location, with tourist attractions within walking distance. Room is a little small side however considering this hotel is midtown Manhattan do not expect more. Would definitely stay here again and will be recommending to friends and family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff was not very friendly. We had biking issues and lobby/bkfst area needed extra attention.

    The beds are always comfortable with Hampton. The housekeeping lady was friendly and did a good job.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not even one drawer in the room living out of the suitcases was not comfortable the room is small but i did think there was where to put some drawers for example under the night table

    nice breakfast great team nice room comfortable bed nice bathroom very good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only a very very minor thing but was not keen on textured duvet cover, prefer the feel of plain. On a more serious note we had a very large loud group of Bavarian Germans staying there on multiple levels of the hotel. They would wake up very early in the morning and come back very late at night making lots of noise. They would all congregate in the very small narrorw hallways in large numbers right outside our room at about 7am and start banging drums and making lots of noise shouting and slamming doors. Not the hotels fault I understand that, but even after complaining to hotel staff it seemed little was done to rectify the situation. We had hoped they would be told to be quiet and more respectful to other guests but they would still congregate early in the morning slamming doors etc. It was very annoying being disturbed late at night and early in the morning needlessly. Is there really any need to hang out in hallways banging drums at 7am?

    Excellent, friendly, helpful staff, always said hello and goodbye upon entering and leaving the hotel always happy to help with recomendations. Comfy beds, nicely decorated and clean rooms. Rooms above average size for NY hotels nice large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage in room no drawers to put things away

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The coffee available to guests 24hours snd the cookies a nice touch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better since I like eggs and bacon more than carbohydrates for breakfast. The churchbells that start at 7am at 31st street are not that nice unless you want to wake up at 7am :)

    Very friendly and nice staff and clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable 4 night stay for all the above reason. The staff were really happy with their job, hotel, city, and that we were staying there. Sophia, in the breakfast room help start our day and she is a gem.she would ask how our evening was, what our plans for the day were, and made sure we enjoyed our stay. DELIGHTFUL

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to be honest, maybe the size of the room was on the small side....other than that nothing!

    Room was modern with TV & plenty of ports for charging electronics. The staff were always super friendly, plenty of good mornings and smiles. They couldn’t have done more to help. Breakfast was nice, not too much variety on the cooked food but everything was fresh and nice. Make your own waffles were tasty and plenty of choice of drinks / bagels / croissants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom sink was dated,

    The staff was Excellent!!!! Everyone was so helpful and not just the front desk. The housekeeper and the maintenance people. i booked the room because of location to MSG, worked out perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On last day of my stay in Hampton Inn my luggage was stolen (or according to hotel personel given to someone else by mistake) from hotel luggage storage service. Till now (3 weeks) it was not found and hotel insurance company wants to cover only 1/5 of bag value. So thanx to Hamptton Inn employees I lost more than 4000$ and had to go back to Europe with just what I had in my pockets. My whole stay in New York turned out to be a nightmare due to Hampton Inn by Hilton. So in this case I do not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed on 4/f facing the main street, it was really noisy at night and I couldn't actually sleep well. There was no bottle water in the room, and when I felt thirsty at night, I needed to go down to get water.

    Location is convenient. Staffs are helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am very disappointed to be charged an additional $250 for a "suspected" smoking in the room. There was definitely NOT smoking as the occupants do not smoke. At the time it was not disputed as my son was the one that was told. He did not feel it was the proper time to question these charges, and instead left it up to me upon returning home yesterday. I have a HUGE problem with this and the fact it had to be unfounded, and no further explanation given.

    location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but it is normal for NYC

    The breakfast is the best I ever had included with my room rate! Wow !!! They got waffles , pastries, omlets, meats, yogurt, cereal, fruit, bagels and bread, oatmeal and more! They never let anything stay empty and refill everything all the time! We stayed 4 days, every day it was perfect! The staff is so helpful all the way. Everyone is so nice! They let us check in early, Alena was so kind! I got a seeing kit from a gentleman at the front desk and they stored our luggage for us.The hotel is clean. They got good tv channels too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine near us was often turned off and so we had to go to basement if we wanted ice.

    Comfy beds. Good locale. Cleanliness. They stored our bags before and after checkout, so we could still do some things in the city without carrying luggage. We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived in the morning before check-in so we checked our bags at the desk. When we returned at check-in time I ended up waiting in the lobby for almost 20 minutes because they had separated our bags and misplaced one. The room was very small and cramped. There was no chest-of-drawers for our clothing, so we couldn't even unpack our bags, except for the things we could hang in the closet. The idea of complimentary breakfast was nice but it was so crowded and loud that it was quite unpleasant. The seating was cramped and staff had a difficult time cleaning the tables in a timely fashion as people came and went. The second day they also had a hard time keeping up with the demand for eggs.

    The staff was very friendly, warm, and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for two double beds ad 4 people and there was no space for the luggages. The breakfast was terrible.

    Good location and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I simply like it.

    It is perfectly located with very good breakfast in price. Additional advantage on Sundays is proximity of the Catholic Church with a wonderful Sunday service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ice machines were not working on some floors, could have used some ice. Our A/C went out, but was fixing fast after a call to the desk.

    Great location. Happy there was water in the buffet area, needed it after walking in the heat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room is small but I guess its standard in NYC. I stayed in other Hampton location on business trips and those that are far from the big cities are quite spacious.

    The breakfast is good, the food is hot and there is more than enough variety to choose what to eat for breakfast. For anyone who will be touring the city, get a good helping on the breakfast as they are satisfying and enough to fortify you for your tour. The location is almost in the center of all the landmarks and yet far enough from the city noise. The staff during check-in is very friendly and accommodating. Check in-check out is a breeze.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the night staff need people skills. one in particular, was rude. hung up on me when I requested regular coffee packs for our room. gave me attitude when I called again to ask again. I asked another night staffer for a wake up call which I didn't get. good thing I have an alarm on my phone.

    the breakfast was good. fresh water and hot coffee ready in the restaurant daily. cookies in the afternoon. bed was comfy and pillows puffy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (some) spoke in a rude tone..we were charged for a $75 per room deposit insurance/liability fee which was not included in the booking.com website, we asked the staff we were told that's hotel's policy and they couldn't do anything about it, our deposit was fully refunded at check out but be aware of this extra cost when traveling, snacks were all for sale unlike other Hampton Inns where we have stayed where snacks are free, breakfast was good.

    Locations, close to Penn station, close to shopping , Manhattan Mall and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like anywhere in NYC it can get a little loud. Late afternoon with constant traffic jams in the area there's a lot of honking going on but it calmed down by 9pm then there's only the occasional sound of heavy trucks passing by. Breakfast was alright but your typical Hilton breakfast which is always cold and dry, but you can make your own waffles and unlike the other Hiltons we've stayed in, this had many different toppings for your waffles and provided a decent amount of fruit.

    Excellent staff and an amazing location right near Madison Square Gardens and Times Square. Breakfast provided. Easy access to Pennsylvania Station for Airport transport. Extremely cheap for what it is.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selections were not topped up frequently enough.

    Hotel was very convenient for Penn station which was our priority, but was also convenient for sightseeing in New York.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really enough space to accommodate everyone at breakfast, so it's a bit of a ruck. Also, all plates, cutlery etc is disposable.

    Big bed and good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and hotel service was good indeed. Room space was enough to stay for 2-3 days. The staff was really helpful and friendly especially Mrs. Jenina. The breakfast was nice to have....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place to put your things only a small closet and the beds were to big for the room.

    It had a great breakfast and the staff was very nice and helpful. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom sink was dirty with water standing in it and drain broke causing them to have us move rooms after waiting 2.5 hours to do so missing a meeting. No Help

    general location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for three people, we had to squeeze past each other at the end of the bed and one guest had to store luggage in bathroom under the sink. Breakfast room was too small for number of guests, poorly laid out and food supply was limited as the morning progressed.

    Friendly staff, happy to go to great lengths to store our luggage before check in and after check out. Located very close to Madison Square Garden. Fresh cookies available and all day access to tea and coffee. Comfortable beds. Free wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could have been a bit more closet space

    great location, easy to get to from Penn station and a good central point in new York. breakfast was good and fresh cookies daily were a nice touch. nice to have a room with two double beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent! Breakfast was great although after 8:30 not much choice.. coffee and tea 24h/7 great feature! Room was clean although could be cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the central location, value and easy access to MSG and Penn Stn there really isn't anything to not like !

    Helpful, friendly staff at all times. Rolling breakfast buffet was an excellent start to the day and constantly topped up by the efficient breakfast team ! Extra touches- cookies on the counter, hot drinks 24/7, Easter eggs on Sunday morning for the kiddy winks and jelly beans for all- were a thoughtful treat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel worked for me. Penn Station, Madison Square Gardens and Macy's were close by. The ladies at the Front Desk were lovely and extremely helpful. Found everyone to be helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldnt recommend a room 505 close to the storage. Was too noisy. By 9 50am all the breakfast items were gone. Other than these issues the stay was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, doors close too loudly, city street noise, cleaning staff uses same elevators as guests resulting in longer waits and crowded elevators

    Comfortable bed, great breakfasts, very clean, great proximity to shopping, metro, and Train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be clearer instructions on how to make the heater work.

    The bed is the best part of this hotel. It is soft and the pillows are just the right amount of firm. And there is always hot water available in the lobby for tea! The location is close to shopping centers, lots of restaurants and Korean Town which is a neat perk if you are into Asian culture.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: