Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center-NRG Park 3 stars

1715 Old Spanish Trail, Houston, TX 77054, USA

#96 of 389 hotels in Houston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visiting Houston in anticipation of the birth of our second grandson and the hotel was very close to the Woman's Hospital of Texas. Great experience and pleased with the gated parking area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More stairway. Is just two way to acces 5th floor and both are in the opposite side of the building. Long distance to walk if you are in the middle of the building

    The bed was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The entire bathroom is way overdue for an update. 2. The tile floors were "sticky" in all areas of hotel and especially our bathroom. Even visited friends upstairs and found the same "sticky" floor. 3. Handguns were prohibited. Such areas are the ones attacked by shooters. I will not stay at such a facility in TEXAS again that does not allow "conceal and carry." 4. "Vagrant (homeless, etc) people were allowed to enter into the dining area to help themselves to the morning buffet wearing or carrying a backpack. They did not wash their hands prior to handling buffet items. What if they had seen the "No handgun" sign and had a loaded weapon in their back pack? Wake up, World.

    Convenience to meeting area at NRG. The Robust coffee choices in lounge area was good as well as the three creamers. Waffles were easy to make and tasted good also, Monday fruit choices were better than Sunday's buffet. Our toilet had a filling disorder of the tank but a service man can withing 5 minutes of our request. He also adjusted the A/C fan for us. Gated parking provided "no claims theft or damage" to vehicle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor Tv dish signal. And also the odor of the bathroom not so good. It was clean but I’m guessing went they mop the floor leave it with that distinctive bad odor.

    The parking lot secure behind bars

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell on the floor, I was staying. Complained to managerment, which I over heard 5 other people complaining. Management acted like they had no clue of the smell. And Informed everyone nothing could be done, because the hotel was full booked. I was staying at that hotel because of location to the hospital, I was having same day surgery. Coming back from surgery dealing with the smell was awful. The price for the hotel was not worth the cost. The staff was not friendly, stayed on the phone while talking with guests. Very rude staff. The hotel is well used for hospital location. It’s sad the price is so high and not good accommodations for sick or ill people.

    Great location to the hospital, where I had a same day surgery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room were dated. Had problems with the door locks, Carpet looks worn in hallways. Older property needs upgrades.

    Breakfast was warm an fresh staff was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the shuttle drivers complained about having to make stops and other things. He may have been having a bad day but my sister is dying from cancer and really doesn't need that kind of attitude. There were 2 drivers, the older one was great.

    The staff members were very friendly and the shuttle to M D Anderson hospital is a great convenience for patients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really clean, staff was very friendly and was a great help with any questions we had and having all our accommodations met for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was very courteous and attentive. We had group of 20 students with 5 chaperones and they were always friendly and patience in working with us. Breakfast was available very early in the morning which helped us get to our competition at 7am. Being 5 mins from the train was a great benefit in moving our large crowd downtown each day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access Tub/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late so the site parking was full but staff directed us to a convenient alternative area. We were able to walk to our appointment the next morning. Super clean, great staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the phone we had to call back 3 times to get an answer on "do you have DVD players". Mixed answers from all 3 people and then told no chance. So we did not bring our family DVD's for Xmas day. When we arrived, we were given a room with a DVD player!!!! Of course, we had not brought them!!! Also, the housekeeping was pretty poor. Coffee not replaced. Toilet paper not replaced. Kept having to go down to the front desk for items. Also, Xmas day was said to be "minimal housekeeping". For our room that meant nothing expect leaving us a roll of paper towels! The management did try to compensate us at the end of our 4 days there, but it did make the trip less pleasant.

    location was terrific. Love the front staff, and the room was spacious and the beds were wonderful!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access Tub/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall all, I can't think of anything that needed improvement.

    The eggs & potatoes were excellent! We rated it very good. The bed was excellent and the help was for the most part very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was the worst sofa bed , felt like i was sleeping on metal, had to book a room with King bed for my son , wife and child and sofa bed for myself because they didnt have 2 beds available , i will never do that again

    The suites were beautiful and love the tv in the bedroom and with the sofa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service on Sunday not well coordinated - we waited a hour at the zoo and had to call twice before being picked up.

    Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds . Great if you are going to medical center. We were touring Rice. Easy shuttle ride from hotel and also walkable. Staff accommodating and let us check in room early. Also storing our bags while we visit the campus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Good choice at breakfast. Happy hour with free wine and beer and nibbles. Good location only two blocks from the Metro which took about 15 minutes into the city centre and shuttle bus to local restaurants which was very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times for some reason I thought the lobby area smelt like smoke. For breakfast time I never did smell this. It was in the evening when coming back from our day's activities. Other than that it was a nice place.

    It was extremely close to the NRG Center and the shuttle was a great service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really complain. It would be nice if laundry services were on each floor (probably a little too picky).

    Close proximity to MD Anderson. Also the staff has been extremely accommodating and kind. Very glad to have shuttle services to and from hospital.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great & staff was friendly. We liked having gated parking and being close to the VA hospital and Pearland TX for great shopping. There are several food options close.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small sink area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Friendly staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 of the elevators was not working, making for a long wait every time we needed to use it.

    Very clean comfortable rooms and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place needs remodeling.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some fresh paint on the inside, pool was a lil iffy... and small

    Beds were comfy, staff friendly, husband loved breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to navigate in the room, which was set up rather awkwardly. A small table would have been useful.

    lovely breakfast selections

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower was weak

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good Breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a tiny bit in need of a freshening up, like new carpeting in the hallways would be nice

    Staff was super friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a large truck was not easy.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was kind of lumpy

    Location, cleanliness, courtesy of staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect I size. I am gonna ask for that room or o be like it next time.

    Friendly front staff and perfect room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except the pillows.....if I had two it would have been fine....they were just very thin. :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rates were extremely high even when we checked out a day early. Still charged full price for our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast

    mattress

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets didn’t seem clean. Had a smell to them.

    Quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night

    better pillows, they were just to soft..

    eggs were fine, bed was good except for the pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens were not fresh :(

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were in bad shape. Wrinkled and small tear noted on fitted sheet.

    Loved bed and pillows!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really like the staff,the breakfast and the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to keep getting key coded multiple times

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, great breakfast, shuttle service was an added bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts, fast Wifi.

    Clean room and beds sheets are white and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs fresh fruit bread

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Comfortable bed , clean refreshing . EVERYONE WAS SO HELPFUL

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys became demagnetized,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken elevator

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub/shower was in severe need of remodeling.

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not use swimming pool. Cannot rate it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son had surgery on his jaw and you didn't have gravy but one day that we were there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had 1/2 parking blocked off wks before Christmas. But the bed was horrible! Like a rock!

    Lots of hot items to choose from at Breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are outdated & need some upgrades

    Super close to hospitals

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Double Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corn on side of fridge.

    Location. We are patients of MD Anderson and Lubys is next door. We also had a family room with a kitchen area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room on the higher floor and didn't get it

    The breakfast was awesome rooms were comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small not alot of room for a double bed space.

    Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower sucked

    Good Breakfast Happy hour was a surprise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety

    Food was cold

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    entry door from gated parking lot did not work.

    location, price, beds,breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best coffee bar! Front desk staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    eggs were tasteless, would like more bacon, less sausage on breakfast. elevator was broken/slow

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Couple

    THERE WAS NO HOT OR EVEN WARM WATER AT 4:00 AM AND I HAD TO BE BATHED AND AT THE HOSPITAL AT 5:00 AM! COLD SHOWER IS NOT THE WAY I WANTED TO PREP BEFORE SURGERY

    SIZE OF ROOM WAS NICE, BED COMFORTABLE AND WELL APPOINTED

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bagels had mold on them! We didnt know that wifi was free until we overheard the same clerk who checked us in tell another guess w/o them asking.

    The white comforter. Free breakfast. Right next to restaurant to where you don't have to drive.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Shuttle service to mdanderson needs improvement. A shuttle at 6:16 am and 7 am are unacceptable. No flexibility to accommodate appointments. First room was totally unacceptable. Ever movement of the elevator avoided being able to sleep. Had to move to another room. Picnic table seat was broken. No area with seating to smoke outside.

    Danielle was veryaccommodating. Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Couple

    The price of this hotel varies greatly depending on demand due to events at Reliant Center, etc.

    We like to stay near the Medical Center so we don't have to worry about fighting rush hour traffic to get to an early morning doctor's appointment. We chose Hampton Inn because of its location and the fact that it has a restricted access parking lot. The staff is friendly, the rooms have always been clean, and the breakfast is more than adequate. It is in a relatively quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Couple

    Frindly and helpful service that serve a very good breakfast and happy hour.

    It was very close to the women hospital and easy to reach the Staff was very friendly and helpful both at check-in and. Check out. The lady at the desk when we checkin help us get in early because of my wife need to be in the room for her health reasons. The lady at the desk on Check out help straighten out the bill because the difference charges from Booking.com and Hampton charges was very thankful for the help they both gave both deserve an As a plus. Will stay. Here again when need to return to this hospital.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning silver tape inside the shower above the curtain rod in our room and the obvious repairs made removing something from the ceiling was not patched well and the wood furniture was nicked. One elevator wasn't working

    Very clean hotel and we enjoyed the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Garbage truck at Lubys in the middle of the night was way loud just under my window.

    The staff was outstanding and most helpful. They were outgoing and extremely respectful and courteous. Breakfast was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Couple

    I had to ask for 2 towels per person each day, wish they would have left them automatically.

    I liked hotel location since it was close to Medical Centers and Museums. Provided an excellent free breakfast. Staff was sweet and gracious...always showed a smile and shared kind words.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing is related to personal preference. The mattress was a bit too soft for my back.

    The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful in a all aspects!

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was not pleased with their billing system. This hotel withheld an additional $386.00 from my account up to 5 days after checkout.

    Location to the event

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: