Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hapuna Beach Hotel 4 stars

62-100 Kaunaoa Drive, Hapuna Beach, HI 96743, USA

#2 of 2 hotels in Hapuna Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in our honeymoon and extra informed booking.com and called even hotel. We did not even get a welcome or congratulation card, nor a drink or anything.

    Location,room and beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second restaurant not yet open. The carpark is awkward to reach through the hotel.

    Friendly staff at reception and in restaurant. Excellent beach and pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in didn't go well. The lady who checked us in was 'robotic' in speaking to us as if she had been programmed. Her directions to our room were confusing and we ended up at the other end of the hotel. The bellman found us and helped us, followed by a $50 credit on our bill which was nice.

    The bellman staff was very good. They learned my name quickly and used it every time I saw them. One of the MOST beautiful locations I've every been to. Will go back again. Really appreciated the extended check-out time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could have told me when I asked directly about the construction. I was told it would be done by Feb. 10 and that it was simply improvement of water features. Instead it was total makeover. Banging and congestion entire time. One place to eat..by pool. Mouse scampering across our took floor..due to construction, I am sure. NOT BEING TOLD WHEN ASKING DIRECTLY IS UNACCEPTABLE.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under renovation made it hard to access certain facilities. Hallways a little dark. Be aware you may not be able to swim at the beach due to the beach condition. It was a red flag when I visited.

    Beautiful spacious pool. Direct access to the beach. Restaurant by the pool. Surrounding green gardens. Room amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud construction starting before 7am and going until almost 8pm. Look, I was here for work and it was annoying, what is it like for people who schedule that once-in-a-life vacation and arrive to this construction zone mess without warning? Took me 10 minutes to find the temporary lobby. 1/4 restaurants open. Gift shop boarded up. Not cool at these quite high prices. I feel duped, and feel worse for those who saved up and came here for a meaningful experience. Thumbs down

    Beautiful location and direct access to Hapuna Beach. Nice main pool adjacent to beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My check in agent was not the friendliest, was disappointed in her attitude. The rest of the staff was great as usual!

    Stayed here for 30+years vacations! Excited about the remodel, can’t wait to see it next year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Undisclosed renovations to the hotel property and grounds were very distracting.

    This is a difficult review to express accurately. The hotel and property are beautiful. Magnificent walking/swimming beach. Attentive staff. Lovely, large pool. This should be a solid 10. The problem is that major renovations were underway to many of the important amenities, so they were unavailable, and the sound of heavy equipment, jackhammers, dozens of laborers sawing and hammering from sun-up to sundown was hardly the resort experience we booked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are significant renovations going on and all the restaurants other than the pool bar. Fortunately, the staff has been very helpful in ameliorating the situation to make our stay worth while.

    The location was amazing, it’s hard to beat a Hawaiian beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is undergoing improvements. I hope new connection with Marriott's Starwood program doesn't change this place too much. I haven't been impressed with the Marriott loyalty model - I think they often ignore needs of the guests who aren't members of their clubs.

    I have stayed here many times and continue to appreciate the hotel and the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are undergoing massive renovation, which we were not aware of. Directly outside our lanai were tractors, excavators, diggers ripping down palm trees and creating roadways from 8:30am to 5:30pm. Impossible to have conversation. Construction materials and workmen everywhere. Extraordinarily long hallways with long distances to anywhere.

    Lovely beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food served was only average. Could have been so much better.

    Construction and maintenance activities were going on during our stay and we were aware about them. Nevertheless, staff tried their very best to give good service and I have to hand it also to them for working under abnormal conditions (wait staff had to walk a long way back and forth from kitchen and pool area since the bar wasn't open yet. good for Fitbit steps though!) So just to be clear, this review might not be dependable since changes and improvements in the hotel must already be in place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apparently, the hotel staff needs to be better informed about a plan should they have another ballistic missile warning. We were told by people staying at other hotels, that they had an area where they had the people go to when they got first got the message of an incoming missile. The hotel manager at this hotel, did not have such a plan and the employees were clueless. I hope that this little mistake will make them put in some procedures for handling situations like this...Tsunami? Volcano? Earthquake? Nuclear Missile?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing renovations. We weren’t told by the concierge that restaurants in the neighbouring hotel were available to us, and that we could catch a shuttle to them from the hotel. We drive in our rental car which was fine. Just a bit more communication would have helped us early on.

    Loved it he location right on the beach. We used the gym (and spin class) and the pool overlooking the beach during our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renovated. We thought it was almost complete. That was not the case. It was very noisy all day long.

    Beds were very nice good sheets.staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the construction/renovation is very loud

    we were there in December 2017, during an extensive renovation both inside and out. the pool facilities were not open, which their website does apparently say. But we did not realize there would be construction going on outside our deck in the morning/daytime, and loud interior construction in the atrium area (drilling, hammering, etc) going past 9 pm and audible in some rooms. we arrived around 930 pm and they did move us to a room where we could no longer hear the interior construction, but then we got the backhoes and large equipment outside in the morning. management eventually discounted our stay and in the end we were satisfied with that, given the great location and beach and the room itself being fine, but it took time and persistence to make that happen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was under construction (which website didn’t specify) so there was no pool or main lobby area. not worth the price if you go during the construction. also very confusing to navigate around

    room was nice, very clean & nice view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is undergoing major construction and is not suitable for vacationers. The noise of heavy equipment and general upheaval are not acceptable at any price. Also to get to the beach you have to take two elevators, walk a long way down boarded up hallways ....and get lost .

    Room was spacious. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a MAJOR construction project taking place at this property - it should not be accepting guests. Nothing is open - bars, shops, cafes, restaurants, swimming pool, nothing, except a little clothing store temporarily converted into a sandwich / coffee shop...and it’s in a relatively remote resort based spot, so difficult to supplement via local facilities. Most of the common areas are shut off or look like a building site. This was totally misrepresented by your website which massively under played the extent of the renovation work. The hotel staff are doing their best to accommodate dissatisfied guests but have been let down by their own managements decision to continue trading during renovation and the inaccuracy of your website.

    The location is a dream. The private beach is stunningly beautiful - however it takes three elevators to get there from the hotel reception area and a long walk through corridors where workmen are carrying out extensive renovation. Staff were wonderful and tried hard to compensate for the hotels renovation issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property description says "under renovation," this does NOT mean a hammer and nails. Most of the rooms are unoccupied, there is no pool, there is heavy equipment noise during the day. There is no bar, there are no restaurants with water views (just one small buffet restaurant and snacks available in gift shop). The beach is VERY FAR from the occupied rooms, so those with mobility issues may have problems getting to beach. There is no beach bar, restrooms etc. In my opinion, they should close this property until renovation is complete. $400/night is far too much to pay for this property at this time. They push the fact that amenities are available at their sister property (a 5 minute golf cart ride), however, they do not run the shuttle regularly and we made 2 phone calls, then waited 45 min for them to pick us up. Just stay at the sister property (Mauna Kea) or the Hilton Waikoloa (I wish we had).

    Loved the size of the room, double sinks in bathroom, very clean property and staff were very nice. Very secluded.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of construction going on was way more than advertised. The noise, the lack of a decent restaurant, the lack of a pool give it our bad rating. And we had to change rooms to get one with an ocean-facing room even though that was what we were promised.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The hotel was under construction, which meant: ALL of the restaurants were closed. ALL of the bars were closed.The pool was closed. Had to go to their sister hotel to eat or drink. 2. There was no notification or warning to us that these facilities would be closed. It was a rude awakening when we arrived. 3. The staff were not apologetic. They blamed us for not calling ahead to confirm the condition of the hotel. Apparently it was on us to voluntarily call the hotel to make sure everything was in working order...at a luxury resort on the coast in Hawaii. 3A. "If you go onto our website, you will see that we say we're under construction." Valid point. And so I pulled up their official website. And sure enough, it says they're doing some work to the hotel. But NOWHERE does it say that the restaurants, bars, and pool was closed. 3C. Their response was "well you booked through booking.com. It's THEIR responsibility to tell you what's going on. Of course, booking.com is a voluntary partnership, so it's on the hotel to make sure the messaging is complete and accurate to the guests. 4. As mentioned, the hotel was under construction - without exaggeration, it required taking five, (5) elevators to get from our room to the beach. Five. Which was unfortunate, because the beach (which is accessible by the general public) was the only place to go, aside from their golf course. Yay. But of course if you wanted a scotch after playing 18 holes...you had to take an intermittent shuttle to their beautiful sister hotel, filled with warm, welcoming, and understanding staff. 5. The service staff was under construction as well - other guests had left empty cups/trash in common spaces, and those items remained where they were left for over 12 hours. 6. The (free) intermittent shuttle doesn't run between 5 PM and 5:30 PM.

    After spending two weeks in Hawaii, visiting green, black, and red-sand beaches, I can confidently say that the beach here was the most gorgeous we had seen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire resort is under construction so nothing was available such as pool, restaurants, shops...nothing. I never would have booked my honeymoon there had I known. Our bathroom floor had drops of blood, and sink had some kind of brown stuff splashed in it. Our "ocean view" room could barely see the ocean. We were extremely disappointed. Definitely not worth the money we paid for it.

    Room was ok, big bathroom, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were aware that the resort was under construction, just not 90% of it. POOL CLOSED!!!!!! RESTAURANT CLOSED!!!!!!!!!!! ONLY ONE WING OF THIS HOTEL OPEN.. the staff were outstanding and accommodating. We were told that they were further ahead in the renovations then expected. that's great!!! But don't take away the important facilities from the customer. We felt blind sided. It took us 20 minutes just to get to our beach, only to find out they took the beach bar away the day before. I recommend that you call this hotel before booking, just to see what stage they are at with the reno's. They did say that they hoped to be open December 23rd, 2017. I hope so, for their sake. We stayed 3 years ago and it is beautiful.

    staff, room, food, Florance was great, the concierge was very helpful. Booking.com folks were great, responded to our concerns immediately!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    BOOKING.COM did not disclose at all that ¾ of the property was under HEAVY RENOVATION. Hapuna will be a beautiful locale; the beach is stunning. But EXTREMELY POOR FORM ON BOOKING.COM'S PART for not disclosing any information about the EXTENSIVE RENOVATION going on at the time. Construction noise began at 6:30 a.m. and continued non stop until 6:00 p.m. We had to move properties.

    The staff at Hapuna was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is being remodeled. Loud noise from construction equipment. Pool was drained. Long walks to room. Very deceiving that booking.com did not let us know when booking. Restaurants not open. No value for price we paid

    Nice view from the wonderful balcony!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is undergoing renovations right now, so if you book here be ready for the pool not being open and the sound of jackhammers all day. If you plan on staying at the resort for most of your visit, I would not recommend until construction is complete.

    The rooms and location are excellent. The facilities are very clean and it is on one of the largest if not the largest beach on the island. Snorkeling right in front of the resort was also a highlight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under construction with repairs going on til April 2018. Even the price was fair no pool, no restaurant and some noise. But get to get to the brother hotel next door Mauna Kea that is AWESOME!

    Best beach in Kona, next to other great beaches. The hotel is wonderful , great golf court cart and balls included in rental fee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more remote from other resorts and under massive renovation which came to us as a surprise, distance to breakfast was 6 min walk per direction also pool was closed in our last day with no notification

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are extra hidden fees we needed to pay for the basic things, such as Wifi, car par, etc... There is no way to opt out - it is a HIDDEN MANDATORY CHARGE. I asked the reception to charge my prepaid card instead of credit card, otherwise I need to pay an extra fee for a different currency transaction. They have agreed to do it during checkout. When we arrived to the reception on the last day, they have already charged my credit card that I have used for securing the booking. I asked them to cancel the transaction, but they rejected my request. We needed to walk nearly 10 minutes from the car park to our room. There were two massive construction machines inside the hotel next to the pool. The hotel building is so ugly that it reminds me the communist buildings from 80s. and more...

    Nothing much. We woke up with the sound of birds and waves as any other accommodation we have stayed in the big island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little disappointed booking .com didn't make it clearer there was construction work going on, luckily they stopped on weekend but on arrival was so dissapointed..and tired.put in a room without the veiw we paid for.

    Staff polite beach great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That there was renovation/ remodeling at the hotel during the stay. They were building a new pool. The advice from Booking was well hidden in the confirmation document. Noisy machinery which made conversation difficult in reception. The main restaurant closed for the birthday celebration planned ( I had specifically booked it in advance) so we were obliged to take a shuttle to a sister hotel for dinner.

    The location near the beach and the room were exceptional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 5 star hotel which goes into a 2 star hotel because of the construction, but you still have to pay the same rate which is unacceptable. Most restaurants are closed and staff is grumpy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With 3 year old and difficult to get him from car to room. He didn't want to walk and many times had to carry him. Physically hard on back since a long walk from parking to room.

    Friendly, open space, interesting to explore at beach area, and around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Required $31.25 daily resort fee. A complete rip off. Will not return to this site.

    Room size. Staff friendliness. Ease of parking. Quality of service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place! We loved the hotel. Beds were comfortable, its was quiet, loved the balcony. It was neat how the air flowed from the front door (You could just use the screen door) to the balcony if you didn't want to use the air conditioning. Beach was so clean and nice. The staff was wonderful. Our room was easy to get to. Would definitely come back to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's monolithic - you can get lost. Built in 1998 (the most recently built on Big Island!) the rooms are quite dated.

    The pool on the beach is lovely. The activities staff, Lauren and Vahn were outstanding. The restaurant over the pool is lovely and the staff are fantastic. You will need to hire a car to get around Big Island. The Prince Hapuna is remotely located and about a 1.5 hr drive from the other side of the island (Hilo).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very big and a bit impersonnal. Also parasols were folded when it was getting a bit windy on bith pool and beach side.

    Loved the location, pool and beach facilities, room very comfortable and spacious bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room cleaning a bit haphazard (rubbish not emptied one day & cleaning cloth left in room some additional beach options e.g. SUP would be good

    location, some good cafes on site

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!! It was all wonderful!

    Loved the bed. It is VERY rare that my husband and I stay at a hotel where we both Woke up without stiff backs. The rooms were quiet with a beautiful view of the bay. And ALL staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff made it seem like the walk to Mauna Kea Resort was just a short walk but in order to get there you have to hike over lava rock (but with beautiful views!). If you're dressing up it's better to take the free shuttle.

    We very much enjoyed our stay at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The room was large and superclean and had a beautiful view of the ocean as well as an outside seating area. Spacious bathroom. Very nice beach with a great snorkeling spot (we saw several sea turtles when we were just swimming in the ocean!) and sunset views. The resort is large, but it doesn't feel crowded at all. The shuttle to adjacent Mauna Kea Resort (with excellent food options and manta ray spotting) is very convenient. Overall we were very happy with our choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition was just about satisfactory. Could have a little more power.

    Great Hotel on Hapuna beach. Great swimming and biking from here. Staff very friendly and customer oriented!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints here :)

    Fantastic beach, big waves for boogie boarding. Not too crowded like the next door massive resort. But still great for kids. There's a little cove away to the side of main beach you can use if the waves get too big. We saw turtles there every day. It was a lovely little spot for toddlers. You get boogie boards and snorkel gear free every day for one hour! Only $10 an hour after that.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found after arriving that we had not obtained the room we thought we had booked thru your service. Had to pay extra to upgrade and ultimately paid substantially more than booking direct with hotel.

    Bed was comfy and staff chirpy and helpful. Beautiful beach and pool. Morning brunches very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms initially as the room designated originally was unsatisfactory. However, the reception staff were helpful and our second rooms were perfect.

    Pool bar lunch and drinks were generous portions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the front desk staff was friendly, they could have been more helpful. I felt that I wasn't getting all the information about the resort. We learned later that there was an activity desk, stores and a grocery bag provided to others on arrival that we did not receive. The wifi was a bit confusing. It would have been more convenient if the front desk staff had gone over it when we arrived.

    Staff in the restaurants were excellent. Friendly and efficient and consistent! Cleaning staff was also excellent. We loved the breakfast buffet and had an wonderful meal at the Coast Grill. The location, of course, is outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    We injoyed the staff . The location was awesome. The hole family was very happy also my friends​ were happy.I would love to get married there or hold reception there.The whole family will be back thank you. I rented three deferent rooms for the family. Very pleased.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our room could use some updating but it wasn't bad and it was clean. We didn't like people playing their music at the pool, I guess they assume that everyone enjoys what they were playing. One instance, a group plopped down in front of us and turned on their music so loud that my husband and I got up and moved to the lounge chaise in the grassy area. I guess we prefer a more quiet atmosphere, Zen-like. Also, this could be good or bad, depending on how light of sleeper you are; just out our lanai is a grassy area used for private party's. They had two parties during our stay. Both had a band playing (they were just ok) which finished playing at 10pm, but the problem was we could hear people talking and tables and chairs being folded up until after midnight.

    The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the people waiting seating folks and waiting tables were quite friendly; being able to open our sliding doors on our lanai and have screen doors was great; and beach was great. We had some wave action but it was fun in the water. And the beach never felt crowed. The pool area was nice and seating was ok, a little dicey trying to get a shade umbrella at times. We had a "deluxe ocean view" room, on the 8th floor, in building 5. We stayed 8 nights. We'll be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are getting tired. Glad they are planning an upgrade. Hope it does not lose its charm when it becomes a Westin.

    Love the location and the property. Been coming here for 20+ years. We booked an ocean view room. They initially told us we were upgraded and then put us in a low floor room with minimal view but moved us upon request to a much nicer view room. Coast Grill restaurant is great. Nice pool, fitness center and golf course.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything is perfect

    Most beautiful beach on Big Island Great location , Quiet, Amazing sunset.Great restaurants, excellent food Nice orchestra with live music every night next to swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did try to nickle and dime us for every little thing and food and drinks were very expensive. $30 per day resort charge on top of all the taxes and fees really adds up and left a bitter taste in my mouth at check out. The breakfast buffet is $35 per person and not so incredible to be worth that, especially because that did not include any drinks. I would recommend heading into a nearby town to grab breakfast and lunch stuff at the grocery store to save money. Also, the Coral Grill is their upscale restaurant and we were not impressed with the quality of the food for the price.

    We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting for our babymoon. The beach was perfect and the room was so comfortable and spacious. I was impressed with the high quality pillows. It's a big resort but we never felt overwhelmed by the amount of people around us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the front desk could be friendlier. Also mind that this is a huge property, so getting anywhere in the hotel takes a while.

    The location is an absolute dream and the hotel has everything you need - so you don't need to get out if you don't want to. you have dream views from nearly everywhere and literally feel like you have arrived in paradise.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach bar restaurant is quite shabby, but still as expensive as the Grille which is fantastic.

    When we had an issue with the Booking.com reservation (our booking included a US$400 resort credit, which was not honoured by the resort as they had no record of it and the room was not to the standard we were expecting - two regular double beds instead of large double beds we requested), the Manager, eventually gave us a much better room (a suite, in fact) in a much better location within the resort. So a Huge thank you to Doris Reilly, Duty Manager on 16th January. No US$400 resort credit, though!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night as I requested for us to change to another resort

    Just the room was highly over priced for its age definitely needs renovation. The Mgmt was real nice & understood Inga ice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very large, soul-less concrete building designed to warehouse tourists with poor aesthetics, shabby furnishings and no graceful touches in any of the public spaces. Pretty sad. It is amazing that there is no decent hotel bar for socializing. Rooms are comfortbale and spacious, but dated.

    The beach is the reason to stay here. It is the best and largest beach on the Big Island. The pool is also excellent - very large with plenty of chairs, cabanas, bar and restaurant on site. But.... the hotel itself is depressing. Views of the beach and ocean from public spaces are excellent but those pubic spaces are dingy and unappealing with no grace whatsoever. Holiday plants at Christmas were dead, few decorations, really a depressing place to stay. Breakfast buffet is good, but predictably pricey. Hapuna Cafe is a great alternative to the restaurant with very good grab and go offerings of good quality fruits, fresh baked pastries, sandwiches, coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take advantage of their beautiful, remote location by charging high prices! $30+ for breakfast buffet, for example.

    Beautiful hotel with fabulous location. The cafe on the lobby level was great for grab and go items for breakfast or lunch, and were actually reasonably priced and tasty. The staff is extremely polite and very willing to help with anything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meals in the dining room and at breakfast were not that good and too expensive.

    Location of the Hotel is excellent on probably the best beach on the west side of Hawaii, away from the congestion of Kona.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was good but not outstanding. Lacked sliced meats and cheese option. But the ocean views made up for it!

    Great beach (the best on Big Island) and ultimate place to relax. Upon check in, Michael at reception kindly greeted us and upgraded us for our honeymoon to a beach front suite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was huge and spacious with great ocean views. Generous sized pool and hot tub (hot temp as should be)! Close to Queens and Kings Villages for shopping and dining options as you definitely need a car to get around. Out of our 3 stops in Hawaii for our honeymoon, this was simply the best!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the parking lot to the front desk, including the pool and the restaurant, the staff is very unfriendly and seem to be pretty unhappy to work here. They know exactly how to make you feel bad and uncomfortable...

    Amazing view on the pool and the beach pretty much from everywhere in this hotel. Gorgeous sunsets and plenty of nice chairs to watch them from different angles. The beach is beautiful, the atmosphere is peacefull and low-key. Even if it's a family oriented resort, people are well educated and know when they need to calm down their kids to make sure they don't bother other guests, especially by the pool. Overall a great experience!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more relaxed bar would have a bonus.

    Beach/cliffs were the star attraction here. Pool nice too. From there the hotel/room were standard resort pleasant. Beach Bar music acts top notch.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's crazy that wifi is not included in the price at a hotel of this standard. Same with parking (self-service). It's not a good customer experience when extra fees keeps getting added to the price that was originally quoted. $30+ "resort fee" per day to get standard stuff like free wifi, self-service parking and 2 water bottles (which are normally complimentary, even on budget hotels) just feels greedy. Add it to the room price if you can't treat your customers to these small things for free.

    Can't beat the location right on the beach! Nice pool as well. Very friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive and marginal in quality. Cafe marginal. Pool bar food good (better than cafe), service excellent, employees excellent.

    Staff very helpful! Questions always responded to and correctly. Check out efficient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very long hike from the lobby, amenities to our room. Guess we just unlucky with this. Point being, it is a huge place. It's rather inconvenient to eat elsewhere and the prices were really high. Which, we knew we were at a resort so duh, this was likely going to be the case. However, the food was terrible in addition to overpriced. Really subpar.

    Private beach good for swimming. Great pool and spare. Pretty grounds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real dinner More offers at the hotel Supermarket Drinks in the supermarket very expensive

    Short walk to the beach Beautiful room Nice and big bathroom Cloudy bed, you do not want to get up

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi near pool is really bad, food at the pool bar is not great.

    rooms are AMAZING. our view was like a movie - great patio with grass in front, view of ocean, and easy walk down to the beach. Staff also super friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from restaurants and activities, over 40 miles from Kailua, Kona. Restaurants closed on site and very expensive! Water was $5 for a bottle that costs $1 at ABC Stores!

    Excellent cooperation from staff in setting up internet connection. Beautiful location with the best beach on the Big Island!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only thing that would have made this place better would have been more eating options. We ended up driving away from the resort every day for lunch and dinner because the food was pretty expensive.

    For us, we loved the beach view from our lanai. The flowers, coupled with the palm trees framing the view of the ocean/beach, was a treat to wake up to every morning. We enjoyed the live music in the evenings. We would sit on the lanai and listen to the music to wind down. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the guys at the pool / towel / snorkel desk. Beautiful beach, great for swimming and snorkeling with all the coral reefs on the north side.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like cocktails served in plastic water glasses at the pool bar.

    Excellent ocean view room, large & well appointed. Spacious resort with varied areas for relaxing. Never felt crowded. Beach was beautiful. Self parking option. Only stayed one night, but dining options can be expanded by going to the sister resort next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very poor availability of dining and beverage options. We arrived after 10pm after a long travel day and nothing was open. No place to have a drink or a bite to eat. There's no room service. You had plan your day around very limited eating and dining options. The resort charged for wifi in the rooms and for a microwave which I think motel 6 provides for free. There was no food or beverage service at the golf course which is amazing. They required you to return your golf cart by 6 pm which is ridiculous. Ordered an $18 steak sandwich at the pool which turned out to be $1.50 worth of steak ums on a 10 cent school lunch room hamburger bun. Staff was overall courteous but always felt like I was intruding on their time and they were doing me a favor by serving me.

    Location and facilities were beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They start the towel service at 8am, even though many people are out earlier and there is staff in the booth. Also, a staff member claimed they stop the snorkeling at 5pm, but have no signs about this anywhere. Breakfast was very good, but lunch and dinner at the beach bar were disappointing. We supposedly had a bucket of golf balls for the driving range included in our package, we went at 4pm and at 11am and both times it was closed.

    The view is wonderful, the beach is beautiful and very accessible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the prices at the spa ( massages/hair) were very high.

    The mattress was too hard and i had a back ache every day. Otherwise facilities great. Like just walking to beach. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choices were limited. Would be nice if there were a quick hotdog or burger grill beachside. The beach cafe is nice but still a bit more formal for a just a quick bite.

    Can't beat the beach. Having such a world class beach in the hotel's backyard makes all the difference. The staff were all fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit tired - the room was fine but the bathroom could do with updating. We visited the Pool Bar for lunch on our arrival and were not impressed with the service or the food. They were very busy and appeared to be short staffed, tables needed clearing whilst people waited to be seated - some staff members looked very miserable. My food was not good either. We didn't eat there again during our stay. Another negative was the lack of sun shades around the swimming pool - there were probably 50 sun beds and about 6 sunshades between them.

    Location of the hotel and beach were excellent - beach is one of the best in the world. Friendly helpful staff (except in pool bar at lunchtime) and Coast Grill restaurant had fabulous views of beach and sunset.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant situation was very limiting. A couple of smaller ones would be perfect. eg Italian and Mediterranean. "Food Hall" type dining with hoards of loud people is not pleasant., Main restaurant too expensive for every night. Menu does not cater well for food intolerances.

    Wonderful place to relax and not be overwhelmed with people everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining choices limited and expensive. Nearby alternatives not readily available. Not really kid friendly

    Access to a great beach. Great access to chairs and umbrellas

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hapuna Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: