Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. New York State hotel reviews
  4. New York hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden

Reviews of Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

116 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001, United States of America

#101 of 432 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1233 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    5.4
    This is a hotel that *needs* new plumbing and the owning company hasn't bothered to renovate that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing is unacceptable. Toilet cannot flush material efficiently and is clearly inadequate in pressure to do so, resulting in frequent clogging. Shower temperature fluctuates wildly at all hours of day. Worst of all, today there is no cold drinking water available from the tap. The manager gave me two small bottles of drinking water since there is normally a $3 charge per bottle in the room. There is simply no excuse for a lack of cool-temperature drinking water from a tap. I cannot imagine how this many plumbing issues co-existing in a hotel cannot result in multiple, frequent complaints. I will see what they will do about it with day staff on duty but I am not getting the impression so far that the managers are empowered to do much to address such grievances, as evidenced by 2 small bottles of cool water and an apology. I expect much, much better on such a basic issue. And the toilet and shower are appalling. Sadly, this otherwise well-staffed and well-maintained hotel gets a "one star" review so far from me, as paying $200-300 per night total, although in Manhattan, doesn't fit with lack of basics like: 1. Toilets that flush; 2. Showers in which one temperature can be maintained for more than a split second, and 3. RUNNING, COOL WATER TO DRINK, for heaven's sake. You can make things better by demanding or at least threatening a partial refund of our hotel costs.

    Breakfast was OK. Location was very convenient. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and although cramped (it is central Manhattan so I understand), and windows cannot open (standard now in many hotels, sadly), the A/C was powerful and clean and the value for space was good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    9.2
    A nice hotel in a great mid-town location ideal for a city break stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little bit small for two adults and two teenage children.

    Great location near to Penn Station. Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and professional. Good WiFi and a decent at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    6.7
    The hotel was adequate but way too pricey. We probably won’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are tiny. Mattress needed to be replaced. Elevators are very small and are shared by staff (often with laundry carts) and guests.

    Nice sized bathroom. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    The customer service was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The customer service was phenomenal. We had an issue with our toilet and staff was there within minutes to fix it. This was followed by a call from the front desk to ask if the problem was resolved. But, it didn't stop there....the staff called again the following morning again to make sure the toilet was in working order. Housekeeping did a fantastic job each day as well. We were extremely pleased with this hotel. And, the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    4.2
    Not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room provide was so cramped - for the money we are paying, it was so narrow - they did not provide a Crib for my toddler and of course did not have any space to keep it either.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    9.6
    Great location great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit squishy with two beds in in ut

    The location was great for us being close to Penn Station. It is close to some great bars and food outlets. Staff were very friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really no negatives.

    Great location. Smaller than what we are used to but guessing in NYC they are mostly like that to take advantage of space. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    9.2
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast area was a little small and it was crowded at times.

    Breakfast was good. Selections were good. More than enough selections to satisfy breakfast needs.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    10
    Absolutely wonderful!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had an issue with my credit card, the hotel even contacted me and I payed with cash, but when I first came to the reception, there was a receptionist there who would treat me in such ironic way. I don’t remember her name, but she works with Jenina. She was so rude and spoke aloud about my issue with the credit card. I have money to stay in such hotel, and don’t have to be treated without discretion just because my card had an issue. This was embarrassing to me, thanks to Jenina I felt better, but this one lady was not offering the Hilton hospitality as she should.

    There was a receptionist called Jenina, she has great customer service skills and her smile is not a faked one. She is sincere on here customer service. Overall, the cleanliness of the hotel is spotless, amazing! No hairs, no dust, no insects, no odors: Amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    8.8
    Very satisfactory, clean, friendly, and convenienty place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevators were very slow, and at one point, we thought we were stuck in the elevator (it wouldn't do anything for about 2 minutes), and my daughter felt like she was starting to have a panic attack.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and we were so relieved to be able to check-in at 1:00 am after a terrible experience at Hotel Pennsylvania.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    9.6
    Conveniently located, within walking distance to shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A complimentary bottle of water shouldn’t be too much to ask considering the room rates.

    Conveniently located, within walking distance to shops and attractions. Rooms were clean and were spacious (even for Non-NYC standards). The staffs were very friendly, especially the lady in the breakfast room who made sure that our needs are met.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    4.2
    Breakfast ice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Your advertising that you have a microwave and refrigerator in the room and there was not are room was super small for 4 ppl just not what I expected. Also the wait time for housekeeping took forever. Also they lost a bag or mines but found it before we left. Over all not happy

    Breakfast ice

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    7.5
    The rooms were clean and the morning breakfast I enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had 19 floors for only two elevators. You waited for an elevator often because it would be full of passengers.

    The rooms were clean and the morning breakfast I enjoyed during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.6
    Good esperience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Justine at the reception make a mess with my credit card, locking the available amount and at the checkout the total room amount has been taken from it even if I asked to pay in cash when I arrived there. I've also payed 20$ more by cash that weren't reinbursed on my credit card.

    Perfect position, very central and very close to Penn Station with all the metro lines available. Hotel quite new and well organized and very clean. Breakfast various and very good. The staff was amazing especially breakfast and cleaning people, ie. Dolores.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    8.8
    We stayed at the hotel for 3nights and we really enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small for a family of three and the elevators were small and very busy for the size of the hotel

    We stayed at the hotel for 3nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very polite and helpful in everything we wanted. Complimentary breakfast was a big plus (had big variety of food and Carolina was very helpful. The location of the hotel is very nice also very close to Madison Square Garden and Pen station(subway). Overall we would choose this hotel again if needed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    6.3
    Location was good and staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast room is cluttered and one could not find a place to sit. The space is small. The food is the same. For a stay of 6 days it was too much!

    Location was good and staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    10
    I will Be Back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very pleased overall. Waters and cookies for Hilton Honors a nice touch.

    Staff was very professional, informative and welcoming. Property was very clean and beds quite comfortable. Great location!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    5.0
    Moderately high expectations - I'd heard about breakfast and allegedly comfy beds-- and
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dismissive and rude management, brusque and impolite desk staff, rigid and punitive billing policies - see my letter to booking.com about the ridiculous fee for an ice bucket left at the ice machine --overall an unpleasant stay. The hotel pennsylvania or hotel Stewart so close by offer far greater comfort , facilities, overall charm.

    Nice housekeepers

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    10
    The location, clean rooms helpful staff all contributed to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location, clean rooms helpful staff all contributed to a positive stay. Fast easy WiFi was another positive. The breakfast was convenient with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    7.1
    The HCAV fluctuated from super hot to super cold.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    The HCAV fluctuated from super hot to super cold. Maintenance did not even check the thermostat on wall. I didn’t sleep all nite. When on, system very stuffy - dirty filter? Tub did not drain at all - tells you something about housekeeping. Loud street - constant sirens. Other things good to excellent but these ruined my entire trip. I was worthless the next day and got nothing done.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    8.8
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No food vending machines

    Loved the location! The staff were very friendly and helpful making this trip less stressful. Will book with this hotel again!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    9.2
    It was a good find with a great location near Penn Station and Madison Square Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, but we managed.

    The breakfast was excellent! The location of the hotel was perfect for our purpose. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    8.8
    Great location, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced - will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lobby can be a little crowded at times, especially due to the 2 slow elevators. Same can be said for the popular breakfast area at some peak hours but not a deal breaker - nevertheless, overall, the "positive" definitely take precedent over the few "comments" !

    Great location (especially for a hockey game!), very comfortable king bed, very clean, smiley staff at all time, reasonable price pour central NY... great! ...and they quickly saved the day at check-out to find us a transportation for 6 to the airport when our Uber failed to provide the service. Cheers!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    9.6
    Great experience. Wish I'd been there as a tourist and not on business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little on the small side, but I've stayed in much smaller in NYC.

    Great location. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. This is a very good tourist hotel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    Premier League viewing enhanced my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was crowded as mentioned earlier. Lifts a little slow.

    Breakfast was fine, albeit a little crowded. Location absolutely brilliant. MSG just round the corner, plenty of shops & food stores around. Room & facilities clean. Great to be able to watch Premier League football on our arrival, that DEFINITELY enhanced my stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    5.8
    It's very close to Madison Square Garden
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stay was fine until after, they charged my card multiple times and left my account in negative. I called several times and spoke to front office manager - she said she'd check with their head office and call me back. She never called me back. I called several times and just gave up. Till today my account is negative over $2000.

    It's very close to Madison Square Garden

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    It was worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    a complimentary water would have been nice.

    The entire experience was great. I think I would look into the membership program that the have. I noticed free water at check in but I did not qualify. also some kind of goody bag at check out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    8.8
    Great location great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only a couple of little things . No drawers in room to put underware in . And the dining facilities lacking as I can't eat and drink from paper plates and cups with plastic knifes and forks .

    The staff where great very attentive. Hotel and rooms where very clean . And location was brilliant 10 mins walk from time Square and 2 minutes from Penn station. You can walk to most places from here.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    6.7
    This hotel's best feature is, of course, its location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that you'll be charged an extra $50 for 'additional charges', even if you're only staying for one night, which I wasn't made aware of before I checked in. Moreover, you'll have to wait a week, or longer, to get this money back once you've checked out if you paid using a debit card. Staff are polite and pay lip service but're not really interested in helping, and certainly won't void the transaction as another hotel did so the funds're returned immediately. Also, the area around the hotel may not be the safest at night. I didn't venture out, so cannot really say.

    This hotel's best feature is, of course, its location, which's within easy walking distance of Penn Station, which makes it easy to reach from JFK airport via the AirTrain and the Long Island Railroad, and other NYC attractions. In addition, the included breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C unit was very loud Air in the room was extremely dry Cleanliness could be improved

    Great location Friendly and helpful staff Good size of the room, comfortable bed Overall good value for money

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    7.5
    Central location. Big beds for 1 person.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast is very poor.

    Rooms are ok with big beds. Big flat TV is a plus. Wi-fi Connection broke down the last day. Location is very central. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Nice hotel in the middle of Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crowded if the hotel is fully booked (elevator, dining). The air conditioning used to heat the room was noisy and it does not stop in automatic mode, not even after the temperature was reached. Moreover, the booking in my app is Cancelled, although it was not and I spent there three nights!?!?!?!

    Location, staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    9.6
    Second time in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too small, no place for suitcase

    Excellent location for shopping and getting around, very close to Penn Station, which makes it convenient to get to Jfk.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Absolutely awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to fault during our stay!!

    I don’t usually leave reviews but we have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and as this was our first time in NYC we wanted to share what a fabulous experience we had whilst we were here. Just a short walk from madison square gardens and penn station, the hotel was ideally based!! The rooms were lovely and clean and the bed was absolutely awesome 😌Breakfast was included in our stay and what a great way to start the day. Complimentary grab and go breakfasts were also available, we didn’t use this but is an amazing idea if you’re heading out early to explore. I never knew what to have for breakfast and the choice exceeded what I was expecting. The breakfast staff were lovely and always took the time to speak to us. Complimentary coffee and hot chocolate with cookies was available all day and was an added bonus returning to the hotel on a night after being out in the cold all day. The housekeeper even put our heater on for us returning! What a lovely thought!! It was my partners 40th Birthday while we were there and the staff all signed a personal message in a birthday card and left a complimentary package with snacks, much to his delight. I can’t complain about this hotel and have already checked for flights and availability. This hotel has a lovely personal touch for such a big city!!! Can’t wait to come back 🍎🇺🇸❤️

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    The staff are all extremely kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything.

    The staff are all extremely kind and helpful. They make you feel at home. Breakfast was very good with a variety of fruits, cereal, yoghurt , pastries and a hot meal. Tea and coffee is available round the clock and delicious cookies in the afternoon. Mattresses very comfy and rooms seem to be sound-proof. Spotlessly clean and excellent location. Very good value for money even if rates are slightly higher than at other hotels in the area. I had stayed at the Hampton Inn four years ago and it was a pleasure to be back.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the 2nd floor facing the street so whenever we opened the window cigarette smoke would come through to our room and smelt very bad. The dining area for breakfast was very vey small.

    Great value for money. The location is awesome! Bed quite comfortable and the staff are friendly. very ckean hotel!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.8
    Good hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sound insulation of the room was not good. The windows let in the noise from the street, and the room door, which didn't have a threshold, didn't block any sound coming from the hallway. It was the same as having the door open. We could also hear people talking in the room next door, so either the walls were thin or the people were loud. The breakfast room was quite crowded every morning and the breakfast itself was pretty basic. Still, better than nothing.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, with lots of restaurants and shops nearby in Chelsea, NoMad and Koreatown. Several metro stations in the area provide very good connections to the whole city. The hotel is also within walking distance from Times Square, in case you enjoy huge tourist crowds. The hotel is very clean and the room is big enough for several nights' stay. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was a nice plus.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    One of the smaller hotels in Hampton Inn chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the smaller hotels in Hampton Inn chain. Good position 200m from 2 metro stations. Small rooms as in all hotels in New York but clean, comfortable and very helpful staff. Substantial breakfast was very welcome start to the day.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    8.8
    The hotel was very comfortable even though the rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very comfortable even though the rooms are very small. It was quite difficult for three people to move around. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.6
    It was just grand :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    They left us lovely treats in our room, as it was our honeymoon/mini moon ;) and a card signed by members of staff, a sweet gesture! (It really was Very thoughtful!!) There was cookies in reception (complimentary) on evenings, scrumptious!! :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was near penn station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a bit tight and small No one helped us get our things to the room. Not sure if that’s usual for US hotels though

    Hotel was near penn station Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    PROS: the property was clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Cons to the property.

    PROS: the property was clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast for me was fine as a vegetarian and there were plenty of different types of carbs available. If you like a lot of meats you may not be as happy. Coffee and tea were available all day and night which I greatly appreciated. They also had large containers of iced water with and without lemon and mint, a extra nice touch. There are two elevators and I never had a problem with a wait of more than a minute or two for them. My double room was on the top floor (19th). Very quiet, large for nyc, a place to store clothes and a rack for my luggage. Bedding was clean and the comforter was warm. Bathroom was clean, hot water always available. There was a medicine cabinet to store your toiletries but it was so large that it covered the handle on the faucet but you could still get to it. A little strange but everything worked ok and I liked having the cabinet instead of storing everything on a counter. The heat was easily adjustable in the room. Location was good especially if you’re arriving via Penn Station, a close walk.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints.

    Great location. Staff was fantastic especially Rueben with the children at breakfast. Very clean and quiet. Wifi worked great. Breakfast had lots of choices and was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Great quality, excellent staff, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is a bit chaotic as there isn't much seating but apart from that it's excellent

    Everything was perfect. Staff where amazing with a special thank you to jenina (I think that's her name) who went out of her way to make sure my partner enjoyed her birthday while arranging a birthday card signed by all the staff for her along with some treats.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single-use paper plates, plastic cutlery, plastic glasses and disposable coffee cups at breakfast. The amount of waste produced by this one hotel is staggering.

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast, quiet rooms. Friendly staff, little extras like biscuits available in the afternoon. Luggage storage was convenient and the location was good for exploring Manhattan.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.8
    All in all everything was fine, but was not wowed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fluffy eggs. All the sausages were pork. It would have been nice to have been offered turkey sausage.

    I liked the coffee and tea being available 24 hours

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay near Penn Station with easy access to many parts of the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area is too small to handle the crowds and the tables cannot be cleaned between guests.

    The room was comfortable, the location terrific with ability to walk to many sights or grab a cab anywhere. Breakfast is always good at Hampton Inns and this location was no different. Coffee, tea and water available all the time - a bonus. The staff are always welcoming - arriving or departing. Very friendly environment.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.5
    not bad
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    make sure there are no hairs in the beds

    Only problem was that there were some hairs on the sheets and duvet and a stain on the sheet. Very worried about bugs these days. But it was clean. All hotels should do away with wood and headboards.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Modern fairly clean room in an excellent location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small and cramped, but that's probably normal for NYC

    Modern fairly clean room in an excellent location, very close to Penn Station and MSG; breakfast was okay but nothing special; staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small and narrow. Banged my shoulder everytime I passed by the wall hanged tv. The chair smelled bad. Had to move it far from the bed (which in that size of a room is not much futher) or it would be impossible to sleep without the mouldy smell.

    Area is not the greatest but it is convenient - close to 34th Penn Station and a buffet eatery across the street if u are into that kind of meal. Breakfast was ok even if coffee was badly diluted. All in all it was an ok short stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    Extravaganza livaranza
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little larger room kept bumping into desk to get to closet

    The eggs at breakfast not watery. Jacks discount right across street. Excellent control of room temperature

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great location as backdrop for a nice time with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner a little noisy. Table tops in the dining area disconcerting- several customers spread napkins beneath their plates. Need refinishing, looked like they needed clearning.

    Front desk staff was excellent- especially Alena (sp?) Loved the cookies in the baggies and the breakfast take away bags!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.9
    Great location for walking everywhere;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was poorly planned - large medicine cabinet that stuck out over the sink making it impossible to wash your face or brush your teeth without getting water everywhere.

    Great location for walking everywhere; 1 block to Penn Station subway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    Well done.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean bathrooms!! Hotel staff was polite and friendly. Front desk had extra toiletries in case you forgot your toothbrush. Great location. Excellent complimentary breakfast - wish it didn’t close up at 10am so I could have slept in longer. That and the fact that there was no hotel bar/restaurant were the only disappointments. 3 & 1/2 out of 4 stars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    What we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smells bad. It is very small for 4 person

    The location is excellent to visit Manhattan. Personal is very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some hotel staffs were not helpful when I asked about coin laundry. But the next day the other lady was very helpful. Elevators were very small. Overall this is a good place to stay but quite costly.

    Breakfast was simple but good enough. The hotel was small but clean. Housekeeping did a good job when I asked them to clean the room. Location is good, just off to the quiet street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a room with single king size bed for 2 person but they gave us an upgraded room which has double bed that makes room smaller and tight to moved around. The front desk didn’t informed us during check-in. We complained and they said it’s fully book which is not right. We did our booking online a night before and it seems that we can’t get a good room we want.

    Breakfast meal and bathroom

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    We loved the comfy rooms, the super friendly and helpful front desk staff and indeed all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dining area is very tight and busy.

    The beds are really comfortable as are the pillows - very NB. The staff are all fantastic and offer great service without being “in your face”. The location is absolutely ideal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Staff, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the room is Tiny but efficient

    Great Staff- we celebrated my father's 60th birthday in New York. when we arrived to the room, a postcard with greeting !from the staff was waiting for us, plus couple of treats- Thank you very much The location of the hotel is great- near Penn Station, and times square- Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Great value in the Penn Station area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blast of loud pop music as you enter the lobby from the street.

    The front desk staff there is consistently friendly and accommodating. Beds are very comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    4.6
    It was a place to sleep before flying out in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was 64 degrees when we entered. We reported the problem and returned two hours later to an 86 degree room. We were told to remove the thermostat from the wall to reset it. This did not work and the room's temperature fluctuated all night making it very uncomfortable.

    Breakfast is good. Close to Penn Station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay for a conference!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of homeless.

    Nice Central location. Very clean. Staff were great. Breakfast was fine. Room was basic. But clean and comfortable. Plenty of police. Felt safe. Fire house a few steps away!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.6
    Firstly the location of the hotel is fantastic, a block and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Firstly the location of the hotel is fantastic, a block and a half from Penn Station, there’s a little shop on the way to it where you can drinks and snacks and a deli on the opposite side and a liquor store on the next block. First appearance was really good, the young ladies and gentlemen on reception were so polite and check in was less than 5 minuets, the reception is small but adequate. The room was on the 4th floor where we looked out on to another building, which didn’t bother us as weren’t in the room other than for sleeping and showering. A coffee making facilities were provided in the rooms. The bed was comfy and we were provided with fresh towels every day. The aircon was a really good and needed however once in the room it could feel a little chilly so we just switched it off and put it on when we got up. The bathroom was clean with toiletries provided - soap, shampoo, conditioner & body lotion. Breakfast was included, English muffins, cake, waffles which you made yourself, cereal and different mornings there were scrambled eggs, sausage patties, another there were western omelette and turkey sausages. Juice & yoghurt were daily along with tea, coffee and milk. Disposable plates, cutlery & cups were used. You could have tea or coffee 24 hours which is located in the dining room. Ice machines were situated on certain floors however after 9 you get ice from a machine on the lower level where there was also a vending machine. Every morning and evening when leaving and returning the reception staff were pleasant and always smiling and were more than helpful. If you want a reasonably priced no frills hotel which is clean and comfy, south of Times Square within walking distance of a subway and attractions then staying here would be ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent, very good breakfast, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty towels and pillowcase when just came ((( Had to ask for a replacement.

    The location is excellent, very good breakfast, friendly & helpful staff, free tee/coffee 24 hours.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to the location of this hotel it doesn’t have good views from any window.

    $50 parking for an SUV across the street, nice garage, great service! The car was ready without us calling ahead of time! The location of the hotel was great, breakfast was good. Great attentive staff 24/7, coffee and apples all day! Clean rooms, comfortable bed, large bathroom with lots of shelves!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.8
    This is a good place to stay in NY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit scary place to walk during night time with kids due to people sleeping on the streets and their way of communicating with each other.

    The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The Breakfast spread was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast. They should add more meat options and not just have everything be pork and ham. I wanted to try the eggs they had but it had ham in it and there sausage was pork only. I asked if they have beef, turkey or even chicken and they didn’t.

    The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff were really friendly and accommodating. The service was excellent and The rooms were really clean and the location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.3
    The location of this hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfat room is very small and therefore very crowded.

    The location of this hotel is amazing! The Hampton Inn is located whitin walking distance of the most popular sightseeing of the NY, including Times Square, 5th Avenue and Empire State Building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Firstly all the people that work at this hotel were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I could mention is that the room was small for two people.

    Firstly all the people that work at this hotel were very kind and helpful. I am very grateful to each one of them. They made us feel comfortable and well taken care of.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    5.8
    The staff is what brought a smile to my face FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was much smaller than expected. Would have liked to known ahead that construction was going on in front of building. The room was in the path of scaffolding. Had to be cognizant of the window when changing clothes. There was no refrig or dresser. The ice maker didn't work on the 7th floor. The area for breakfast was extremely tight. Very difficult to manage around when more than 10 people in room.

    The staff was amazing. Everyone was very polite and nice. I was there celebrating my birthday. Jenina and Will left a birthday card and treats. It was such a nice gesture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dangerous slippery shower floor TV on the wall shoulder level, that caused a bruise as walked by, and it still hurts! Breakfast - chaos, dining room not big enough for size of hotel, lack of options, not replenished enough constantly having to ask for things. One member of staff on check in was So ignorant Lobby toilet not working so advised we could use Nordstrom. No milk sachets for the drink facilities in the room. The total cost to stay here was hugely overpriced and really disappointing for being in the Hilton chain, $303 for total stay, $110-130 but certainly no more for a 1night stay.

    Comfortable bed. Hot drinks available all day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Two thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, accomodating staff, facilities are great, very good value for money. Next time we visit NY, we will definitely stay again at Hampton!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely tiny though I had booked for 3 adults. The beds weren’t comfortable and there was not enough storage space. The breakfast area was very small and there were lots of people queuing all the time, making it extremely difficult to find a space. The quality of the breakfast was also poor.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    For the price of the room I thought it was great and the location surrended by shops and food places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little small I wish the size could have been a little bit bigger.

    The hotel and the room was clean. I liked how their continental breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.9
    Great value, good location! Friendly staff and free breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was good. Very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and several subway stops. Also super close to Suprima Pizza (yum!) The neighborhood itself is not the cleanest area of NY and the sidewalks get very crowded about a block or two from the hotel. Time Square is about a 10-15 min walk. Breakfast was good (not great) but definitely better than some hotels. However, it gets VERY crowded. The room itself is small but not horrendous. Beds were ok (a little hard) but again, not the worse I've slept on. The only thing I noticed during our stay was the shower curtain needed replacing (it smelled.) However, the room was spotless otherwise! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: