Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. District of Columbia hotel reviews
  4. Washington, DC hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Harrington

Reviews of Hotel Harrington This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

436 11th Street NW, Northwest, Washington, DC, DC 20004, United States of America

#129 of 143 hotels in Washington, DC

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3362 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.4
    Washignton is a great city. I will come back here for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ver old look. It was not vintage it was simply old. Strange smell in elevator. Some people might like it, I am simply not one of this people.

    Hotel look like it is from previous era. Everything is old, some thing does not even work. In my opinion the only good thing about this place is its localisation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.5
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better in room wifi would have been helpful as I was on business

    Older hotel, but great staff, great location right in the thick of it, really clean and comfortable rooms and the best value, only small moan wifi was poor in room but fine worked in lobby

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.8
    Acceptable as a place to sleep in midtown, but no amenities to recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very run down facility, needs major renovation, old chipped fixtures, worn down carpet. Suspect cleanliness.

    Good location - that's the best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    I will be back. I always do!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s not that I dislike it but the hotel is well over 100 years old so expect that! Nothing fancy, very clean, a bit outdated, but again, it was built around 1914!

    I have stayed here a couple of times over the last many, many years as I chose so due to location! Excellent spot. Friendly staff, Harry’s Pub is THE best!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but an extremely old and run down hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very unclean. The electrical outlets do not work properly. The water temperature in the shower is impossible to control. The heater in the room did not work.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    The reviews were a bit misleading .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was okay with everything.

    The reviews were a bit misleading . I was prepared for the worst but I ended up enjoying my stay . It’s worth it for the price that they charge . The location makes everything better plus the staff are very friendly . Room 728 to be specific was very clean and exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really old building but still holds histroric value from its time.

    Good location, right in the middle of the Centre and close to all amenities.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    5.0
    Never will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like anything about this hotel but the location. I would not have stayed except for the fact that I landed with no time to do anything else other than go directly to a concert

    Location. This hotel was way overpriced and so old and outdated. Furniture had rips and scratches. Paint pealing in bathroom walls. It smelled old. No toiletries

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. I'm satisfied overall.

    The location of the hotel is the best thing about it. It is only 2 minutes from the Metro station, it's close to shops and stores such as Nordstrom Rack and Macy's. The decorations in the lobby are appealing and the overall service was good. The room was quiet and good. I had no issues at all.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.0
    Too old hotel but location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The placement of electronic socket is so inconvenience. There is only 1 so ket in the room to charge my phone and it was all the way near the door.

    Location is very central, can easily walk to all main attraction.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    Comfy clean and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in Harry’s cafe not very friendly and spoke among themselves in their own language. Not very professional

    Yolanda the Spanish receptionist was very friendly. It’s an old hotel but it could be slightly revamped to trade on this charm. Convenient taxi outside. Very close to White House

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is a traditional hotel with a history of more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was very, very cold for 4 nights. I asked the staff twice to check the heating, but it did not solve. The location isn't near the subway. The restaurant staff on the 1st floor was very unfriendly.

    The hotel is a traditional hotel with a history of more than 100 years. The staff is very kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    It served my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could use some “refreshing”.

    The location is fantastic. They were generous about checking in early as the room was available and accommodating about a late check out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not recommend this place. It is 100 years old with very little upgrades. The bathroom sink and shower are tiny. You can hear the old pipes banging all day and night every time water runs. The plugs for outlets are old. Even with adapters, the pugs do not stay in the outlets. My door did not safely close and lock. The chain on the door (from the inside) was missing. The person to clean rooms showed up at 9 am. Checkout is at 12 noon. I will not be staying here again. It is not worth it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too expensive for the quality it offers. Good for a night or two but not so much for a longer period of time,

    Great location! Easy to get there. A walking distance from many of the museums and the White House.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    3.3
    Awful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything!! Place was a dump for the money! Cable didn’t work had to fix ourselves as person never came.. towels had stains on them, no AC.. could turn heat off..

    nothing!!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise in the night for clapping doors

    The Hotel is moew than 100 years old and is like a museum. It has history and it fitted to the flair of the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    I was happy to stay at the Harrington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The whole property is rather like a museum and could do with a major overhaul. On the other hand, the present ambiance probably reflects more accurately the historical nature of the hotel.

    The location is very convenient to all the major attractions in Washington. The rooms were old and showing considerable wear however the cleaning staff did an excellent job and left the room is a good condition.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    4.6
    Location is closed to Whitehouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s gross. It’s probably the oldest facilities I’ve ever seen. Decades old carpet with stains. You don’t want to walk bare foot. You don’t want to touch the bed. It’s like a dirty looking motel you see in a movie. You just wish you can leave sooner, you don’t want to stay any longer. Staff are nice though.

    Location is closed to Whitehouse

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.3
    A rundown hotel but good location to attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Theres no electric kettle in the room. The diner in the hotel does not provide hot water. We arrived late at night, diner is still open but hot water is not available. The bed is not comfy. I had a backache after sleeping on that squeezy mattress. Theres plug point in the bathroom, luckily we have an extension. Parking at PMI is $20 but the hotel charge for $23.

    Location. Close to shopping area, theres a nostrom shop (clothes) right next to this hotel. And you can find Hard Rock cafe a block from this hotel. We walked about 15 minutes to d white house and d monument so basically location is the only good reason to stay here. Plus theres a luggage room so park your luggage after you check out of the hotel and be on your way while waiting for your flight. Room is good, nice for 3 of us, its roomy. Hot water in the shower/bathroom is good, sustainable and water pressure is awesome. We r on the 3rd floor.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and saved money for other things that we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at Harry's was poor. Was there 3 times in two days was only served one beer and was repeatedly ignored by staff/manager.

    Great location and saved money for other things that we did. Rooms small but very clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Adequate room with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The water in the shower and sink fluctuated between hot and cold so much that it was difficult to bath. In fact, one day we could not shower because there was NO cold water and the shower was scalding hot. Even the toilet water was hot.

    Location was excellent and although the room was bare bones, it was clean. The price was excellent for D.C.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.1
    It is what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t feel clean. Main surfaces And bathroom was clean. Room was hoovered. But beyond 1st glance it wasn’t clean. Don’t recommend you look under the bed. Shower kept going hot and cold. Although force of shower was good

    Location The family room was a good size x2 rooms Bed was comfortable Ability for them to store cases Staff on reception helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.0
    What a great hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect, within walking distance to restaurants and museums. Room and amenities are lovely, however the public areas could do with a refresh.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great time. Thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Harrington was very close to everything for our conference and we could walk everywhere. Thank you for a good breakfast buffet and wonderful lunch at Harry’s when I arrived.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    4.6
    1. The location, walking distance going to the white house,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. The concierge - gave us the wrong keycard. We tried the keycard to a diff room and it opened. Can you imagine if the keycard went to the wrong hands, they can just steal the belongings of other guests. 2. The room - super outdated, it looks very sketchy, the airconditioning is not working properly, not sufficient to make the room colder, we even had to borrow an electric fan because its so hot. The common hallway is much colder than our room.

    1. The location, walking distance going to the white house, white house visitor center, and supermarkets 2. The housekeeping- gave tips regarding supermarket and the water and helped us when the concierge gave us the wrong keycard.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    a bit outdated, very comfy beds, good price,nice staff, great location. Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that I did not like was the shower. The shower it’sself was perfectly fine, except whoever hung the shower rod and curtain did a terrible job. The show rod was set almost a half foot into the shower which took away almost all of your standing room. The curtain would stick to you and was constantly getting tangled up because of how far the road was I set!

    The bed was very comfortable, and the hotel was nice and quiet during the night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Location was excellent, Harry's pub food was good value, staff welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception were not helpful or friendly. Power sockets were dangerous , coming out of the wall. The lift was quite noisy particularly in the night when trying to sleep.

    Location,location,location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Good location for short stay but basic and old property. Needs TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows horrible. Ceiling had dirt and dust marks from some ancient ventilation system. Dusty room. Noisy from plumbing/heating pipes, neighbours (and as expected traffic). Lift is inadequate.

    Great location. Convenient to white house mall etc. Good internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    4.6
    The room looked like and was old state indeed, i had the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room looked like and was old state indeed, i had the feeling not to touch the carpet and the wall. The bathroom was a horror, especially the bathtub. There were no lamps on the ceiling neither in the room nor in the bathroom. The hotel needs a big renovation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.9
    Great location & value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were a bit light on, in size & amount.

    The location was fantastic, close walking distance to everything. The Hotel was a bit dated but it had character which didn't matter as the room was clean & tidy. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    Old tired hotel but great value and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and restaurants were excellent.

    Old tired hotel but great value and excellent location. Bathroom smelled like either sulphuric or sewer but closed door, room did not smell. Slept very well. . I stayed only one night so did not report it. I was happy with price and location and to me was most important.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.1
    It was close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lobby was musty and a little damp smelling. My room wasn't completely clean - there was a cupcake wrapper on the floor and the towels weren't all that clean. The shower also didn't work that well. No pressure and either hot or cold no medium.

    It was close to everything. Very good location to see all the sights!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.1
    Well situated to be able to walk to most sights. We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No breakfast and the restaurant next door's breakfast is not too good The hotel is old and carpets and linen really needs a revamp

    Very well situated to be able to walk to most sights The room and bathroom is clean and the room cleaning service is good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.5
    Good value and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well....the hotel is very old circa 1914, and it does show its scars. The room was very small and in October the central heating unit for the hotel was running, not the ac. In order to ventilate the room one needed to open the tiny window in the room. In order for this hotel to be in good location the streets surrounding the hotel are extremely busy, thus at 3 am it was not convenient to have a window open for some air. Do not bring too many toiletries as there is VERY limited space in the bathroom to place them, don't put on top of radiator as it gets very hot. All in all this is not a 5 star hotel but then when in DC you are out and about. Enjoy!

    The location was perfect. Easy walking distance to White House, monuements, and the Capital building (providing you like to walk). Harry's restaurant and Bar offered a good assortment of dishes and was not overly priced. Staff very helpful and friendly. Free popcorn too, although needed more butter and salt.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.9
    Exactly as other reviews have stated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was prepared based on the reviews I had read in advance of my stay. You get what you pay for and this was the best hotel at that price point short of staying in a hostel. Good for school / church groups.

    Very basic - nothing special. My wife probably would not have wanted to stayed here. It was fine for me as a man who travels frequently. It was a good value and I would stay here again as a single traveler.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    5.0
    Locations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Renovated old building. Staff seemed not so friendly. Water stopper for the bathtub worked not perfectly. Slow internet, Yet, better than nothing. The e-pot is ridiculous: no on-off switch, and power plug manipulation was needed. Break fast was not value-for-money for me.

    Location: A minute walk to Penn Ave. The Mall is within 10 min. Metro Center in 5 min. To The Capitol in 20 min & to the WH in 15 min. China Town is also in 15-20 min.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    It was clean, nice and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues. It’s an old hotel, so if you have the right expectations then you won’t be disappointed. We there there on a cold night in October so the photo attached was in are room, so not sure how it would be mid summer.

    It was clean, nice and a great location. If you just want a place to sleep this is a great buy, also the Bar downstairs at Harry’s had a great staff too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    3.8
    Building was very old , very unclean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building was very old , very unclean. In places wiring has issues and some rooms they use plug in heaters for heat. No sprinkler systems. No room safe. The door to our room you had to kick it open to get into the room , to get out you need to yank the door hard to get out.It smells. Restaurant cleanliness is deplorable. The only good thing about the hotel is its location and they know this and spend very little in maintaining a clean safe hotel. Needs professional cleaning and updating then it would be a great place to stay. I would not recommend this place to any of my family or friends.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in the capitol!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con is old fashioned, it may not be as cold as one would want.

    This place is amazing it has this old feel, that is just amazing! Its also just a short walk away from most of the attractions therefore if you are going by foot - its very easy to get to where you need to go.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.1
    Must be the best location for tourists in DC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff weren't very cheerful, but were reasonably helpful.

    Location better than expected, walking distance to all major attractions, and plenty of dining options within the block and adjacent streets. Hotel met our expectations of being a bit rough around the edges, perhaps in need of upgrading but this is reflected in the price. We requested a late checkout of one hour which was granted.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing vacation. most things we wished to see were within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little cramped but comfortable.

    Hotel is three blocks from the Mall and numerous restaurants including one inside the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.5
    October 2018 stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some fixtures and fittings needed replacing/updating, no power socket in bathroom,heating not too good as chilly in evening and thermostat not working.

    Extremely convenient, good food, nice staff. Comfortable beds..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy, single glazed window, cold rooms, doors not very tight, noise from the corridor and rom located near elevator. No minibar, not able to bring a glass of vine from the restaurant to the room. Expensive. Stay awa.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.7
    Ancient hotel in the ancient city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is so small, no space for walking. Smelly and absolutely nasty carpet, my son wont even try to walk just looking at the sight of it. The airconditioning system is very outdated there are cobwebs in the vent area and a pen marker was used to write instructions on it since no one knew how to operate it anymore its so so ancient. The bath room is so small no space for heavy people.

    The good point is only the location since everything is walking distance. Restaurants are just across the road. The museums and the national mall are just 2 blocks away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.3
    Price is great but not planning on going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The baseboards were filthy. And surfaces had dust accumulated on them. The carpet needs cleaning or replaced. The elevators were dirty. Most of the staff need lessons on customer service. I would have paid $30-$40 more for cleaner facilities.

    The location was excellent. The linens were clean and changed each day. Always had warm water. The refrigerator worked nicely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    5.8
    An OK base for travellers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is, as it admits, genuinely old. The facilities in our room were adequate, but it had a dingy feel prompted, in part, by the loose plug connectors and haphazard wiring running around dusty skirting boards.

    Great location not far from Metro Center station and within short walking distance of the White House and the Mall. Lots of good restaurants and shopping close by as well. Our double room was a good size and quiet despite facing the street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    5.4
    Great location but terrible rooms, would definietly not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were old & terrible. Cracks in the walls, electrical wires all over, no a/c controls, noisy windows. On a scale of 1-10, these were a 2. The maids did a good job of keeping it clean enough though.

    The staff was friendly enough and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.8
    Good option for travelers on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything in the hotel is quite old, like nothing changed since 20 years. The room was not perfectly clean. Nothing was really outstanding but the hotel can be considered as a good choice for short stays.

    The hotel location is central and allows you to visit every iconic place of Washington walking. Union station is 30 min away on foot. The restaurant serves nice but a bit pricey meals. The room was spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.8
    We loved the charm & location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an older property & they used portable AC, so the restaurant was pretty hot.

    Location and parking were key for me. Literally within walking distance to all the DC sites!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    4.6
    It's cheap...but you get what you pay for as in all things.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fallen into a state of disrepair and rooms are very dingy and uninviting. The show head was rusty and the tile was dirty. The lighting buzzed and the A/C had no control to adjust it.

    Location was very central and the hotel's history was impressive

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not as friendly as other hotels i have stayed in, in the USA The decor is dated and the corridors are in need of a clean

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for us, cost and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant staff were terrible, couldn't be bothered attitude. Front desk staff were helpful, polite

    Room was large and spacious, location was excellent for all museums & monuments, easy walking distances for us. Older hotel, for what we paid it was fine, it's not the Hilton but answered our expectations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air didn’t work in our room but the staff was very friendly trying to satisfy us. It was late and we were unpacked ready for bed they brought fans so we wouldn’t have to move rooms. I wish we could have moved the second night but it worked out.

    The location was great! Least expensive place in the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    4.6
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of the rooms. The hotel needs an upgrade. I appreciate the history but it felt grubby and expensive for what you got. Glad we only spent one night.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Heart of DC. Lots of Character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Location. Can’t eat it, really. Character of the hotel. It’s 100 years-old, and although nothing was new and modern, if you like older with historical character, this place is that. Very spacious room size for family of four with suite. It was like we had two rooms in one!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Went to see the monuments at night and Smithsonian's the next day. Perfect location to do that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small and bathroom door did not close. No real adjustable AC.

    Location was fabulous!! Restraunts at hotel were great . Front desk staff VERY accomodating

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Close to musuens, monuments and governemt buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was within walking distance of the major government buildings and museums. There are three restaurants in the building of which we availed ourselves of one. The hotels also has a guest laundry which we used.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.8
    The cost of the room was excellent, I went to a Washington...
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the room was excellent, I went to a Washington Capitals game and walked easily. It is great if you are looking for a friendly staff and place to sleep. No extras.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was not working. Called front desk on two occasions and was told both times that someone would be on the problem. Well, it was not fixed and could not sleep at all that night due to the heat in the room. Other than that, the hotel was ok on everything else. If the a/c was fixed, definitely would stay there again.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    The location is amazing, walking distance to pretty much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the lights didn’t work in our room and the street noise can be a bit much.

    The location is amazing, walking distance to pretty much everything and the metro is 2 seconds away. Also, Harry’s bar makes amazing cocktails, salads and burgers. This hotel has a charm and character all of its own, yes it’s a little outdated but I think that only adds to its charm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    4.2
    Windows held together with duct tape;
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows held together with duct tape; electric wires running around wall edge, very old and dirty, friend got 14 bedbug bites. Very rundown and ugly. Would not stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    5.8
    For a city break it was adequate.. a bed to sleep in and a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small, the hotel is over 100 years old, and showed it in places. The Aircon control was a rod on the wall that moved (just about) to open or close the vent.

    Bed was comfy, 2 restaurants (although both serving the same food), only a few blocks from the national Mall with all the sights and museums.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    6.3
    I would stay here again, just clean it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not expecting a frills hotel. I have stayed here before years ago.room needs a coat of paint, baseboards heavy with dust , ceiling had residue from ceiling vent. Mattress very old . I can overlook this but spruce up the place . Room 616 has a wall outlet that is hanging out of wall next to bed , fire hazard . You might want to fix this.

    Location was excellent, great rates

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay and would definitely look forward to staying there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Nothing. And Nothing we could find that we didn't like about our stay.

    Location was very convenient to sights and restaurants. Staff was very helpful. Room was quite comfortable for an older hotel. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the DC area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a little cleaner, specially windows.

    Big room, excellent location - city center, could walk to all atractions, nice staff. It's a little older hotel, but it has great location, so I would probably stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Only thing didn’t like is almost all hotels now give you a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Queen Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant in building the buffet breakfast . My husband ordered eggs potatoes toast His was good but from buffet dried up and not good.

    Only thing didn’t like is almost all hotels now give you a small pillow . I don’t recommend restaurant buffet at harry harriets can’t rwnember the name in building it was 1030am so towards end of buffet all at motel was good. Great location. Parking there yes! We had my mom and there was a dividing wall between our bed and hers that was cool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    4.6
    Old fashioned hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff was not very welcoming. The hotel amenities are old-fashioned which is understandable reflecting the hotel is the oldest in D.C. The room window was very dirty, there were no toiletries.

    Location of the hotel is great, not far away both from restaurants and the sites of interests (the Mall, the Capitol, the White House). The fact thet this hotel is supposed to be the oldest one in D.C. makes the experience slightly more positive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.6
    The price is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old. But they have always been that way each time I visit.

    The price is great. The rooms are old fashioned but they are also $50 to $60 cheaper than other establishments. The location near the Metro Center is great for getting around the city. The restaurant is opened late and it is wonderful when you get in after a concert after 11pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Great location near Washington Mall
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing It was all great

    The location,The on site family restaurant with variety of breakfast available ,had a laundry, room was spacious even with 2 some beds,provision of 2 suitcase stands.Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic situation, very nice staff, bar and restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom and bathroom were small. Could not close bathroom door.

    Fantastic situation, very nice staff, bar and restaurant inside the hotel which proved very comfy as it was raining hard on night arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.1
    Price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Power outlets old and dangerous, air conditioning not working, very small room, advertised as breakfast inclded, this was not the case.

    Price and location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, but hotel badly needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had bugs in the room and had to move to a different floor. The shower went from cold to scalding hot frequently and suddenly. Reception on the TV was really bad.

    The location was great. I also really appreciated the convenient laundry facilities. Good WIFI. Staff were very responsive to any issues.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    2.5
    HORRIBLE. DIR
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Harrington is a DUMP, NOT CLEAN, my sin crawled there and I checked out early because it is a HORRIBLE PLACE. Booking.com did a ROTTEN job by having it on its site. Broken fire alarm, disgusting carpeting and bedding. Poor conditioning.

    Hotel Harrington is a DUMP and hotel Harrrington will make your SKIN CRAWL.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.6
    , the staff were very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was old and in need of renovation and you could hear other rooms though the walls and floors also the service at the bar and restaurant was really poor.

    , the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: