Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heritage Inn Express Chico 2 stars

725 South Broadway, Chico, CA 95928, USA

#10 of 17 hotels in Chico

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    You get what you pay for.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door didn't seem very secure and there was a large gap in the door jam. We made sure to bolt the door when we were inside. The floor either hadn't been vacuumed or the vacuum isn't very good, but the rest of the room was clean.

    The price was good and it was within walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. The college is only a 20 minute walk away. The bed was comfy and the room had a mini fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre, and noisier than we expected. (strange airconditioner and train noise).
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The on/off air conditioner with strange wall controls. The king bed wasn't very comfortable. They "shorted" us in towels--and one was fairly soft, and the second one was like sandpaper and 'stained'. The sink plug wouldn't work, and the pull-up handle fell off. The pillows were really strange--small and lumpy. There was no continuous fan choice with the air conditioner. The term "breakfast" was a real stretch--in name only.

    Not much. But it was mostly clean, and a fairly convenient central location in Chico.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyed our time here in Chico with family, and have stayed at this hotel before but not again.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and room seemed very old and not keep up very well. Police cars were in the parking lot our first night and lots of young adults just hanging around the stairs area.

    The suite was a good size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    a good place to fall asleep and base your visit to chico, if you can get a room for $50 or less
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our neighbors looked and smelled like homeless people. there were several staying in the room next to ours and were persistent smokers outside the room, even though the door has a no smoking sign.

    Very spartan breakfast, however, the bakery next door was excellent (after 7:00 am). Location was central to town, campus and local events.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff was friendly and helpful!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a non smoking room but it was avery strong cigarette smoke odor in the room and beds, and one of the bed the sheets was questionable 😞

    Staff was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    It was in a good location and a fair price. Staff was exceptional.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I got was outdated when all the other rooms were remodeled. It was like you didn't book with us directly so you get the crappy room. But everything did work in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    For the price, we expected to have a clean room when we got there and to have cleaning staff visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean. Toilet had splashes from previous people, floor was filthy, sheets not long enough for the beds. When we told management about the problems on Day 2, cleaning staff didn’t even visit our room at all.

    The complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was great and so was the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were filthy along with the bathroom... maid service doesn't do a great job either. Just changes towels out and emptied trash, no bed making or cleaning. We had to get more towels and toilet paper almost every day, as they give 2 towels for a 4 person room and 1 ply toilet paper. Beds aren't too great either, hard, squeaky, and bouncy. Needs to be updated. Few not so great choices for breakfast. A lot noisy people hanging out at night going in and out of this place as well.

    The location was great and so was the price... front desk people were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Pool laundry room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like moth balls , TV only worked with switch on jacuzzi tub shot out water didn't stay in the tub, stains, roaches, house keeper makes fun of you ,

    Pool laundry room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.9
    Pool, laundry room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had one air conditioner working, jacuzzi tub shot out water didn't work right, staff was rude , maintenance guy goes around kicking appliances cussing at them instead of fixing the issue , office asked me questions to why I need down stairs and a service pet , sheets were stained, house keeper makes fun of you , the suites are over priced the hotel is over priced as well , fix your air conditioner and TV's correctly fix jacuzzi tub so it works I was in room 110

    Pool, laundry room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.3
    The worse place ever to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in horrible condition. The drapes were hanging down torn from the rod. The tv wasnt working very well either and the parking are and grounds was absolutely filthy. I would never recommend this place to anybody

    The continental breakfast wasnt to bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had blood stains in carpet, reeked of cigarette smoke (even as a nonsmoking room) and had the smoke alarm torn out of the wall. Looked dirty.

    Kind staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for, and we technically got a room and a bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has clearly been struggling. The room itself was not clean, the bedding and towels were clean but stained. The bathroom had a few critter visitors in the two days we were there (cockroach/spider). When we needed fresh towels after sitting down at the pool, we were told that they were in the dryer and would be dropped off later. All in all, it served its purpose and was certainly in our budget, but it’s about what you’d expect for the price.

    The hotel was located in walking distance of downtown, which made connecting with our other groups easy and convenient. The room was standard, and it was nice to have a microwave and mini fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    Sucked, terrible, wouldn’t suggest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was terrible. Worst place I’ve ever stayed in my 43 Years

    Tvs don’t work, stains on the bed, bugs on bed in first room. Spent most my night in the lobby trying to change rooms. Had to wait for a manager...didn’t get there til 11:30pm. No sleep for us👎🏼

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The used condom on the doorstep, the homeless in the parking lot, the smell of the room, the heavily soiled carpet, the phone that didn’t work, the short sheeted bed and the small parking spaces.

    The price and breakfast was limited but ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.5
    terrible!! find some place else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was rude and unhelpful, the room was absolutely filthy, the carpet was soo dirty the soles of my shoes were black when i left, the shower was literally dirty i wouldnt get in it, my first night i was woken up around 2 am to see three police cars arresting some tweakers for fighting in the room above me, finally..i tried to leave early becuase of these complaints and was told i could leave but i would get no refund for the night. and im still waiting for my 50$ refund for some kind of a bogus deposit...dont stay here!!!!

    nothing to like what so ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    I would stay here again and recommend it to people looking for an affordable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain was far away from the tub, water got everywhere on the bathroom floor.

    I enjoyed the look of the room I stayed in, it was pleasing to look at and had all the accommodations for a longer stay such as a fridge, microwave, and a coffee machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.9
    We booked this room because we were were attending a wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ice machine was full of mold and should not be operating

    We booked this room because we were were attending a wedding out of town. The wedding started at 3 and check in was at 3. They wouldn’t accommodate us and let us check in a little early so we didn’t need to at midnight after the wedding. When we finally checked in just after midnight we got in the room and it smelled so bad like a Smokey/musty/moldy weird smell. It appeared that the room hadn’t been cleaned. Only the trash had been taken out. There were rings on the end table with nasty smudges, water marks on the bathroom mirror, shower scum in the shower. We found someone’s hair on the pillow cases and the sheets. The bed had no fitted sheet on the mattress, just a regular top sheet tucked around it. It was absolutely disgusting that we didn’t even stay there. We asked for a refund and crashed our friends room at a different hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.0
    My wife was grossed out and so was i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towels ,stinky room ac didn’t work properly bad location

    Dirty, as in the towels, stinky, the ac didn’t work properly. The staff tried to accommodate us despite the conditions of the room. This is an upper management issue!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Found drugs under nightstand, wrong room type, overcharged/still not resolved, poor communication
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overcharged us and we are still waiting to hear back from them. We booked a King room and got 2 double beds. When we got there at 7pm the room wasn’t even ready but we had just driven 8 hours straight and were exhausted. Then, to TOP IT OFF, we had our service dog (I understood should have stayed free but we were charged $30)found a bag of marijuana underneath the nightstand.

    They let us checkout at 1pm instead of 11am

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    I will never stay here again
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NASTY rooms-smelled like Pot, dirty carpet, old mattress-could feel springs through it and it squeaked HORRIBLY EVERY TIME YOU MOVED, pillows were literally FLAT! My sweatshirt folded up was thicker than pillows...Heater didnt work (and it was rainy cold that weekend), run down, old rooms, maids who pocket guests personal items. Lady @ front desk was very nice. Tried very hard to accomodate us(got us a new mattress&pillows and had maintenance fix heater.

    Nothing!! But if I was FORCED to say 1 good thing....closeness to Downtown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    It was a bed, that’s all I can say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside looked amazing, and new. However, the room was rundown, the tub looked old, dirty in places, and the carpet was dirty. And the air conditioner was was too loud and not able to shut off completely.

    No hot eggs, cold boiled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value hotel in Chico, California
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very slow to drain, and there seemed to be sketchy characters staying at the hotel.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the town of Chico. The room was large enough for the 3 of us, and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    It was close to a lot of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't clean our room the second day,we hung out the maid sign came back later that evening to find our room not made up.My husband went to find out why and the guy in the office said they,the maids, left for the day.They did give us clean towels 😡

    It was close to a lot of things

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.5
    Very rude and racist. They are giving R.N.P a bad name in the hospitality industry.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the most ridiculous room deposit policy in america i think its easier to rent a room in a north korea. Frankly the front desk attendant was very rude. She was judging me based on my appearance. Never been more disrespected in my life.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    The only saving grace was the staff!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty, beds were not comfortable and heating system was very loud! Filtration system for water would be nice, tasted terrible.

    Staff was friendly, breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    The great beds and wonderful shower (hot and strong) were just what we needed!
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More towels (1 for body and 1 for hair each....my sis and I ); and the large towel could have been bigger.

    The beds are fantastic!!!!!! Firm, yet not at all hard, with a few inches of soft on top; best sleep ever! I have to be gluten free and there was enough delicious variety in the breakfast foods that I was quite satisfied...yogurts, fruit, juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    The location was great but I could never recommend this to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet, although a dark color was visibly stained and needed to be replaced. The grout and caulking in the tub or stained with mildew. The tub itself was yellow wood and stained. The heating and cooling system did not work. I reported it on the first day and nobody ever came to repair it. The room was hot and stuffy. The breakfast was not really a breakfast. There were two kinds of cereal, English muffins and yogurt.

    The location was wonderful. The bedding was clean and the staff at the front desk we're friendly. The pillows were fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Orange juice on tap was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast muffins were not good, at all. Might have absorbed a cleaning agent at some point.

    Orange juice on tap was nice. Two heater/AC units made warming the place up quite easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    The guy charged my credit card a extra $50 for a deposit and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy charged my credit card a extra $50 for a deposit and refused to give me a receipt and I didn't get the deposit back!! I will never stay there again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard but for the price didn’t expect much more. Still very clean!

    For the price it is fantastic! Clean nice sized room, great location, and included breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.2
    Room was spacious, included mini fridge, had semi larger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a large piece of entertainment furniture that wasn't used but left over and had no television or radio. Toilet was dirty.

    Room was spacious, included mini fridge, had semi larger bath tub with 6 jets. Nothing to write home about though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.8
    We would not recommend it, nor would we stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable, care was not taken to make it look nice (upscale), curtains, bedding and shower curtain were all snagged, bed skirt hanging cattywampus, not enough blankets, both of us got cold in the night. We could have gotten up and gone to the office to get more but not worth the trouble.. For $91.xx I was expecting a little more. “Breakfast Included” was choice of 2 cold cereals, packaged oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and yogurt but no spoons, a couple of fruits, dry white bread, muffins, bagels, and cream cheese, and a microwaveable breakfast sandwich of some sort. It was fine for a “continental breakfast,” but overall not worth the price we paid.

    It was close to a great little Mexican restaurant (Amigos de Acapulco)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.5
    Nasty Hotel will net use or refer Booking.com again!!!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in shower, Carpet coming up at the seems Years of stains on everything including the lamp shades and curtains. Homeless people hanging around. “Breakfast food” Didn’t eat one thing. Staff warned about eating old hard boiled eggs

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 3 rooms. The worst had these issues: Long hair on a pillow!, Tub didn't drain (ankle deep!), Bathroom door didn't shut, AND they didn't make up the room (wet towels on floor, bed not made, etc.!!). They all were not too clean, sticky floors, could hear next door quests as if they were in same room, one TV didn't work. Could not get a hold of manager - never there and never called me back.

    The employees at the check-in desk were polite and sympathetic to our complaints although they couldn't take care of our issues.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    Meh. I came home and hoped to stay i the heart of downtown but ended up at the Marriott
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no heat. We were out in the evening and didn’t realize the heat wasn’t working. Woke up at 2 am pretty cold. Called the desk. He brought us a blanket....At check out, I asked for a little comp( discount on one more night?). Informed me I’d need to call the manager. Called twice. He did not return my call. We spent 5 more nights at the Courtyard

    Location was awesome. Walking to downtown events etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    Would not go back
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Online I requested a nonsmoking room on first floor due to physical disability.. My drive was extended, so I called the hotel on the way to tell them I would be late and they assured that was no problem. I arrived at 7 pm and in debilitating pain from the drive. It was stormy and raining out At check in, I was. told that the only nonsmoking rooms left were on the second floor. Climbing the stairs to unload was torture. I was told that this room was just renovated. Bedspread didn't smell clean. The heater controls had some damage & the room was freezing! I tried to increase the heat but it just blew lukewarm air. I was too exhausted to deal with moving to a new room, and didn't want to tackle the stairs back down so I decided to deal with it; that maybe room would eventually warm up. I heated up the room a degree or so with the bathroom warming light. ( had to keep resetting the timer, tho) I slept in sweats with a thermal shirt to try and warm up; but at 1 am, I gave up and went back down to the car in the wind & cold rain to retrieve a sleeping bag I had in the car. In the am, the room was even colder, and the bathroom heat did nothing. I had to turn the blow-dryer to high so I could try to stop shivering while I was making in-room coffee. I guess I should have pursued a new room, but once your body decides it is going to quit, you really don't have other options but to stay put.

    Clerks VERY pleasant and helpful..and apologetic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hair in the sink that grossed me out .there was a weird smell in the room .the light was out I put a new bulb in it however it still did not work had to pull the hutch that had the TV in it out in the middle of the room so we could get behind it and plug in the light so it was either the light or the TV so we had the light on and then had to switch off ... I asked for extra pillows when I booked the room Did not get them and did not feel like calling them for them the bed was comfortable the room was very small and not much lighting I had to open the curtains for lighting which I didn’t want to do at night other than that the heater in the bathroom was awesome parking was close to our room the city around was beautiful because it was early November (Fall )so it was really beautiful with the colored leaves everywhere 🍂🍁 I do not think I would recommend it to anyone if it wasn’t for the hair in the sink I could probably Recommend it but that just really grossed me out.

    What breakfast???? ?????????????????????

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.6
    I really enjoyed the entire staff,, especially Jon.
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The Breakfast and welcome drink and water in the fridge.

    The bed was very good and well layed. The Cleaners very good too. The Front desk officers were very friendly and ever willing to assist. The breakfast should be improved. In all I will choose the hotel next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Not very good
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rugs were disgusting and dirty ,the heater didn’t work and they didn’t fix it or give us another room. We had to ask for more towels, , room was dusty and dirty and we didn’t even have good blankets

    It was cheap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    It is in a good location and the beds are comfy but the room is old and musty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tv had no movie channels nor the option to rent movies. The room was old and didnt feel very clean. The carpet was old and dirty. The people that stayed there were weird and walked around all night.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    Will never stay there again. Will never recommend this place to anyone!
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean carpet was not clean or vaccumed. Bathroom floor had not been mopped. Duty cleaning cloth was left in bathtub. Went to have breakfast no coffee had to wait no spoons for creal both mornings. No milk one morning.

    The employees, bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    The room was clean; however, the carpets are torn and dirty. They need replacing.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power went off at 3:30 or do. It did thus several times which set off the smoke alarm. Then people from next door started pounding in the door. That set off someone from upstairs who stomped on the floor. The pounding continued. That was at 4:00 am. We didn’t get much sleep.

    The bathroom was large. Shower was great. There was an iron which we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    We needed to check out about an hour late, and this was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to check out about an hour late, and this was no problem. I was happy that our schedule in Chico could be accommodated. We were not able to stay for breakfast, but there was still coffee when we returned later to check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was so loud it woke us up every time it came on, the carpet was stained dirty there was no waste basket we did not feel relaxed at all, could not wait to leave.

    The nice young man at the check in counter, he could not do enough to help us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to fix the sink stopper

    Breakfast had a nice selection I enjoyed that they had hard boiled eggs.also their selection of things to drink. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Won't stay there again and will not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was shabby!!!!! Huge holes in carpet and it was filthy. Did not want to take shoes off. Pieces of sink fixture missing and bathroom clean but tiles crumbling and uninviting.

    The front desk person was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.6
    Will never stay there again and will tell others to avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shows its 30 years age. Coffee maker broken, frig barely cooled. Door did not seat into frame and inside handle barely held on. Inside lighting pathetic with one light listing about 45 degrees. Toilet leaked. Towel bar very loose. No chair or table except office chair and a desk. Breakfast was a bad joke. Smoking rooms interspersed among the non-smoking rooms. Some smokers took their smoking to the walkway along the front of the rooms. The ice machine was despicably filthy and did not work despite two staff members' attempts to start it. Mattress was lumpy.

    Staff semed to care. Plenty of hot water and shower worked fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Just endurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As described above.

    The room was spacious,cleanliness doubtful. Think there were a lot of people living there and it was very noisy. People arguing outside our door and one guy was fixing his pickup outside out room at 11-30p.m. The noise from the outside road was terrible. Wifi comes and goes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    the location was right in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was minimal at best. no juice, no bowls for cold or hot cereal, frozen breakfast sandwich , no eggs, carpet in real need of replacement. very worn and stained, would not walk barefoot around the room.

    the location was right in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Quiet and pleasant. Nice surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I was very impressed with the little details. Soap and shampoo were organic, as were the APPLES! Very charming and helpful staff. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Excellent value Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Room services appeared to be adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting and upholstery were old and worn...permanent stains and discoloration were obvious. Ice machine out of order.

    Room services appeared to be adequate. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean, Comfortable and Adequate
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wast much patio furniture out at the pool. There were stains on carpet in my room.

    I have a service dog and they are pet friendly. Although very small, they have a designated area to take your pet. The room was adequate, not luxurious by any means but clean, neat and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    The property is near downtown if I wanted to walk somewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine in the room didn't work and the ice machine on site was broken.

    The property is near downtown if I wanted to walk somewhere. It is clean and has a pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Another great stay at the Heritage Express Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light outside my room was burned out, but not a huge issue. I forgot to let the desk staff know about it.

    Nice staff, clean room, great pool to cool down after a long day in the sun!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Would not stay again unless they put in new beds.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were lumpy and squeaked at night. The outlets would not hold electronic plug ins. No Kleenex anywhere. One garbage can. Breakfast was awful

    Location near Chico State

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.3
    Staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on carpet, chairs, old facilityand too expensive for what we're getting. Location was good, within walking distance from town

    Staff were nice. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.0
    Room was very small but had all the usual parts. Beds, bath, towels.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a bad back and bad knee, and there wasn't an elevator. So was very difficult to climb the stairs. There wasn't enough light in the area where the sink is and the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.0
    This is not the Heritage Inn that you want. Book the one on heritage lane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean. The check in woman with extremely short hair had her vape cigarette (ask me if I'm lying the tip and hand hold was lime green) in her hand while checking us in. The only outlets that worked were the ones on the bathroom counter. The tub hasn't seen bleach in years.

    Lots of parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    3.8
    Broken amenities !dirty !un acomadating !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    My family's stay here was a big let down,due to disability and traviling with small children and service dog I requested bottom floor. Was put on top floor,asked 24hrs in advance.as well as requested roll away bed at time of booking and arrival was never provided.booked suit with jet tub,IT DIDNT WORK&FILTHY!hole in bathroom door,dirty floor! let baby crawl around for about 5min STAINED HER OUTFIT!HANDS SO DIRTY! while trying to juggle my dog 2small children and bags up long staircase into room back and forth WAS TOLD TO QUIT DOWN!2small kids late at night long trip in car tierd&hugry,with dog& VERY BAD BACK ,BOYFRIEND WITH DISABILITY up huge staircase, with out any noise! Are u kidding me.but worst was after it all calmed down getting in a broken jet tube! Never again!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sink and counter were small and not inside the bathroom. Although the A/C blew cold air, it was musty and caused the room to smell.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    4.2
    Never ever stay !! take this off your site!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no private entrance there was no marble tile. The main room had no couch, no chairs except for some ratty little wooden chairs around a crappy disgusting table and no tv. The sleeping area tv was so dusty you couldn't even see it I had to wipe it down. The bathroom was gross, dirty, moldy shower curtain😲😨!!

    Absolutely nothing ! Place was filthy disgusting and gross. Totally false advertising no marble tile, no private entrance. You should take this off your list of bookings never ever send anyone here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.7
    good location
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    free breakfast and coffee marginal no sugar substitute! or fresh creamer pretty basic. We got in late and in the rain they were pretty full we ended up in a pet room which was fine but the carpet was pretty dirty my husbands white socks were black on the bottom.

    The Staff was great, Location was within walking distance of Farmer's market and down town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Better than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little counter space in the bathroom and we had to get creative with where we put our toiletries. The bathroom sink area was so small only one person could use it. And if the other person wanted to make coffee or use the microwave, the person using the bathroom sink was in the way. There was plenty of space in the room to have the bathroom configured differently to provide more elbow room.

    The room was big and we had plenty of room except the bathroom sink. It was clean and well maintained. After reading some of the reviews I was concerned the room was going to be outdated and dirty (like a different place we had stayed the previous night). I was pleasantly surprised it was up to par with other places we had stayed. For the price point it was a good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.8
    Fool me once,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical problems in the room, no tv, refer didn't work. Air conditioner worked, but was noisy and the controls broken. Phone was disconnected. Noisy, a lot of homeless around yelling at 2 am. Visa card charged 3 times the cost of the room.

    Close to downtown

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stains in the carpet (needs to be replaced.) Breakfast selections - should just offer a coupon to dine at the bakery across the street and save the time and money they spend to buy pre-packaged pastries.

    Room was clean, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Overnight
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should have polo shirts with logos. I gave my credit card to a stranger in street clothes, unprofessional. No name tags. Nothing to connect with property. Computer system has glitches. Check in and check out required a wait for the computer system. There is a card on the counter at front desk advertising delivery for marijuana. Not appropriate.

    Clean. Shower hot enough. Desk and chair allowed work on laptop with WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Welcoming and understanding staff
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason for my stay is the only thing that could have been better. We were evacuees from Oroville CA.

    The staff was awesome and the Heritage Inn even gave us an additonal discount on our room on top of the booking.com rate we were already receiving due to our situation with the evacuation.The continental breakfast made things very convenient. There was a variety of different things to choose from, healthy alternatives as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    3.3
    The staff n cleaning crew were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'll never book there again rooms are dirty floors are gross. If your a family do not stay here. The clinentle they rent to is to say the least horrible. Crimes committed police were called drugs violence. The only thing nice I can say is the crew there tried to go out of there way they new we were upset about everything. Drug deals going on in plain day light as well. We would have left the next day but could not find vacancy. Unsafe and would never take my family there again. And upon ck out was not offered any discount for what we had to see and deal with. Star rating is not at all accurate. Motel 6 prob would have been better. And cheaper way overpriced.

    The staff n cleaning crew were great. Very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.0
    Would ni.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater system, bed, coffee, dirty carpet. Not being told about the hours for breakfast. One of the staff would't get off the phone to answer my questions. She still was on the phone when I saw her outside.

    Location, shower

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    4.6
    Tired, Dirty, and Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent about $250 on a 2 night stay in the King Jacuzzi Suite at this hotel. I specifically booked this room because it was my birthday and I wanted to take a bubble bath in a jacuzzi tub, and spend a relaxing time with my husband. Unfortunately, my one (quite simple) birthday wish was not granted. This room was supremely overpriced compared to what I got in return. There was hair, dirt, and dust in the bath tub and behind the door in the bathroom, and the sink in the kitchenette looked like it had been spit in and never cleaned out. Mirrors were dusty with spit splatter on them, the carpeting hadn't been vaccumed. Every surface was dirty with dry spilled drinks and dust. The heater/AC units smelled awful when we ran them. The hair dryer was full of dirt and dust. Within the first 5 minutes I had to ask the front desk clerk, Matthew, for a spray bottle with bleach in it and a rag to clean the bathtub just so I could take a shower. When I tried to use the Jacuzzi tub dirt and what seemed like mold shot out of the jets. Traffic is very loud and it is hard to fall asleep and stay asleep past 6 AM. It was a very dissappointing birthday stay and I regret this booking.

    The staff were friendly, continental breakfast was ok, coffee was good in the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had VERY LITTLE water pressure and just a trickle if another room used water at the same time!!!!!

    Location, price, front desk clerk very pleasant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.4
    The location was the only plus to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not worth $130. It look like a dated motel. Our room also smelled like cigarettes and our room was a non smoking room. Even my clothes smelled like cigarettes and a swamp cooler when I got home.

    The location was the only plus to this hotel. It's walking distance from downtown.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance could improve, etc. the lock plate on the door was loose ( the screws were backing out and the latch was sticking) about a 2 min. fix.

    The staff was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Good quality and value for the money
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was very noisy. The refrigerator froze our food.

    We liked the comfort of the bed and temperature of the room. We enjoyed the continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Heritage Inn Express Chico traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: