Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown 3 stars

33 West Illinois, River North, Chicago, IL 60610, USA

#63 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 739 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Location, facilities, room size
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a good hotel, but the 2 queen bedroom suite is a little expensive. A door between the room and bathroom sink could be a plus.

    Location, facilities, room size

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Worse time in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not to my liking towards the end of the trip. I was standing outside waiting for my Uber eats when I older gentleman comes up to me asking for a donation..I proceeded to tell him no thank u ..then he replied with I should take your shoes..I’m a sneaker collectors so I had Jordan retro 1 half and half’s on by the way ...I tell him sir I’m jus waiting for my food..he grabs me throws me on the ground I jumps see 3 other ppl running towards me I immediately take off and ran inside the hotel all the while security was watching not doing anything...so I recommend don’t go anywhere alone.

    I like the staff very friendly ...the breakfast was great...and the rooms were excellent. Location was close to alota different sites in Chicago.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay--comfortable beds and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a frat party on Saturday morning with the room at the end of our hall --open door men yelling at 8 in the morning. Also could hear every person walking down the hall and doors slamming upon every entry into rooms. Not sure how to block hallway noise...that was really disappointing. Could use some standing light fixture by the TV stand...room very dark. And a silly request...upgrade your tissues....they were like sandpaper! LOL

    Your rooms were comfortable--particularly the beds. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning--plenty to choose from and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, good position for my purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I miss vegetables for breakfast. Too hot water in the pool. Sometimes noise from fire station.

    Nice room, good position for my purpose. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    The room size was especially nice for my family of 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had trouble connecting to the WiFi the first night of our stay cause the front desk person didn't give us the the password. Also I was charged for parking when I informed them that I had already paid for parking using a parking app.

    The room size was especially nice for my family of 5. Also the morning breakfast was wonderful and different each morning we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    very clean and nice people at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely noisy due to venting machines outside the building and fire department. Doors and walls very thin so expect to hear everything from other guests.

    very clean and nice people at the front desk. Very friendly concierge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    3 Night Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was small for 3. Beds need new matresses..

    Location. We could walk to all sites visited. 1st time to Chicago. Breakfast was good. Felt safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful prefect place to relax
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything! Non smoking but I’ll book here again l.

    The pool and saunas was prefect. Bedroom was prefect. Breakfast amazing have waffles. Staff so friendly answered all my questions. My stay was prefect can’t wait to come back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Perfect position, 2 minutes from Michican Avenue, very large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, not so friendly personnel, very bad breakfast with low quality fatty products, at check-out they wanted to charge me with an higher rate.

    Perfect position, 2 minutes from Michican Avenue, very large room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    My sister and I enjoyed our time in Chicago. Loved the hotel and thr close proximity to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware, the firehouse is located right up the street from the hotel...probably not idea for light sleepers. Ask for room on other side of hotel. We had a street view of the hotel.

    Centrally located and close to everything. My sister and I were able to walk to most destinations within a two mile radius. Lots of great places to eat and hang out close to the hotel. Great options on the breakfast buffet. Customer service was top notch. Comfortable beds. We felt safe the entire time, even at 4:30 in the am when we were

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access with Bath Tub/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is great. Yo are at the very center of the action . Close to the river walk, bars and restaurants. Rooms are extremely comfortable and you might get a view. Maybe. However, location is everything. Staff is really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Hampton was nice, horrible area, taxes and parking ridiculous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I couldn't park on-site, was almost charged $25.00. I paid for a three person room which would require a rollaway bed.

    The breakfast was good but not great, beds were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely clean - love that. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great. Love the elevators - if you spend any time in Chicago hotels you know how tiny and slow the elevators are - not here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    A1 location for downtown Chicago, will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hot tub, which was a bit surprising, but the pool area was very bright, lots of sun coming through.

    Amazing experience at this hotel! There is a rooftop patio right off of the pool area, which offered a nice quiet place to relax and get some sun. The staff were friendly and accommodating, from the moment we stepped out of our vehicle and were greeted by the valet attendant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free internet works quiet slow. Room is rather small but with big beds. The hotel is a little bit old and rooms could have a renovation. The price was quiet high for the time we were there probably due to the Parade.

    Good service overall. They asked about the kind or room we wanted. The room we got wasn't noisy. Breakfast is abundant, quality is average. Location is fantastic to visit major touristic sites. Swimming pool is nice and the kids loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the late night “downtown action” outside - sirens, 230 bar guests singing; actually didn’t mind that too much - got a laugh out of it.

    We stayed in the King Suite that had a main room with a pull out sofa bed and a separate room with a King/queen size bed. The suite worked well for our family of 4. Comfortable bed and pillows. Plenty of room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast layout was awesome,the pool area was very nice...
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking sucks,every guest should have Valet included with their stay, it should be at no cost .

    The breakfast layout was awesome,the pool area was very nice and so was the workout area .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice location but not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cheaper to use spot hero for parking. housekeeping kept hitting hotel room door with vacuum and walked in on the morning of departure. very expensive for the type of hotel and basic room, so cost value was not there.

    comfortable bed. location to riverwalk and area restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Location location location / great restaurants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure of the water in the shower was bad!!! Cable Tv no works in the last day.

    Location location location / great restaurants in the neighborhood/ good breakfast/ good team

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our air conditioner was froze up at first so it took a day to get it unfroze and back in working order. But after that the temperature in the room was fine.

    Breakfast was amazing. Loved that the hot items were different each day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    We liked everything, including breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wished a small fridge was in the room, but otherwise, no complaints.

    We liked everything, including breakfast. Valet service was great, guys were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff was friendly, location was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a fridge or microwave in the room. Also the hot tub was out of order. Walls were thin, could hear people in the hallways.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    This is one of my favorite places to stay - in Chicago often and this is in top 3.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked soda machine

    I asked for a fan-was delivered AS I entered my room! Wanted coffee at 10:30 p.m.-no place was open(staff searched extensively)-made me a pot,WOMAN deliver it-MUCH appreciated for safety at night!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I came to this hotel for a weekend trip with my six friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they would have told us that a $60.00 room service charge would be automatically added to the initial payment and put back on my card if we didn't use it. Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel

    I came to this hotel for a weekend trip with my six friends and we had a wonderful stay. We were able to get into the room much faster than expected and the staff was very helpful. We stayed in the family suite and it was perfect for the amount of people we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    the noise from the fire dept right by are window &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise from the fire dept right by are window & couldn't parked there cause we have a truck . had to parked 2 blocks away. The 60 $ fee that you charge my credit card for parking or room service or whatever it was for they said if you didn't used that service it would be refunded back on my card. I didn't appreciate that I think that is dumb to charge that if your not going used that service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    They billed me twice and caused overdraft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Billing problems.

    They billed me twice and caused overdraft. We are still waiting for this to be corrected. I have called several times and even spoke with manager. This is very poor business. Can you clear this up immediately?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub they said they had was down the whole time we were there and they said they were getting rid of it.. There wasn't a fridge or microwave in our room.

    The breakfast was amazing!! Something different every morning!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff is exceptionally helpful and attentive to guests! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was very cloudy. My husband recently obtained his pool operator's license in Michigan and our daughters had helped him study. So, they knew that a cloudy pool is a dirty pool. Therefore, when they discovered they could not see the bottom of the shallow end, they didn't feel comfortable using the pool. This was unfortunate as that is their favorite part of staying in a hotel.

    The suite we had was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We liked that the suite only had one shared wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was happy to help with directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot tub was broken. We specifically picked a location with a hot tub knowing it would be nice to soak in after our Chicago day trips.

    Staff was happy to help with directions. Full breakfast was nice to have and we really appreciated the extended hours for breakfast. It allowed us to sleep in on our vacation and enjoy breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant Stay, but I was over charges for it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I was over charged extra $205 which they promised it would be refunded, however I have yet to receive it!! I will Never stay there again because of this!!!!

    The Nice room& breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice room and facilities but booking.com had wrong prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had booked a room for five people which turned out to only be for four people and maybe a super small child. So we had to pay more for an extra bed or to be upgraded to a larger room. Apparently booking.com has a lot of data wrong for this hotel, or that is what they said at the hotel but the staff's attitude of "not our fault" was rather annoying.

    The beds were comfortable and the suite was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very easy. Worked out perfect for our last minute circumstances.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking .

    Moe at the front desk was awesome. He was extremely helpful with all of my questions . He even was willing to gout of his way to run out and put money on a parking meter so I could sleep in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    I loved my room the cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay for the weekend parking should be included. The cost of our room $420 our parking $250. Not good.

    I loved my room the cleanliness. Best hotel breakfast. Staff was friendly. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Wish I would have stayed elsewhere, this hotel is small, OLD, cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. There was a marathon in the city, the hotel was aware of the route in advance but did not inform potential guest on the website prior to booking that guest would not have access to their cars the entire morning, despite paying $60 per night top park there. Guest were only made aware of the situation the night before. Creating a huge problem for people needing to or wanting to leave that morning. When asked the staff for solutions the employee just kept repeating the sane line "I took it upon myself to print you out a map of the area". I have a phone with a map, didn't need hers. She also stated we could get up at 6am move our car ourselves (you pay for valet regardless) and park in the street blocks away, if you could possibly find parking. Good luck with that, or pay additional $60 to park in a structure 4 blocks away and carry all your luggage there when you check out. Which is what we had to do!! Also "city" view is of an alley. NEVER STAY HERE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Fine if you don't want to swim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin, could hear everything next door and it was very hard to sleep. The pool was so gross, cloudy water, chlorine so off it burned your eyes and gave my kids rashes. Hot tub was closed and the floor around the pool was so incredibly slippery I saw 5 people fall. I swear one kid I thought had a concussion.

    Free breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good stay for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises from the hall and the neighboring rooms were a bit much. Also if upon checking, breakfast hours and locations of amenities in and nearby the hotel could be given on a pamphlet, that would be helpful.

    I liked the breakfast and the amenities as well as the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely would stay there again loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went during the dental convention so my bad on that part so breakfest was really busy and food ran out quickly and seemed like it took a min to get more with hungry kids

    I loved it was pretty centralized to everything we went to see and we where able to walk most places!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Location very good at downtown, room size big, very comfy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only not so great thing was the breakfast, a little simple and not used to paper plates and plastic cutlery...

    Location very good at downtown, room size big, very comfy bed, clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    The walls of this hotel are thin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls of this hotel are thin. We could hear everything in the next rooms! if you have a noisy neighbor forget sleeping... Also, this hotel is close to the fire dept. every so often the sirens would go off

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were 4 people and we booked a suite with a king size bed and a queen pull out bed, the room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was abundant and very good. Finally the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Chicago Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough breakfast selection the 2nd day as compared to the 1st day.

    Right in the middle of downtown with plenty to do in the area. Staff was extremely friendly. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our room, our bed and the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We chose this hotel because we wanted a hot tub! When we arrived, the hot tub was "under construction" and not working. Very disappointing! Especially since I called ahead and asked if they had a hot tub. I guess I should have asked if they had a "functioning" hot tub. Also, the guy over valet parking was very grumpy! Never saw him smile once! It cost $59 a night to park the car, so we turned our rental car back in. The free wifi is not too great either.

    I loved the bed! I slept better there than I do at home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Over all it was inexpensive hotel in a good location that provided everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specially chose this hotel for its amenities though and the pool was not great and really over crowded with kids and the hot tub had been drained and was no longer available.

    The staff were great and actually texted me throughout my stay to make sure I had everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    The room was very nice and the perfect size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realize how close the fire station was. Very loud sirens about 8 times a day. I would just take ear plugs next time!

    The room was very nice and the perfect size. The breakfast was amazing! Walking distance from Mag Mile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    The kind & helpful staff. The breakfast was phenomenal!!! The rooms were so clean, housekeeping was awesome as well. Vallet was excellent & fast, definelty worth the money. We definitely will stay at the Hampton again!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and value...bonus for the free breakfast option. Drawbacks would be the elevator use, which are rather outdated and can be clogged due to usage and faulty sensors (i.e. card reader required to reach desired floor but reader intermittently fails)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay very much and would book again and recommend to my peers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free breakfast was comparable to other hotel complimentary breakfasts, not better or worse.

    The room was very clean and staff was always helpful and friendly. The location was ideal for me because it was very close to public transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator didn’t get fixed as I requested the maintenance guy came up a hour before check out so my food didn’t stay cold and was ruined and need more options on the breakfast needs scrambled eggs more than once

    The staff was awesome and the beds they took really good care of me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Our stay with Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown was fantastic, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that right next to the hotel there was a fire department, so at night we heard the sirens the whole time. That was the only thing.

    We really enjoyed the breakfast, it was very filling and delicious. The bathroom was very clean, as well as the room. The hotel staff was super friendly and very accommodating. All the elevators were working. The hotel was located in a great area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Hotel/room was clean and bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendy but could have better informed us of breakfast times and parking rates when we checked in as we booked the room a few months in advanced so these were not things we remembered.

    Hotel/room was clean and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    This was a great place for us to stay for our work trip- comfortable, clean, and accessible.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No suggestions to add here.

    The room was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. The continental breakfast was fantastic- I loved the oatmeal bar with all of the different toppings. I also appreciated the Neutrogena brand toiletries in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off site parking. I would like to park onsite with a bigger discount. because I was told 24 overnight but it was 48 big difference.

    The places in walking distance. the room was very nice. The heat had to kick in but afterwards was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    It was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very helpful, high rates for not much. Requested a room with a view and didn't get one. Lots of suprise fees, the mandatory vallet was horrible!

    It was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend to anyone and will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that the hot tub was not working - it would have been rest to know this in advance.

    We have stayed here a few times before and will continue to come back! The staff is always friendly and helpful, the restaurant downstairs was great, and the facility itself was wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    What a fabulous place to stay during our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t receive time down service the second day we were there and the room keys stopped working so we can do have the front desk reset them

    The bed was soft and sheets were crisp. The location was great! Super easy to get a cab. Staff was super friendly. Our room was ready way earlier than expected. They gave us as many room keys as we needed instead of limiting to two. It was safe and secure. The breakfast was different every day and tasty. Lots of options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    I’d stay at this hotel again with my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub wasn’t clean. The toilet in our room would run continuously until someone remembered to shake the handle. It also was necessary to hold it so that it could completely flush otherwise there were things left behind.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The place itself was in an excellent location. The valet guys were helpful and friendly. The bellhop was also great. There was more than adequate space for breakfast and plenty of options to make all happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    We had a truck, vallet parking only, said it was too big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a truck, vallet parking only, said it was too big and sent us down the street to park, we found parking a few blocks away, not what we were expecting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel🏨!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access with Bath Tub/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view Pool closed too early Sauna not hot enough

    Pool with sauna and hit tube, terrasse.. early check in and nice staff. included breakfast with waffle bar, coffee and tea all day long. Confortable bed and a real bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a nice part of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen light did not work. Valet parking was expensive but that’s to be expected in Chicago. Everything else was very good.

    The room was beautiful with a modern kitchenette with a little island and nice appliances. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel restaurant had good and nice ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    The location was perfect for our stay, breakfast was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was surprised with a $75 per night room deposit upon arrival, which is supposed to be returned in 3-5 Days. Should have known this up front! And it should be listed on your receipt!

    The location was perfect for our stay, breakfast was good and room was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    A nice and popular hotel in the heart of Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are not soundproof, especially that there are doors between the rooms, which seemed awkward. There were locked, of course. The pool was disappointing. The water could have been clearer. Moreover, there are no changing room nor lockers, and you have to change because there are no dressing gowns in the rooms. There was nobody taking care of the pool. The only time that we went there during our four-day stay, there were kids playing in the water and occupying the whole pool. They did not pay attention to the fact that there are also other people wishing to swim.

    We very much enjoyed our stay at Hampton Inn & Suites. It started bad - it turned out that our neighbors were making a lot of noise and we could not sleep till past 2 am. The reception sent them a noise alert, however it did not work, and when I called the reception again, I was offered room change. We really enjoyed the change - it was a suite (and the previous was a deluxe room) at no additional charge and it was super quiet. The staff was very helpful, kind and welcoming. The breakfast was good. I would definitely book this place again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Overall a good stay. Better wi fi would have helped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the bathroom off the bedroom in the suites was not good. We got a suite so our parents could go to bed and we kept going in their room to use the bathroom. Wi-Fi NEVER worked.

    Comfortable beds. Very friendly staff. Pool water temperature was AMAZING. I could actually stay in and play with my kids without freezing. Sauna was awesome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with friendly staff. We had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the suite the bathroom was off the bedroom which meant the pull out sofa sleepers had to go into the bedroom where people were sleeping. The cost of valet parking. No vending machines and out of coke in the suite shop.

    The bed was very comfortable, staff was very friendly, rooms clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the Hampton Inn was will use them as our primary hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is showing signs of wear and tear. Very clean, just older.

    The service was exceptional and the staff was both pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was also much better than I would have expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not impressed that the only parking is Valet unless you wanted to walk 5 blocks back to the hotel in the cold. Would have been nice to know that valet parking is $59 before booking the hotel.

    Very nice hotel and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The accommodations were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels allows smoking directly outside the entrance, would appreciate if I didn't have to inhale second-hand smoke.

    The accommodations were exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great location, great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area could get really crowded. Plan ahead your breakfast time so you don't have to bump with the other guests.

    The location, the view from the room and the bed was excellent. The breakfast was much more than was expected. The bed was extremely comfortable and soft and warm... We love it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Cleaning services between days was superb and exceeded any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ventilation after a shower could have been better. Not detrimental though.

    Cleaning services between days was superb and exceeded any cleaning service I've experienced while staying in a hotel. Very pleased group!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    It was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty good. Valet staff wasn’t extremely friendly nor helpful at checkout.

    Breakfast was good. Property was pretty clean and staff was friendly! Room was very comfortable. Elevators ran smoothly and quickly. Good shower and no problems With plumbing. Restaurant was connected but too crowded. Nice variety of restaurants within walking distance. Some restaurants were willing to deliver as well. ATM is lobby but banks also within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    It was a very nice stay , felt like I was at home
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they fail to mention anything prior before your stay about their $75 deposit per day of your stay . I went in with the impression everything was already paid for only to be charged an additional fee once I checked in , very inconvenient if you're on a budget and weren't expecting that additional charge without prior knowledge

    Everything was accessible, the staff is very easy going , they accommodate you very well .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived there and tried to check in after having a reservation prior. The person at the front desk was not attentive or very helpful. Looked like he was trying to get rid of us faster. He didn’t give us any information or any pertinent answer to our question. Parking was really expensive. It was 120 $ for two days if I remember right. The valet chased us everywhere and he almost put his hands in our wallet for the money . I found it really rude. Noisy, with kids running on the hallways after 11. I will pay more next time to stay somewhere else but not in your hotel.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.8
    Satisfactory apart from fire department sirens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to Fire station. I was on third floor and it's a very busy Fire station so the siren was going very frequently. So much for a good night sleep...NOT!!!

    Location....all within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall extremely happy with our trip to Chicago and I would recommend staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy rooms. We had noisy neighbours on the first night but after a few hours I gave in and rang the front desk to complain and they put a stop to the noise straight away. The hotel is situated next door to one of Chicago’s many fire stations so you hear sirens often.

    Very centrally located for a great sightseeing and shopping trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    Stay was not pleasant at all !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Queen 1 Bedroom with Sofabed Corner Suite Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of hotel, the price of hotel, price for parking, fire station nxt door very noisey, beds were uncomfortable, believe my guest got bed bug bites, water pressure in shower not very strong, internet was crap,could have gotten better breakfast at McDonalds., Traveled from out of town, for price of the hotel, called prior and requested an early check-in, 30-60 minutes, was told YES, we could check in early, upon arrival to hotel was told room wasn't ready, so had to leave our bags in some lobby room,12 floor hotel with ONE vending area,on 2nd level, with very limited drink choices. Will NEVER stay at Hampton Inn AGAIN!!!!! Especially that one!

    Actually did not like anything at all...The Staff was nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    The complimentary breakfast and the staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website I booked through said they had free parking and when I got there it was $57 to park overnight. Very bumped and disappointed about the high fee to park.

    The complimentary breakfast and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: