Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Anchorage 3 stars

500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501, USA

#57 of 70 hotels in Anchorage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about Anchorage. The pool and hot tub were very clean The gym was very clean. The carpets were a little thread bare. Room service was very prompt and when I myself forgot to ask for condiments they brought it up to our room no questions asked. The maids were very nice and happy to give you whatever was needed even if you didn't want your room made up. The bed was firm and for me I loved it!! Most hotels have very soft beds which are very hard on my back. The view was amazing we stayed on the eighth floor and the view of the lake and the sunset were incredible. Overall it was a great place to stay! It is right in downtown Anchorage, easy walking distance to gift shops, restaurants, museums and a weekend Farmer's Market is right across the street. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Anchorage!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lamp shade torn and not similar. The entry rug was frayed. Ordered a mini-refrigerator that was never delivered. No shuttle service available. Not the "Hilton" we are use to staying in!

    The food service was very good and the wait staff outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This property is very dated. Old carpets and dusty and dirty. I did not like the room at all - the lobby was nice and deceiving. I expect a lot more from a Hilton - I was very disappointed with this hotel and it was expensive.

    The location was okay and the lobby was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel building itself was in need of major recapitalization. Old building with old building systems that really impact the quality (super loud plumbing, windows at that kept out none of the street noise,....). Pretty outrageous when you consider the prices this place charges. The condition was so poor I believe an overall rating of 2 or 3 would more accurate.

    Staff were good and did the most they could with this old building but they don't set the crazy high prices while not investing the $$$ needed to make this place what it purports (and charges) to be.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible Management and Untrained Staff. I arrived first, checked that the rooms were ok for my colleagues at 11:00 a.m. In fact they even gave me their 3 room numbers. In hindsight I should have given my credit card and taken the keys. Arrived with the colleagues include 2 journalists!!! at 10:30 p.m. and the rooms were not available AND that they would have to wait a bit while they got the rooms ready. Furthermore it took the front desk 45 minutes in order to write the invoice for the room in the name and address of one of the guests so that she could claim the business expense. Totally unacceptable for any hotel that claims to be 4 star, much less HILTON!

    Location and Coffeeshop in the Lobby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of some of the drinks at the hotel bar was not acceptable. One of the draft beers was not drinkable (tasted like mixture of beer and water) on the first day and all the draft beers were sold out on the next day.

    The location of this hotel is very good, close to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable. The staff in the reception area were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    We were coming off a cruise in Seward, 2 of family members were traveling on Alaska railroad to Denali the next day. The other 5 people had flights out at various times that day we checked in. The facilities for Regent Seven Seas on top level for shuttle to airport and handling of luggage were good. 2 family members got to take a nap in our room before catching their shuttle . My sister and I were 2 streets over from the train station and could walk over with luggage the following AM.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property has two buildings joined together ,one old ,one newer, we were given a room in the old original section . It needed renovation ,the carpets smelled of smoke, there was no fridge in the room, the air conditioner was noisy and there was street noise. If you have to stay here ask for a room in the newer section.

    Convient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grout in bathroom discolored. Blackout curtains had holes paint chipped on bathroom door. Security bar slipped and locked us out of our room requiring maintenance to break it off the door. Maintenance said it was installed improperly.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking each time you left and would come back. In room dining was gravely expensive. Food was not good.

    Great view!staff was also friendly. Hotel was kept clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid $189 for the room and parking at the hotel. For almsot $200 a night, I expected more. The lobby is beautiful, but the rooms look like they haven't been updated in about 15 years. I felt like I was staying at a low-grade motel. You're definitely paying for the convenience of the location.

    The location is great! The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions, restaurants and bars. My husband and I attended an event at the Egan convention center and could walk there from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I picked a bad night to rent the room, it was the weekend of FurRondy, and just about all the roads are blocked off to get to the hotel so it made parking very hard.

    Loved the part of down town I was in, has great views and near very good restaurants. I needed batteries for decorations I hung for Valentine's Day and the front desk had someone deliver them for free up to my room within less than 5 min.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we wanted a pool weekend with the kids your pool was out of order at the busy time of year .... new years eve! why cant you prepare for this. it was such an inconvenience!

    did not stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not informed prior to booking or at check-in that the pool facilities were closed due to a heating problem. This was booked as a staycation in our own town for the New Year's celebration and the kids were excited to use the pool but we're unable to use it.

    Room service was quick.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't really understand why it's so expensive, other than the name on the building... the hotel does not really offer much, rooms are plain, bathroom is small, the "city view" was a view of the port. Just overall don't see why it's so expensive, the hotel wasn't super busy and they don't offer much here. Okay place to stay if you wanna spend a lot for not a whole lot of offerings.

    Nice place, really clean and well taken care of. Staff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a Hilton the rooms are run down and need serious serious fixing. Shower knobs falling off, wall paper bubbling and peeling. The gym was roomy but man it also needed updating.

    Location and Staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was atrocious Holes in darkening curtains Peeling wall paper Bath and toilet stained. Looked like a $50 room that cost $389.

    Towels fluffy Bed good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and unwelcoming especially your young lady working the night at the reception should not be working in hospitality or train her! Old facility

    Location close to train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby restaurant was closed during many of the hours that you would expect a restaurant to be open??

    Walking distance to all the local sites including the Sunday market. Front desk accommodated a room request

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered glass of wine, a hour later called room service back and they said they were busy, 2 hours later still no wine, got charged for it but never received it!

    It was just okay, not what I expected from a Hilton.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need a free breakfast option, in room refrigerator. Also very disappointing that the photos online and the AAA Tour book show this hotel as having a hot tub. There is a place where a hot tub was that is now filled with potted plants. My kids were very disappointed since we promised them one based on the information we had.

    nice in room shampoo and coffee. breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really did not like taking a shower in a pool of water tub drainage not good, Also no exhaust fans in the bathroom?

    The staff was great, Queen rooms were a bit small but comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I checked in two other people tried to enter my room to check in. Room service took an hour and a $4 bottle of water was added to my order which I did not order. Breakfast was not fresh so they comped me. Bar was never open. Bathroom and tub super worn out. No hot water (it was fixed but out for a while).

    Location is stellar and nice lobby and workout room. The staff is overwhelmed - big town business but small town people running it. Everyone was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old. Style old. Water damage in the room. Just tired wall paper/ covering. Windows screwed shut for safety obviously but badly done. Windows filthy. TV screen quality not great yet expensive movies. Used the gym. Great it was never shut but broken machinery which was not repaired during my two day stay. Internet present but also not great. For a major brand hotel in Alaska's biggest city in todays day and age in America. Not acceptable. From my extensive travel, I'd was paying twice the price I should be for what I got. Hotel is living off the brand name Hilton but is not worth it.

    Staff were polite and reasonably efficient. No issues with 3am chckin following flight delays.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good sandwich

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, no complaints

    Clean, nice rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, smelt like cigarettes

    Complinterary champaine and strawberries

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cock roaches in my bathroom

    The broken hot tub because I forgot my suit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave, refrigerator or back mirror in the restroom.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the beds, the air circulation was a bit warm but cracking the window open gave that nice fresh breeze.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad room service. Train horn is extremely loud throughout the whole night. Rooms a bit dated for a Hilton

    . Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room cleaning. No frigobar, no hairdryer

    Reception Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the room

    The room was facing a wall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and cleanliness! Also, the staff were very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view and cost

    Close to hospitality centre for cruise ship and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Location, concierge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great size room - very helpful staff and hotel in a very good location Breakfast very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean and the staff was not friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking. - a bummer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, expensive valet parking (30$ if I remember) only. Rooms look tired, lobby is grim, depressing property

    Good location, good gym size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is kind of a pain.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt dirty. Wasn't told that I had to pay for parking, until I got the bill

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overpriced. pool was closed. parking was $30 a day, on top of overpriced rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed to early

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hottub has been converted into a giant planter. Bed was lumpy. Room not aging well and coming across as a bit seedy.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm greeting at reception. Very helpful with local points of interest and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey and no complimentary breakfast or shuttle

    Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silly green claim .. Towel can't room dry as there are no towel rails. Hook on a door is nonsense.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy because the train's sound My room was in front of the elevator noise too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off at 3am and did not stop until about 4:15am. Very annoying did not really get to go back to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, carpet old and torn in spots.

    Great location in downtown Anchorage. Easy to walk around downtown.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is dated and needs updating. Staff in general not that friendly.

    Location. Checking out. Bell Men were great. Cleaning staff great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked a suite through Booking .com; but upon arrival we were given a standard room because the suites had been taken by the Hilton's sales staff. The Hilton's appearance in the hallways was disappointing. There were exposed wires hanging from the ceiling due to maintenance. There wasn't a small fridge or microwave in the room. The name "Hilton" used to mean quality and class, so we were very disappointed with the hotel. Sorry to say but it would take a lot for me to book a stay at the Hilton again.

    The staff was very polite and helpful. The counter staff tried their best to handle the booking problems we had.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We came in to Anchorage to take care of some business then spend the night enjoying the pool and hot tub (the hot in was displayed on the Internet). The hot tub was nonfunctional. We were pretty disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What I didn't like was that, what was the purpose to have a credit card when making the arrangements when my boyfriend couldn't even check in without me. Had to leave work just to come to the hotel cause they wanted the credit card!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service at dinner was poor. My tip indicated that. However breakfast service and food was very good.

    Shower and bed excellent. Room clean and good layout. Great view.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive but I guess they can charge what they want cause you need accom if you are going on a cruise :) the Hilton was just a brand really....not a 'flash' hotel at all

    Really nice gym! Location was good, nice enough hotel, bed was great!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only parking option we found was valet. Thought the room would come with a view - should ask before arriving.

    Staff was friendly. It would be helpful if someone were to explain the area and eating, shopping and parking options. I would highly recommend Humpy's for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Way over priced for what it is!!!!!!! Booked a king got a double bed room. $419.00 a night very overly priced no difference between this hotel and a holiday inn express.

    The only hotel in town with rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They had no record of the reservation I made through booking.com. I had a copy of the confirmation from booking.com and they gave me a nicer room for the price I had booked for though.

    The staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like most hotels the bathroom is poorly lit, making it difficult to apply makeup. Also not enough counter space in the bathroom for toiletries. The room service staff and presentation was great but the food was not as tasty as expected. The room was cold for me and not enough blankets on the bed. Could use a spare blanket in the room maybe in the closet for folks like me.

    The location of this hotel was near both my business appointments and close to shopping and restaurants. The shower water pressure was strong enough.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    we asked for a crib for 2 year old they did not bring it even though we called 3 times baby fell out of bed bumped face got a bloody nose and scratched the side of her face. Went to front desk the next day and finally got a crib told them about her falling out of bed and just barley got an apology.

    room was quiet and nice

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice room, I came for a getaway for my birthday weekend and the bar/restaurant was so sweet gave me cheesecake and sang happy birthday! I will never forget this weekend!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI should be free for every body not only for Hilton members, Management should be shame to ask a payment for Wifi when asking such a rate.

    Very good location downtown, quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very basic rooms, very expensive for what you get, train tracks too close to hotel so kept getting woken up every time it passed through

    staff were fabulous, upgraded me and gave me free wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. They could not get the Booking.com reservations right. Two were not even "in their system" despite me being able to pull them up on the phone. 2. Rooms are NYC small. 3. No local shuttle service. 4. Front desk did not know what they were doing. 5. Extremely slow cleaning service. 6. Overpriced at 199/night.

    Proximity to downtown and railroad depot. Don't buy into the hype that it is "just a couple of blocks away" from railroad depot. There is a good vertical distance to cover as well.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was tiny with not even a hanger or place to hang clothes. Housekeeping was very subpar.

    Location for my visit was great. Restaurant was tasty and convenient. Bell and valet staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We couldn't check in until almost 3 hours after check-in time,pool didn't have any towels on top of it being very cold water, price of the room service was ridiculous for scrappy food.

    Can't really say that I liked much

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Better lighting in room. Very dim.

    Very quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in center of Anchorage, AK

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were bugs on the pillows. It was disgusting. When we notified front desk staff, they did not seem surprised!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi should be free. Breakfast was a little expensive.

    The bed was so comfy. Great location to downtown and the train depot.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very good service, far to go to the centre town and nic vieuw on the montains

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Anchorage traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: