Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3 stars

231 Grand Street, Chinatown, New York, NY 10013, USA

#300 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 980 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    EXCELLENT COMFORTABLE FRIENDLY
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was small and not really able to cope with the amount of people in the hotel. Could do with extending it somehow, maybe utilising part of the patio area.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was always hot and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.5
    I stayed here with my 85 year old grandmother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here with my 85 year old grandmother. The staff was more than accommodating, the continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. I was very pleased with this hotel and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    2.5
    It was like a hotel in a dumpster filled with spoiled oily food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was so dirty and sketchy that I had to pay for a second hotel. The smell was so bad that it burned your nostrils as soon as you opened the car door. It looked and smelled like a dirty, smelly, greasy kitchen. Booking.com and the hotel refused to give me my money back. It was falsely advertised and I was taken advantage of. Worst possible experience. My kids were scared to death of the neighborhood.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was too small for everyone trying to navigate through the space. There was no ventilation in the bathroom so the towels were always damp. The signage outside made it difficult to realize how to enter hotel.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    We have been travelling as a family with 3 teen children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room is in an open space with the lobby and is rather small, especially when it rains and it s not possible to have breakfast in the terrace. On the other hand it is very nice to have breakfast in the terrace on sunny days.

    We have been travelling as a family with 3 teen children. Location is very convenient, subway very close. The staff was helpful and nice to us. Kids room was very spacious and fully equipped, even the sofa bed was ok. The other room, for my husband and me, was smaller but comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Easy check-in;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast; no minibar!

    Easy check-in; clean room ; helpful crew; close to Subway, Metro; close to B. Bridge, Little Italy, China Town; great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shampoo and conditioner dispenser were empty, but it was ok for us because we brought our own

    Great Location. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. Breakfast is very very good, you can find food for everybody, child, adult, or seniors. Service was good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable accommodations,good location in clean rooms. Price was high but so is most of New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were pretty basic and the use of throw away utensils did not appeal.

    The location in China town was excellent. Tube was close by,plenty of Chinese restaurants and close to Little Italy?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Budget choice of price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast food variety is limited. Suggest to provide more choice. Nearby china town smell not good. kids don't like. BW member privilege is not making difference here.

    Complimentary breakfast is ok. Room space is big. Location is convenience which close to subway "grand street".

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A great stay for an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The T.V. Remote didn’t seem to match the T.V. because I couldn’t manipulate the settings.

    This is my second time staying here and it was so much better than the first, mainly because I had polite neighbors who weren’t loud during the night. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and clean. There was also a comfortable lounge chair and side table great for reading or relaxing. Breakfast was also very good with a nice variety of scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, and make your own waffles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the only thing which was odd might be the way one of the employee respond to us. Breakfast is served up to 10 am and at 9:30, we did ask if there will be some refilled for eggs and she was quite upset and said NO. I guess it was a bad day (hopefully). But since there were quite a lot variety of option, we didn't really care!

    I booked the room at the last minute and didn't expect to be impress. I was indeed and will definitely book another room for my next visit in NYC. The room was perfect and so was the location. I did have some doubts about the location while booking but it was just awesome. The breakfast available too was awesome and surprise us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great 2nd experience! Location, Service and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to stay for more hours because my flight was at 1am of the next day so I booked a room for just 10hrs and since I stayed with my parents in a double room for 3 days I thought they would help me with some discount in renting a 1 bed room for 10hrs but it wasn't the case.... Just a little detail that would have make this excellent. But although the staff was very helpful and kind and with good appearance.

    Great variety st breakfast and good quality and they change the menu daily for instance the eggs are real (not box or the ones already made) one day it was omelet the other day was scrambled eggs and they have good yogurt machine and fresh berries and granola banana and even chocolate chips. Waffle, fruits, bacon etc. The room was very clean and good size, good amenities toiletries plenty of towels. Felt secure inside the hotel and liked that to access the room floors you need to use the keys. Location is near China Town, Little Italy, LES, Soho etc. The service was great and theres ice machine in 2 floors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is in great location, clean, staff tries to correct problems, breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no pillow for 3rd adult on pull out bed a/c blew on head liquid soap

    Location is great. new breakfast area is nice. However, I booked King suite for 3 adults. There was no pillow for pull out bed for first nite and they could not get one until next day. I did not like the liquid soap. However the manager, Ms Lee, was very helpful. The a/c was blowing on our head the first nite and they made a diverter to put on the a/c unit which corrected the problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.5
    Stay away if you have your vehicle with you. They don't have parking and it's $55/night to park
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I will not recommend anyone to book this hotel if you will have your car with you. There is no parking on facility. The hotel has a big "P" sign for parking on facility but that's a lie. They have fine print at the bottom of booking page saying $55/night parking at near by location but anyone will hardly notice it during booking. They will direct you to a near by garage owned by some other company where they will charge you $55/night. When I found about it during check-in, I asked them to cancel my booking but they refused to cancel it. I had to then park it on street and ended up getting two parking tickets worth $180. Unless you are from NY and are familiar with street parking signs, you stay here at your own parking penalty risk. On top of it, there is no car port for you to at least park your car temporary till you check-in. There is two car space on the street which is hard to find due to cars parked around it. You have to park there and then lift your luggage to second floor where check-in counter is. So it's very inconvenient when travelling with family and some luggage. On the good side, if you are arriving through taxi or bus, then you don't have to worry about parking. Location is near Asian and Italian shops and is good for walking around. They serve breakfast and wifi, ac all work fine. Clean and new looking rooms.

    Clean rooms and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    We arrived about 90 minutes early but a room was ready for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived about 90 minutes early but a room was ready for us in 15 minutes. We were also upgraded to a King suite which was a great surprise. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bed was super comfy and free breakfast was delicious. Location was directly across from the Capitale which was perfect as we were attending an event there. Staff was wonderful. Would recommend...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road traffic noise made sleep difficult. On edge of Chinatown which was a little gritty, but never felt unsafe when out walking. Made arrangement for car service to JFK on departure which was convenient, but hotel clerk did not tell us payment needed to be in cash. Fortunately, we did have cash available, but could have been a problem if we didn’t.

    Nice breakfast selection. Beds comfortable. Felt safe. Good walking distance for activities at NYU graduation (reason for visit).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on 5th Floor near elevator was very noisy. Noise from an ice machine outside the door rattling every-time its compressor kicked in and noise from a rattling A/C unit outside the window. The room A/C was noisy as well!

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it was freezing in the room! The heating was off and after complaint they brought us small but loud heater, so we had to turn it off in the night. Also the wifi was on and off, basically impossible to work from the room. We had to check out earlier and found a proper internet connection. The staff at the reception is trained on all sorts of answers why the heating is not on and why the wifi is not working. I really didn't want to argue about it as it was suppose to be romantic stay for me and my partner and we just agreed, that next time we are not coming at this hotel.

    We loved the modern and nice equipment at the room and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in nice neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage in shower was poor in our bathroom. Overall bathroom condition was fine.

    Location, friendliness of staff, breakfast with gluten free options, accessibility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price

    location at the intersection of Little Italy and Chinatown is interesting and less crowded and touristy than Chelsea or the village--we like to walk a lot so this is an important thing to consider if you want to see other parts of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff truly was helpful. I arrived early to drop off my luggage, and they showed me to my room (I was 6 hours early.) The A/C was having issues in my first room but as soon as I mentioned it they moved me to another and the A/C was blasting! I loved the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First of all, the staff (including front desk) was very kind, helpful and polite! I felt really comfortable during my stay. The room service was great, the maids were friendly and I was happy to get back to a clean hotel room every day. The breakfast is okay, waffle makers are great and you can make bagels or toast. I liked the scrambled egg, the sausages were not my type. The coffee is definitely not the best, I mean you can drink it but me as a coffee lover has to say that I did not like it at all.. but I mean thats not a problem.. plenty of coffee shops near by. The location is PERFECT! so many things to see and experience in china town. iÍ really enjoyed it, I felt safe and liked the multi cultural impressions. Little italy is also only few steps away. Therefore, you can eat in a lot of restaurants or go to many of the bars. The subway is very near, too. I would totally recommend this hotel and if I come back to NY, i will make sure to come here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.0
    Nice location, close too subwaystation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for 6 nights, same breakfast every day, and everything was server on paper and plastic utensils.

    Nice location, close too subwaystation. Friendly personal, quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Please give them a small raise! They all deserve it!! I will definitely will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t have any complaints!

    The breakfast was well cooked and not oily. The breakfast area is always clean. The staffs are very friendly as well. The receptionist(all of them)were helpful and friendly even though they looked tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Chinatown close to subway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like about it, as 3 stars hotel did exceed expectations

    Staff was friendly and helpful, room spacious and very nice breakfast (including making your own waffles). Internet was reliable, lots of nice places to eat around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very nice, I would stay there again if I needed to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only issue is the bathroom was not very private in that you could hear everything in the room when someone was in the bathroom.

    The room was modern and perfectly clean. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Continental breakfast was provided and it was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and the staff was so helpful and nice. We loved this hotel. We had a party of 3 so having two queen beds was nice. Everything was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    The stuffs are pretty nice to us.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm was out of battery when I was fall in sleep, it started to make the noise frequently after 4:30 A.M., and stopped after I went to front desk and asked them to help me at 6 A.M.. I mean this is not their fault, just need to check the system is working or not sometime.

    The stuffs are pretty nice to us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.0
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge in the room. We needed one to store medication. But the staff stored it for us in their fridge at the reception. Also, there is not much left of Little Italy. The hotel is effectively located in Chinatown.

    Friendly staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great and staff is extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast was great and staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they allowed us to check in early and let us leave our luggage there after check out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Great Staff
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it over other options because of the fitness centre and all it had was an elliptical machine and a treadmill that didn’t work properly when you ran on it. No bike, no yoga mats or anything. They shouldn’t advertise having one.

    The staff were great and very accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in time should be a little earlier. And there should be some free water in the room.

    The staff is very nice and helpful. He got me a great-viewed room which looks out the busy China Town. 5 minutes to Brooklyn Bridge and the hotel is right in Chinatown and Little Italy. Free breakfast in the morning is simple and basic but exceeds my expectation. Room service is super fast, probably within a minute or two.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Great value for a NYC hotel room that slept four comfortably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating system made you choose between having the fan running or heat on, so there wasn’t an easy white noise option. This kept things loud.

    Nice amount of space for a NY hotel room and great value. Endless food options between Little Italy and Chinatown.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast was delicious!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in our room Chinatown

    Breakfast was delicious!! It was the best part of our stay. We really liked the shower gel and shampoo in shower because it was attached to the wall and convienient. The staff was also very friendly and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall it's a decent place, nice staff and good location. I just wish they had blinds on all the wi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you come in there is a smell. There is sunlight shining in from the bathrooms that have no blinds and therefor woke up extra early.

    The staff was very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit chaotic at breakfast, but obviously a lot of guest just wanting to dine at the same time

    Friendly helpful staff. Clean room, good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a great time at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time at this hotel. The room was smaller then we anticipated but it served our needs. Location was excellent and the free breakfast was such a great bonus. The power shower was also fantastic and worth a mention!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    The location and staff were great and the beds were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There did not seem to be a way to control the a/c and fan.

    The location and staff were great and the beds were very comfortable. Loved that we could stow our bag after checkout for a few hours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small fridge in the room would have been nice.

    The room was clean and nicely furnished. The pillows were great! The front desk staff were all very helpful and didn't seem to mind answering all the questions from two New York novices. Breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage or bacon, yogurt, pancake machine, pastries, etc. good variety for a "continental breakfast". Felt safe and secure in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Holiday of a lifetime which was incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of the staff was in a terrible mood and stormed out of the hotel after muttering and swearing. Very unprofessional. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The room rate was good and the location was good, breakfast particulary the make your waffles and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.5
    Not going there anymore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, and when you request room service to get it cleaned they basically laugh at you and say they’ll clean the room but never show up. So the room stays dirty.

    Next to the mall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that breakfast buffet was constantly running out of food and slow to replenish.

    Great location in the heart of Chinatown and Little Italy. Staff was always courteous and helpful. Queen room on back side of 5th floor was was quiet, clean and comfortable. Liked the added security of room key to access elevator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location for lower east side and comfortable updated room-best breakfast included.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the Fitness room was tiny - there were no weights or even one floor mat to stretch on. Equipment seemed to need maintenance.

    wonderful hot breakfast, fresh fruit and 24 hour tea or coffee. Very comfy bed (king) and great walk-in shower. Windows can open--Front desk staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, metro just across the road, spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast are ok but we have eaten for 5 days in a row and everyday are the same, so a bit boring

    Great location, metro just across the road, spacious and clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Spacious and clean room, but a bit expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of China Town. It is a bit far of Times Square, but close to Brooklyn Bridge. The value for money was not so good, but in general New York hotel prices are high.

    The hotel is OK. The room was spacious and clean. The Wifi was for free and fast enough. The staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Room was comfortable and breakfast was good, we ate on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queen room was small, just enough room to walk around the bed. No view from my room - not sure which room rates get the views.

    Room was comfortable and breakfast was good, we ate on the patio outside which was nice as it was sunny and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    Bed was sunken in the middle.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was sunken in the middle. The room I had was near the elevator, vending and ice machine and it was sooooo noisy - loud bangs in the middle of the night from the ice machine and the elevator. There was a blood stain on the inside of the shower curtain. The floor near the bed didn't even have at least a rug - it was so cold!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff were friendly, room adequate. Didn't like the area - streets filthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food and food service. Paper plates were less than adequate when you are paying almost $500 US per night. Not much more than a backpackers, really

    There were very very small croissants that were cold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean hotel on the border between Little Italy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just one thing: We stayed in Room 701 and right in front of the door to the room was a ice-machine and a refrigerator. Both machines made a lot of noise.

    Nice and clean hotel on the border between Little Italy and Chinatown. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Clean rooms despite very smelly and animated city area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were super thin (I heard my neighbor's electric tooth brush). Fitness center was a bit meager with three appliances out of which only two worked. Staff provided guidance on taxi ride to Ground Zero (1 hour) when it only took me 15 minutes.

    Room was very clean. I liked the walk-in shower and bathroom window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.2
    Poor service attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacceptable service attitude when talking with the front desk regarding room change request. The room bath window were not closed properly even the engineer could not fix it. This the noise from outside was too loud and could not fall asleep. But the front desk ignore the truth and educated "New York is a big city"

    Clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very helpful - room comfortable, and actually not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK but not great. I didn't like that all the breakfast materials - plates, utensils, cups, etc - were all disposable. Seems quite a lot to waste every day. The location was OK in terms of being able to easily reach Nolita, Soho, etc but I didn't look closely enough to know that though the name of the hotel includes "Bowery," - it is technically close to Bowery St - but it is definitely in Chinatown.

    Staff was very helpful - room comfortable, and actually not tiny for a NYC room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Great place to rest your feet and refuel for the next day!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Close to many subway lines. Also within a 20 minute walk to Brooklyn Bridge, WTC, Grenwich...so basically you could walk or subway anywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place and staff in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a place to get snacks or drinks for the room once the sun goes down except the little shop in the lobby which doesn't have many options.

    The hotel is in the best area for us and what we do in the city. Really felt safe here and liked having to use the room key to operate the elevator. There are plenty of things to do in walking distance and the subway is within a block.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent location and confortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I believe I forgot a sweater in my room. I wrote to the hotel but have not received any answer, would have been nice of them to answer even if it was just to say it has not been found.

    Excellent location and confortable rooms, pleasant staff. An unusually complete breakfast-I especially appreciated the presence of healthy items like fresh fruit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location for China town, and staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -Room is expensive considering the facilities (but normal for New York unfortunately). -Breakfast is not very tasty or varied.

    +Staff were very helpful and always friendly. +Location is good for Downtown, restaurants in China town and Little Italy are just a short walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Good location and comfortable for travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is pretty big for a family to live in. It locates at Bowery, which is easy for you to walk to anywhere in Chinatown. The room included breakfast, which is convenient for customers. The room is very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Tremendous value for a low price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a vibrant, interesting location! The beds were soooo comfortable and roomy. The shower was superb, too! We were sold on this place even before we saw the huge variety of breakfast foods, and the coup de grace was getting to eat on a New York City rooftop terrace!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but needs a few changes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no dressers to put our clothes in or to put our suitcases on top of. A shelf would have helped. There was plenty of room for a dresser. Our room only had one luggage rack. We had to use chairs, the table and the floor. For a family of 4 it was difficult finding a place to put our clothes. There were no shelves large enough in the bathroom to put our cosmetic bags. Only a very small one over the sink. There was plenty of room to add a few shelves. The air conditioner was very loud. It would have been nice to have a water container in the lobby like you had in the workout room.

    The Queen size bed & pillows were very comfortable. It's hard to find queen size beds in NYC. The breakfast was awesome. Lots of food and different choices. The room was very clean. The staff was great! Coffee 24/7 is a nice touch but the cold water was shut off after breakfast in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    The professional and friendly staff, the location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit smelly and dirty outside the hotel because of the local markets in the area but once in the hotel you forget about that

    The professional and friendly staff, the location with Little Italy and Chinatown neighborhoods nearby, tons of restaurants and the subway at a close walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    My family and I had a GREAT stay at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was expensive, but relative to NYC prices. The breakfast buffet was crammed into a small area.

    The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel honored my special requests; they also held our luggage securely for several hours after we checked out of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Awesome staff will make you return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird shower set up. Water sat on a shelf and didn't drain on its own.

    Great staff! Easy to get to the hotel using the train. Amazing dining options within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location, Comfy Beds, Excellent Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason I am giving the facilities - the room itself - a lower mark is because the AC made a huge clacketty racket EVERY 18-20 mins the entire time the AC was on - that means all through the night as well, and it did not cool off very quickly during the mid-to-upper 90's degree days we had. The AC seriously needs to get fixed.

    The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable and inviting. All the staff were extremely pleasant, professional and very helpful. It was a pleasure doing business with the staff on duty July 21-22, 2017. The breakfast was nice and a great value. My son especially liked the truly self-operating pancake maker and conveyor machine. The fruit was tasty. The outside eating area was pleasant. Love the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Clean, nice, central and affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was really helpful. Everything was clean and nice, The breakfast was great . The beds was large and comfortable. The location was great, just on the border between Chinatown and little Italy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Super comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chine town was really smelly!

    At first I would like to mention the breakfast, it was very tasty. The personal was super helpful and friendly. The rooms were neat and ordinary. The location was very convenient to reach all the famous places of the city with the subway. The wifi worked without any interruptions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    very good quality price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the localisation of the hotel is in China town, we walked around very safely even during the night time. Front desk was very friendly and efficient, beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was satisfactory. A very good quality price ratio. I advice the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    2.9
    Worst ever Best Western in America
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is probably one of the worst hotel I stayed with my family. The photo in the hotel website and booking.com could be digitally enhanced and doesn't match reality. When asked the receptionist told me that that is a superior room. Then why show the photo for a normal room. I had a booking of 3 days but upon entering the property I wanted to cancel but had to stay one minimum night in order to avoid penalty . No way these property can have the rating it has on booking.com . I think it's status should be investigated . Definitely NOT suitable for middle class American family. Rooms are small, no space to move, awakard bathroom position and feeling, dirty bed and worn out mattresses ( "like a boat") and so many other things, location sucks and in the middle of a Chinese market. Who would go there in right frame of mind . Only silver lining up was the breakfast place. I consider a waste of vacation day . Definitely the worst ever BW

    Only the backyard kind of place you can sit for breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Good stay, but scenery isn't so great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sour smell in the restroom that was there before we arrived and lingered throughout our stay and outside the hotel pungent fish odor. The breakfast was good on the weekend but not so good during the week. The staff had to be informed when the food needed to be replenished.

    I liked the friendliness of the staff! The hotel was great considering it's location was right in the middle of China town with fish markets right on the corner and across the street. I did really like the queen beds as apposed to full or double sized beds. Also, the hotel in general had a pleasant odor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value for NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that the dresser cabinet in the room was old and kind of smelly. It's probably antique (?), but I wish it was newer.

    Great location, close to eateries and metro station, good breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff. When I complained about my room not having a bathtub so that I can soak at the end of a long walking day, the lady staff moved me to a room with tub as soon as it opened up. Very much appreciated that. I will stay here again next time I go to NY.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Basic, clean and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I said Chinatown is smelly and dirty but we were out all day.

    Room was a good size. Clean basic accomodation. Is in Chinatown which is smelly and dirty but is close to the Metro and midtown only a short ride away. Close to little Italy which had good cafe/bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    This is the best hotel in NYC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...every thing was perfect!

    This hotel is my favorite hotel and is even better than last time. The people at the front desk were absolutely wonderful. Ryan was so helpful and even gave me an upgraded room...have never asked or been given an upgrade in my life. The rooms are all modern, large, clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast is like a $20 breakfast....raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, fancy danish, belgium waffles, yogurt, eggs, bacon, etc. The location is excellent! This is an amazing hotel and will always be my favorite hotel! Thank you to all the great staff at this Best Western for a fabulous time!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering they were working on their site everyone was very accommodating and helpful The housekeeping were amazing and the staff itself were very helpful Jeff Stanley Barry and more wonderful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    nice staff, hotel in making
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel was in the middle of renovation process. there was no organized dining room and kitchen, although the staff did their best to accommodate. the walls were being painted at the time of our stay. these facts should have been transparent at the time of booking. to let me decide if I would like to stay there in view of these conditions. the compensation that the management suggested in the bill sheet (25% discount on next stay) was just a sham and insulting, knowing, certainly that the chances of me coming again to N.Y soon, and to this hotel specifically are infinitesimal.

    I liked very much the attitude and care of the staff..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Great way to discover the city even by foot! Walking distance from most important sights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was kinda sucky. But it did not matter much as we didn't stay in often.

    Staff were all very helpful and sincerely nice. It's smack in the middle of China town. Walking distance to WTC, Broadway, Brooklyn Bridge and almost all Metro Lines

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Overall good location and value for $.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under renovation, so there was only a minimal continental breakfast. Disappointing !Overall good location and value for

    Room and bathroom were bigger than expected! Nice surprise!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: