Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward 3 stars

24137 Mission Boulevard, Hayward, CA 94544, USA

#1 of 15 hotels in Hayward

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like

    Everything about this place screams excellent!!! Thank you for a few comfortable nights! Not to mention a killer breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both encounters were not friendly bordering rude.

    Interaction with housekeeping in the evening was not pleasant. The breakfast help person was not nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit too firm and the pillows too soft and too small for the bed. The continental breakfast was alright but it would have been nice to see a few more options.

    The rooms were large and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was smooth and easy, the staff was friendly and accommodating, We arrived earlier then expected we were greeted with a warm and welcoming smile & a very short wait time for the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning this in the room was not up to par. It needs a little more attention after each room is cleaned, to make sure place is all the way at hundred percent clean properly. The bed sheets were not cleaned they smell like sweat and have hairs all over them. The carpets were not vacuum properly countertops had coffee stains. Shower would not drain properly and stuff for coming out when showering from the drain.

    great location nice set up great customer service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk personnel were extremely friendly. The rooms were clean. And breakfast was included every morning. The location was great for me to get to my destination every morning. And they are very close to the BART Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy beds, hot hot shower, very clean and tidy (includes a laundry room and fitness centre). And a great breakfast - fantastic value for money💰

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was so so, potatoes were great one day and not so good another day, might want to tell the person making the potatoes not to add lime to them? Waffle batter should not be thinned out makes for a soft mess. How is it when you make a reservation for 3 people that your room only has sets of towels for 2 people if you are lucky? Every day we had to go down to the front desk and ask for more bath and hand towels, as well as wash clothes.

    Check in staff were great! We asked for a good Mexican restaurant, and it was a hole in the wall small place but had fantastic food, at a good price and we had left overs. Having the small frig with freezer came in handy, all hotels should have one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in the room, the air is on a timer that shot off making the room hot and when it goes on it is not long enough to cool it down and shots off again. I will recommend to keep it on all the time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the daily rate was a little too high.

    Hi all. The manager has done a great job in guiding the staff so that all do their very best,always. geodaher

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I had here was there were no light blocking curtains on the window. There was just a sheer drape, which was attractive but did not provide the privacy or darkness I wanted.

    Very comfortable accommodations. Location was excellent for my plans.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was a little cold .It could it have a scramble eggs instead of boiled eggs.but becides that it was good breakfast.

    The bed was great I wish I could it sleep all day it was very confi , it was actually better than my bed .The sheets smell clean .I like the set up with the microwave and little fridge.great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the blankets were quite warm. I would definitely stay here again. The free breakfast was an added bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac wouldn't turn off and it got cold really quickly. The keys didn't work well and you needed to swipe the key card several times to get into the room.

    The room was big and had a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet could be better and more stable. I have been at Hampton Inns with the same standard, that was better maintained.staff was ok, but never that friendly that you really felt welcome.

    Quiet hotel with good rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to leave the hotel at 4 am for an early flight and were not able to get an itemized receipt!

    The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The room was big enough to get around easily.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had the first room down the hall from the front desk on the first floor, before the elevators, and therefore every single person coming and going to and from the hotel including those talking loudly went past my room. The room was across the hall from a rental room where a band was playing on Sunday. The neighborhood was a little dumpy.

    Ok breakfast for this class of hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm sensitive to odors, and could smell an odor in the room. It didn't smell fresh and clean.

    The two queen size beds and the size of the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a couple very minor hiccups to this great hotel. A makeup magnifying mirror would be a nice addition to the bathroom. And there is limited food choices in restaurants close by. But we really loved the hotel and plan to be back.

    Overall this is an excellent hotel, great friendly staff, cleanly, excellent breakfast buffet that changes up slightly every morning. Coffe Bar is wonderful. We plan to make this our go to hotel for Hayward.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was DISAPPOINTED in the fact that the FREE wireless was actually NOT FREE if one accepted the premium service offered. I think trying to make MORE money from your guests by offering a "questionable" premium wireless service is bad. Just let us get to our email with as little interruption as possible.

    Everything about our room was above average. Enjoyed the staff, breakfast, desk assistance. Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the noise and outside the window of our room,the tv was small, the vanity anf the toilet shared the same space, the pool was dirty, the towels were small,

    What i liked was the cookies and the genuine attitude of the staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness center could use some resistance training equipment -- like weights, machines, etc.

    Seemed very clean. Staff was very nice. Plenty of food in the mornings.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was way too high.

    Location for Graduation was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Everything, especially the breakfast! 😋

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water in room

    Well located in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities were very clean. Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfy and the room was exceptionally clean! The staff was extremely friendly!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda pricey for what it was.

    Breakfast was good. They accommodated early check in for me and my family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more choices at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds, clean. Short walk to the BARTS train to San Francisco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in toilet and bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry dryer i spend too much coin before my clothes dry

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozier lobby would be nice

    Microwave, fridge, room decor, breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property looked kept up and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    not able to receive an invoice !!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clean comfortable bedding and clean facilities. Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center was small but still good.

    Fluffy sheets and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight.

    The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was very good, place was clean. I'll be back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I paid $285 not the $244 that i suppose to

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about

    it was a good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love this place

    Very clean comfortable with great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the positive attitude all the staff had toward their work. All were dedicated to doing their best.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOVE this place. Three times in a row. Spoiled me for other hotels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    gym and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff is unprofessional, unclear deposit charge quite confused.

    Hotel facilities is alright

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were painting in the hall way and it sort of made me have a head ache.

    I always like the front desk staff always receptive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Clean room, comfortable beds, nice staff (Tina & Donna). Nice breakfast set up. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always, cheap toilet paper & paper cups.

    Clean & comfortable, a good location for this trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Erg goed ontbijt; rustige kamer; goed bed Very good breakfast; quiet room; good bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drugs in the hallway

    Breakfast was included

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We loved the soft blankets pillows the breakfast and the overall cleanliness of the facility. What a great stay. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Our stay is awsome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family felt safe in the area even tho we came to the hotel late at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge fan of the Hayward area...not a lot of restaurants within walking distance.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing TV stations ie fox sports west and turner classic movies.

    Always impressed with the staff. VERY helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very Clean, bed was great, bedding was new and fresh!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area not great

    Just what you want in a hotel stay, clean, comfortable, friendly and accommodations

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no comments

    Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything is nice.

    Everything was nice and comfy. We had an overall positive experience. Would love to stay here again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None problems. all good!!

    Room clean and bed very good sleeping.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager, Peta Jones, was VERY difficult to work with and tried to overcharge us.

    MOST of the staff EXCEPT for the manager, Peta jones, were very friendly and nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor customer service skills

    I was personally insulted by Nubia (breakfast cafe staff) in the presence of other guests because she thought I shouldn't be taking plates of food to my room. As for management...not very customer service friendly. Had to send a letter to upper management still waiting for response.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was thinking the price for a Sunday night was a little high. And the shower water took a long time to go down. I don't care for standing in a puddle when I'm in the shower.

    The bed was not comfortable at all. I spent the night at the Holiday Inn Express the night before coming to your hotel. The bed at their location was much more comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had to do a room change due to a next-door screaming child, even though I'd been clear that we needed a quiet location. It was handled with excellent care by the staff, but it would've been nicer not to have to deal with it at all. The towels were a little on the scratchy side.

    The bed is advertised as having a bed-cover that is laundered for each guest. FANTASTIC! The breakfast was of a higher caliber than the average similar. Surprisingly decent coffee in the room and at breakfast. The TV remote is responsive--I hate the ones where you have to wait a bit for the channel to change. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am short and the tall bed was problematic but everything else was so nice I could not complain. the bathroom was bueatiful

    The staff where super friendly and given that I am disabled they went out of their way to ensure I had appropriate accommodations. The coffee was wonderful and everything was nice and clean. Hats off to the staff...

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The smell was bad in the hotel and someone in the hotel kept smoking in the elevator. It was horrible.

    The staff were all wonderful and friendly. The bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too close tot he Main Street, small pool, need a car access food, no bar or restaurant.

    Newer property, love that they have my coffee creamer, free internet and business office usage to print airline tickets.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I don't like the way that they take more out of your account than the room charge and then pay back into your account later

    Clean comfortable and very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    My only real criticism was that it's marketed as "Oakland/ Hayward". Not familiar with Bay Area...assumed it was closer to Oakland than it was. Arrived in evening so I taxi'd to hotel which ran nearly $60. The Bart station is about a mile walk (not too bad) which is what I took going forward to get to my conference.

    Friendly/attentive staff, appropriately rated at 3 star, walking distance to a couple of fast food places. Loved how they had a pre-packed (to-go) breakfast bag; as I had to leave early each day for a conference...very nice touch!

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: