Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbourview Inn 4 stars

2 Vendue Range, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#11 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The proximity to the harbor and the shops/food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is most definitely continental style, nothing very hardy to keep you satisfied. Wish there were more cold water bottles around during the hot days. The cute little water, tea and candy stations were always a mess and empty.

    The proximity to the harbor and the shops/food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    The view was excellent, provided breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Harbour View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe there could be more on menu choices for breakfast? I feel that forcing customers to pay $30 peer night to park is a little ridiculous? This I feel should not be forced?

    The view was excellent, provided breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    I expect a lot more from a 700 dollar per night hotel.
    • Couple
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C didn’t work well at all. The room stayed humid all night. The wine and cheese tasting was terrible. The wine was watered down like they put ice in it. The comforter was dirty. I have had better stays in $100 dollar a night places. All we payed for was location. It was a joke. I will let people know not to waste there time.

    Breakfast. That’s about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you get. You have no option to self park. Must valet. Limited breakfast area. Two small tables & two coffee tables to eat at. So if there are more than 8 people present there is no place to sit to eat. Shower had mildew all over. I expected a five star like the website indicated.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely return. Best place I’ve stayed in Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Park Side Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly, efficient, and so helpful with recommendations for dining, tours etc. We all agreed that the beds were the most comfortable ever! Breakfast selections were great and food was very good. It was so pleasant having breakfast on the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Loved Harbourview Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved Harbourview Inn. Location, room, staff were great, & we loved all the extras, the wine & cheese hour, nice breakfast on the rooftop, cookies & milk. YUM!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Not a luxury experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this money place was very worn. Breakfast was NOT impressive, Saran wrapped food. A food tray plopped in your room. For $500 a night you would expect class service. Check in staff were high fiving each other for sales, we were ignored . Room had noisy equipment hum all the time. Only bright light young parking attendant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and views in Old Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communications regarding breakfast were not clearly provided at checkin, so our breakfast experience on the first morning was very disappointing.

    The location is fantastic with great restaurants and activities very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Everything about Harbourview Inn was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Harbour View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about Harbourview Inn was perfect. The location with a beautiful view was superb, and the valet service was convenient so we did not have to park our own car. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Overall, the hotel was exactly what we wanted and needed and you couldn't pick a better location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't really like. Everything was great.

    We only had the coffee at the breakfast they set up in their atrium. However, the spread was quite nice for a complimentary breakfast. It was not a full spread but they had lots of different drinks, coffees, teas, and baked goods. They had some jellies as well as some boiled eggs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    excellent excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - breakfast coordination slightly cumbersome, though staff very accommodating - no late checkout

    excellent excellent staff location location location good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convoluted room arrangement, could not comfortably view TV; bed duvet heavy and lumpy, no blanket provided. 6” tolerance between hassock and bed; insufficient bulb wattage to read in bed. Good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have explained that you had to post a sign on the door if you wanted your room serviced.

    The beds had premium Therapedic mattresses, which were very comfortable. They had a very nice wine/snack bar in the afternoon. Clean, modern hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Such a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bar/lounge area with music, although the music might have detracted from the ambience. There is a lobby area where you can purchase drinks and sir by the fire, though, so that's nice.

    The staff overall was excellent. Every member of the Harborview team went out of their way to make our stay welcoming and comfortable. Loved the little extras...free breakfast that could be sent to your room, wine and cheese at 5, cookies and milk at 9.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Cookies and Milk was a good idea, something new to us.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant.

    Cookies and Milk was a good idea, something new to us. Also the breakfast being served in-room surprised us positively. Also a very good idea. Hotel upgraded our room for a river view room, for free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't get flustered by the fact that you will probably drive past it the first time as it is right on a curve where the view of the harbour and the lovely fountain are so it's sensory overload and you might miss the fact that you have to just pull up to the curb for the valet and to check in.

    Perfect location, friendly and professional staff, beautiful room, cozy and classy at the same time. I have stayed other places in Charleston but will always choose Harbourview Inn when it's available. The location on the harbour and just off of E. Bay St. is ideal for exploring the waterfront and walking the best of historic Charleston. I positively loved the cozy little ammenities they set up throughout the day right in the heart of the hotel from coffee to cocktails. The staff is lovely and professionally laid back at the same time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    How do I get my 30.00 credit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overcharged me by $30.00 and when I called they wouldn’t credit my conformation from you 169.00 each night they charged 199.00 the second night.

    Everything was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Not cheap, but worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An incredible location with an incredible breakfast. I have been to many b&bs but never had breakfast delivered to my room for free. What more could you ask for? Prices seem quite reasonable given the beautiful, quiet location near lots of great restaurants and architecture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    The daily amenities, from breakfast served in your room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The daily amenities, from breakfast served in your room (included in the price), to afternoon tea, evening wine and cheese, and late night cookies and milk. Nice fireplace and apple cider available in the lobby all the time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above, breakfast just okay. Had requested welcome basket for spouse's birthday but it was not delivered, at least I was not charged. No exercise facilities but strolling on the bay delightful. Little pricey for the area.

    Breakfast included as well as wine & cheese in the evening and cookies at night! But, breakfast just okay (stayed with toast 2 days, only 1 piece); wine pretty "industrial"; but, cookies awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel with a great location and view, excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel, perfect location and view. The staff goes above and beyond for guests. I loved the free added touches...free breakfast in bed, hot chocolate chip cookies, turn down service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience! Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited. They charged us a lot to park our car in the garage at the hotel daily. A one time fee would be fair, but almost $40 a day was ridiculous. We used the valet service once when we were leaving. Certainly not worth $120.

    Breakfast was great everyday. Beautiful view from the hotel and our room was great with a super comfy bed. Loved the wine and cheese event every night and the turn down service. The staff was awesome and everything was clean. Everything in the city was within walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, wonderful staff, nice breakfast (some may...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Park Side Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, wonderful staff, nice breakfast (some may think it rather light but I thoroughly enjoyed). Choose where to have breakfast; your room, common area, rooftop. Take advantage of the rooftop if weather permits. Coffee available 24hrs, wine and cheese reception late afternoon, hot cookies and milk in the evening if interested. Free bikes. Also, check out the free available programs usually displayed at the desk. Beds are comfortable. Girls long weekend and three of us stayed in one room with plenty of space. A real deal midweek, pricier for weekend. Really a wonderful place to stay. Honestly feel taken care of.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Loved the location, front desk staff very accommodating. Nice touches of wine& cheese in evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff who took care of our rooms, truly did not do their best. On our last night there, we had no turn-down service, no extra towels, as we requested, did not refill the mini fridge ( bottled water is a necessity . Cleanliness... For the price we paid per room, we would think the bathroom would be spotless, it was not. First day, huge palmetto bug in shower. We rented 2 rooms, both were to be 2 queen rooms, next to each other. We were nice enough to change our rooms to one king and 2 queens and were told the price would stay the same as we booked. When we checked out , they had charged us more for the king room. They told us they would adjust it and it would be reflected on our charge card. It was not! Lastly... We were not aware of the $25 a day charge for parking when we booked, they told us of it when we arrived. On our bill we also were taxed on this charge. A car was not necessary because of the great location, wish we knew that before we went. This is a hotel in a perfect location to restaurants and local sight seeing. There is a free bus until 7p.M. at the corner where the hotel is located.

    Breakfast was delightful and made life much easier. However if you are ordering it to be delivered, be aware that you will not always get what you requested ( 3 breakfasts, 3 days of misorders). We were able to go to the main lodge area and get anything that might have been missing, but it meant getting dressed to walk to that area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door was not locked at night. We should have needed to use a key to enter.

    The location was perfect. The bathroom was modern with excellent lighting and counter space. There was a good makeup mirror. Breakfast in our room was delicious and on time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Romantic getaway well suited for our anniversary trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast but asked for it to be delivered to our room as a change in morning however the change was not communicated properly and we tired of waiting and left.

    They provided a room with great view and champagne bottle because I had mentioned our anniversary at time of booking. Also the terrace and wine/cheese hour was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great location and accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Park Side Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it. Harbourview exceeded my expections!

    The room was spacious, clean and modern. We loved the fact that there was complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, as well as evening cookies and milk. We could survived on harbourview food alone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location next to a waterfront park and near dining,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a foodie town - need to take the breakfast up a notch!

    Great location next to a waterfront park and near dining, bars, galleries, and shopping. The room was quite large and comfortable. The evening wine reception provided a break from the day and an opportunity to meet other guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The fact that I paid $349 through Booking and the hotel rate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I paid $349 through Booking and the hotel rate was $329. I was unable to make contact with booking to get the guaranteed reduced rate .no more booking.com for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Never, ever, travel to Charleston in the summer time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room with Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We traveled during the 'eclipse' time, and this hotel raised their prices considerably. We were gouged for a 3 nite stay for over $1300.00....

    Minimal, very limited, breakfast buffet...or...dine in with a very limited room service menu, no bacon, no omelet or any eggs of any sort. Quiche or croissants, cereal, fruit, yogurt. For the price of the room they could afford a breakfast. They did put out wonderful cookies and milk at 9 pm each nite in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were lovely, the room was comfortable and clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, the room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was included and was yummy and they offered lots of little things like tea in the afternoon and wine on the terrace in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent (near everything). They included things that made us feel welcome (breakfast in the room, bicycles for an adventure, happy hour appetizers and wine)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great Inn right in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't think of anything I didn't like, although its a missed opportunity not have a rooftop deck that guests can enjoy the sunset (they have one but you really cannot see the sun setting).

    The location couldn't be beat, right across from Waterfront Park. Breakfast delivered to the room was a really nice perk! Walking distance to everything. The evening wine and cheese was really good too! Free m&m's for the kiddies and milk and cookies at night - couldn't ask for more. Will definitely book there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Charming & Romantic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oh my gosh...I love booking.com so many options in one place and so easy to navigate through. The hotel was amazing and romantic. Great Great Location! The room was very clean, all staff were very nice and helpful. The food was amazing. Every piece from booking to staying at this hotel was perfect. The worst part was leaving!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offer tea service, milk and cookies, a complementary cocktail upon arrival, a phenomenal breakfast and they have a beautiful roof deck. Everyone was helpful and their dinner recommendations were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Support for ambulatory folks was okay ( hard to retrofit ADA support). Hotel took off our valet parking charge from our bill which was savvy and very nice of them.

    Great location, excellent staff, wonderful views and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self-parking fee in the nearby garage changes randomly. But the hotel has nothing to do with it.

    The complementary breakfast on the rooftop and the afternoon tea is superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful vacation experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit high priced.

    Complimentary Brkfst being ordered the night before; complimentary snacks; robes; turn down service; upgraded room with fireplace & balcony; view of the fountain & bay; greeters at the front door; milk & cookies every night (free); great shower; great staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable. Food was good. Prompt service. The M&Ms, water and tea in the lobby was nice as well. Many nice restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Complimentary breakfasts and wine/cheese in the evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room. No bathtub in the room (walk in shower only) No onsite work out facility or pool

    Complimentary breakfasts and wine/cheese in the evenings. 24 hour access to snacks, coffee, water and tea. Beautiful decor and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Comfort and style for a pampered vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING could have been better!

    The continental breakfast was excellent, and included, as were the welcoming bourbon punch, wine and cheese hour and the 9 pm freshly-baked cookies and milk. Staff were extremely helpful, always cheerful. Climate control was superb in the rooms- especially for a historic hotel. Did I mention the M&M dispenser in the lobby, the cold brew coffee and iced tea, and the punctual delivery of our car by the valet? We were completely spoiled! The rooms were spacious and airy, the bath had a rainshower head and also a conventional one. Other guests were friendly but not intrusive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Great Location but had a rough stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bed. I did not sleep well the entire time that I was there. By the third night, I was ready to go home. This is in comparison to other nearby such like hotels that I have visited often like French quarter and Charleston place. That is a deal breaker for me for any possible future stays. The breakfasts also became rather dull after the 2nd day. I would suggest more variety.

    We were celebrating my husband's birthday and they brought Champagne and a card for my husband. That was very thoughtful and considerate which showed me that they pay attention. My husband loved the M & M's and we both loved the views from the rooftop. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    It was a very enjoyable stay in walking distance of almost all our activitities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was done well.

    The free breakfast was very good each day we were there. The options of where to have breakfast was also very nice - roof terrace, reception area in lobby area or your room. The bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was very attentive to our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    An excellent inn in a most desirable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was ok yet needed to contain more variety. Also, for those staying more that 2days - changing the menu would be good

    The staff is outstanding-- always helpful and overextending themselves.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    I am a lap swimmer and would have used it. :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be perfect if it had a pool. I am a lap swimmer and would have used it. :-)

    Love the location! The staff is very friendly. Like having bikes accessible for riding- free of charge. Enjoyed the welcome cocktail and the wine and cheese in the afternoon. The breakfast was very nice as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Best spot in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved all the special social times for drinks, cheese, or cookies. Having the waterfront right there was also a plus. We could walk to everything easily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel and even better staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    The staff gave us two bottles of champagne for me and my twin sister for our birthday. The were so accommodating. The location is the best in town and close to everything. Worth the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    The bed grabbed you, held you close, and whispered in your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was a disappointment.

    The bed grabbed you, held you close, and whispered in your ear to never leave. The refreshing drinks in the lobby were welcoming, and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Great value, staff and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was top notch! Amenities were amazing, all staff was friendly and helpful. Great value and location! Would definitely stay here again. All of my lunch and dinner reservations were made a week in advance, guaranteeing me a spot at all the great restaurants. Arrived to a welcome cocktail and friendly faces. Coffee, iced tea and infused waters available all day. Wine and cheese reception was great...took our food to the rooftop and enjoyed ourselves before heading out to dinner. Came back to cookies at night and chocolate on the bed. Breakfast was timely and delicious. Quiche was great, ham and cheese croissant was amazing, orange juice fresh. We can't say enough how much we enjoyed ourselves. And the location was perfect! Nice and quiet but still in the thick of things. We didn't have too much of a view because there was a tree in front of our balcony, but a very small observation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Located within walking distance of park, restaurants, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located within walking distance of park, restaurants, and sight seeing . Morning breakfast in choice of location and afternoon cocktails , wine and cheese on rooftop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a great location in the historic part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Park Side Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant.There are however many bars&restaurants witin walking distance.

    A lovely hotel in a great location in the historic part of the city.NIce cheese/wine party every day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel made sure we had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The amenities and front desk staff at the HarborView are outstanding and the location couldn't be better. It is an easy walk to the tourist attractions. A wonderful breafast is included as is wine and cheese in the afternoon and along with milk and cookies in the evening. Coffee and both hot tea and cold are available 24 hours a day. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The front desk crew and the valets couldn't be more helpful. They were always able to answer our questions and make suggestions of things to make certain to see and of local places to eat. If I ever return to Charleston, I will try to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    Too Many Deficiencies Add Up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as charming as the photos, location not as convenient as some other hotels in historic downtown. Bathroom tacky, would not consider it 4 star. Breakfast pitiful for this price level (paid $360 a night) - hardboiled eggs, tasteless quiche, basic pastries. Attempted overcharge by laundry ($11.50 for an item clearly listed at $6.50), somewhat reluctantly corrected by bossy desk clerk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was very nice!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Magnolia Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge in the room. Bathroom vent was clogged with lint, tub was kinda dingy and slightly sticky

    The staff was extra friendly. Love the welcome cocktail and milk and cookies.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Charming in Charleston!
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet needed to be (at the very least) shampooed but better yet replaced. The chairs in the room were "tired" and not very comfortable. However the bathroom was updated and terrific.

    Location! Location! Location! The view from our room was spectacular! We overlooked the waterfront and fountain. And the staff was welcoming, attentive, and extremely helpful. The breakfast was ok/sufficient/convenient but not great. The happy hour complimentary wine and cheese AND the 9pm fresh baked cookies and cold milk were delightful, unexpected treats. We heartily recommend the Harbourview Inn and hope to return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Great Inn at waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air vents in rooms need to be cleaned. You could see dust built up of years. Allergies came on due to the vents.

    Staff was friendly and clean up of breakfast trays was very fast. Great wine hour ... with cheese ... wishing it was longer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Southern Hospitality at it's Best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for exploring Historic District. Beautiful view of Charleston Harbor. Outstanding accomodating staff. Lots of nice hospitality perks. Complimentary wine & cheese reception, roof top bar 4-8pm, l complimentary evening milk & warm cookies 9pm, complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful Charleston hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Common areas (atrium, etc.) were small; not adequate to enjoy complimentary breakfast, wine and cheeze. etc.

    Many extras...complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine and cheeze, evening cookies and milk, 24 hour coffee. Wonderful location, very nice room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    I did love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Historic Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Desperate need for coffee pots in the rooms. Front desk staff can be a bit trying at times.

    Perfect location for Old Town Charleston. Immediate bay access, you can hear the surf. Historic hotel with ambiance. Stayed in the historic part of the hotel overlooking the cobblestone street. It was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Park Side Two Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One elevator, bed posts blocked view of television, only one vending machine that didn't work, very limited staff

    Location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Right choice to experience Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a little too high for the value. That means that if it was lower by 20%, I would have no hesitation to go back for our next trip.

    Location was great. Staff was professional. Food choices were high quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    The bed was heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area in the lobby that overlooked the fountain had inviting chairs to enjoy the view. However, there is a hard to see slight step down just around the French doors. I twisted my ankle there.

    The bed was heaven. We loved having 2 queen 4 poster beds. Room service was fantastic. And the valet gentleman helped us with places to go and recommendations for lunch that turned out to be the best meal of our whole trip. We will stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Hot breakfast quiches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atrium room was noisier than others with breakfast set up and diners.

    Hot breakfast quiches. Wine and cheese. Bicycles provided. Staff was professional and approachable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Staff was over the top with their friendliness and overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negitive which was not in the hotels control was the local bus shuttle stops right outside our room and at time sat at idle for some extended periods of time.

    Staff was over the top with their friendliness and overall customer service. Based on location and these service levels I thought it was a great value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Good location but could be better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel interior looked a bit tired. Room and carpet was a bit fusty, and the armchair was stained.

    The location was great - overlooking the harbour and easy walk to good Charleston restaurants and historic district. Breakfast on the rooftop patio was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Expected more for the price of the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Harbour View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the amenities were appreciated, in the end it was just too pricey. 2 drinks on the terrace were nearly $40. The actual room is starting to show wear and needs updates.

    Nice to have breakfast brought to our room. Shower was very nice too Harbor location was beautiful and convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    College girlfriends weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar on the rooftop is only open from 4 to 8 p.m. we would have enjoyed having the bar open later in the evening.

    The staff was excellent and very helpful. close to restaurants. Their wine and cheese in the afternoon was very nice as well as the evening cookies and milk. We also enjoyed the option of having breakfast in our rooms or on the rooftop. Valet parking was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Great room with view of harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hoping for ability to open window and get breeze from ocean.

    Great room with view of harbor. Staff provided a complimentary bottle of champaign once they learned we were celebrating our 25th anniversary.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Our room was the best attraction Charleston had to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Park Side King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very few rooms have a view of the harbor. Unless you book a room with a balcony you will not have a good view.

    The shower in the suite was on par with the best hotels in the world!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Exceptional attention to detail!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Two Queen Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love a workout facility.

    This was our second stay. The staff was exceptional as usual. The cheese and wine in the evening and breakfast in the morning are of high quality and add value to the experience. From housekeeping to concierge devices... This property excels at service!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were a little flat.

    Good location, convenient to dining, market & sight seeing. Loved complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese on the rooftop terrace. Spacious, comfortable, well-appointed room was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Overall our stay at the Harborview was enjoyable and we had a lot of fun seeing the sights in Charle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we finished a tour because of the heat wanted to return to our room for a nap. On one occasion it was before 3 PM and we were hoping housekeeping had finished with our room so we could take an un-interrupted nap.

    We loved the flexibility of having breakfast in our room or the Atrium or Roof. The front desk was very helpful with tour information. I liked the valet service which was very prompt and they took good care of our vehicle.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    You can see the ocean from the community balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet driver almost wrecked our car when he brought it down. He was driving way to fast around the corner and almost collided with a car pulling out by the curb. The he got mad and gassed it to get to a parking spot

    You can see the ocean from the community balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.3
    Had visited Savannah prior to Charlotte. Highly doubt a return trip to Charlotte will ever happen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Magnolia King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the showers were strictly HOT once the small amount of cold water that was in the pipes had been used. With 95+ temps, a HOT shower is not very refreshing. The options for breakfast did not change day by day, after 5 mornings of the same options....... The smell of sewage on the street. Was told by Inn personnel, that it was common due to heavy rain and high tide, that the sewers back up.

    personnel were friendly and willing to help with directions or suggestions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expense

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: