Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Handlery Hotel San Diego This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

950 Hotel Circle North, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108, United States of America

#158 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    Pool was good ,room good size ,staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar opening times closes at 10pm , could do with a shop on site , if no car shops about 20mins walk away

    Pool was good ,room good size ,staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.0
    No elevator and I have to carry my heavy stuff via stairs.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and I have to carry my heavy stuff via stairs. They cannot find my parcels which arrived and I have to check my tracking number and ask to double check on following days. Old building smell everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room bin was emptied on 2 occasions. Staff knocking at door at 8am offering room service not housekeeping and returned 20mins later.doing the hard sell.breakfast wasnt good.poor selection

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    5.8
    For what we paid... I could of actually stayed at a 5 star hotel. Def Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of room

    Paid price of a 5 star hotel booked a premir room.. Expected that value but was very disapointed in actual room size. Tiny rooms.. Even tinier bathroom. No microwave... No bathroom exhaust... Only great thing was location of room with pool access and. View.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    4.6
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff

    The night manager was very offensive and ride! made us feel low,paying over 200 plus for a night you would think we would be treated nice. my bf caught the security guard peeking in the peephole in the door. So we were about to call front desk when low and behold she called us seems like he was covering up his mistake told her what happened she told me I was paranoid and I was lieing accused us for having the tv loud wasn't even on her tone her attitude just utterly shocked me if you want a rude exp don't go never going there again Evelyn was her name you guys have security cameras in the halls should be there she made this exp horrible I can't believe how she treated us never ever again teach your managers some manners

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    4.2
    Unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom set up was not functional, shower was too small and water pressure wasn't strong, the bed was not queen size it was full. The hotel didn't even try to accommodate transportation to anyone that had to walk to the next hotel seminar where CASAS Institute was being held.

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean, bed is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not included on the price per night. I know it's not under the management's control on how visitors will be when they check-in but one night somebody was so loud that they were banging on somebody's door and yelling making commotions and there's no security to stop or check them.

    Room is clean and bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    5.8
    The room set up is horrible they have the bathroom right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room set up is horrible they have the bathroom right next to the door u can’t open the main door and the bathroom at the same time. The bathroom is outdated they need to do some remodeling. Not worth it!! To expensive. I’ve stayed in 5 stars and paid less.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    I was in love with how comfy the bed was.
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How the rooms are seperated in different buildings.

    I was in love with how comfy the bed was. I just think it was a little overpriced for a simple hotel. The rooms werent that much difference from a regular priced hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I tried ordering drinks while I was in the pool and it was difficult ordering the drinks and once I placed the order the wait time was twenty minutes.

    The entire staff was amicable, the bed was super comfy, there were enough towels, and the bottles of water in the room were a nice touch. I couldn't hace asked for a better experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    No elevator in the structure, the building is quite old,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No elevator in the structure, the building is quite old, there's no shower but just the tub and lights are not centralized with the key card. Overall it's comfortable, however.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    3.3
    Will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when we checked in there were chips on the carpet, in bathroom no fan, shower handle fell off, water in tub did not drain. Beds had hard mattresses! the so called heated pool had cold water!!! I will never recommend this place to anyone.

    Close to Old Time San Diego

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    6.7
    Okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were a lot of ants in my room. There were days that I would wake up and see ants on my pillows and my sheets. I reported it to the front desk nothing was done.

    The first night I walked in I saw my goodie bag and the view from my room was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic free shuttle to sea world and the zoo. Facilities were great although the gym could do with an upgrade. Staff were amazing. Would definatly stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.1
    It was a beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room service was sub par. Food was good but an item from our order was forgotten and when we had to call to check on our order status, we were hung up on.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Will be back. Husband retired and needs to find a hobby or I'll be back 1-2 times month
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My last morning there, the blow dryer blew up...

    Everybody was very friendly. Security guard Robert and Benjamin from the front desk were entertaining to talk to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    5.4
    Not the best but it will do. If you can, spend your money elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A view would have been good for the price, the bathroom had little to no space and was dim. There was no fitted sheet on our bed and the corner of our sheets had blood on them, maybe they didn't get changed? Free breakfast would have been a nice accommodation to offset the other negative aspects. Instead we paid $15 per person for a typical continental breakfast.

    Towels were super scratchy and the room was dirty. You can tell this is an old hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.9
    Clean room Pleasant staff
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking situation is not ideal. My visitor was unable to visit me without paying a $14 daily parking fee. No free parking for a visitor. Who was stopping by for 15 mins.

    Clean room Pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lady manager in front desk was a complete bad ass and very lack of hospitality. Also when we arrive the give me a room with out the clean member check and it was a complete mess with all the room turn around and bottles of wine and towels all over the please it was a complete mess, i very bad experience, never coming back

    The room was nice but

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    It was a peaceful stay and close to everything in San Diego.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quiet and clean. It was close top all of the travel spots in San Diego. Old Town is less than 3 miles away. You don't even have to get on the freeway!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows kept slipping down the gap in the headrest and mattress and everything kept falling out of the bar fridge. Nothing major.

    Everything really staff were really friendly and helpful. There was a lovely security guy called Robert who was awesome to have a chat to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    6.3
    Customer service was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    too much noise, young teenagers knocking on doors and running away, I had to call front desk, happen twice, I didn't see security personal.

    Customer service was great! restaurant food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    2.9
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I was very disappointed , the room was a shoe box room next door argued all night got no sleep, there was a feminine napkin thrown on the restroom floor the sink was clogged up u had to walk forever to get to the room. I spoke to office they to their credit gave me another room but the cabinet door to fridge was broken the patio doors didn't lock everything is just old and out dated. Very unpleasant experience. I won't waste my money there in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    6.3
    I don't feel that the hotel was worth the money we paid but wasn't a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room felt and smelled really musty. Like it was in a basement and the air just overall felt overly moist. The fitness center was a nice addition but was cramped and dirty. I did not even see any sanitary wipes to wipe down the machines after use which is concerning.

    The bed was nice and so were the sheets. Did not swim but the pool looked really clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    The hospitality and overall atmosphere of the Handlery in San Diego is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Shout out to Byron, our shuttle driver. He was so nice with some interesting stories. He made the drive to and from the SD Zoo fun. Overall, amazing experience at the Handlery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    6.7
    Labor Day Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner would not work properly. Vents were very dirty. Internet was spotty.

    Nice swimming pool, location near downtown San Diego and local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!Will stay again our next trip to Ca.
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointing didn't get the adjoining rooms requested or facing pool. But, they were able to get us close to the pool (Had an elderly person with who wanted to use pool and couldn't walk well or use stairs.) And only 2 rooms away from each other.

    Very pretty place,clean, staff around and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Very Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to dislike!

    This place is a classic... a tropical paradise in the middle of town! All staff helpful & courteous. Lovely pool, comfortable rooms. Close to everything, but out of the congestion of the area, with easy access from all directions. unfortunately, didn't eat at hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    8.3
    I love staying in the property , but I did not that they...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool n rooms n the employee r pretty good nmanaget

    I love staying in the property , but I did not that they charge me multiful times in my credit card , it it overdrawn my Acct , other than that I like the property cuz it's clean n cozy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.5
    Loved the pool, perfect for my toddler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two mornings there was a delivery or something with a large truck and they were making soooo much noise. It wss super early too, so I wasn't happy that my toddler was woken up. I would have also liked a small couch or comfortable chair in the room.

    Loved the pool, perfect for my toddler.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cobweb hanging from the ceiling light as you enter the room. Only one bar of soap was given for the sink and bath/shower. The room smelled a little musty. I did not like being given a room with 2 full beds when I was expecting a king bed room.

    The bed was okay and the staff was nice. There was also a fridge in the room. The place is a little dated but if you just need a place to stay while sight seeing it is an okay place to stay. Also parking was included in our reservation which was nice. The pool also looks nice. Lastly pay attention to what you are booking as we thought we were booking a King room but it says in small print King or 2 fulls beds and that was an issue at first but they then were able to put us in a King room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay overall. Would recommend , safe large parking lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price per night a little high for size of room , no view or balcony to get air from. Basic room but clean and safe

    Easy access off freeway, clean and comfort room but nothing special, not having a dresser for clothes a little disapointing but overall fun stay with the pool area and bar very nice. Good place to hold large functions . Good coffee at lobby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    7.1
    Great place for a family and kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet was extremely poor so for non-locals this could be a problem. The drink prices at the pool bar were way overpriced.

    The pool area was so relaxing and if you wanted to see the sights shuttles were available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    9.6
    We were able to check in a bit early ~ great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    One bottom of top cover bed sheet was stained ~ not so good. There was also a brightly colored container cap on edge of bathtub ~ definitely not good.

    We were able to check in a bit early ~ great. Refrig in room not functioning. Called front desk and within 3 minutes maintenance was at our door, diagnosed problem, removed and brought back de-iced machine w/in 10 minutes ~ wonderful! Q-tips in the bathroom ~ fabulous!! Coffee pods ~ surprisingly delicious ~ wish we had more! Every employee was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable, clean and roomy with a little parking fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the parking fee and if your on the upper level, I think there's no elevator.

    Perfect location and generous parking with a reasonable fee. Room and facilities were fantastic, clean and roomy. Doesn't have microwave but appreciate the shuttle bus to SeaWorld. We would definitely rebook this hotel. FYI the pool is heated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    5.8
    Mattress and box springs years past lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress was horrible probably from when it was new. Had to call front desk twice to get bath soap. Never replaced soap or shampoo. Still had the one soap for three days. Toilet seat about to fall off.

    It was quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    3.3
    Dirty place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty place and old. For the price I paid its not worth it, I had to cut my stay only for 1 night.

    Old and dirty. The wall paper are bubbling up, carpet is flity and the smell will get to you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    5.8
    Not my cup of tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No balconies unless you paid a lot more money a night for them. No views. Didn't like that you had to pay for parking when that wasn't listed in the ad. And other Hotels on Hotel Circle did not charge parking. Would have liked more restaurants at the hotel. Would have liked more Concierge help as to what to do and where to go. Got no help at all. The hotel was fair but I will not stay there again. Even the pool would have been nicer if the water was warmer, we went in June. Also would have liked to know more about the cost of fees before checking out. Booking.com should reveal those fees. Wish they had free HBO like most hotels do these days. Also very noisy. Not much noise reduction from hallways or windows. Could hear babies crying all the way down the hall with the doors closed and the TV on.

    The beds were nice and the maids were awesome. The room service was amazing too. The rooms were always very clean and well stocked. Their pizza was very good, the kids loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    10
    Beats expectations for the price!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish the pool bar was open more!

    Pool area was fantastic, wish we had a longer there! Great service amazingly helpful, all round great stay will highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.3
    Average stay for the price, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were very thin, we were able to hear the guests 2 rooms down having a conversation. One laundry area for the entire property that had 2 working washers; was very poorly maintained with trash debris that overflowed onto the floor.

    The easy parking was convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    9.2
    The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view too.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be hotel coffee available somewhere, that is not $4.00 a cup. Other than that, I really enjoyed staying at the Handlery.

    The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view too. Property is very lush with a tropical feel... loved that!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.1
    Not great, but not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because it's old, the room and bathroom are pretty small. Walls are thin - my neighbor kept me up throughout the night and morning with his loud voice. The exercise room is very small and not kept up: it was pretty dirty, no cups for the water, and TVs don't work.

    The hotel is in a pretty good location. Easy to get to everything and out of the way of downtown traffic. It's an old hotel (most are old in this area) but it's been updated a little, and it was clean. Nice pool, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.7
    not a place i will stay again , they arent all that accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the fact that they don't allow visitors to enjoy the pool with you , they charge for parking and if you have visitors come to see you they are charged 1.50 for each half hour they are there. I don't like the fact that they charge your card incidentals just in case you happen to have any at the end of your stay they refund it however that usually takes a few (5) days to get it put back on your card, on the last day we woke to hear workers outside our door

    the staff was wonderful , the room was spacious except for the bathroom , the room service was quick and the cost was reasonable for what you got , the food was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    6.7
    The area was peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we first walked into the lobby to check-in, it smelled really bad (strong dog odor and dog poop). There was a bar on lobby ewwww BUT staff were super friendly and helpful. The property needs some major TLC. Carpet to rooms need updating and daily deep cleaning. My bed and floor had dog poop!!! The beds were made BUT there was poop on the inside of comforter and sheets. They responded quickly and did service recovery with free parking on our 5 night stay and $10 off one night. They could have done better. Overall,without that poop incident in my room and the first impression when we walked in lobby....it would have been a good experience.

    The area was peaceful. The parking area was secure. The quick response from staff when we had a problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT and ENJOYABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If you had questions about restaurants, directions, attractions they were very helpful. If you needed anything all you needed to do was ask. Our two granddaughters had a great time in there Giant Pool. Facility staff was fast, friendly and efficient. Housekeeping always there and the restaurant Postcards had one of the Best Pizza I've ever had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    5.8
    Not the best stay, but better than a motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning service did not to a good job. Only bed was made, no trash was thrown out. The coffee machine was very dirty and left water disgusting when I tried to make tea. Killed two spiders during the stay.

    Free parking was great, front desk was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    9.2
    motel/hotel hybrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my car was broken into overnight in the parking lot. There was loitering outside the entrance to the buildings. The property is a hybrid of a motel and a hotel. I just wish there would have been more security.

    large parking lot for a boat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.1
    Ok value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free continental breakfast, the one offered was quite expensive Got a room in a building far away from the pool area which led to that we never even went to check it out Room was a little humid, hard to get the right temperature

    Polite man in the lobby Lots of parking spots available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    The pool was the biggest benefit of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was the biggest benefit of this hotel. The bar was nice but small and the rooms set in rather unattractive two storey blocks without lifts. The location of the hotel was not central and we would have preferred a more central setting. Having said that we used Lyft to get around who were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    5.0
    Workers where very friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked for non smoking and someone was smoking in the building and it wasn't cigarettes. The smell was horrible I had to get out of my room with my kids.

    Workers where very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    4.6
    Not family oriented
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People were up all hours of the night partying and yelling, doors were heard slamming until 3am. Overall not a good location to stay at when traveling with children and getting up early in the morning. Our room had no number labeled on the outside to locate it was our room and when you go through the door with no nimber it goes into another room with two doors then labeling our room with the number.

    The hotel itself was ok the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    8.3
    Hotel hot Restaurant not!
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I waited "to be seated" my first morning at hotel restaurant, "Postcards" and was ignored by wait staff for five minutes despite the desk clerks attempts to attract attention by ringing the restaurant's phone. I was told by the desk clerk to seat myself. Another guest arrived and was quickly shown to a table, given a menu and asked if they wanted coffee. The waitress then moved quickly to the kitchen with just a glance toward me. It was obvious that I would not be having breakfast at "Postcards" nor did I for my entire nine day stay.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    5.8
    The location was excellent for the wedding we were attending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fixtures were loose from the wall of the shower. The carpet and decor could use updating. The hallways were a bit shabby.

    The location was excellent for the wedding we were attending, The pool area was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is quite bit expensive considering the large amount of available spaces and how far it was from town.

    Very comfortable beds. Good to have a balcony. A quiet hotel, that s suitable for families.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    9.6
    Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, clean room, resort was larger than I expected. Restaurant was nice for breakfast. The parking lot was gated and it was nice not to have to struggle to find parking!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    7.1
    Don't like the parking staff flirting with my husband...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't like the parking staff flirting with my husband and waiving towards our balcony. Need professional staff. I wish I would have walked down to see who it was.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    We were able to check in early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a bit small and had a few ants but overall very comfortable.

    We were able to check in early. And was able to refund my credit card when we had to charge a different card after the first initial one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    6.3
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Adjoining rooms horrible and archaic. The hotel was full of rambunctious partiers and family's with children. Also, every time we flushed our toilette water would ooze out if the seal around the base.

    Location is central

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Room was very clean, cozy and comfortable. Grounds clean and the pool area was beautiful! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    8.8
    Central Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not too crazy about the restaurant. Was not happy when I paid the dinner bill with a $100 bill and the waiter made change but there was only $90. I'm sure it was an honest mistake, still not a good feeling.

    Great location in Hotel Circle. Staff was friendly and professional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    5.8
    Don't pay more than 65.00 per night to stay!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom shower was dirty. Room 427. It seemed like they had not cleaned the room in awhile because when I arrived the room smelled very musty. Did not smell clean at all. The shower had hair and shampoo stains everywhere. You can tell that had been there for awhile. The room was very tiny. The only good thing was the AC! The refrigerator was struggling to keep our waters cold. The room was slightly cleaner than the restroom. I can tell though that the room had not been occupied for awhile. However the staff was very friendly especially at check in, Ron had excellent customer service! Honestly if it wasn't for him I probably would've been very pissed off with booking.com because the pictures on the there are very misleading!!! The outside is very run down and so are the rooms. This "hotel" definitely needs some TLC! The pool area was ok I didn't get to use it since it was cloudy and cold. Bottom line if your coming to just just use this as a place to sleep then stay here if you are coming to relax and enjoy your room and enjoy amenities... THIS IS NOT THE PLACE.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    5.4
    doors closed very loudly which woke us up at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    doors closed very loudly which woke us up at night. room was not ready at check in staff was not particularly accommodating at the front desk room was charged incorrectly after checking out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks like a high class hotel in its pictures but it really isn't any different than a motel/inn. I am honestly very surprised that this hotel got this rating on Booking.com. The room was small, the walls are so thin that it is almost always noisy although the hotel wasn't close to being fully booked. The hotel is right next to a highway.

    The hotel wasn't full and we could easily find a parking spot in the parking lot ($14 per night). The staff at the reception have patiently put up with us even though we were not happy with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    7.9
    Could bring my pet;
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were full size and not queen; room we stayed was quite small than average hotel room. Shower head/ water pressure could have been better. Had to drive to other location for other food choices.

    Could bring my pet; convention was good been at the hotel, swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    5.4
    Pool
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small, no storage cabinets for clothes. No options for upgrading room. Bathroom very crammed with toilet adjacent to door. Fee for parking very high. I should have checked this item earlier, could have stayed elswhete for less. No places to eat nearby

    Pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    6.7
    Could of been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness in the bar,the ice cold pool. They should offer a refund as we had to leave the property to eat and drink as we didn't want fruit flies in our food and drinks.

    The property would have received a better review had there not been fruit flies in the bar area. Disgusting to think that they are probably in the liquor fruit etc... Had 1 beer at the bar when we noticed that. Decided not have more beverages or order dinner. The pool was supposed to be heated to 82 degrees, yet it was ice cold. Did not use the pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    10
    Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place for families. There is a very nice pool area, and there are reasonably priced restaurants onsite. I will be staying there again. Close to everything too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs renovation, outdated furniture and carpet. Pretty decent still but pictures still don't really match what you see.

    The staff was nice EXPECT for a African American man name Wendell. He was VERY rude, but thankfully only encountered him once.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    4.6
    The balcony was nice and the TV was upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny for the amount we paid. The bathroom could have been cleaner, the caulking around the tub was black and peeling and the grout looked as if it's never been cleaned. The hotel needs updating.

    The balcony was nice and the TV was upgraded.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    3.8
    Not a comfort hotel ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't sleep. Too loud of noises from parking area and halls. I could hear and was woken up by every person who walked by when they spoke. You hear it all. Room smells awful.

    Close to malls and waffle spot

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there at the beginning and end of my trip. My first room was not so great. It was on the first floor and people were walking by and could look in. My second room was fantastic! There is no elevator to the second floor, a bit of a problem when lugging a suitcase and for people with physical handicaps.

    Great food, but the service was only so-so.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    6.3
    We were here for a wedding.
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay was ok....if we would have paid the Hotel price of 587.00 for the three nights l would have been disappointed but we paid 334.00 with booking.com and that was fine.....also the Hotel charged 20.00 a night for a balcony......well the view was the freeway☹️☹️☹️ Also the bathrooms were just too small.

    We were here for a wedding......we didn't have to go somewhere else for the wedding.....that was good.....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been a bit more exciting. But it was fine and was included in the price.

    This hotel is very close to the town centre. Lots of parking. There is a lovely pool and a restaurant onsite if you like sushi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay with laid back feel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a double bedroom. Beds were a decent size but a little uncomfortable. You also have to pay for the parking lot. As a guest who rented a car on site I was surprised that we were still charged $14 overnight.

    I loved the design of the bedroom! It had a wooden vaulted ceiling and the pool area was great as well. Very laid back. I really enjoyed that the pool was heated since it can get a little chilly at night in San Diego.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    8.3
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't have a car, would have liked a supermarket close by to walk to and maybe a fast food restaurant as we felt restricted to the hotel for breakfast and dinner if we didn't want to go far. Beds not very comfortable.

    Friendly staff. The pool area was nice and the restaurants on site had great service and good food. 15 walk to fashion valley trolley stop, very useful as we were not hiring a car.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Handlery Hotel San Diego Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: