Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harborview Inn & Suites-Convention Center-Airport-Gaslamp-Seaworld-Zoo-Balboa Park 2 stars

550 West Grape Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#203 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 429 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small Room and not very confortable bed plus there the bath tub did not have foot lock and I couldn`t take a nice bath after my marathon.

    Location is great and staff lend me a blender for my shakes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found hair in my towel, the room was TOTALLY different from the pictures and was on the ground floor (in the street). I didn't feel safe ether because the door to the corridor was always opened in the street, everything was old. It was REALLY expensive compared to what I got. DISAPPOINTED

    The bed was good and the shower was good also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not in the greatest shape. There was a hole in the wall, the sink was cracked, also the shower curtain was ripped in multiple locations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking in there was a slight smell to the room, had to open the windows and turn on the AC but did not last after that.

    The location was in a good area, close to everything. Easily accessible by Uber to all the amenities of SD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not look like picture online! Very small. The faucet in the restroom was broken. The room had a smelly odor.Parking sucked.

    The location was good close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    HOW THIS ONE RUDE SERVICE PERSON, JUST WALKS IN YOUR ROOM, WITHOUT GIVING YOU A CHANCE TO ANSWER THE DOOR! THEN, GETS AN ADDITUIDE AFTER YOU TELL HER BOUT IT! BUT! OTHER THEN THAT!? IT'S GREAT!

    EVERYTHIG!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    The only thing good about this place is free parking and it's location. The place is old, run down, and our room smelled. Time to upgrade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking. Beside the main building. You need to use the side walk to get in the rooms door.

    Nice clean towels and beds. Close to Little Italy and restsurants. Close to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of things were old, dirty, parking spaces are minimal, not every room has air conditioning. Parking lot is very narrow and hard to enter/exit

    The bed and pillows were comfortable!! The staff were friendly and they had an elevator access. Super secure property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a 4:30am wake up call, luckily I woke up early and when i went down to check out and ask for a taxi, I noticed that the man working at reception was in the back room, sleeping!!

    Great location - close to the airport, for an early flight and close to transportation and cafes and restaurants of Little Italy. Room was quite comfortable and staff were generally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, odd shape rooms. Towels tiny and like sand paper. Weird smell, old carpet, terrible new paint. Small bed for a queen, weird staff. Photos not the same as actual rooms. Not much parking. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was small, bathroom was tight, noise level outside, bums in parking lot. wall was damaged in entry of room.....$75 deposit which was returned but told me everything I needed about clientele that stayed there if they are charging you for anticipated damage up front. Then no one checked out room prior to returning deposit???

    location to Little Italy, SD

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, dilapidated, no instructions for TV and couldn't get it to work, unable to take shower because handle was broken and appeared to have been broken for some time, our room didn't come close to the picture on your website. Whoever gave this place 3 stars should be fired.

    Close to Little Italy, lots of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub was extremely slippery - the walls are very thin, could hear people speaking in other room - and the ceiling had noise from people upstairs - nothing extreme - but just the fact you could hear it was annoying.

    The front desk staff ladies were nice - and the hotel was at a very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area was terrible! It was very hard to get in and out from the parking space due to the lack of space. One of the staff wasn't so friendly, we asked for hot water and she replied hot water is only for mornings.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture mess in the hallways. Broken vending machines. No numbers on doors just paper with number written on them. Airplanes fly over ever 20 min. Exit to back of the building was trashed. Homeless people can get into hotel hallways through back exit and did. Furniture in room outdated.

    They had parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize the window was open, my fault, but it is bit noisy due to being right by freeway and in airport footpath But it was still a great stay

    The location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged an upfront $80 damage fee was odd? Property is old and not clean or inviting. No closet or hangars in the room. Located on loud busy street. No lamp just ceiling light. No chair to relax in. We spent as little time in the room as possible as it was not comfortable. Towels very rough. Bring your own toiletries. Would NOT recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not figure out how to keep the AC running through the night so the room got hot and stuffy. It was uncomfortable and hard to sleep.

    The location was great. Everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was old, had a a bag smell to it, no iron, we had to change rooms ac didn't work in first room, but second room it did. I would not stay again

    Loved the area Little Italy was great lots of traffic but that's to be expected in that area, and airplane noise, but didn't bother us in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and outdated furniture and curtains and bedding, smelly room with a extra hard board for a bed, very nosey till 2 - 3 AM, could'nt sleep, other type guest look like homeless locals, and so much more disappointments. I got robbed, booked 2 nights, only stayed 1, got a better room for less in one night. Don't get missed lead. I want my money back, didn't even my close off to sleep, it being so uncomfortable.

    Location is convenient, the building looks nice from the outside, near lots of activities and food, but distance enough from downtown to think it would be quite at night: it wasn't. The water for the shower was good with clean towels, and for very, very low standards; the room might be exceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not worth the price. I’ve stayed in nicer hotels for a better deal. Barely any window light. No parking. You pay for a “San Diego experience” and don’t really receive much of one. Broken vending machine. The receptionist girl was very flat and not welcoming.

    Large bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we wanna extend a halfday but this manager want us to pay less than 200 for half day ..coz our flight was too late and we want to walk around ...no concideration for 1st timer guest

    i like the woman in lobby she was so nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator super small. Hallways musty.

    A quick stay in San Diego, location is great for the airport and the harbor. Friendly staff, clean rooms, smelly hallways.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non smoking room slightly smelt of smoke and the head board of our bed wasn’t hooked to the wall very well and woke us up at 9am when one side of it slid down the wall. Besides these few minor details it was overall a good stay.

    the front desk lady who checked us in was very friendly, the room was clean for being an older building, towels and bed sheets were soft. Had a mini fridge and microwave and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty and it smelled horrible and I did not feel safe. People that love there were blasting music all night.

    I like how it was in downtown close to a lot of restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didn't like our room #201 this trip other guests were being obnoxious sitting on stairs outside our room being loud and unruly smoking and a curtain over the bed was quite short do the streetlight shined in our eyes all night which made it difficult to sleep

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of pot smoke smell. And the curtains and carpet need cleaning. A bit of a smell but not as bad as that may sound.

    It was not fancy or upscale in any way but you’re close to everything and within walking distance to most of what we wanted to experience. It was cheaper than anywhere else in the area we could find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are very old and not well maintained. There was underwear from previous guest still hanging in the room and overall it didn't look comfortable and clean. Low standard and overpriced

    Large room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guaranteed parking for guests. Parking spaces are limited and on a first come first serve basis. Good luck parking on the street and if you do a crazy homeless person may come by and attack your car as I observed one do to a minivan parked at the curb directly in front of the motel steps.

    The room was clean, the location was close to downtown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is catagorized as a queen but it’s really a full. The room also has only one chair so dining in the room for two is not convenient. There is no iron in the room.

    The property is very local to attractions or a quick lyft ride away. Plenty of places to eat near by. They offer WiFi at a descent speed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the carpet smells so bad I had to go to 7-11 to buy an air freshener. Hard to find a spot to park. We drove around 4-5 rounds before finding a spot. AC didn’t work, so hot and stuffy in the room.

    Good location. 7-11 just across the street. Easy to find places to eat and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard. could be a little more comfortable. More pillows would be nice.

    The room smelled very clean and fresh. It was very clean as was the bathroom. The air conditioning in the room worked extremely well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to little Italy

    First a walk in got his room cheaper than I , homeless people living on the premises and to make matters worst my toilet was clogged and I was given the plunger to fix the problem after paying 103.00

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was smaller than it appeared in photos and was in fact an old studio apartment building just turned into a hotel so parking was super tight and the Windows were covered over on the outside with paper and tape to keep the sun from overpowering and over heating the room. Also guests kept proping the main door open compromising the building security.

    Good price for being located in the little Italy area of San Diego. Walking distance to the harbor and the most fun parts of downtown. really great people working in the office and while tiny it was still a great price for its location and worked out perfectly being a place to crash after a hot music festival day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, this property should not have been rank as a 3 star facility. It look like prostitution activity is likely to be going here and not to mention infested with bed bugs.

    Absolutely nothing. The name is definitely misleading, and the view along with the pictures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really bad bird poop smell in the room, which was probably being sucked in from the air conditioner.

    Loved the location, we walked everywhere and didn't have to move the car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs to be updated. Our room was upgraded to a suite to accommodate for two queen beds and there was a hole in the chair and the was a major crack going across the ceiling.

    The location was great. My friend was celebrating her 30th birthday on a hornblower cruise. We were .4 miles from the dock. We were able to walk to and from our destination.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Monterey is expensive to stay in, this place is doing what they can for this price point.

    Nice reception staff, clean rooms, great location for accessing the highway and Monterey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work (no connection), maids turned off ac everyday when we were out so we returned to a hot room, keys didn't work on second day and office said the person checking us in didn't put down two days (did not apologize). For the amount we paid, the area and room and service were underwhelming.

    The surrounding area was a nice place to stay in downtown San diego

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, good location, little Italy was a nice and relatively safe area. Rooms were nicely decorated. Kitchen facilities were basic enough but just what you need. Nice bathroom that was very spacious. Rooms were also cleaned everyday as well as fresh towels which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like a room from American horror stories. It was scary and not very secure. We had a room in the bottom corner looked like a storage room dark and musty. The room smelled and little flies all around. I was not happy at all. The cleaning lady didn't come until 5:00 pm when I asked for towels they said the maid will be there soon and hung up on me very rude.

    I wish I could've got my money back it looked nothing like when I booked it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no Ice maker or vending machine. Iron and board had to be asked for.

    We had left a picture we took at the Horn Blower behind. We called to see if they still had it, and the lady at the front desk found it and mailed it to me post haste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not so good, small and hard. All a bit old. Picture is not representative.

    Location in the middle of Little Italy is just perfect! Walking distance from good food and harbour. Parking available. Free upgrade to suite gave us enough space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely hard and the pillows were not comfortable. We did not sleep well and we woke up very sore. It was also quite loud in the hotel. You could hear the neighbors and the street noise. It was also a little disturbing that the room numbers were pieces of paper, hand written, and taped to the doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ended up having to park my car extremely far away and Uber to the hotel. One of the nights there was some questionable commotion going on in the hallway that kept us up into the 4am hour. We could hear everything going on in the room above us. For the amount paid we both felt that the hotel was not up to par and considered paying an absurd amount for a different hotel last minute.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very good and in a great venue of San Diego (Little Italy), a few minutes walk for Gaslamp Quarter and Embarcadero. Nearby you can find an uncountable variety of restaurants (and not only Italian food) and bars (with craft beers!). For a more demanding audience: it's not a fancy room, but, with a cool queen size's bed (in some rooms two queen size beds!) with a clean bathroom and a warm and cozy shower. I strongly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room they gave us had a broken window that could be accessed easily from outside and the TV did not work at all, so we requested to move to another room which was much better. My partner accidentally left a small bag of lotto tickets and a cell ph charger in the previous room, however we were never able to get them back or returned.

    The hotel was located central to where we wanted to be

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING. vending machine out of order. Ice machine barely worked. Homeless camped outside the place all weekend.

    Smelled aweful. Dingy. Not worth the price at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like no parking either

    I hated the room over all I don't know how they can call them suites the bed harder than the floor the blanket nasty sheets nasty that room made motel 6 look like a five star motel never again will I book there nasty ass room only stayed cuz we went to sea world and we were very tired

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds. Were hard as a rock! There was water damage in the bathroom wall, possible mildew issue. Room had no toilet paper, had to ask for some. Heard people over us most of the night walking around loudly and sounded like someone kept trying our door knob. Not to mention NO third security bolt lock...just dead bolt that didn't feel like it locked all the way in. We were very disappointed to say the least. Looked okay in the photos online...not in person

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smells awful and not clean. We ordered two queen beds and the room was so small that we didn't had any place to put the luggage. The staff was unhelpful and one day I had to pay for parking because there were no parking space. They write free parking but mean parking on the street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rom, old towels, dirty comforter, hair dryer did not work. No iron in each room, no iron board. No breakfast or coffee maker.

    The only thing that was good was the location. The staff does the best they can with what they have. Friendly people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the floor was still drying from being mopped (tons of disinfectant used). The lighting was fairly poor. It is an old property that could use a more contemporary update.

    Room was very basic, nothing special, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it relatively quiet despite being on the ground level right next to a busy street. The location is great if you want to spend time in the Little Italy area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My window faced the street so it was a little loud on a Saturday night, but not too bad.

    You can't beat the location in Little Italy. And when I checked out in the morning I asked if I could leave my car parked there until the afternoon. The woman at the desk said, a little reluctantly, that was fine. I really appreciated that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location noise! Lots of car traffic noise and airplane noise. Original room we booked had foul odor and I got headaches and allergies! Staff was polite got us new room, a lot less odor, bed uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff,location near little Itsly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too noisy. Street traffic all day and most of the night could only be drowned put by leaving the A/C fan going. The toilet paper holder was broken, the 'queen' bed was more likely a 'full' sized bed. The linens were clean, but the bedspread seemed old and in need of replacement along with the matching pillow shams. We spent an uncomfortable night in this hotel and I can't recommend it to others.

    The location was the best part of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property smelled horribly and I did not of feel safe there. We were given incorrect room keys twice, the second time we walked in on a guy in bed because they gave us someone else's room. Management didn't care one bit about the customers, just about making money. No refund was given when asked. Overall, I would never recommend this places to anyone who actually cards about the atmosphere of the area and place they are staying at.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made me wait and were making a call so there wasn't that initial welcome. Someone had double booked me in two rooms. But the lady supposedly removed one of the bookings. In my room the toilet had urine on the seat and inside like someone used it. The outlet was bare and the wall patched up. The light had the wirings on the outside rather than inside the wall.

    The staff was nice though busy with their own personal things before assisting me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place a fraud, they show fake pictures of the hotel, pretending to be a nice big hotel- There is no such thing on the property. 1. When I entered in the lobby, it was smallest room ever you can see in the form of lobby. I thoughts I entered into wrong place. 2. There is no breakfast, when we booked they told us breakfast. Its fraud. 3. Rooms are dirty, when I entered into room, whole carpet was soaked with water. I called manager, poor guy didn't do anything. 4. Size of rooms are small, furniture is old, even there is not furniture. Bed smell in rooms. 5. Never Never Never go to this place. Its fraud, white lie.

    NOTHING. Horrible experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. People who leave negative reviews for an inn like this need to understand the type of establishment they're booking. This is not meant to be a name-brand chain hotel with swimming pool, jacuzzi, and continental breakfast. An inn like this is a no frills, basic amenities with comfort type of establishment. If you're looking for a resort, look elsewhere and spend triple the cost.

    This inn has everything you need and nothing you don't. The beds are super comfy, the WiFi is super fast, the staff is friendly, the place as a whole is very clean, and the location is pretty impressive, especially if you love Italian food (go to the Mona Lisa a block down). The room had a microwave, flat screen TV, refrigerator, and lounge table with chairs. The bathroom is modern and clean with great water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking and have to park in street risk getting ticket and having to pay $50 daily. They said they mentioned no parking in the ad but i didn't find it and showed it to them.. we booked two rooms and had to find parking for two vehicles. They stated booking.com would not let them add such details to their ad. That ruined my trip

    Cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    I have travelled alot and this visit was a few steps above everyone else. I was treated very well from day one!! Best customer you will ever recurve. My room was cleaned everyday!!! Very quiet environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not all that comfortable and the hotel doesn't particularly look like a nice hotel but it's reasonably priced considering the excellent location.

    The location was great! It was walking distance to all kinds of great restaurants and cafes. There's also a 24 hour 7/11 across the street in case you forgot to pack something. You can also walk down to the shore from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bar/restaurant on site. I was with my parents and it's hard for them to walk a lot.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. I felt safe there and comfortable, like a family run home. The location was perfect to see many sites.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Lida is very friendly and accommodating. My room was ready 2 hours before the expected time. The room had a fridge and microwave. The bed was clean and actually comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on W Grape St. , there are so many good Italian restaurants around. The area is clean and nice! Love it. And the rooms are nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small when luggage opened on floor. Very sloppy finishing of paint job in bathroom- white paint slopped over granite bath surround. Hallways were partly painted and full of uneven plaster. Door colours dreadful with carpet. Needs thorough Reno there. Staff did not give us wake up call for early flight as requested nor had they ordered taxi as requested.

    Location Granite bathroom Comfortable bed Good tv reception

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that there is not complimentary breakfast but of course not a big deal , there is a lot around to explore and eat.

    The hotel was clean and it was simple, good TV channels for relaxing, the cleaning was kept up a nice place to lay your head for the night while vacationing. If your planning to vacation this a nice a affordable place especially considering the fact when you vacation it's about the sight seeing not staying in a hotel all day . The hotel was clean and perfectly sized for my fiancee and I and our things

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries were lacking but I am just nitpicking now.

    When the check-in lady is full of joy and laughter you can never go wrong. When a key did not work, and we came back in late and drunk they were more then glad to give us a nee one with no surcharge. Also, when we forgot before when we were sober too. It is a 5 dollar uber ride to the gaslamp and a 2 5 minute ride to Sro Lounge if that is your scene. Comfortable beds at a great price. 2 Queen size beds in a room for a night/ 90 dollars!!! Well 45 if you split it with a friend. You can not beat those deals!!! Location, Location, Location!! Also, great wifi!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Early morning aircraft fly in low and are noisy en route to the nearly airport.

    The location in Little Italy is close to Balboa park, many restaurants are nearby, and the convention center is within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very very very disappointed with this property. On arrival I was told I had to pay $14usd more than my booking.com price I found online. If I knew that this was the facility I picked was this rundown; at the price quoted; I never would have booked here. I understand taxes and other charges; but include it online so I can make a choice based on overall price points. Not impressed; especially since the next night; in Palm Springs; at a motel 6; I paid $10 less; and it was awesome. At a motel 6.I called customer service today and there is nothing they can do for me. I'm extremely disappointed; and I will not be using booking.com in the future unless you would like to pay back the difference in what I was charged. You might think it petty; but when one has choices these days and you travel with kids; the little bits add up. Thank you for taking time to read this. (I work in a hotel in downtown Vancouver; and I shudder to think that people pay money to sleep at harbor view inn - San Diego)

    That I had a reservation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't breakfast that I was made aware of. Otherwise I was very pleased with this booking.

    Location is outstanding. Walking distance to a shopping, restaurants, the ocean. If you walk south of the hotel anywhere, it's an uphill walk that could be challenging. Balboa Park is also within walking distance but is a very steep uphill walk. Rooms are small but clean and all the basic amenities are provided.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was kind of expensive but still competative with other hotels nearby.

    The location was perfect for trying out the local cussine. Just make reservations. The best places are stuffed most nights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    the price was great. Pillows were big and comfy not flat like other hotels and the bed was so comfortable. Staff was very great! Will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: