Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. Sierra City hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of High Country Inn - Sierra City

Reviews of High Country Inn - Sierra City

Highway 49 & Gold Lake Road , Sierra City, 96125, USA

#1 of 2 hotels in Sierra City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 B&B reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 26

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic 3 days in paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sure anyone can improve this place, it is paradise.

    The location is fantastic, high in the Sierras, away from crowds, next to the river so you can hear the running water, a beautiful natural setting. The breakfast was amazing (presentation and taste). The owner/manager a very friendly and informed person. And, best of all, we stayed at the peak of the fall leaves color season, a real treat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Had a nice stay. Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold enough to see the fireplace going and it was not. Would have made the evening more enjoyable to relax in the shared living room

    The breakfast was over the top!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful property views and location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely beautiful property views and location and building are unbeatable. As well as bob is absolutely great his breakfast is beautiful and has great recommendations for things to do and eat around the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    If you love the Lakes Basin area, check out the High Country Inn. You won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like about the stay or the place.

    High Country Inn is beautifully situation at the crossroads to many wonderful hikes and lakes just down the road from Sierra City. Our room (On Golden Pond) was beautiful and the view of the Sierra Buttes each night from the deck outside our room was spectacular. Breakfast was amazing! Bob can really cook. This is not your standard fare, but something much more substantial and delicious. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    The host is Bob and he was very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Our private bathroom was across the hall but the other rooms have the bathroon in the rooms.

    The host is Bob and he was very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was outstanding and more than adequate. The scenery is beautiful and the roads are good but it is in the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful place to stay, super-nice host, wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cell service, but land-line was available if needed.

    We were the only guests at this small home-style B&B, so we had the place to ourselves. Quaint, cute furnishings in the guest rooms, comfortable homey common areas. Gorgeous setting with a rushing river, small pond (with geese), beautiful lawn and snow-capped Sierra mountains in the background. Nice deck, perfect for relaxing with a good book amid the serene beauty. Close enough to Sierra City (which is tiny) to forage for necessities. Breakfast was outstanding - fresh fruit w/yogurt, delicious veggie omelet and salad, and warm nut bread with butter and jam. Such a healthy breakfast, I made a pig of myself and felt great about it. :-) Host was nearby in a separate building, and very friendly and accommodating. Wish we could go back for a longer stay sometime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Everything is great about this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed and Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the King Suite with sap bath and it was amazing. It's specious, great view from the adjacent deck outside. The lodge is conveniently located by Lakes Basin - great area for hiking. Fresh air, poor wifi, great views is all you need for unwinding. Bob cooks delicious breakfast and gives the best tips on where to go and what to do in the area. You won't be disappointed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful place surrounded by beautiful trees, wonderful views and offering a cozy ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bob Latta, the innkeeper, was friendly, engaging and responsive. When he heard that my fishing rod had been left behind by the airline, he offered me use of a very nice fly rod for the duration of my trip. My room was quite comfortable, quiet and clean. The grounds are serene with a trout pond reflecting the buttes in the distance. Fishing locations are all around. The breakfast meal was made with fresh ingredients and delicious. I’ll definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful house in a lovely garden, very quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bob was really helpful, quite happy to make an early breakfast for us so we could head out mountain biking. Also we could make tea when we liked, had free run of living area/deck and got fed great breakfasts!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Fishing trip in Sierra California
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly welcome, by Bob. Lot of useful advice for fishing the river. Very clean and calm place. Definitely a place to go to enjoy the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Really nice bed, I slept much better than I ever do at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice bed, I slept much better than I ever do at home. And great to have a whirlpool bath in the "Golden Pond" room that I was staying in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    All the comforts of home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with One King Bed and Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bed & Breakfast provided all the comforts of home. The breakfast was amazing. The location and setting was perfect for site seeing both in town and surrounding area. The owner, Bob, was delightful throughout our stay from our welcome upon arrival to our farewell upon checking out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Quaint getaway
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bob is an excellent cook and made us a great breakfast, the Inn is beautiful, the ground are pristine and overall we enjoyed it all but wish we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    The setting was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being told right off the bat to take off our shoes. This should be made clear before arrival to enable people to be prepared. I have had knee surgery and must sit down to take off my shoes. This made it very difficult for me. I suggest that you have disposable booties to slip over shoes. I was disappointed that we were told if we were welcome to spend the evenings in the living room. For us there was a lack of warmth and hospitality. Since your other guests were repeats, and we were not, we felt a bit like excess baggage. We were not prepared to have a "private" bath across the hall. Had we known we may have stayed elsewhere. The fruit plates for breakfast were excellent but the breakfast dishes were not to our liking. But of course, this is a personal preference. The muffins and cookies were great. Be were a bit taken aback by being told to put our coffee mugs in the saucer. I think of a cup as having a saucer but not a mug. The manner in which we were told was a bit abrupt.

    The setting was wonderful. We enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds, knowledgeable host, terrific location in the Sierras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    The host, Bob, is an interesting man who holds a fount of knowledge of the history, people and activities of the area. We stayed 2 nights and were very impressed by his gourmet cooking sensibilities as reflected in the fabulous breakfasts we enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful quiet Bed and Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I knew there was no Internet, mobile service or TV, and that was NOT a problem, but I feel the need to let others know. This is a very remote and beautiful site to get off the grid.

    The property is clean and nicely decorated in Red, White and Blue, our room was upstairs and had a beautiful view of the snow covered mountains and the pond on the property surrounded by manicured green grass. Out the other window was a majestic rapid moving stream which was running bank to bank due to the snow melt. Our room was spacious and clean and included a gas fireplace, full shower and antique bathtub with luxurious bubble bath. We stayed 2 days and breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, warm bread and an omelet one morning and homemade waffles the other, with your choice of juice, coffee, hot coco, etc. The owners are extremely nice and the other couple we meet there was a lot of fun to chat with during breakfast. We also enjoyed watching the blue jays eat peanuts while we ate breakfast and there was a pair of stunning Canadian geese outside the dining room by the pond

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    will again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bob, the owner is a chef, excellent food, thank God I didn't have to stack 20 poofy, frilly pillows, on the floor to get some sleep.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful home and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed and Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful home and location. Inn owner is very nice and a creative, excellent cook.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, even more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, even more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Lovely setting and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi only reliable in main dining/living room

    Lovely setting and great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Paradise! A great place to unwind and soak up nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with One King Bed and Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place is a slice of heaven on Earth. Bob, the owner was incredibly helpful, the breakfasts were wonderful. We did not want to leave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    It feels like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the hosts. They are really friendly and kind. Love the surroundings as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We will stay there again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were wonderful, very knowledgeable and accommodating!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great setting. Wonderful host.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing! Delicious and always a beautiful presentation!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Peaceful Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner facilities nearby.

    Quiet country setting, peaceful, excellent gourmet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 26

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse High Country Inn - Sierra City traveller photo gallery