Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach 3 stars

1530 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254, USA

#5 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Hermosa beaches best property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like about that place it was awesome

    I liked everything about it I will definitely use that place every time I go to Hermosa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is excellent. The room and bathroom is very clean and comfortable. Parking is easy to reach and helps a lot. There are supermarkets, bars and restaurants nearby. Near from the pier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Close to beach, room was nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    in personal opinion staff could of been more helpful. We had to question the bill as felt it wasn't explained at check in. We were a family of 4 with 2 young children. At breakfast there was no where to sit together leaving kids sitting on table and us standing behind them. Someone needs to organise people to make it better stopping the 1 person taking up a table of 4 esp when space is so limited.

    Close to beach, room was nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Good if expensive stay, marred by wrong room description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A King Suite isn't a room with a King bed and a sofa. The recotionist wasn't really helpful here, saying "it's a junior suite!" when it's clearly not doesn't help. Also, if it WAS a junior suite, advertise it as such. The highway next to the hotel is noisy. It's an expensive area, but prices are still high, and for this, at least the room description should be right.

    Location, breakfast, beds, parking. Very thorough cleaning of the room. The receptionist was friendly, but failed to do anything about our problem (see below).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Anniversary weekend...,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that we had to go home.

    The location is perfect...you can walk or ride your bikes to the beach. The remodel of the facility is beautifully done. The staff is accommodating and very friendly. 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    The Hampton Inn exceeded all of our expectations, we will definitely be staying at this hotel when w
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with our stay! The staff at the front desk were very nice and extremely accomadating! Everything was easy for us.

    Yes the eggs were amazing and the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    We really enjoyed the balcony - it was nice to sit outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed the balcony - it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view. The only problem was that on the weekend we were there the sundeck was closed - would have been nice to be able to use it as the view of the ocean was much better there then from the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    i would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking is limited but we had no issues

    considering it was a holiday weekend, we were pleasantly surprised with the great accommodations near the festival

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    The staff was super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super helpful. My daughter had a late flight and they gave us a late check out, kept her bags behind the desk and arranged for a cab to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfect room, but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside, the hotel is perfect after the remodelling. But noise from inside and outside the hotel was bad, totally not what we expected from a Hampton Inn. Oud room faces the neighbourinh vet clinic. "Balcony" resembled prison yard, almost no sunlight and a big fence.

    Recently remodeled room, perfect beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Hermosa Beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doing remodeling at present. Work noises on occasion, should make it even better.

    Clean, friendly, great breakfast choices, Hermosa Beach is a great area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    The room that I got didn't match the picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I got didn't match the picture. I didn't go back and make a fuss over it because I was to tired but I will think twice before going back if there's a future visit to the Hampton. The picture had a kitchen, my room didn't.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Hermosa Beach Hampton Inn...our home away from home!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces were extremely tight! Made parking a real chore.

    The staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful and fun. They went above and beyond our expectations. The complimentary breakfast was superb! The price and location was great. We didn't want to leave. They have a really nice roof-top deck that's great for some relaxing sunshine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Must stay for great beach access and lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave us a room with no view. Will request that next time because we will be back.

    Comfy beds. Front desk staff super friendly and helpful. Great location. Close to the beach,shopping and lots of restaurants. Great breakfast. Nice spacious rooms. Close to airport. 1 hour from everything to do in LA.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    nice hotel close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didnt have a safe. Breakfast were very basic. The room was quite expensive

    Location was great, walking distance from the beach. The beds were really confortable and the room was very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean hotel at good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels too small. Prefer firmer bed pillows.

    Very close to the beach. Nice modern lobby. Good morning breakfast. Very friendly at front desk. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator

    A very comfortable and spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Comfort rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Comfort rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noise from room upstairs, sounded like kids running and playing.

    Walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Gentleman who checked us in was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentleman who checked us in was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, good location, convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, good location, convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Parking, location, free breakfast, ocean view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, location, free breakfast, ocean view room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Mobility Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Confortable, clean, kind people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confortable, clean, kind people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Be back soon 😍
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Yes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful. Definitely would do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm for me

    Great staff! The breakfast was really good too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Mobility Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs were super salty.... Have regular waffles and not flavored... Fruit in a cup...fresh fruit would be way better

    Oatmeal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    It was ok. I probably won’t stay again do to the price
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was very high for one night

    The rooms were nicely updated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    I liked it a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A microwave in the room.

    I liked it a lot!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Super hard beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hard beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant accommodation, would definitely stop there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything

    The hotel, including the room, the breakfast and all staff was excellent,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything was perfect! The room was spacious. The staff very friendly & helpful. GREAT LOCATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in the morning was a bonus. We didn't know that was included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Free breakfast was good enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free breakfast was good enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A.

    Hotel is clean, staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable and breakfast bar has a wide variety of foods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    good value for money stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good Breakfast, Friendly staff, Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Price too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price too high

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic location to enjoy Hermosa beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Easy to get to the beach
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Parking at night was rough, not enough spots when busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at night was rough, not enough spots when busy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Newly renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Rooms have just been renovated. Very modern,light and spacious. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi worked well in reception but not in bedroom.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel extremely clean. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and clean rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    The bed was amazingly comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, everything from the check in to the the linens where great!

    The bed was amazingly comfortable. The room was clean and well stocked with toiletries.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Staff was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was nice. The sofa bed was. Wry uncomfortable. Our 15 year old daughter has a bad back and it was sore after our first night sleeping there.

    Staff was very pleasant. Room was much nicer than we expected.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.9
    Location was good, near shopping and walk to pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couch was dirty. Patio door was rotting and lock was not very secure. The TV was in an odd spot. It was quite a distance from the bed and since the couch was against the wall next to the TV, we couldn't see it while sitting in the couch. We wanted to stay another night but they were going to charge us $100 more and wouldn't give any discount so we left.

    Location was good, near shopping and walk to pier. Restaurants were near by. Room was large and quiet. Mini fridge and microwave came in handy. Nice to have hot breakfast included!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely nice and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were extremely nice and very helpful. The breakfast was more than enough to get you through to late afternoon and good choices. Loved making my own waffles!!! The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Would go back in a heartbeat. Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was friendly, the facility and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't anything that I had a complaint about.

    The staff was friendly, the facility and the rooms were clean and the breakfast that was provided was good. The room also had a balcony which was nice. I didn't feel as enclosed in my room as I usually do.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    The breakfast was very good!
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was not that easy to access. It would have been nice to get the password written down at check-in, as well as the name of the provider to use to get online. As it was, I didn't really need to get online so I didn't call the front desk for help.... so it's actually mostly my fault. The front desk staff was very helpful whenever I did have a question or needed assistance.

    The breakfast was very good! Hot food (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc) plus delicious waffles and fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries -- the most complete breakfast bar yet! ... it was all sooo good. And the breakfast bar was kept very clean and tidy and well-stocked. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were quiet. The location is great --right across the street from a bank and a grocery store and very close (all downhill) to the ocean --- about six blocks away. A nice walk down to the ocean, right past boutique shops and cafes.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Loved the bed and large clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Loved the bed and large clean room.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The view..but we didn't pay for a view..had a wall!

    Very clean! Loved the breakfast! Very nice variety! Hotel staff informed and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    3.0
    Nothing
    • Couple

    Window to a wall, not friendly welcome and no able to other room choices

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was great
    • Couple

    We had a long walk for seniors and no balcony

    Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast was the best feature of e facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility was very dated stained.

    Breakfast was the best feature of e facility

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.5
    The ac wasn't cooling enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ac wasn't cooling enough. Was stuffy.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast is dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is dreadful. Processed rubbish not fit for a dog.

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: