Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hawaiian Monarch Hotel 2 stars

444 Niu Street, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#169 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 547 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had several issues. The listing says it has a safe, a fridge, and an iron, but it doesn't really. The bathroom door kept getting stuck and made this annoying sound. The staff had to come in a couple of times because there was a leak in another room and they had to check if our room was the source. The staff was very nice about it though.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is also right in Waikiki so you can get around pretty easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator bells are way too loud. Hopefully the volume can be turned down. Everything would be really quiet and then the bell would ding really loud. And not just from it arriving on my floor, but some above and some below. I'm not sure how many floors. It would take 3 or 4 people to figure out.

    everything was good and the room was clean. I especially liked not having a stupid microwave staring at me. I really liked the view of the mountains from the 21st floor. Next time I'm there I would like to go into a corner room to see what that looks like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dislike not having a microwave!

    I really dislike not having a microwave in the room. I think you could get rid of the coffee maker’s which are definitely below standard and replace them with microwaves. The in room Wi-Fi is excellent however.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Deceptive advertisement. A delux room is an average room with a lamenant flooring.

    Nothing. Very dirty, deceptive advertisement, lot of hidden costs. Room advertised at $135/nigh. Total for the 1 night for a dump was $205 for room. 14.99 for incidentals (1 hotel size bar soap and 1 little shampoo. $25 for parking with around $250 for the 1 night. This hotel is not fit for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the carpet in the bedroom is dirty..I could feel the filth when walking barefoot..there was also bugs crawling on the dresser and table..food kept on the table was always covered with ants..

    Customer Service was good..friendly staff Area around the hotel, good..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are poorly maintained. Some people smelled like Marijuana in the elevator. Room service wasn't done twice. Roaches in room 2015.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2016 double bed x 2. One VERY inferior, requested another room, have never done this before room 1701 beds JUST okay but shower would not work had to call for help, TV basic rubbish

    Not a lot to like except Christina at the front desk trying to holdup a standard of hotel that needs to be over hauled

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The cost of parking has gone up from $10 a night to $ 25 a night in last 5 years. But then so has every thing else!! Waikiki , International Market Place, and Ala Moana Center is ruined- nothing Hawai'ian about it. They have become the upscale shopper's paradise. However windward side and north shore still country and old Hawai'i, and one can hike in the mountains within 15 minutes and never know Waikiki is there! All depends on one;s perspective!

    We requested a specific room we had stayed in before. It was clean looked like the bath room had been redone .. It was next to elevator and we heard it groan off and on but was not a problem. A safe , ironing board, iron, small refrigerator hair dryer, coffee or tea maker with packets for both, small shampoo vials,and a line over tub to hang light wash. The staff was very helpful and Christine went above and beyond the call to help us out.. We did return for one night in a different room. That was a little smaller and needed remodeling. It was clean but mirror and bottom of tub needed repair and wardrobe closet needed repainting. View not as nice. I'm sure if were to be there longer they would have changed the room if asked as the staff was most friendly ,cheerful and accommodating. Good location to bus and near by shops and restaurants, Love the Hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms online were not the same rooms they have. We did not even feel safe enough to leave anything in our room! There was a safe but no lock of any kind. While taking a shower there were huge chunks of paint coming off. Musky smelling, room and hotel was very dirty! We didn’t get in until midnight so couldn’t do anything about it that night. The next day we were out of there! Pictures online were def photo shopped or taken somewhere else! I would recommend taking this off of booking.com.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first got there the tv didn’t work, but they did replace it within an hour.

    This was a fairly good hotel. We had a nice view, we could see the ocean, the canal, and diamond head all from our room. Conveniently located just off the Waikiki strip so it’s an easy walk. There was also a club just outside the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom so outdated ......bathtub too small Carpet needs to be replaced in unit ....or cleaned

    Excellent type of beds .... location perfect eazy to get around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2002 had No WiFi due to contstruction, beds are too hard, not enough selection on the tv, the hallways are smelly, the bathtub has stains, the curtains are stained, parking is expensive.

    Nothing...except my kids enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Needs an upgrade in bed sheets and bath towels- we got a few stained towles and our bottom bed cover was stained- or lightly brown from the white sheets. Air con machine fixed at window which wasn't fitted properly, as it bought a draught every night- had to sleep on the other end of the bed. Every time turned the Bathroom Light on, the fan made noise and carried a bad smoke smell.

    Great Location..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My experiences of this place is bad. The faucet is rusty, mattress is old with stain obviously. The manager, Venessa is so mean. On the first day, we checked in and wasn't happy with this hotel condition, she told us to move out on the next day if we wouldn't be happy with this hotel😧. She charged us extra almost $11/night for resort fee even though the hot tub, elevators too old and small to use. No door attendant to help customers. The other were nice and friendly to help us out.

    Not at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rugs in the room were very old and stained. The tub floor was very 'bouncy', I felt like I was going to fall through. I reported a toilet problem on a weekend and was told there was no maintenance personnel on site and that I should have reported it earlier.

    The pool and area were nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has filthy soiled old carpet and curtains And the furniture beat up. — safe didn’t work - Linens were well worn and grubby —- no towels for the pool — no shade arrangement at the pool — no comfortable lobby seating — no bathroom in the lobby— not very enthusiastic front desk. No balcony. I’d say we definitely paid too much for this room. People here as part of Air Bnb paid half of what we paid for better equipped room and sharing the pool amenities

    Housekeeping was very cooperative and personable. Pool area was nice and clean. It was nice and quiet no music blaring and no drinks being served Barbecue area was good. Location was ok. Good for buses.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing. I did not, not like, a single thing. In other words, for those who are never clear, I loved it. Got it?

    Great pizza. Perfect location between the beach and downtown. Perfect price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a nice view of the city but the furnitures are old, scratched and looks untidy. Has flat tv but only had 3 channels which barely worked. Bath tub looks old and is chipping. There's only one outlet and that's in the bathroom only. At least the one I could find. Just not worth paying almost 200 a night or even 100.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was awful, peeling and cracked. Carpet looked filthy. Broken blinds on several windows. Noisy AC unit, though it chilled the air just fine. Wifi was iffy and the TV never worked. The day we checked out they were shutting the water off to entire building, we checked out early to avoid that.

    Jeremiah at front desk was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping staff very accommodating leaving extra coffee and creamer when requested. The location is great. Amazing view of the water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi OK in lobby, would be better in room !

    I visit Hawaii once a year, all I need from hotel is a bed, bathroom, wifi, TV & coffee. I visit a special clinic (medical expertise not available in AU) the rest of my stay I walk, take the bus, swim, sun bathe, go to the movies & eat / drink. I'm a realist & price is important for me, I don't need much, just to relax in paradise. In life you get what you pay for but @ Hawaiian Monarch room was clean & all staffers friendly. Mahalo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in my upgrades room was very stained with water. The bathtub looked like paint had been spilled and it covered the whole bottom

    I liked the floor I was on. Desk staff was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Old; needs updating; smells moldy; roaches that fly, no safety bars in tub..fell in tub; lobby carpet and elevator smelled misery stink. -Arlene the housekeeping staff were tops in service. -The night desk staff poor service. No acknowledgement, thank you etc. I don't think he likes his job. No customer interest. - The parking vendors were not consistent in service. They need an aitomated punch in/ out service for accuracy & tracking. Customer service, very short on Aloha spirit!! 8

    Location to evenrs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was like a robot and not helpful. Expected 3 beds or 2 w a couch. We got 2 double sized beds for 6 people.

    Bottom dollar price, allowed for large families.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room.

    nikky was very accommodating at the front office.He simply knows what he is doing, and was very clear in explaining the house rules and payment schemes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My expensive cream came up missing after first day in hotel! Bathroom small as was the bed for standard room! But for price the room was fine!

    Location is walking distance to Waikiki area!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website pictures look nothing like the room we paid for - old, smelled, no WiFi in the room only in the lobby - TV only worked last 2 Days of my 6 day trip

    Walking distance from beach and shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi no cable coffee machine didnt work parking was $25/day cash. Charged $40 a day for amenities that were not in the room. Stains on carpet, everywhere.

    Walking distance from resorts. The restaurant in the lobby was cute.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in at the rooms only on ground floor,rooms were clean but could do with an upgrade as bathroom has seen better days- same as tv. But we were hardly in the room so all and all was fine.

    Staff were lovely the service was great and people were friendly the location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms and the air condition unit made the floor wet under it the place could use new carpets as well but not too big of an isssue

    The lady’s came in and cleaned every morning and did a very nice job every time, also the security guard was a very nice guy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated, the hallways reminded me of an insane asylum. Our ancient Green carpet was bleach stained in many areas leading me to wonder if there was a murder there or they just didn't change their carpet ever. The luggage rack was rusted, half the outlets didn't work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to check in an hour early and was not allowed to, regardless of whether the room was ready or not. No airport shuttle or support getting to and from the airport was provided. There is no parking area to drop your bags off and check in if you’ve rented a car which means you either have to park a block or two away and carry your bags or risk parking in the reserved spots. No luggage cart is available to aid in getting bags to the room either. An additional fee is required to use the gym. The facilities were poorly kept and in serious need of updating. Despite state law requiring hotels to service rooms at a minimum of every three days, my room was never serviced once in the 7 days I stayed there. The TV in my room was an old tube style made in the early 1990’s. The hot tub jets did not function and could not get above 80 degrees and the staff indicated there would be no repairs. The facility felt as though it was set up to extract as much money from you while providing the bare minimum in return. It works if you literally just want a bed and nothing else.

    There is a geat cafe by the lobby that has a good variety of Asian and American food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay to park is not an issue that I had thought would apply but it did. The hotel and parking people made it seem completely out of their hands and yet normal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Monarch hotel were extremely helpful! Mum & I had such a great time & when it’s your first trip to Hawaii- the hotel staff were so accommodating! Whilst it’s not 5star Hotel, what you pay is definitely value for money. Waikiki beach isn’t as close as I would have liked but central to most attractions with ample stores nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms could be a bit "newer", it doesn't take so much to repaint a wall or clean decently the moquette - however, as said, for the price this is really acceptable and not an issue. There is no breakfast offered (though they give some coffee and tea) and the one downstairs is exquisite - but expensive!

    Lots of good reviews and yes, considering the average prices in Hawaii, this place is really ok to stay if you're more into the exploring mood. From here you can easily move around and reach most places as Waikiki or the center by walking or bus. Staff seems always busy with smth else and on the run, but all in all they were available and friendly. It's Hawaii guys... enjoy the Aloha spirit when visiting, and relax!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that my reservation got cancelled and no one called or let us know. The atmosphere seemed gloomy and sad. No one greets you until you start asking questions.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room and furnitures looks very old. In the description was information that there is hair dryer in the room but there was not. There was one person on the reception who knows nothing about facilities for turist in the nighberhood. There is not Internet in the room:(

    The view from the window was fantastic:) The room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was good the only thing was the air conditioner was to small for the room so it really struggled to keep room cool.

    the gentleman with the ponytail who checked us in was excellent there was an issue with the booking from booking.com not going through correctly even though he was about to go home he sorted everything out and all was good Nykky on the front desk was friendly and also extremely helpful. Hotel is a good location easy to get round. There is bar in the basement mainly used by local which Is really good and cheap.Restaurant close by prices very reasonably. Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Parking was terrible that the discounted price of $25 a day is the best? Most hotels have free parking so this threw us for a loop.

    The location was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel could use some renovations. Much of the items in the room are quite worn looking (carpeting, dresser, closet, bathroom shower and sink) However, this did not affect my comfort in staying in the room.

    The location was very convenient. The bed was comfortable and the room was adequate for my needs. The view from my room was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no wi-fi or internet connectivity in the room.

    Rooms were kept very clean. Front desk receptionists were very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to eating places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unclean; the bath tub was moldy and the "safe" in the room was missing the lock and was missing the entire bottom panel. There was no wifi in the room and the curtains and lamp shades were stained. The mini fridge was moldy and stunk terribly so we were unable to store the food we purchased in it. One of the employees of the hotel gave instructions to a couple on where to buy drugs right in front of us. Also the hot tub water was oily and green.

    The location and price were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    disadvantages: 1. Small room. I am guessing about 250 square feet. This is enough for one or two people but not enough for a family of 4. 2. Key card stopped working 2 times in a 5 day stay. The front desk was helpful in reprogramming the key to work.

    I travel on business, usually with short notice. I booked this as the least expensive hotel within walking distance of a meeting I was scheduled to attend in Waikiki. I had low expectations but was very pleased with this room. It is clean, well maintained and the hotel has internet services, There is a laundry room on the fifth floor. It has everything I needed or wanted for a 5 day business stay. I would stay here again if I was in Waikiki.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    While trying to leave at 5am in the morning with everything taken care of and just returning the key, the office person with a very bad attitude wanted me to wait while he almost went in slow motion chewing gum and saying that there was some problem with my ID. I told him the girl that booked us in was okay and left to catch our bus. Everyone else was great.

    The air conditioning was great. The views out the window. It was a great location and handy to everything. Convenience store on site and also we were able to hire a car right on the property which was extremely economical. Good Swimming pool for 32 degree heat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cockroaches in the room. 7 of them killed in the few hours spent awake in the room. After asking for explanation one reception employer said he couldn't help cause they were fully booked. Not even a discount it's unbelievable. The next day another employer moved us to a slightly better room. I mean..same dirty old but bigger and no bugs. Also..no wifi but an extra mandatory 10 dollars per day for gym?? What a scam.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, false advertising drinks in the rooms , no parking at all , the person that was there at the desk was very disrespectful and very rud, when we try to cancel the rude person still charge me for one night even that we could not live in the discusting room , all it false advertising their room is not like picture it's false what they show on line , and also bad area 3 cops showed up when we were trying to cancel overall very bad

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible staff security personnel are on some kind of power trip. Witnessed front desk clerk stop paramedics from going in elevators until security was available to escort them up. Junkies and prostitutes everywhere

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No wifi for rooms. Quite old building with untidy bathroom. No wifi available in rooms,which is nowadays a must to have. Only a common area in the ground floor has wifi available, but its next to a pub which makes loud music in the night.

    Room and facilities were fair, however, it doesnt worth at all for the rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At $25 per day, the parking garage in the same building as the hotel was quite expensive.

    We extended our stay twice, and the members of the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating in ensuring that we did not have to change rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra facilities charges of 190$ surprise And pay 25$ a day for parking Shower no good...

    No tea(black) Asked the employee and he gave me his personal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is $26 a night, cash only. I was prepared to have to pay something as no place in Waikiki offers free parking, even if you're paying to stay there. There is, however, no listing of parking price online anywhere so the $26 was kind of a surprise. It would be helpful to list this somewhere on the website. An hour after checkout, we discovered my son left his tablet in the room. The person at the front desk and the housekeeping supervisor told me nothing was found in the room and that it's probably lost somewhere else. It took some demanding but I was finally allowed to go to the room to check for myself. I found the tablet behind the television.

    The Hawaiian Monarch Hotel was clean and centrally located. It's not a fancy place but was enough for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a dive!

    Good location and the car rental venders in tbe lobby (Kalani and Vincent) with info on what to see and the best way to see it. The Cream Pot restaurant is also Great. BUT THE HOTEL IS A POOLY KEPT WRECK! IT REMINDED ME OF AN OLD UNDERGRAD DORMITORY. I look forward to another visit to the restaurant and will look up Kalani and Vincent, but will NEVER stay at the Hawaiian Monarch again...won't recommend it either!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin...very worn out furniture., Drapes looked like something peed on them, stained lamp shades, the tub seen better days, the shower had so much black stuff growing on it, had to go to lower lobby for ice,, and the list goes on. We checked out the day. If it wasn't so late we would have never checked in.

    Absolutely nothing!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in and male worker wasn't friendly and had an attitude.

    Only stayed one night and checked out very next day but checking out the lady was so nice and was sorry for poor customer service her name was Christina!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was very old, stained and faded and the porcelain in the tub was peeling but other than that, it was fine for the money. Just needs more TLC.

    The bed was amazing, if you like bouncy beds, which I do. The view of the canal and mountain was amazing, could open the window a little so I could smell and feel the morning air. Close to shops and food so that was good. I paid (mandatory) for the use of business center, pool and gym, but I didn't use any of them and I think they should charge you for that and give you a special key card for those areas to use them, and if you don't want to use them, you don't have to pay for it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I forgot my phone and haven't been able to get hold of the manager to have it sent to me.

    Was there for hospital tests and didn't eat at hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Despite being on the 14th floor, street traffic noise was disturbing. Bathroom tub was patched up.

    Good size room with mini fridge, microwave and comp coffee and tea maker.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty and spot towels, dirty curtains, black particule on the bed. No wifi in the room and no water in the morning at our wake up to departure. Recommend to remove this hotel on your website

    .nothing but the price is low.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the pool deck, the non fllat screen TV... no wifi in the rooms...& no microwaves in the room either.

    The location & view was unique

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 25 USD per day. We used street parking. Overall, the rooms were clean and we were always provided with fresh towels. However, there were a few cockroaches in and around the dresser. The elevators were under maintenance and that was an inconvenience. There were extra fees for things that we thought were included in the booking price. We were charged with a 10 USD location tax for each day of our stay. The safety deposit box and fitness room had extra usage fees as well.

    The housekeeping staff was very kind and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very unfriendly, unwelcoming, the place was dirty and filthy, rooms were nasty and smells horrible. The bathtub don't drain while taking a shower made it like a lake in the bathtub, carpet looked gross dirty.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no in room Wi-Fi. Only in the laundry room was there Wi-Fi. Also housekeeping never came. We had to use the same towels for a while and our room was never cleaned during our stay.

    Loved the front desk staff. Also the view was amazing. Pool deck is huge, loved it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't think the carpet has ever been cleaned The walls are filthy, they could use a coat of paint. Booking.Com website states this hotel has smoking rooms, they do not. No WiFi Thankfully we were only there for one night. Would never stay again...

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms r felty, electrical equipments r rusty (microwave needs to replace, surroundings are dirty, carpets needs to be replace too. Very poor service.

    Location only

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable the carpet was faded i saw roaches the first night there it was just not a good experience for our first time there the room was extremely small

    That it was walking distance to stores and some restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    WiFi is available only in the lobby and not in the room. Room smelled terribly upon arrival. Mixed experience with staff. I don't think my room has been vacuumed once during my stay, one pillow had make-up on it and the towels weren't really clean either. Bathroom floor was sticky. Super-cheap TV. Pool area has the charm of a parking lot.

    Close to conference centre, relatively close to the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk service was rude. Elevator in bad shape. Room in bad shape (carpet terrible ). Parking terrible. Parking attendant mean. $45 dollar late checkout fine because I lost my key and $5 fine for lost key.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad experience, rooms were old, carpet disgusting, bed not comfy at all, shower was old and ruined, safelock was actually not safe as there was no lock, there was this constant bad smell all over the place. One day the fire alarm went on at 5am for testing, couple of times the cleaning lady woke me up at 8am to clean the room, I had to pay extra 70 more dollars for the amenities fee, the guy who checked me in was rude and I felt like he was doing me a favor while he was doing his job. You also have to pay extra little fee to use the gym. Wifi not available in the rooms...the price is really not worth the experience and the stay!

    Pool isn't that bad, great location, just 5-10 minutes walking from Waikiki Beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Person working the parking booth was very rude. He spoke too fast when I asked him a question and when I asked for him to repeat he would give me major attitude.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mr AsIA wasn't very helpful and made us feel like pains n the arses

    The nice man at desk who lived across road. Lady was amazing to. Mr Asia not so great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See last answer. I would add that they did have a microwave and refrigerator in the room

    Limited am entities as far as ice, room service excetra. Apparently they turn the water off for plumbing work every second Tuesday at 9 o'clock that was terribly inconvenient as I was leaving that day. I was bumped off my flight, and understandably had to pay for the first night that I missed comma they could have offered some type of compensation or compromise

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy it wasn't pleasing at all old furnitures carpet very very dirty black stains on carpet look like mold closet to hang clothes very poor didn't even want to eat in room that's how bad complained to hotel but nothing done no compensation offered

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy old rooms, dingy old hallways with ugly dirty carpets. NO WIFI ON THE ROOMS!!!! Ridiculous lack!!!. If I HAD KNOWN ABOUT NO WIFI, I NEVER WOULD HAVE BOOKED THERE.!!!!!!!!

    The burger shack on the ground flior had pretty decent food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property was very old and outdated. In need of update. This was the first hotel I ever stayed at in Hawaii that charged a fee for amenities

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony we had to move in the middle of the night. My friend suffered an anxiety attack. The hotel should be listed as NO BALCONY front desk staff were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room- Two Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee. It's not mentioned in booking.com fee of $25/ day cash only as u park. Parking fee is not part of hotel. Be prepared to bring enough cash to pay for your stays.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hawaiian Monarch Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: