Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3 stars

3232 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202, USA

#47 of 103 hotels in Columbus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    This is a great place to stay when visiting the OSU campus. Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish there would have been continental breakfast provided.

    Very comfortable beds; good water pressure in the shower. It was nice to have coffee available in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    It’s location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn’t have the big ten network on the tv’s in the rooms .... plus I was on 2nd floor for the 2nd week in a row and the ice machine didn’t work

    It’s location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived in our room, the bed pillows were not in place, one was uncovered, and one looked wrinkled and used. Front desk staff came up and corrected the problem and changed all pillowcases. Shower head was broken and flopped down rather than spraying in correct direction. Next day housekeeping came in before I had the chance to say I was in the room. Dirty towels removed, no new towels added. One bath towel but when you’re in the room alone and you’ve just gotten out of the shower you have to make do. And finally, Dylan looked completely unprofessional. He needs to invest in a hair cut, a shave, and an iron.

    Great location to OSU. Friendly front desk staff. Hot breakfast was very good as was service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay! Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roll away bed was horrible, there was no padding and all you felt were the springs however we asked housekeeping to give us a quilt and a few blankets and used them to pad under the fitted sheet and it was perfect. Was very appreciative to have the roll away just wished it had padding. The first night sleeping on it was rough until we figured out what to do.

    King sized bed was comfortable, room was clean and updated. Shower was clean and pressure was good. Loved the fruit infused water in the lobby and the cookies later in the day. Staff from the moment we checked in to the housekeeping were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, Friendly and Clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure in the shower was poor. I had to turn it on as hot as possible just get enough pressure to rinse my hair. If I turned it cooler it just dribbled. The refrigerator was only on if the light over it was on. Had to shut it off at night.

    The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall the hotel was good. Friendly staff and and great amenities but the pillows were terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not that comfortable and pillows were awful. I laid down and I might as well have been sleeping right on the mattress. I woke up with a back ache both mornings

    Room was clean and large

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Good room. I’m usually pleased with Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft. Front desk staff not very knowledgeable, or kind. Not horrible but definitely not friendly and helpful!

    Shower was great! Good water pressure and clean shower are very important when staying away from home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Why should I have to pay for breakfast with the rates...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why should I have to pay for breakfast with the rates charged? I have stayed at very nice hotels with cheaper rates and breakfast included. Stay was wonderful until breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    I was a repeat customer at that location but I will always book Marriotts as a first choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received two smoking rooms when I requested non smoking and they stunk. I booked the rooms in plenty of time before they sold out but I was told I got the smoking rooms because I went through bookings.com.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean, nicely decorated, good lighting in parking lot.
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was upset that the refrigerator in room was in plugged so I was warm but plugged it in and it did work and get cold. Did not notify front desk since it did work and get cold. Also patch job in the bathroom above shower didn't make me feel comfortable was waiting for water or something to poor down. Husband was upset that the 9.95 breakfast did not include bacon so he ate elsewhere. I really don't have major complaints these are just little things that the hotel could improve on to be rated 10.

    Clean, nicely decorated, good lighting in parking lot. Staff was nice, smiling, courteous to guest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    The stay was wonderful, just rocky start.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn't locate our reservation when we arrived, even though I had a paper copy of my confirmation. It turns out they had our reservation for different days than we reserved for.

    The room was very comfortable. I liked the Keurig coffee maker. I would have brought some of my flavored coffee from home to use if I knew it was in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Mediocre hotel, with a "put out" front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first staff member that greeted us, Mimi L. was extremely rude and made it know that she would not do anything to assist us. We didn't take it personally, because we observed as she was rude to the customer ahead of us, the customer behind us, and the employee that worked the shuttle service. She was also extremely irritated that we all arrived when she was trying to conduct a personal phone call. We clearly were interfering with her personal life. The hotel itself was mediocre at best. Fairly clean, yes. But for the cost of the stay, the standard-issue continental breakfast (cold cereal, bagels, juice) was an additional $9+/person, the tiny indoor pool was overly chlorinated (we had to leave after 20 minutes because it was irritating to the kids' and my inlaws' lungs), and I couldn't get past the rudeness of the first person that greeted us and represented the hotel. The room was just "okay." I would never recommend this hotel, or return.

    We were in a handicapped accessible room, so it was a pretty nice size. Everything seemed clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Stay
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. I don't really need to go through booking.com. Didn't save any money doing it...

    Personnel were very friendly and accommodating... definitely were there to be of service to you... Mimi was exceptional... Your survey only allows traveling with family children under 18. I traveled with my son who is an adult.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who work there very rude....not helpful. Our stuff got locked in our room after asking for a late check out and no one was at front desk to help, so we waited for over a hour....then someone showed up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beds very comfortable, lobby very inviting, staff super...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walking ramp to the parking lot has a curb which made the pull luggage a little difficult, a bit of goose poop was in the parking lot for the two days I stayed, and on the morning of my departure I was in a bit of a hurry and the regular coffee was gone without a back up pot.. these are all nitpicky things I know but otherwise it was a 10.

    Beds very comfortable, lobby very inviting, staff super friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    The 2 guys working the front desk Tuesday (June 6th)...
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The female staff member at the front desk on Wednesday morning (June 7th) was very difficult to talk to. She seemed rude, didn't even care to look at me as she forcefully responded to my questions.

    The 2 guys working the front desk Tuesday (June 6th) evening/night were very courteous. The hotel was completely booked that night, but they moved us to a non smoking room as soon as it was available (on our request).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    I'd book again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area was kind of basic, Towels here not stocked in the pool area. Trash bins where full of beer bottles at 8AM and tables had bottle caps on them. Pool smelled strongly of chlorine.

    Easy to find, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the pool. It was down a long hallway and I didn't see an elevator nearby.

    Great staff. Very helpful. Had transportation to and from the event I was attending

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, booking not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability/Hearing Accessible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that they didn't have my reservation. Luckily they had rooms available. We were told that booking through booking.com doesn't guarantee a room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Especially liked the lemon water in the lobby. Really enjoyed talking to Danny Hamen. What an asset to your breakfast staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I DIDNT like that after I paid for my room and when we go to check out we were going to have breakfast and come to find out on top of paying for our room we had to pay for our breakfast. Most places are complimentary breakfast. Probably won't return for this reason. Not happy with that.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Comfy and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk supervisor didn't show any respect. She was very rude at times. Every other employee we encountered was great!

    Very comfy and quiet. Breakfast was cheap and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    A great hotel
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bit easier to find the turning from the road, but that's nitpicking.

    The staff were incredibly friendly, pleasant and helpful. The room itself was clean, comfortable, well furnished and large for the price paid, while the cooked breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Attracts wrong crowd
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unruly black people everywhere! The whole place was full of black people. They were loud, rude, and obnoxious. I will not stay here again.

    Free coffee, hot tub, pool, weight room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast should have been included for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included for the price paid

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    No bigten network
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bigten network

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    No
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait for shuttle

    Omelette was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The fact that they did not have the big ten network in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they did not have the big ten network in the room on the tv very shameful for a big ten city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Everyone was nice and the decor was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability/Hearing Accessible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    Everyone was nice and the decor was amazing. Not to mention the breakfast was well worth it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property, fantastic location, very clean, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of loved a small breakfast included!!!

    Beautiful property, fantastic location, very clean, bed was amazing, very friendly staff!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything at this hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I would return back if I am in the area again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the staff and the shuttle, very convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great!

    Loved the staff and the shuttle, very convenient!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The beds are very comfortable. I slept great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesnt apply

    I was happy they let us check in early. I liked that they had a shuttle. And the front desk people were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Terrible customer service, rude staff, hidden fees
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden fees they don't tell you about which is a lot of extra money, no free wifi or breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Easy, comfortable and enjoyable!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable room, clean and pretty pool, close to food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very clean , polite helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub water was warm/hot but not enough pressure/bubbles

    Very clean , polite helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic Friendly Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Friendly Service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Didn’t honor our free breakfast that we selected when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t honor our free breakfast that we selected when we booked our room on booking.com.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect... I will always stay there when visiting daughter in Columbus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & pool were too small. Pool area was too hot & not properly ventilated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability/Hearing Accessible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small hotel and small resteraunt.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff, room was great, skip the breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scorched omelet and stale bacon. Overall, breakfast was a disappointment. Also, Waffle was not crisp.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative I can think if

    The bed was very comfortable and room decor was tasteful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Booked the room specifically to have a jacuzzi at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the room specifically to have a jacuzzi at the hotel. The jacuzzi was not working.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.0
    The shower was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was horrible. the shower head shot straight down and it was hard to get under the water (loose fitting and could not adjust).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice atrium entranceway with clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night

    While no free breakfast, the breakfast buffet and cook-to-order menu looked great.

    Nice atrium entranceway with clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    Bed was really confy
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was really confy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced, for other hotels in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was high for services not offered.

    Staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    4.6
    the location was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor. the hotel itself was not as nice as I anticipated

    the location was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't eat at the restaurant but heard it was great. The front desk staff and housekeeping gets an A+.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Love staying here!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints. Everything was perfect

    Everything was amazing, staff was great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Very nice facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone came in our room and took our remote for TV. But did comp us a breakfast.

    Shuttle to football game and back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    We visited Columbus to see a concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We visited Columbus to see a concert. The shuttle was very helpful and when my daughter missed the first shuttle, the driver was kind enough to go back to get her and her friends!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, quick check in, nice, large rooms,...
    • Family with older children

    No free breakfast, most hotels in the area offer that. No snack vending machines ( only soda), so you have to purchase at their "pantry" by the front desk. Also, nothing in room to let you know you can adjust firmness on beds. One side of my King was rock hard. Thankfully I noticed the one little sign they had about it on the front desk. You have to look to find the dial to adjust on the mattress. ( on the side of the mattress near the head of bed. It's hidden by a Velcro piece of mattress material)

    Friendly staff, quick check in, nice, large rooms, adjustable firmness on beds. ( once you locate the dials!)

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.8
    Clean friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Very nice updated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice updated hotel. Rooms are a decent size. Beds are comfortable. Pool and hot tub are on the smaller size. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.3
    Comfort of the room was quite delightful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Unlinked the breakfast set up but the food was good.

    Comfort of the room was quite delightful.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    The people were personal and cheerful.
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The people were personal and cheerful.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Loved the bedding and pillows, so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved the bedding and pillows, so comfortable. So clean and well appointed. Great price and location.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    The workers are so helpful and I appreciated the free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The workers are so helpful and I appreciated the free shuttle very much!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.7
    Great design and appeal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price of breakfast and staff personalities.

    Great design and appeal!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was grumpy. Bed mattress old and lumpy.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    The staff and the comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff and the comfy bed.

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: