Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilo Seaside Hotel 2 stars

126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Hi 96720, USA

#13 of 23 hotels in Hilo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Small, simplicistic hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no elevators and the hallways and rooms are small. Parking is not easy and there is not a kiddie area in the pool.

    The location of this hotel was great and staff were pleasant. We also liked the option of using AC or simply opening the windows and lanai.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    One of the more affordable places in town with friendly staff and a clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beach-goers across the street take up most of the outside front parking spots during weekends at least. This left a number of residents (including myself) stranded for parking. There is parking a short walk down a street and apparently some "on grass" parking, but it wasn't marked well. Once the sun goes down and the beach-goers leave, you can take the newly vacant spots. The free rental bikes require a steep paid deposit. This would be okay if you don't plan on locking the bike anyway along your travels in town. We chose not to rent as we weren't sure of the risk of locking up should we stop to eat somewhere. Most places in town are walkable anyway within 30 mins or so.

    Free fresh fruit at the front counter every morning at 7am. Pool open until 7pm. Fish pond outside the front entrance is nice. Front desk staff was very friendly. The hotel is close by some good eating spots including Ken's Pancakes and a New Saigon. The pool was nice and clean, but closes at 7pm. The surrounding area appeared to be open all hours. The small AC unit in our room worked surprisingly well. It took little time to cool the room down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwaves were in a separate room and you had to get key from front desk. No ATM in the place. Vending machines don’t have card reader/Apple Pay.

    Check in was easy. Room clean. Flatscreen and mini fridge. Had a balcony with an ocean view. Nice washers and dryers. Staff changed dollars into quarters. Convenient location. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Quiet place to sleep; not fancy.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom ceiling needed cleaning. Room needs to be updated. Parking was not that conveniently located for some. Food in restaurant was average.

    The front desk staff was very friendly. Flowers in the lobby were fresh and attractively displayed. There were complimentary locally grown fruits provided by the hotel staff for guests at the front desk. The hotel was quiet compared to others that had a feeling of high energy. If you just need a place to stay that has a local feel to it, stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Noisy but nice personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite noisy its directly below the flightpath of Hilo Airport which we thought didn't have so many flights per day but actually it has a lot of military traffic at all times of day and some in the night. People were partying and shouting at the pool way past quiet time (don't get a pool side room)

    Nice personel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We loved our stay in this hotel and highly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were super impressed with this hotel - from the staff who were super friendly to the services and cleanliness, it was all just amazing! The facilities were all in great condition too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff was great and facilities were clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool area shuts down at 6pm. It needs to stay open a couple of hours more. It could use a Jacuzzi as well.

    The staff helped us out with an ADA room. It really helped and we are grateful!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fantastic stay! The ladies at the front were extremely helpful and accommodating - Judy and Iiana were truly amazing, they helped to make our stay one for the books!! Excellent views, comfy beds, clean and quite spacious. Great value, looking forward to returning hopefully very soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Liked it enough to come back once already- good price for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't expect two single beds, but I stayed here once before, so I knew that we'd have to carry luggage up some steps to the room, and I didn't mind it. Things do get a bit damp in the rain, and it rains a lot, so a fan or hair dryer in the room to dry things would have been handy.

    Things here were clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom, decent amenities, free parking. The decor, with quilted items and a little museum of local historical artifacts, was great, and the location was SO convenient, a few minutes from the airport, around the corner from beautiful parks and the bay, and right on the road to Hawaii Volcanos National Park. We could walk to Ken's Pancake House, just across the road. The staff was always nice, and they had fresh local fruit at the desk daily, which was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Clean, pleasant stay for an older hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping forgot to leave towels one day, but picked them up at the desk.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean. Airport noise nearby is not as bad as I originally worried about. Free bananas and papayas at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Always enjoy are stays here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed by the poolside this time and was noiser than our previous visit

    We have stayed here a few times now and have really enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and I love that you can get free fruit at the front desk. I’m sure we will stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    the room was cleaned nuce
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was to far in and up stairs, when i come back from work it so hard to walk that far in then Up stairs didnt like that at Alll....

    the room was cleaned nuce

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location and friendly staff, however, too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room is right next to a busy road, I could hear every car passing by, was way too noisy.

    The staff were very friendly and location is close to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    It was ok until!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yesterday we checked in, only me went and used the bathroom, made number 1 and had to flush the toilet 2 times so my tissue could go down , got up this morning to use the bathroom again only me, number 1, had to pick my partner up cause he was still at a party , I heard bubbling sound the toilet was backing up n kaka was coming out so I asked the front desk to call someone, I left pick up my partner n got something to eat, when we came back he ask me to check the toilet and nobody came yet and this is like 1-2 hours later, so we just decided to check out instead. And it was still early ugh

    It was ok until!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in very convenient location across from a beautiful lagoon. It was great having a salad bar in the restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Our family enjoyed our stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice. We had breakfast at coconut grill. It was delicious. We had complimentary bananas which was sweet. We difinetly reccommend others & will look forward to future stays.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool hours could have been a bit longer. Closes at 6pm but probably because it gets dark around that time.

    The staff were super friendly. The whole place was super clean. The building and fixtures were very retro with a lot of character and charm. The fresh fruit and ice cold citrus water in the lobby were a really nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay in Hilo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included. It said it was included but you get a banana and papaya only.

    A good place to stay in Hilo. Clean and simple, good shower, good bed, parking lot available. Id stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Very nice moment. Worth it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location of the hotel. I like also the arrangement of room near the swimming pool. The rooms are nice and well cleaned everyday. The laundry is very efficient and the staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Workers are really nice but not organize.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly no parking space. Lady told be room was not ready when I told her what time I'll be there around 12-3pm I had to wait 2 hours for my room, they told me they would of called and didn't! So I called them and asked if it was ready and they said they was?? Wish they would called me instead of me calling can't believe I had to wait 2 hours.

    Workers are really nice but not organize.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old style Hawaiian hotel. Rooms are mixed ask for on the front overlooking garden and ocean. Staff excellent. Restaurant good price but service so-so

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Phenomenal service with a retro Hawaii vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's dated which I liked because it's reminiscent of an earlier era.

    Excellent service. Standard checkout time is noon so you don't have to rush and totally walkable to all Hilo site (1-2 miles). I checked in late so didn't experience the restaurant but it looked fun. And if you like koi this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too expensive for this room at 144$ beds weren’t comfy, Old TV, towels racks falling off walls in bathroom, wet carpeted floor in the room and Very Noisy Neighbors

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a shame about the weather - it did not stop raining.

    Great location, friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. Parking around the back is good - off the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, shower is the lowest I have ever seen. Resturant food was very rich with little healthy options.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    I would stay their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough parking; very dependent on guests being able to park along the closest public street.

    Although i did not utilize it, the onsite dining is an asset. Close to another good bar and restaurant when you desire a change.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were next to the laundry which didn’t close when it was displayed. Had to call reception to get it turned off. Also couldn’t pay with my debit card which was really inconvenient.

    Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fridge didn't work. Orange infused water had only snow cone cups to drink. It was expensive. The parking was so small!

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. Complementary fruits were very nice. he room was small but cozy enough. Location is NICE!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was very good apart from the worry of water safety of our toddler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much in the way of ceiling light. The light in the room and bathroom were on the same circuit and controlled by one switch. There were bedside lights though to be fair. More importantly,we have a 3 year old boy and the swimming pool albeit lovely, was very deep and not fenced. The door of the room had a modern swipe card lock fitted. To unlock and open the door from inside you only needed to pull down on the door handle. In order to stop our boy running out to the pool continuously we had to get the maintenance guy to give us some wedges of wood to jam the door shut. A drowning risk for toddlers if momentarily left unsupervised

    Two clean comfortable double beds were great. All the staff were kind friendly and helpful. Lovely location with pond and tidal estuary Nice little white sand beach nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    - very nice people, always helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - not many beaches to actually swim - these are on the other side of the island (2 hours driving) - weather often rainy

    - very nice people, always helpful - clean room - close to the airport - laundry abailable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room but a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price paid for the room was higher than it should have been. No paper and no pen in the room.

    Beds were very comfortable. The view was great! Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s difficult to hear the neighbors open and close the doors but this is a common problem in every hotel

    That place was much cleaner more peaceful and beautifully decorated with garden and waiting room decor or, more than we expected after reviewing trip advisor pictures . Front desk people are lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    good quality of room . Breakfast poor .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be carefull .You must be sure that the payment is the right one . I was charged twice but fortunatly I got my money back . Breakfast could be better .

    room large and confortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel sits along Banyan Drive, which is a beautiful walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel sits along Banyan Drive, which is a beautiful walk with very large trees. The property is a unique place, with a Koi pond and some beautiful landscaping. The room was not huge, but adequate for 2 people. We loved the low key atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Hawaiian style hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in Hawaiian style and operated by hawaiian people. It is not so Americanized as the corporate hotels you can find around the islands. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave you the feeling you could ask for anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator (interesting climbing stairs with a heavy baggage)

    The free parking in the courtyard The near-by Coconut Restaurant - amazing dinner Close to the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Close to airport (when you arrive late or leave early);
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had room next to road, which is pretty noisy during night.

    Close to airport (when you arrive late or leave early); free wifi; flexible checkout time (upon asking); free local fruits at the reception desk, fine pool. Close to hotel is really amazing restaurant, named Kens House of Pancakes :).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Nice overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An elevator might be needed for many people

    The bed was great our view of the koi pond and the bay was great. The airplanes are as noisy as they must be, but there are not many. We ate at Ponds which was only ok for what we ordered. Rain showers this morning - we are off to the farmers market.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.7
    Okayish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation - planes 'landing' in the room as of 6 in the morning Very dated interior Staff is not very helpful. We've arrived before 9 pm and me trying to carry my 4 year old that was asleep, suite cases didn't see any effort from staff to help

    Pool area is really lovely as well as some internal gardens Very close to town center and roads leading to Volcano and Kalapana

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasant place to stay, which added to my enjoyment of the Big Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's right by the airport, so of course there are the planes, but they stop at a reasonable hour.

    Comfortable bed, excellent lighting, fridge, fresh fruit at the front desk every morning, very friendly and helpful staff. It's a nice nieghborhood to walk around, and there are some wonderful banyan trees.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    It was a great experience for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great experience for the price. My kids loved the fact that it was near a park and right across ice ponds where they seen fishes and turtles, with locals jumping and swimming in the water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    The parking is good and the ubication is near a road so you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel hat not elevator, so you must to get the luggage to the room, so tray not to get rooms in the upper levels.

    The parking is good and the ubication is near a road so you can reach easily what ever place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The close proximity to the airport, but it’s okay.

    Great place in every way. I love this classic Hawaiian 🌺 hotel reminiscent of days gone by. Hawaiian owned with free bicycle rentals on top of it all. Great 👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely stay here again. The grounds were beautiful! It was quiet and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    The area. It was great to get out in the morning to take a jog. Our room was looking out to the pool area which was pretty. (Wish the pool was warmer tho)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite difficult to find in the dark, satnav just didn't seem to recognise area

    Huge carp pool - interesting to watch enormous fish. Location was good - walked to local cafes/ restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    When I return to Hilo, I will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It backed up against a major highway and it got a little noisy from the trucks about 6AM.

    We were by the pool and it was quiet as far as hotel noise. The guest laundry had commercial size machines. $3.00 to wash plus $3.00 to dry quarters only. Very convenience access to both highways going around the island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our time there at the Hilo Seaside Hotel... IT WAS GREAT! MAHALO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comment!

    The Hotel accommodations were comfortable. However, we did not use the pool due to rain. Didn't have any meals at the restaurant. We heard the Coconut Grill has a great Prime Rib. Loved our stay at the Hilo Seaside Hotel. Mahalo...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no ramp to room 150 level, so I had to carry my two luggages down the stairs.

    The rooms were clean, the maids cleaned the room early in the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place for starting excursions on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No activities around the hotel. Downtown is also rather disappointing. Need a car to get around in the evening,

    Very good breakfast. Excellent seafood (especially the crab dishes) in the restaurant of the hotel. Good location for driving excursions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Reasonably priced clean quite & nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough varieties on the restaurant menu

    The bed & pillows were very comfortable the ceiling fan was great just love the papaya soap & shampoo property well mantained & very clean staff good customer service friendly & polite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Excellence and Aloha at Hilo Seaside
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have a single complaint.

    Hilo Seaside is consistently excellent. A beautiful property, Hawaiian owned, with true Aloha. Clean rooms with super comfy beds and ice cold AC. Gorgeous pool area. In beautiful part of Hilo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff awesome, clean, quite, we had everything to make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold around the inside of the pool, I know this is a problem on Kona. The pool steps are to narrow, too steep, I really think they are a liability

    Staff awesome, clean, quite, we had everything to make our stay comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    It was worth it for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked on booking that let me decide if I wanted to pay cash at the hotel instead of using my credit card I opted for cash at the hotel for them to tell me they don't take cash

    The fresh fruits and cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    This is a unique property and very old world Hawaiian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a unique property and very old world Hawaiian. The staff were lovely and especially accommodating to my 7 year old son when he wanted to help feed the koi in the water garden. We would stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Thank you seaside for your warm aloha,my wife and i can't wait for our return...MALAMA PONO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest there was really nothing that i was disappointed about.

    The bed was very comfortable,loved the idea that there is a on site restaurant ("coconut grill" awesome kinds grinds)really felt the aloha spirit as a matter of fact when we were checking in they had complementary papaya's that for me was over the top welcome,i will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff is really nice and helpful, and the pool was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is really nice and helpful, and the pool was a nice place to relax after a day of visiting around. The beds were great and comfy. On top, we had fresh bananas and papaya everyday from the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    For the price it's a great place can't complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool hours 9am till 6pm. We hardly used it because it closes so early. Laundry hours 8am-8p we usually get back late to the room. Termite sprayed or pest sprayed every other Monday and we wasn't told ahead of time and we where there with 4 kids and their toys and stuff was all out!

    Loved the free fruits you can get at the front desk daily like bananas and papayas and exotic fruits and also the free lemon,orange,cucumber water you can get free daily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Very Convenient, Clean, Quit, Comfortable and Pleasant!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments...

    I would sure like to know, the name brand of the Bed and Pillows that's in room #1??? It was very, very comfortable. I slept like a baby... And woke up with no back and neck pains.... That made a big difference, getting through my day... If need to book any hotel in the near future on the island of Hilo... I will sure have no hesitation, to book at the Hilo Seaside...Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    staff was amazing- for being an older property it was...
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was amazing- for being an older property it was extremely clean. We loved the little museum in the hotel with Hawaiian history & artifacts. Very impressed. Exterior could use a fresh coat of paint, but don't let it deter you from staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    I will only stay at this hotel on the big island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little hectic at night but I was generally pulling in around 11 pm or later.

    The beds felt like clouds they were amazing. The pool was also great small but still it went to like 8 or 12 feet. The hotel is also very well taken care of.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Practical, good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no views from our room, and the same is true of most rooms from what I could see. There's an airport curfew at Hilo but those needing an early night won't appreciate being directly under the flight path. A guest kitchen would have been useful.

    At check in we were met by friendly, happy and helpful staff, and first impressions were of a clean and quiet hotel. The rooms are average size for a building of this era but they are well presented and seem well maintained. As part of the building there's a miniature museum which is a nice feature. There's also a restaurant within the hotel which served a good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The site has a lovely layout, incorporating garden features. It is within easy reach of the road network to sights of interest. The ocean is a "stone's throw" away. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Quaint and great for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities look like it was from the 1970s and a little outdated but it was clean and well maintained. Gives it a quaint look for those who don't mind and great for the price.

    Great views and convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Seaside
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled like beer and cigarettes. No air con after a certain time. I was sweating in my room. Not for someone with mobility issues. I struggled with the distance.

    I liked the staff and how clean it was.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    I would definitely stay here the next time
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had ask for a room closer to the pool instead I got a room closer to the parking lot it worked out..

    My grand boys enjoyed going to ice ponds and to the pool very much....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Hilo Seaside Hotel on the bay scenic, quiet, good for couples, families, or business stays.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't find anything to complain about. local restaurants not that great.

    restaurant attached to hotel. breakfast second day. good selection of food. waiting staff very nice and pleasant. always checked on us to see if we needed anything. Hawaiian owned and staffed. very sweet people. older hotel but very clean not run down. pool wasn't large but well maintained and cleaned. beds were comfortable and air conditioning was good. have to return in a month for personal business. will stay there again and would recommend it to a friend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    We would gladly appreciate it if we could have a free 3day stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our unit which was 116 it was to far back... We'll because my father in law has stage 4 cancer he had to stay in the unit because the walk was to dramatic for him but that's the only thing he didn't like.

    The restraunt had awesome food it was ono (good). And the Auntys front desk was very nice.... Every morning at a certain time they would pass out fresh fruits and let me tell you that aunty whom ever she was that was holding that tray of Papayas she had to scold the old Chinese Lady for taking a bunch of papayas but otherwise we had a good vacation there thank you for your service... Mahalo!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    We luv our stay overall..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the a/c didn't work properly

    Please update your air conditioning... room was too warm.. my husband, daughter and I couldn't stand the heat... sorry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was confused about stuff. Different ppl were giving varying answers to questions regarding breakfast policies etc. Housekeeping wouldn't replace tissue box or sugar creamer etc

    Laundry room, pool & parking - rooms were also comfortable and bathroom seemed recently done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was literally 5-10 minutes from the Hilo Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot is a bit small - there were no spots left when we got back from dinner (and it is tight enough to be difficult to maneuver). There is overflow parking at the restaurant, which we used. The breakfast was definitely on island time - we had to catch our fight too early to eat there but were told when we checked in that we could show up right when breakfast started and ask for it to go. Unfortunately, we could not take advantage of this as the breakfast was still "not open" 10-15 minutes after it was supposed to open, and we needed to leave. There were also other people waiting for them to open the doors. Our other main complaint is that the shower head was SUPER low. I am 5'3" and it was borderline too short - my 6' husband practically had to fold in half to use it.

    The hotel was literally 5-10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. We flew out the morning we checked out, so that was especially appealing. The room was pretty standard, but it had plenty of space as far as we were concerned. You could see the ocean from the parking lot, so some rooms must have an ocean view. This is an ideal location if you need a landing spot for the night before a morning flight out of Hilo (which is what we did).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and very basic, furnishings a little dated, and there were a lot of mosquitos.

    Staff were very friendly, there was plenty of parking in the carpark.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Decent place to stay on Hilo given the limited options
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff was friendly considering we check in at a late time. 9p.m. She tried to accomodate our guests by upgrading our rooms, so our friends could have room relatively close to each other. Staff informed us of the

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    plan to go back next year and every year we can. Will consider it our Hilo home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool closed at 6:00. A bit too early. Rooms kind of funky with light switches in odd places. An older building. Didn't care due to wonderful location and staff.

    Felt comfortable from the minute we walked in. loved the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Comfort at a great price 😉
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the Hilo Seaside were very pleasant, and displayed Aloha. I appreciate the accommodations at the hotel and look forward to future business. Mahalo

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff and day staff didn't seem to coordinate information.

    The housekeeping staff promptly sent the charger I had left in the room. No one else does that!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: