Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herbert Hotel 2 stars

161 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#94 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1621 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some facilities are missing in my opinion: a small drawer in the room and some more hook in the bathroom would be really convenient. Kind of expensive for European standards, but among the average for SF. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back or bring earplugs - the rooms on the streets tend to be quite noisy during the night.

    The room was clean, big and cosy, with a very comfortable bed. Staff was very helpful. It is located close to Union Square, with many shops and restaurants around and it is well connected by public transport (even though the area is a bit packed with homeless people). They have a discount for breakfast in a closeby Café - pancakes, waffles and croissants were excellent. Would go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest disappointment is the number of homeless people around the city and near the hotel Someone should look after these people

    Location Shopping Restaurant Transport close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking prices in the area. They charge $50 for a late check out for ONE HOUR - no thanks. Stained towels.

    Location is fantastic even though it gets a bit weird after dark (interesting people on the streets). It's a simple facility and we had a shared bathroom, which worked out just fine. Not many options for parking, but there is a structure right up across the street. It would be ideal of they offered special rates for hotel patrons (food for thought). I really liked the little lobby area. I would stay there again if the price is right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were very thin, so a crying newborn and conversations in the next room and over the corridor were well heard. I was glad to be travelling with both earphones and earplugs, to get proper sleep, and to do some office work and reading after a long day out!

    Very good, central location, better for vacation-related trips, but ok for basic business travelling. Clean and nice rooms. Friendly staff, who helped with all questions and small requests, thank you! Breakfast is not served, but the closest place to have a good cup of coffee and croissants were literally next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like a hostel not a hotel Pictures on booking.com are from a sister hotel, not this hotel Baggage can’t be looked after at this hotel, you need to walk it round the corner to sister hotel Rooms are key access, not secure swipe card Rooms beyond basic, lumpy bed Reception staff just don’t care, robotic answers and shrug shoulders, manager can never be found (always at sister site)! Security - housekeeping left my window wide open all day

    Location - easily accessible by BART and lots of dining and shopping options on your doorstep Onsite self serve laundry and dryer, $3 each per load Fridge and kettle on room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room walls were very thin and could hear people next door conversation as well as everyone outside on the street and I was on the 7th floor

    The location of the hotel was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing spectacular about the hotel. While this is perfect for a business trip this is not where I would choose to stay if it was a romantic get-a-way. Everything is basic.

    The staff is friendly. The location is central to many stores and the cable car stops right in front of the hotel. This is an old hotel that has preserved its character. If you are European then this hotel is much like what you are used to already

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic a bit like a prison cell. Staff on arrival very rude tried to fob us off saying we didn't have a room booked. If we had realised the quality of the place we should of just got refunded and booked somewhere else.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No AC in the room which made it a little warm. Also the rooms have no noise barriers. You can hear the people next door and outside all through the day or night.

    I like the proximity to all the union square attractions and places to eat. It was super close to the Powell Street station as well which was a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the Main Street so you could hear a lot of noice specially in the morning which kept waking me up from 8 am.

    The location is 1 block from union square many shops and restaurants around you have a 24hr grocery store next door which is very convenient and the cable car also in front of the hotel. Also the room had a mini fridge which was very helpful, and hotels deco is nice, renovated and looks clean over all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, noisy and caves into the middle. Tv in our room was below standard with only a few channels, no Netflix or pay movies.

    It is a cute and quaint boutique hotel, making check in and out and using the lifts a breeze. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The convenience! Cable car stops just outside hotel. V central location. Rooms are big and the beds are clean and v comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More functional electrical outlets in the room, and a dresser would be nice.

    The room it’s self was OK, but bizzarely, no dresser, and not enough outlets to plug everything in. They really need a little extension strip with multiple outlets so that you could charge your phone and use the bedside light all at the same time. All in all, great location, nice little hotel, great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In order to turn on the hot water sufficiently, the water strength became very great which made the floor very wet. There are no shower caps or tissues provided too.

    The staff were friendly and allowed me to use the shower facilities even though I have checked out for my night flight. I was also provided with a breakfast voucher.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The worst was the noise isolation. I felt like there were no windows at all (even though they were shut). So I ended up being awoken a couple of nights by people (tourists or homeless ?) screaming or by the trucks collecting trash early in the morning, and the street is quite loud in the evening (lots of tourists). Another thing, but that's quite minor : there was not enough water pressure in the shower/bath.

    The room was really great. It was spacious and very pretty (loved the brick wall). I thought it was well located, near shops and food and the cable cars, I was able to walk around and get to the pier, it was nice. The WiFi stopped working for a day, and the people at the reception were very nice and gave me a 10% discount for that night. Never heard people from other rooms, so I guess walls are thick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bathroom or toiletin the room. The heater turned on suddenly and IT was insanely hot in the room. We woke up at 5 in the morning by the neigthbour visiting the toilet. It sounded like he was in our room

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic things only. Bed, bathroom. No extra amenities as in nothing. This is just like a backpackers room. Very expensive for nearly $200 per night. Not worth it.

    Location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was just so disappointed because for me it is not really a hotel it is more of a hostel because you have to leave the room to go use a bathroom / take a shower. It's not really bothering for men but for a women. Yes it kinda sucks.

    Affordable, Decent place to stay that is close to almost everything, Shops, Food, and Transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage space. A chair in the room would have been nice. Also the lighting was dim in the evening a stronger bulb in the main light would be a good addition.

    The room was clean and bright with a big window. The beds were comfortable. The communal shower and bathroom were clean and the facilities good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One day I didn't get a towel, another day there was a loud party downstairs. It was very, very, very basic and the bathroom was a little bit grotty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you turn one direction from the property the streets are full of homeless people, which can be quite daunting

    Near some good restaurants and close to the Pier and fisherman’s wharf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a little more tea and coffee facilities - proper mugs or cups (not cardboard) and also milk and biscuits

    Location was excellent. Basic room but with all necessary facilities Laundry facilities available Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are very dated, fridge making strange noise all night, beds super small, staff ice cold without giving you minimum information...??? photos does not show real situation in these hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately pictures vs reality were very different from advertised. Our room was extremely noisy, smoke from street-side smokers wofted into our room and the shower didn’t work. Unfortunately there was also a cockroach in the bathroom. As much as we tried to make it work it wasn’t a pleasant experience

    Centrally located and the front of house staff member was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for what you get. I understand that San Francisco is expensive but still. I would not go back at the price.£359 is what I paid for 2 nights.

    Comfy hotel right in the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning rags left in the shower. Rubbish not picked up.

    Proximity to Walgreens next door and BART, Market St transport and Powell Street. Easy check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos of hotel rooms does not correspond to real hotel rooms. Hotel amenities were not well located in the room

    The location was perfect. Hotel Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complementary bottled water. Ceiling fan but No air conditioning however it was cool weather so fine for a winter or spring stay. Might be too hot during warmer weather.

    Very good value for location to Moscone center, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bad smell around Hotel except the lobby ... too much noise from the street . The building is little bit tilted you can feel it in the room .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are two or three homeless people who camp out in front of the hotel every day. You will get approached by these people almost every single time you come and go from the hotel. The bathrooms have the massive bottles of body wash and shampoo. You feel like you're in a HS gym as opposed to a hotel in SF.

    Very close to Moscone Center, where I needed to be. Starbucks and a very modern Walgreens within feet of the hotel. That added a lot of value for grabbing things for the room and getting coffee/food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was pretty pricey for what it was - loose top sheet instead of fitted sheet, no outlets near bedside (lamps wouldn't work because they were unplugged), loose sheets around comforter, etc. It was clean though and fairly quiet given the loud area!

    Staff was great and the place was clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great little hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Cable car directly outside the front door of the hotel on the Powell-Herbert / Powell/Market line. We stayed in a deluxe queen, which is very spacious in a loft-style setting. There is a walgreens next door for anything you may need. If you're up for a walk, it take about 20 min from the front door to get to the Port Authority building/start of the wharf area through the financial district. Great Staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there's no hair dryer in the room. the sink is strangely located outside of the bathroom. the shower is also quite difficult to operate.

    the location is superb! the room is basic but clean and the bed is comfortable. reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no double beds only twins. The bathroom is in the hall as Well as the toilets which were not always very clean. However, worth your value to Stay here in sf cause othere hotels are much more expensive

    Location is absolutely perfect. Next to Bart station which is super convenient when you arrive at the AirPort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was overheated so we needed to open windows and the fabulous position did mean there was street noise so ask for a room at back. Limited places for storage in room. Needs more than a few thin shelves. Nowhere to put toiletries in bathroom. Nowhere to store luggage if you arrive before room is ready so had to store at another hotel close by.

    Fabulous position right in centre of shopping and restaurant area. Cable cars go straight past door. Clean and freshly painted rooms. Renovated bathroom. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless in the city.

    Our room view was on the cable line. I loved the original beam structure and brick wall. The room was antique eclectic and modern. Very appealing to the eye. Clean, simple, and warm. Loved it!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has no amenities (ex: business center, vending machine, ice machines, clock in the room, etc). We weren’t aware at the time of booking that this entire hotel doesn’t have AC. The rooms were scorching and the hotel couldn’t accommodate even a box fan. The window had no screen and backed against another building - safety at night was a concern because someone could EASILY come in through the window while you were trying to get some night time cool air to flow in. The bed was incredibly squeaky and since the rooms are minimalistic, it echod.

    Clean, decent location, full sized shampoo and conditioner provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi does not work sometimes. There is no coffee maker in the room.

    Flooring in the room(no carpet) Be able to drink tap water (not like LA water!!!) Bath towel was soft

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - Cannot get better than this! Tram station right outside your door, 24HR Walgreens next door, shopping is right across the road (H&M), two doors down (UNIQLO) or down the street (Westfield, Bloomingdales, Nordstrom etc.) Everything shopping related is no more than a 5 minute walk! Check in - Fast and easy, the receptionists are friendly and courteous. They even allowed an early check in! Room - Adequate for the price, lighting could be better but having the bed lamps pointing upwards together with the room light improved the lighting significantly. Bathroom is clean, water pressure is good and the bathroom has a vent for when toilet trips are longer. Wi-fi - Fast and accessible. Safety and transport to airport (MOST IMPORTANT): Very safe area, shuttle service offered at a small fee, baggage can also be held, though off-site (no more than 2 minutes).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most everything.

    We were extremely disappointed once we walked through the doors of this hotel. It was old and not kept up whatsoever. The room was laughable. The bare minimum, if even that. Had to ask for a comforter because the bed was made with one sheet and a blanket not much thicker than the sheet. Also, no screen on window. Thank God I don’t sit on window sills because I would HAVE FALLEN FROM SEVEN FLOORS AND DIED! Not to mention if people brought their children. Kind of a major deal to have a window open all the way with no safety features to ensure no one falls out window! Floors in room are uneven with huge rises and falls (they obviously didn’t put the wood fooorung in correctly) and in the bathroom, there’s this significant step that my husband and I kept tripping on. Major safety issue. Phone didn’t work in room, so had to call for towels and blankets from cellphone. Only one person on duty who couldn’t leave the front desk to bring us anything so this hotel, although excellent location, will not be a place we stay again. Just pay an extra $50-$75 and get a much nicer place to stay. It’s kind of a half-step up from a hostel, which if I’d known I would have run. Usually stay at nice hotels but because it was one night, I rolled the dice- and lost. We just couldn’t get over how bad this place was but it was clean, I’ll give them that, abd can’t best location. Staff were just okay. None of them will win an award for their personality. My husband said it felt like a haunted hotel because they have tons of black and white old photos of men with huge mustaches and other creepy people in the pics. Hideous decor in hallways, although I like the idea of a minimalist room but those two styles did not mesh whatsoever. They took minimalist a bit too far bc there was literally NOTHING in the room but a bed and sink not even in the bathroom (wth?) But, if you get a decent price and you don’t care about comfort, style, safety, and just need a bed then this is your place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room/heater was making a lot of noise in the morning. Room was always too hot and had to open the windows.

    Bed was super comfortable, location is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I asked for a room not toward the street but got one anyway. There was some traffic noise but sound proofing was not so bad from the double windows. Some noise from neighboring rooms.

    The location is right, between Union Square, Market Street shopping and the BART station (best way to reach the airport). Not far from the convention center. No meals are offered at the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the room above bothered me. I guess it is due to old structure.

    The location is great as it is 5 minutes walk from the Powell St. metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't have a functioning shower so had to have a bath everyday which became tiresome when in a rush. And had to lean under tap to wash hair.

    Check in/out was nice and easy. Bed was large and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Sound insulation of room is very poor. 2. The metal stand for Shampoo under the shower is sharp and dangerous. It hurted my forearm when I washed my hair. 3. The facilities in room are simple and crude.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately NBC, although listed on the check-in sheet as one of the television stations accessible in the room, was not. We even called the front desk staff and nobody was able to help. This was a big letdown on the weekend the Olympics kicked off - and really unacceptable that either the hotel does not carry a full station line-up (what hotel doesn't these days?) or have a staff that was willing to fix the problem (if in fact the channel is carried in the hotel)

    bathroom was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most overpriced place I've ever stayed. Also, was told had a 10% discount for breakfast in their sister hotel's cafe around the corner; went there and discount was only for the restaurant.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast for the cost charge, late checkout until 12 , if you want later checkout Until 3pm is halfday rate and after is fullday rate, and the bag room is in another hotel Around the block.

    Perfectly Centric and very clean,coffee maker, tv, nice window view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay there. Staying at the front of the hotel and didn't sleep for the 2 nights which had us not enjoying our trip. Homeless people fighting and shouting all night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No thermostat/cooling in room. Just a steam radiator and ceiling fan. However, since it was January in SF, and the room was so well insulated, I didn't need the radiator and was quite comfortable with the fan.

    The room was very large, with high ceilings and very clean. All in all, much better than expected for the cost and time of year in Union Square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room: we were given initially by front desk to room 201. It didn’t have a telephone, WiFi didn’t work, and shower didn’t work. As I like rooms facing the Main Street, this room could be very noisy. But it’s a good thing that the front staff gladly changed my room to 501, which is much better! Could improve with indoor lighting: it’s a bit dim, the dresser didn’t have lighting as well. 2. Location: even though you’re walking distance away from touristy areas, be careful walking around at night: too many vagrants! 3. Room keys: could use a hotel card! We were given only one room key.

    1. Location: right smack in the middle of town. You can check out the cable car rides at the end of Powell street. Walk around to see the shops, restaurants, architecture. 2. Front desk: friendly and accommodating. 3. Room: clean room, comfortable bed, clean towels, built in soap/shampoo/conditioner. Bathtub too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's in middle of the central city so outside is very noisy.

    Excellent location. Stylish interior, good value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little light in the room and the fan didn't do anything. More of an ornament than a working fan. The road noise was very loud. A lot of homeless hanging around outside.

    Easy to get around. Such a central location. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noises through the ceiling from room above us. Very loud (can wake you up) walking / stepping sound. Not enough water pressure. The lighting in the room was not bright enough.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Here are some things that may bothers other people but I didn’t mind. The rooms are very sparse. There is a bed, plastic chair, refrigerator, safe, and TV. Our queen deluxe had a private bath. There is no a.c. but our room had a fan and with the window open it was very comfortable. That in turn does lead to more street noise and this hotels location is in a very busy part of town. You will hear the trolly until midnight along with street performers and general noise. Earplugs solve most of these issues.

    Location is perfect and easy to get to from BART ( only about a block). In the heart of union square there is quick access to all the shopping and restaurants that you could want. The hotel is only a few blocks from Chinatown as well. Staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is very quiet on the inside. In a couple of days we ran into maybe two or three other guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably bed was a bit too small, but it was definitely comfortable.

    Incredibile value for money. Hotel is just a few steps away from Union square. Room was big and clean, bed was comfortable although maybe a bit too small. Would absolutely recommend if you’re visiting San Francisco, this hotel is just perfect: it’s central, it’s affordable, it’s got everything you need!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had a heater but it was only turned on twice a day at specific times so even though it was cold at night, I couldn't use the heater. Although room felt clean, when your feet are wet, it felt like there was a layer of detergent/cleaner on the floor.

    Large room, comfortable bed. Excellent location just steps from Powell St BART and the Trolley starting point on Powell street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room heated up quite fast during the day which is especially of interest if one travels in Summer (no AC available, I stayed there in December). Opening the outer window was a bit inconvenient since the handle lines up precisely with the window sill. Once opened, it would not stay open until one managed to get it stuck (it is quite heavy). As a suggestion for the hotel: A small dresser or reck in the room (does not have to be huge, that would not fit the room's style) would make the stay more convenient.

    I booked a Deluxe Queen room, it was on the 5th floor. The room was spacious and although it faced Powell Street, it was still quiet enough due to the double windows. The bed was very comfy, although a bit soft. The bathroom was en-suite and not shared with another room. The water pressure was high enough, I did not face the problems others described regarding the shower. Wifi was fast enough and reliable. The location was awesome, right in the city close to Union Square and public transport but still some blocks away from the sketchy areas. Restaurants, shopping and a grocery store were next door. The staff was very nice and helpful, and overall the room was clean. The front desk was open all day and night and it made me feel safe that the front door could just be opened by a key or the front desk staff during the evening and night hours. All in all I liked the hotel and the theme, it was definitively a very pleasant stay. I can recommend it :) :) :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, there's really not much I didn't like.

    The location is excellent. No bar or restaurant, but they are all around you. The room was clean and functional. Has the basics, but not dingy. They did their best to keep it modern. It was perfect for my one-night stay for business in SF. It's noisy but if you carry earplugs like I do everywhere, it's not an issue wherever your room is located. I did stay in a room with en suite bathroom, so I can't comment on what it's like to be a room and share a bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in this hotel/city! Did not anticipate extra $150+ in parking fees to stay here. Needs to be noted upfront. Little 12 inch ceiling fan is useless.

    Good daily room cleaning. Strong water pressure in shower. Instant hot water. Huge bottles of shampoo, body wash, and conditioner!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure in the showers could've been better. But that's just me being picky. It was doable.

    The location was very good! We've stayed in some pretty bad places in SF before, but this hotel was perfect from when it's just me and my husband traveling with no kids. We don't need much. Just a bed and a private bath. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the room was broken so I couldn’t turn it off and was extremely hot at night.

    Central location, simple and clean. Amazing history and full of charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Room was great and beds where super comfy. Location was amazing! everything close by and easy to get around.a lot choices for food around also. Staff was polite and awesome. If I'll be back I'll make sure to choose this place again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As far as I could figure, the only way to get any wi-fi is to go to the lounge on the 2nd floor. On the 7th floor I couldn't even sniff the network. Lounge is very crowded during the times it is open with other wi-fi deprived users. To their credit, they gave me a 10% discount upon checking in when they disclosed I couldn't get wi-fi. But I wouldn't have booked with them in the first place if I had known the situation and they should disclose on booking.com that wi-fi doesn't reach many of the rooms. If wi-fi is important to you and you expect it at $100+ a night then stay away.

    Nice big room, helpful staff, great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was spotty and only worked about half the nights I was there. They definitely need to get that checked.

    Great room and location. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Ian quite outdated and some photos are a little deviant. The bigger rooms are facing the Main Street so it can get pretty noisy.

    Great location, easy access and nice shopping area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Herbert Hotel is right in the centre of San Francisco Union Square. It is close to restaurants, public transport, theatres and SHOPS! The windows are double-glazed, which means NO NOISE! Although the building is old, my room had been recently renovated and it was fabulous. It is clean and comfortable. I fully recommend the Herbert Hotel. Oh! and the staff are fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, Location, Location. 2 blocks from BART and Powell St cable car. Clean: Laminate floors Historic charm: Basic accommodations in the heart of downtown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a little thin. It's not difficult to hear your neighbours.

    Great, friendly staff and a fantastic location. Easy to get to Powell Street station and SFO.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have any issues with the property or staff

    Perfect city centre location when you just need a bed and a shower which is all we required as we ate out and were there for sightseeing and shopping. Can happily recommend for similar purposes. Staff were really friendly as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chair in the room was an old hard wooden desk chair so nowhere comfy to sit except the bed. There was no hand towel or face washer.

    The room was quite big and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower doesn't work properly and dirty in the drain of bath tub. Moreover, there are lots of hairs block the drain of sink but staff came to fix it immidietly

    Nice and city center location. Staffs are polite and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisier outside then I expected, however, it is right in the middle of the city so I should not have expected complete silence. The floor was cold and a couple of rugs might have been nice but also a nightmare to clean so I get that there weren't any.

    The bed was comfy, the room spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean and functional. It is a great location handy to everything. I would definitely stay there again if I am ever back in San Fransisco.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of homeless around there but it is a general situation in the area, I have heard Tenderloin is worse but I didn’t go there so I can’t tell. The room is really hot and the fan is not enough so you have to leave the window open all night. The street outside is noisy at night so it can be un uncomfortable for some people.

    It was really clean and convenient for a woman traaveling alone. Market street is only two blocks from there. The hotel is a boutique hotel, really nice and the staff is polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon opening door to enter room, strong chemical odor permeated area. There was no air conditioning and window opened to narrow alley, so there would be no airing out. Room was very hot.

    I liked that the woman working reception desk was so immediately accommodating when we checked in, and returned immediately to desk, to check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Herbert Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: