Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of LIFE Hotel, NoMad 4 stars

19 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001, USA

#249 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1321 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Disapointing stay, bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room extremely small and somewhat dirty. Very humid, mirror in the room full of fungus spots. Our room had window to the wall, depressing. Stayed in a different, cheaper, hotel in Manhattan days before this one, and it was better in every way. Honestly, at least for the room we got, it was not satisfactory in every way.

    Good location, near the Empire State Building. Bathroom was good quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean, so comfortable and quiet in rooms. Lively restaurant and bar in reception area. Friendly staff. Great, great location! Small rooms, but simply stylish with everything you would expect. The complimentary bottled water on arrival was most welcome after 30 hours of travelling... as was the hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t very helpful. Reception staff in particular were rude to us. $25 a day city hotel fee supposedly includes water but they only gave us 2 bottles when we arrived and said we were supposed to refill them, which they didn’t tell us until the next day. The refill station was also 2 floors below us so apparently it’s ok to expect your guests to wander around the hotel in their sleepwear in the middle of the night. This just smacks of profiteering to me. We also weren’t given our welcome drink that the fee supposedly entitles you to when you read their website. It’s a shame as the location is great but we won’t be returning to this property again.

    The room was comfortable. Bed very comfortable. And the location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great weekend with the Kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was not terrible, but this is NY, so you basically just grab a cab or hop on the subway. Elevators were functional.

    The staff was very attentive and the property was extremely well maintained. The room was very clean, but the beds were the best that I had ever slept on. I did not eat at their restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall everything was very good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    AC, very noisy—old school, very poor breakfast.

    Overall everything was very good; Location and room—advice, get the room with the sofa, it's bit bigger than the average single.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    I stayed at the Premium King Room and so there was more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been perfect had there been continental breakfast.

    I stayed at the Premium King Room and so there was more space. The price was super reasonable during fashion week! Beds were super comfy and rooms were had a cool design. Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay in the heart of Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are a little thin, you can clearly hear your neighbors and their TV. The A/C units are quite loud as well, and they smell a bit of mold. No power outlets on one side of the bed.

    Loved the look of the room. Very chic and modern. Clean as well. The location was fantastic. Staff was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Awful experience and we are still over £2400 out of pocket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to check out after 1 night of 6 due to the air con being so loud we couldn’t sleep, it couldn’t be fixed and they had no other rooms to move us to. Also all the lights in the room bar 1 didn’t work and there were no windows in the room! Then to top off it all off we were charged 3 times for the 6 nights and only 1 of the payments have went back into our account. Shambolic!!

    Bed was large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Okay for a short stay but quite basic for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view, room not as bright and spacious as the photos. 'Hidden' city taxes on top of the booking price! Read carefully...

    Location, cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Maybe life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow and airless elevator. One coffee machine on whole building. Clear water stations on three floors of 10 story hotel. Not much room for your belongings.

    Clean. Everything is clean and new. The lobby is stylish. Quality of location depends on your needs - if you have a business nearby its great, but if you are a tourist maybe you need to search for more calm place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stylish hotel in Midtown NYC. Lot of history being the former LIFE Magazine editorial offices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Don't know if its an isolated case but the AC on my room was terribly loud. Had to turn it off every now and again.

    Location was central to everything in and around Midtown Manhattan. The room was decent in size, lots of natural light when your window is on the same side as the hotel entrance. Bed were super comfortable. Large 65' smart TVs for when you just want to watch something til you fall asleep. Excellent restaurant and Speakeasy bar downstairs. Couple of blocks from 34th St Herald Sq subway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Quietness among other things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe a note of instructions as regards the bath will help. At first, I could not figure out how to run hot water, and asked them to call somebody familiar with it. It took the person some time to find out the way to do it, for, according to him, only two rooms in this hotel have the same type of facilities. Otherwise, it was perfect.

    Quietness among other things. Unlike many other hotels facing "Avenues" (like the ones I stayed before), this hotel is away from and free from sirens, honking and screaming at night. I also liked the friendly atmosphere of the staff members very much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended hotel. Expensive for the quality. And poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super noisy because of a fan outside the window. The window was in front of a wall so no light could enter. When we asked to change room the personnel was not helping. The person who cleaned the room let the door open with our bagage in all day. The room we had should never been sold to anyone. Noisy and nearby the garbage room and cleaning material storage.

    Life hotel is very well located

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lift is particularly slow.

    The decor of the rooms is beautiful. The building is elegant and the bar in the lobby is an enjoyable place to hang out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only have one elevator working but the good thing is we’re only in 4th floor.

    I like everything about it. There’s this homie feeling when I entered the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is very nice overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really dusty. Air conditioning incredibly loud, impossible to sleep with it on. They lost my laundry although they were very helpful in retrieving it. I asked for a pair of slippers twice and I was told they would have sent them to my room. They never arrived and I needed to call for the third time to be told they didn't have any left. It would have been useful to know it immediately!

    The hotel is very nice overall. Rooms are beautifully decorated. The staff was really nice and to let me check out later (1 and half hour).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Sophisticated and stylish hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small (but that would be normal in New Tork City hotels; elevator a little slow. But these were minor things for a highly pleasant stay in this hotel

    The location is great right in the heart of Manhattan; very close to Empire State Building, New York Public Library and subway stop on 34th street . The room was spacious and clean; no carpet (we loved that) with a lot of shelves and nooks to place our belongings. A plus: the original building dates back to the end of the 19th century. The coffe, pastries, fruit and juices available in the morning for breakfast are a bonus. Nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Life Hotel gave me Life!!
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that the entrance of the hotel had stairs. We had to carry heavy suitcases up the stairs to get in the hotel. We eventually found the Bell Man to help with the luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready at check in and bar wasn’t open either...would’ve been nice to be able to unwind after traveling all day on the train with a drink. Plus I was under the impression that we were supposed to receive welcome cocktails (?)

    Comfy bed and super quiet!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    The decor and the comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only had windows with obscure glass and didn't open. This gave the room a claustrophobic feel. The street outside the front of the hotel could do with a revamp. It's not currently a desirable location.

    The decor and the comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay here. Rooms are disgustingly maintained and unhealthy. Staff are liars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were nasty fumes in the room, which is common in poorly maintained 'sick buildings' in Manhattan. These made me violently ill. Front desk provided an ozone filter so they must know of problem. Also, the floor was entirely unrenovated, with nasty smells from old floor varnish and half concrete. The front desk lied to me and said all rooms are like that. (The pictures are of course not) The bed was way too soft, gave me back pain for several days after.

    too many bad things. see below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.5
    The room was spacious and the bedding was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no bar fridge or Kettle in the room. If you would like a cup of coffee or tea, you had to walk down stairs to get it.

    The room was spacious and the bedding was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Prime location, terrible service.. will find some better place to stay next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The staff is terrible, not helpful at all. Not to mention one woman at reception that can't even speak English, her rude manner is unacceptable. There is one elevator that is always broken, we scare of getting stuck in there every time.

    The location is in prime area of Herald Square. 1min walk to 34th street MTA stop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A comfortable, relaxing and friendly hotel right off Fifth Ave. Will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were not air conditioned si they were hot and stuff but that was something easily overlooked.

    A small continental breakfast is available every morning from 7-9 am. The air conditioning, although loud, was awesome in Nee York’s heat and humidity. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the king bed and pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit small in width (queen size) but even in length (and we are 6ft tall) Biggest problem is the noise...and we were at top floor (10th). Noise from the street, from the air conditioning, from the hallway. “After sale service”:we spent 10 days in this hotel spending of course a lot of money by them. I contacted them after our stay as I saw I forgot/ lost my Kindle supposing this might be by them. I called them but got absolutely no feedback. So I emailed them twice without any reaction. I find it unacceptable.

    Really nice design and great location. Room and bathroom very clean !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    An amazing location. Exceptionally friendly staff. Really quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms a little on the small side, nothing major but a tight squeeze round the bed. A bit disappointed with the breakfast choice.

    The location was excellent. The staff couldn’t have been friendlier. Without doubt, the comfiest bed I have ever slept in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Rooms nice. Staff and security are lacking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff are inexperienced and not prepared to help with even basic issues. They also say they will honor requests, and then do not communicate among the staff members and consequently it is not done. This makes for a stressful stay. Also, does not feel like there is any security at the hotel - no doorman or key needed for the elevator, anyone could get up.

    Rooms are redone and light. Works well for one person, but may be a bit crowded if two people were trying to both navigate around the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic breakfast. No great view from the room. The restaurant in the property was not up to the expectation.

    Great Location. Comfy Bed. Clean room even though the size was small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Good in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no windows and smelled unpleasantly.

    The hotel is right in the city center, easy access to the attractions most of the travelers will be interested about.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again. Close to subway, Times Square, lots of great Korean restaurants, Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    24/7 coffee and bagels/muffins to get going. Filtered water available to refill as well. Great location. Fantastic air conditioning and it was hot in NY. Super huge comfy beds, quiet room, huge bathroom. Super fast elevator. No hassle to check bags until check in time. All great. Wish bar would have been more accessible and restaurant was not serving; in transition. Should have been noted on website. Rooms could use a little more décor, but overall a great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in the room is very loud, not good if your a light sleeper. The rooms are a little claustrophobic as there is hardly any natural light (we stayed in a room at the back)

    Location, location, Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Best. Sleep. Ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from room, amenities were relatively basic (no fridge in room, had to borrow wine glasses from the bar downstairs etc.)

    The bed was SO COMFORTABLE. I would stay again just to sleep in the bed. Gorgeous old hotel with a modern twist, location couldn’t be better, amenities were relatively basic but just right for what we needed. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location in a very clean and safe neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The speakeasy basement bar that was advertised on the website was closed due to "a series of unfortunate incidents." Would have been nice to know, and may have affected my booking.

    Great location in a very clean and safe neighborhood. Overall design aesthetic had a vintage vibe without feeling outdated or trite. Room was perfect, air conditioning worked very well and the bed was a total dream. The staff was professional and very nice - even when dealing with (overheard) guest complaints. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    I have chosen this hotel for its location and at this price...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have chosen this hotel for its location and at this price it was by far the best deal. Its an old hotel but nicely updated to compete with the nearby NOMAD and MADE hotels, but its much cheaper than these 2.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The room was amazing with the character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great.

    The room was amazing with the character. It was super clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and homey. This was by far my favorite hotel in NYC. I will definitely stay he again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    The internet is good and the TV was big.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows a very small. The ground is undone (a disaster). I found spiders in my room. My friend got stuck twice in the elevator. The fitness room is very small. The breakfast/pastries were dry and tasteless.

    The internet is good and the TV was big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant place to stay and quite good value for this part of Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The free breakfast on Level 2 was a good idea, but mostly useful for making a free coffee outside breakfast hours. Plenty of breakfast options nearby, so not a major concern. The two elevators are fairly slow, partly because one of them was out of action for much of the time.

    A great location, fairly quiet but within walking distance of most major attractions. The hotel has been tastefully renovated without being over the top. We had room 1005, which was very big and quiet. Overall, a good find in this part of New York and would recommend to those traveling with young kids. Hotel very obliging about storing bags before check in etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    I liked the decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The man who checked me in wasn't informative at all about breakfast or where to get the filtered water wasn't friendly or helpful at all. When I went back down later there was a woman who was super nice and informative though. The breakfast was all sweet pastries and muffins, it should be/have more fruit and bagels. Also it's disappointing there isn't a kettle in the room with coffee and tea to make in the comfort of your room. I think it is rather expensive for the small luxuries you don't get

    I liked the decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and central but certainly overpriced. You shouldn't imagine a luxury stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was literally non-existing: coffee and few muffins and scones on a blind *corridor* on the first floor, without chairs or tables. In rooms (we changed once) there is almost no natural light as the window faces an interior ventilation space and you are not allowed to open it for 'security reasons'. If you do open it (only possible for about 10 cm) there is a constant food smell, presumably from the restaurant at the ground floor. Even with the window closed the smell permeates the room through the air co. The (otherwise polite and friendly) check-in personnel insisted that the entire amount for our stay is paid up front before entering the room. When we refused to do that they only allowed us in after paying for the first day. They were instructed by the management to be *very* persistent about this, so we eventually gave in the third day and paid the full amount. I don't recall seeing anything about this requirement on Booking.

    Very good bed, wooden floors, spacey bathroom. Interesting building. Very centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful deco, bright and large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was really not what you would expect for such a hotel. Crumbs on the table weren’t cleaned for the full week we stayed there. Towels were changed in the bathroom, but bathtub, sink and floor weren’t cleaned. I signalled it at the reception and the lady took note, but there were still hairs on the bathroom floor on the next day. Really a shame. Also, the bagels at the small breakfast buffet were excellent, pastries not so good, but there’s nothing left by 8.00. A refill would be appreciated!

    Beautiful deco, bright and large rooms. Most importantly: very very quiet, which is really a plus in NY! The latino lady at the reception was extremely nice and the location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Have stayed here few times before and this time was somewhat disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window view, shower tepid on second day, mattress mushy and bed creaked. Called several times about cold shower and got put on hold.

    Concierge helped me with bags to get taxi when checked out despite being busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    it was a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lady at the front desk on our last day was impatient and rude. The beding in our room is not comfortable, and ac is SUPER loud. i didnt know the service fee was almost 40 bucks perday, which was a bit pricey, unpleasant surprise when we got the bill at checkout, and the rude lady who speaks broken english didnt help.

    great location, room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    Dark dungeon like room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be careful of the rooms booked on booking.com. they assign you to the worst room in the hotel, facing the back interior air conditioning shaft. On my first night I stayed on the second floor, and literally felt like I was in a windowless dungeon. There was a window, but it faced/was blocked by the airconditioning unit outside. So in addition to the noise, there was no natural light. The room was big, but I requested to move the second night. The second room on the 5th floor was also facing the interior courtyard and had a window (in the bathroom). It was incredibly tiny, to the point where I had a hard time opening up my small carry on suitcase...and I was travelling alone, so i dont know how 2 people could manage. For the 300+$ per night I paid, the room was very poor value. I travel to NYC every other week, and wanted to try a new hotel as it looked quite nice on the website. I have to say, will not stay again. there are other hotels which are much nicer and better value/similarly priced.

    clean and i liked the decor, old NYC iron finishings and the subway tile bathrooms. very cute, but would not stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    It was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking/Hotel advertise a KING Room with Extendable bed for 4 people. In reality the room was too small for 4 people-- ideal for 1 or 2. No fault of the hotel in it ...but this is just for your information. Book a larger room if your party is larger than 2. We noticed couple of Rouches in the Bathroom, but Hey.. this is NYC, what do you expect in old building even with renovations.

    Check-in was nice and easy. Friendly staff. This is not a typical hotel with a GrandLobby if you expect that. It feels like you are walking into a restaurant and a check in counter is at the corner. 2 elevators. Old Building, but rooms are renovated. Bedding and towels were clean. Bedding was too soft (which is nice!).Located in the Koreatown/street with lots of Korean restaurants. DunkinDoghnuts is just a second away with other shops around. Next to Empire State Bld, and about 10 min walk to the Times Square. They provide FREE Tea/Cofee 24/7 on the 2nd floor with morning pastries to start your day. (This is Huge gesture from Downtown Hotels in US)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    I paid an extra 30 USD for the breakfast and it was just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid an extra 30 USD for the breakfast and it was just a vending machine, no bread, no eggs, after 45 min someone brought a plastic plate with some chewy pastries, and you can even not seat anywhere! No tables no chairs...standing in the middle of the hallway...didn't woth the extra money . I had to go take another breakfast in the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable but with a very noisy air conditioner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioner was extremely noisy. A very nice room but with a very old, noisy machine. The temperature was not adjustable. Very disappointing.

    In an overall, the property is fine. The bathroom is good and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    - Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - In 3 person bedroom with one kings size bed and one sofa was only one bedding, sofa has some kind of blanket without comforter - Breakfast was on the hall so we hadn't place to sit anywhere - On the confirmtion was about welcome drinks. It is small thing but hotel crew didn't know about this anything. Finally we've got coupon for drinks in bar which was closed... and hotel crew told us that they can't do anything. - The room hadn't windows to be honest it had but the view was on the air conditioners and wall.

    - Location - Deposit. On day departure and day of arraving we could leave our lagguage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Life Hotel ...Gotta try it !
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zero ...all was great .

    Cool hotel ..great history . Biggest bed I have ever seen in the room we booked for 3 people ( bed plus couch-bed) Great vibe in this hotel..stayed 2 nights ...will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed by this hotel - we were meant to be staying for 4 nights but checked out early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The premier King room we were given was tiny, the wifi never worked and despite asking for help with it, nothing was ever done in the 3 days we were there. There are no drawers for clothes and a very small wardrobe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the heart of Manhatten, with simple, clean rooms, very nice staff and great bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived in New York early and left our bags at the front desk with no problem. We toured the city a bit and came back at about 12 AM...they had a room ready and we were able to check in early. We were very pleased with our room, it was on the 9th floor with street view. The rooms are basic and on the smaller size (this was not a negative for me), but it had everything we needed, including a small fridge. the bed was VERY comfortable! The bathroom was also very nice and updated. The location was on a side street, but I found it to be perfect for the type of travelers we are. No hotel noise (other than normal NYC street noise), great bed, nice bathroom, clean, pleasant and nice staff...couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Central stylish location with historic charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe is quite small and the main elevator is not the fastest

    Stylish room with extremely comfortable bed. Quiet. Great shower, good Wifi and complimentary tea and coffee all day. Perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    An excellent find - we really enjoyed our stay here, especially as the price we got was a great deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't fit four of us into the beds provided so my son slept onto the floor. We got a really good price on our rooms and we were offered to change, but decided to stay as my son was happy with the floor option and we'd already settled in and loved the view out of our window. Travelling with two adult children meant sharing was always going to be a bit weird. We had a sofa bed that was more like a single, and a huge king sized bed which could have slept three of us but it was SO hot in NYC that it was never going to be an option.

    The location was brilliant, the staff fantastic and we had a fantastic view through a gorgeous window

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location and rooms, but breakfast could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast was meant to be included - this was a coffee machine and some muffins and bagels laid out between 7am and 9am on the second floor which we had to take back to our room

    Location was great, room was a good size for New York

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Very close to Empire state building and Herald Square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is very small and bed is too soft (I prefer less soft mattress) but I guess that's the average room size in NYC.

    Very close to Empire state building and Herald Square shopping street and it's within walking distance to most major locations. I find the hotel locate at quiet area and you can always grab a cup of tea or coffee 24/7 to relax yourself a bit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    overpriced stay for mediocre experience with a terrible bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was outrageous. . . $1000 for one night. . service was poor, no one offered to help with luggage Bed was far too soft and very bad for back airconditioning too loud

    Location good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff really friendly on reception and the bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have a full length mirror in room. "Breakfast" only served on second floor till 9am. Went at 8:55am and it had gone. Breakfast not served in restaurant although shows on website

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was not cozy and comfortable, too minimalist with stone noisy floors and small narrow rooms with tiny windows. Reception was small and crowded converging bar, restaurant and reception. Prices were ridiculous for quality, poor lighting and no refrigerator.

    Location and staff. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    the room change on the last day (after several complaints)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor; toilet was broken, staf was rude at check in; shower turned cold in a sudden; the heater made noise.

    the room change on the last day (after several complaints)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again -- love the design, comfiness, location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had better breakfast and a space dedicated for breakfast. It was a little weird that it was just served on top of the office area.

    Very clean, comfy and beautiful room -- loved staying here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Very impressed with the hotel as a whole. Monica at the front desk was very helpful. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet pressure was not great but they came when called and addressed it.

    My family that was visiting from Spain and I just stayed there room 1005, and we loved it! A perfect mix of vintage charm and modernity. Room was lovely and roomy even for 3 adults. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely return but not to the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speakeasy was closed so that was disappointing. We sat at the bar for 15 minutes and finally left because we had dinner reservations...never even placed our order. There were only 2 other people at the bar.

    Matthew was very helpful and friendly. The dinner at Henry’s restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. Loved the decor as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, cool decor
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the 'breakfast' is very disappointing (dry supermarket muffins), surprising city charges after departure (30 dollars)

    Very nice location, friendly staff, great decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but choose your room carefully - and get up early.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in room 235 which you should avoid, as you can hear the banging around in the kitchen directly underneath, so really noisy. Also, all the breakfast things cleared away by 9am. I learned this the hard way, no breakfast for me on day two! 10am would be more in line with other hotels.

    Bed was very comfortable and staff very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable, they give you a free water bottle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants and bar were not open when we were there

    The bed was comfortable, they give you a free water bottle that was a really nice touch, free pastries in the morning and coffee, hot chocolate or tea the whole day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The complimentary pastries are a nice touch but there could have been more of them, and more variety. And more Earl Grey teabags! (But that might just be me!)

    The bed was super comfy and the room was very well designed so that there were no hidden spaces; you couldn't accidentally leave anything behind. The bathroom was well appointed and the choice of complimentary bathroom items was well thought out - the make-up remover wipes were a nice touch. The location is also fantastic. Most of midtown is within walking distance and the subway station is less than a block away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    beautiful place! Queen is cramped for 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I heard NY rooms were small, but this was a TINY room for two people. Pointless furniture and lack of room made it impossible to exit both sides of the insanely tall bed. It's a beautiful wrought iron bed that I made the mistake of trying to climb over the foot of in the middle of the night instead of climbing over my partner--bad idea. Don't get a Queen room if you're more than one person or have more than one luggage. Also, very soft bed.

    Bathroom was beautiful and location was perfect for our needs. Free water bottles were cool and ice machine that also provides drinking water is always a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great location and the staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar hours were not that great. Could not get a drink during the day. Also we had to wait over 12 hours for the staff to come and sort out out blocked toilet. I did get an apology but not great. Over all a great hotel though

    Great location and the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    WONDERFUL hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym is quite tiny but that's not why I stayed here anyway

    Really lovely hotel in a central location perfect for a first-time visitor like myself or if you need to run around to places close by. The hotel is nice and calm. The staff was friendly and super helpful about all our needs. Everything was very clean, unique and beautifully designed. Our room was quite large for NYC which was a nice surprise! Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice style rooms - spacious for NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice style rooms - spacious for NYC. Attractive building. Sandwiched between broadway and 5th Ave. 5 min walk to Empire State. Helpful staff. 24 hr complimentary coffee and bagels/muffins for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    We won't go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a premium king room with a sofa bed and paid for an included breakfast. We didn't get a sofa bed for our daughter so we're moved to a smaller room with queen beds. There was no breakfast. There were mini pastries from a grocery store and a coffee vending machine. No cream was available. It was in a tiny dark hallway . Everyone got breakfast but we paid extra in our room rate for an "included breakfast". Then we were awakened early Sunday morning by someone coming into our room. They had booked someone else in our room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel but don't expect perks promised
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast as promised and the bar and restaurant not open as long as hours were posted on their website. What bar in New York closes at 1115 on a Friday night and restaurant at 915? The window air conditioner was loud.

    Although small, The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were immaculate with a huge television. Most of the staff we encountered were exceptionally helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff was fantastic. Description of a free breakfast was inaccurate on booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny and plumbing was VERY loud. When someone took a shower in the room we had to turn up the TV and when someone in an adjacent room took a shower we had to turn up the TV. During our stay the adjacent room took showers at midnight waking us up and finding it hard to get back to sleep

    Loved the location, staff and shower in room. Room TV was huge building was cool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Location and stylish decor of rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISE very poorly isolated both inside & outside / street. Awoken every few hours, very noisy street! Poor reception info for guest. Guest needs to ask or remind staff of perks or extras guaranteed in booking. Refusal of said perks due to (caucasian) Sunday-managers’ poor customer service -rude & uncaring. ( the African-American week-manager much friendlier and customer oriented) Generic and expected amenities not available in room (no fridge no coffee/tea maker in room). Restaurant not able to charge to hotelroom. If restaurant a 3rd party THEN DO NOT ADVERTISE ON YOUR WEBPAGE! Customer expectations are then managed properly.

    Location and stylish decor of rooms. Very nice front-facing rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Great. Will do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is steam release valve in the room that releases pressure from the hotel hot water system. It was bizarre. It was very noisy during the night.

    Size and style of the room and bathroom. Very comfy beds. Perfect location for New York.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Being in New York can be so noisy - I was staying in a town house around central park prior to the life hotel and it was so noisy, sirens, horns, trucks and people - it was extremely exhausting... staffing at the life hotel was like having a holiday... quiet, peaceful which is deceiving as you are right in the centre. The hotel is super clean, I’ve staff in many 5 star hotels and I put this hotel right up there. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse LIFE Hotel, NoMad traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: