Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids-Airport 28th St 3 stars

5200 28th Street South East, Cascade, MI 49512, USA

#7 of 9 hotels in Cascade

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 63 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful!! The location, the room, the pool it was all beautiful. The only issue I had was with the garbage cans on the outside of the doors hadn’t been changed so there was garbage over flowing onto the ground.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    All in all. Clean and staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was that the fire alarm kept blinking at night. Once you went to sleep though it wasn't a bother.

    Everything was good. We had the King room so we had lots of room. Breakfast not bacon or sausage but lots of other stuff to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Would have been perfect if the pool had less chlorine. Upsetting for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was too small and located far from the bed. The pool was intoxicating with chlorine. My son had an asthma attack and eyes were burning. Could not go in the hot tub st all. I told the desk person and not sure he did anything about it. Hours later ran into some guests who’s kids were puking from it. The pool should have been closed and ventilated. You could smell the strong chlorine from the lobby.

    Loved the breakfast. Waffles, oatmeal, eggs with salsa and cheese fixings. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was huge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    The pool area smelled so bad of chlorine we could not stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area smelled so bad of chlorine we could not stay in there for more than a half hour. The breakfast was super, the staff was very accomodating and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.5
    Only happy part was leaving.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was extremely wet under window all the way beyond desk. Asked for help. Only assist to fix the problem was turn a/c to 60 degrees. All staff was rude and did nothing to assist us with this issue. Bed made in sloppy manner with bedskirt all akimbo. Breakfast room was filthy. We always stay at Hampton Inn and this was a miserable visit, way over priced. Will not use booking.com or stay at a Hampton Inn in the near future. What a shame. Apparently because we paid thru booking.com there could be no monetary adjustment. I will more than gladly share the bad experience with all I know.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.6
    It was very unsatisfactory. Not enough room. The smallest and most expensive of the whole trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on duty that night wasn't feeling well and he was not in a very good mood. The room was a little small for the six of us by the time we got the roll away bed and our pack and play out up it was actually a fire hazard if there had been one trying to get out of room. It was actually the smallest room we had had the whole trip.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    Room and bathroom both were clean. Front desk staff needs a lot of training but they are friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was injured in their pool and offered no medical attention. He limped from the pool to the front desk with a bloody towel wrapped around his foot because of a 2" gash from the grate on the bottom of the pool. We told them the next morning we were taking him in for medical care,all they gave us was a copy of the incident report. Nothing for insurance, but I let them know he's going now because he wasn't offered last night. The staff didn't know how to handle the situation, not even the supervisor. When we checked in we paid cash and then put card on file, it took two people to figure to do that. Although we used this website they wanted to charge us more, tell us they didn't have anymore of those rooms left. Luckily I did a screen shot and had everything right there.

    The room was great and clean. No problems there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable, ive stayed at other hotels and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the location only bc the signs were not big, not noticeable and i had a very hard time finding the place

    The beds were comfortable, ive stayed at other hotels and the beds are so uncomfortable! The staff was so nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Location and accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gal at the registration desk was not helpful. She used regulations to say "no" to customers, then tried to be helpful. We watched her send one customer away. Her initial response was to say no rather than to try to find a solution. Then when she sensed the customer was annoyed, she tried to help, but it was too late. We liked the room and the location, but will try somewhere else on our next trip.

    Location and accomodations

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    They missed a spot....
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter a small container (box) of wine by her bed (under the dust ruffle) left by a previous guest. Don't touch anything on the floor, kids!! Yuck.

    Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Hampton Hockey...LIVE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like kids playing hockey in the hallway right outside our room. They were loud and made us very uncomfortable. We had to blow the whistle for the front desk to end the game.

    I like Hampton Inns model for success. I like the breakfast in the morning and anytime coffee station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Staff was excellent. Pillows, too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    It was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for park and fly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night

    older motel but clean enough

    Great value for park and fly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Quietness of HVAC and didnot hear othets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the bathroom seemed odd

    Quietness of HVAC and didnot hear othets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Hard to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is easy to get to. Convenient to the highway and to everything we wanted to do

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    i have no more to say
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the extra hotel tax and I stayed in same hotel & room in ohio and the room cost was $114.00.

    bed was good, didn't stay to eat

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    it was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool was so heavily chlorinated kids were coughing my eyes were burning NEVER experienced this at a hotel pool

    it was quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Continental breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Hampton is the best of the best
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything.We always stay at Hampton.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    It was great! I am sure we will try to stay here again when we return for Calvin's Graduation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfest was great and so was the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    8.3
    Clean with a nicely furnished room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very noisy, disruptive heater/AC/ventilation unit which even though we switched it off at the thermostat, continued to cycle on and off. Sleep deprived as a result.

    Clean with a nicely furnished room

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    The pool was great and the hot breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The king size bed was nice but I was definitely glad to get back to my bed at home after sleeping two nights there.

    The pool was great and the hot breakfast was great. The staff were very courteous and prompt, the hotel was very clean and kept up.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.9
    Generally high standard - in common with all Hampton Inns
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not well sign posted from the road. It's tucked round the back of a shopping mall and the only sign is a small one which can be seen only when one turns into the shopping car park off the road. You've got to hunt for it!

    Generally high standard - in common with all Hampton Inns

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    Customer Service was very impressive and above even Hilton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Customer Service was very impressive and above even Hilton standards. Savannah was most helpful as I was setting up a room for my mother so she would not have to drive late at night. She was very helpful and understanding. The other staff members were outstanding and provided great customer service. The room itself "wowed" my mother and provided a relaxing atmosphere after a long day at the airports.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    The staff was helpful and courteous.
    • Family with older children

    My experience with Booking.com. They never made my reservation and I nearly didn't have a place to stay my second night. Fortunately Hampton Inn was able to work it out for me though.

    The staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    The bed was a dream, room very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked on trivago and hotel had no record of it, we did get a room ok.

    The bed was a dream, room very clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    bed was comfy, and huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    later breakfast would always be nice, maybe until 11 o'clock. Like a brunch.

    bed was comfy, and huge.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.0
    Great desk staff, breakfast staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great desk staff, breakfast staff. Very helpful. Beyond our expectations.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.4
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Waited to check in, no one at the counter.

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    for the money, really nice amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    for the money, really nice amenities. plenty of towels, nice breakfast selection and all in all a clean well kept facility

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was awesome... And Tammy was really nice and went an extra step to help my son find pool googles.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: