Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia 3 stars

8241 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045, USA

#9 of 13 hotels in Columbia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable, restful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most exceptional part of my stay was the incredible manners, helpfulness, information and smile that came from Patrick at the desk. I believe he is a General Manager at the facility. I couldn't have asked for anything more. He deserves a raise! I hope you appreciate the value of this employee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    When I checked out the lady was not friendly.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked out the lady was not friendly. She did not give a receipt because I booked with booking.com. I asked her questions and she didn't want to help me. We checked out a day early because my sons baseball tournament was cancelled. I called booking.com to check if I was charged for 2 nights instead of 3. The lady from Booking.com was very nice to me. I told her the story about us leaving a day early. She was going to call the hotel to get some answers but they didn't respond yet. Do I am waiting on a answer about my bill. Also my kids asked for one towel and housekeeper threw it at my kids. Thank you Jamie Hackenberg....Room 222

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The pool and hot tub were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilation in the bathroom didn’t seem to be doing anything. Sometimes you need good ventilation in the bathroom if you know what I mean!!!! Bar closes to early.

    The pool and hot tub were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room but don't pay for the sub-standard breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    Same breakfast that comes free at almost all other hotels cost $10.95 here. Food was not worth the extra cost...dry potatoes and small fruit selection.

    Comfortable and clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Below the bar of this chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In town for cancelled tournament, hotel would not let us cancel. Tried to make best of it, but it just was not as friendly and welcoming as other HGs. They didn’t restock coffee pods in room, so went to lobby to get a cup and was told I needed to pay $2 +taxes for my measly cup . Nice. Indoor Pool was cloudy and had leaves and hair ,like clumps of hair, floating in it.

    As with other Hilton Gardens this hotel was modern and clean and glazed in motivational marketing. Easy access to highways.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Excellent and would stay in another Hilton Garden Inn again for sure!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of 1 thing!!

    Everything about hotel was perfect! Comfy bed, nice room, shower pressure good! Even had a Kuerig with 3 kinds of coffee and tea! Gave you bottled water upon arrival! Nice cold flavored water in lobby!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant but I wasn't in the room much. Breakfast was good value although Not C
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was not flushing properly . A child was in the room above , running and jumping late at night & early in the morning. In the future I would have quests with young children on a ground floor if at all possible.

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Not so hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, but adequate. Party at hotel Saturday night. Pounding bass transmitted through walls from first floor to our room on third until 1AM. Sleep not possible. Front desk responded with- “well, they should be wrapping up soon...” Charge for breakfast. Better options in nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Rooms good, breakfast service terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was terrible! Bad and not helpful service. They forgot my pancakes. They do not refill coffee (no coffee since 10min!!!). If I asked somebody there are only excuses. My table were not cleaned from the old stuff over 1:30 hours I sit there. Maybe totally understaffed or not professional. They work very slowly...

    Hotel room was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean and an amazing Mexican restaurant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, I don't have a single concern except that breakfast - while delicious - was a bit pricey.

    The property was beautiful, very clean and surrounded by great food and shopping options. The bar/breakfast area was designed to remind travelers of a kitchen in a private home - kitchen island and all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but beware of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in the lady at the desk was very happy to tell me what I could not have because I did not book through the hotel and at check out the desk lady was more interested in her news paper. Will not visit that location anymore too many hotels in the area. Thanks for your time.

    The cleaning staff was very accommodating and the late night desk manager was very nice really appreciate him sorry not to have gotten his name.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great short term stay, definitely book here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything was really nice, breakfast was really good and really clean and well located hotel. Staff was very nice, and will consider returning in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Don't Hesitate to Book It!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price, it would be nice to have breakfast included.

    The check-in process was quick and easy! The staff was also super-friendly! The entire place was clean and well-kept...and quiet!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.3
    At the price, the breakfast should be complimentary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa didn't have enough water in it and the jets are not positioned correctly or pressurized all the way around. Some strong, some not. There was a live bug on the curtain in the room upon return one evening. No vent in bathroom.

    Evening cookies and fruit water were delicious. No sugar free options for hot chocolate

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Definitely worth a stay...remember the bed is adjustable :)
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable for me. Did not know it was an air-adjustable bed until checkout. Turns out there was a small sign on the check-in desk that I did not see. Would suggest they also have the clerks tell you about the feature and have a folded card on the bed. I would have rated our entire stay a 10 except for this.

    The continental breakfast, which included waffles...was just $5.95. We liked the indoor Jacuzzi and swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    I could & would stay here again....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get on the WiFi & the young lady that woeked overnight was very new and did not know the password to get on the WiFi. When we checked out the young lady in the morning informed that we should've gotten that info when we checked in but the person who checked us in didn't provide that info. However be sure to just put one persons last name in guest box on Booking.com I messed up and put both names for us who were sharing a room so that was the other trouble with not being able to connect to the WiFi.

    It's about 15 mins away from the Harbor but 10 mins away from the event I was attending. I like the fact that parking was free, the hotel has a pool and there are some restaurants & stores not far away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    My opinion about the rate was high after I had stayed and experienced.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a plate, fork and knife that I was using had not washed good when I was having breakfast there.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was close by

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Every thing was great,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV need upgrade with remote

    Every thing was great,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv monitor was too small

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfasts were great
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were double not wueen

    Breakfasts were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Nice amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice amenities. Clean, nice size rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Overall accommodations were great.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included

    Very comfortable & clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was clean, staff was friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Everything was great except for customer service and wifi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service couldve been much better.

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Easy in // easy. Out: food excellent, staff courteous & professional, restaurant s, etc. Nearby,.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The. Chef. Is. Excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Best place to stay.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff went above and beyond my expectations. I will recommend this establishment to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Overall great trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Overall great trip

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was very courteous and helpful knowing the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    free breakfast accomendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    free breakfast accomendation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Food was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking through booking.com. Will never do again.

    Food was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Asked for a quiet room but they put us in a room near an air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a quiet room but they put us in a room near an air conditioning compressor that was loud.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel, I stay here every year. I've never been disappointed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Location and value

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a quite room and the staff delivered a very quite location, Thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    My stay was very comfortable and the location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi should have stayed open later.

    The jacuzzi and indoor pool was so needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, friendly comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    The chef was awesome and pleasant as was the entire staff I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing I didn't like is that I could not stay longer. Oh and Uber was unavailable in the area

    The chef was awesome and pleasant as was the entire staff I came in contact with.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.6
    LOVED the location - felt safe - it was very clean and the...
    • Group

    The ONLY complaint that I have - our room was not cleaned and we had to ask for new towels...but that could have been our fault as well - we didn't leave until mid morning and maybe that was too late??

    LOVED the location - felt safe - it was very clean and the area had a lot to offer and was close enough to the city, but far enough out - perfect.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.1
    We loved the location and the hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms can stand a facelift! Just a little dated with the wallpaper and lampshades. Although we enjoyed the actual sleeping room (Jr. Suite) with the amenities and the extra space, the mattress was awful and definitely needed to be replaced. One side was elevated while the other side had a major dip in the mattress! Everytime either my husband or I moved during the night, the bed squeaked! I'm still dealing with pain in my lower back from Friday night's stay :-( Also, the walls were paper thin. We could hear people next door talking. Thankfully, we were already awake!

    We loved the location and the hospitality. The front desk staff members were great! The room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    I have stayed at the Owings Mills, Maryland location as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed at the Owings Mills, Maryland location as well and because of the easiness to travel to various destinations I enjoyed my stay at the Columbia, Maryland site.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    My husband and I used to live in Columbia, MD and our grown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a single complaint. And I can almost always find something to complain about!

    My husband and I used to live in Columbia, MD and our grown children still live there. We have been looking for a place to stay for our fairly frequent visits. Finally, we think we have found our home away from home. Each and every staff member we met were very welcoming and helpful. The chef/bartender was very personable. Both managers that we met were friendly and helpful. Maybe because it was a holiday week the other customers were even friendly. We loved the living room area, with fireplace, where we were able to relax and visit with friends from the area. We tried a very expensive B&B in the area and the Hilton Garden had a far superior ambience, food, cleanliness, etc., for much less cost. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    As we first arrived we liked the attractive, high class but...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    As we first arrived we liked the attractive, high class but home feel to the lobby, it is very appealing, and the free wine tasting in was a nice added benefit. Rooms were very clean and had great amenities, beds and bedding. The staff were all very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff at the front desk were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel is not on the main road, nor are there any signs. I had to call the hotel.

    The staff at the front desk were very nice. I really enjoyed the patio/garden area with rattan furniture. I would sit outside after breakfast to read. A breakfast buffet was available at a cafe for 10.99, many great selections.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Just a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!

    Just a great place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Clean,hot tub,swimming pool, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean,hot tub,swimming pool, comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    6.7
    Beds far too firm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds far too firm

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed. Very clean hotel. Sometimes hotels say they are non smoking, but they still smell like smoke, this hotel did not.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was very friendly. Great breakfast and kids were free. Near some restaurants and not far from Baltimore Zoo. Pool & hot tub were clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location Friendly staff Room clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and comfortable

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: