Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3 stars

31800 Smith Road, Romulus, MI 48174, USA

#13 of 26 hotels in Romulus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floors had a musty smell Room cleanliness Pillows (2) missing covers Heating system (in window wall) extremely noisy and not easily controlled

    The Breakfast was worth the tab

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were staying to fly out for my fathers funeral so it is difficult to say anything except the staff was a pleasure to deal with and the place was extremely well cared for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no evidence of a "security deposit" on the recepit on check out, and the beds and gym/pool facilities were lackluster at best.

    Dont think there was anything we did like about the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climbing into a tub to shower is not preferable. The bathroom door gets in the way of the hall and closet Airport shuttle was overfull both ways - people sitting on laps! Shuttle wait at the airport 32 mins!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noise from the planes but you are near the airport so it wasn't a deal breaker.

    quite location near the airport plenty of parking and airport transportation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to wait for over20min.to know that I have to call for airport shuttle. Finally the shuttle did not show up and I ended up getting taxi to get there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    Perfect location close to airport, friendly staff, very clean and restaurant in hotel great plus! Easy shuttle access every 15 min to airport

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, breakfast, cost. Terrible for the money lol

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay long enough to rate anything else

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators smelled like weed and no room service

    Location, quiet and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was wonderful

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were double charged for the room and double charged for breakfast

    Ken and willie, Nikki

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think that the sheets were changed. When I arrived there were several hairs in the bed that didn’t belong to me

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The money that was shown on booking .com is different from what the hotel charged means I am very unhappy about this cosni have been misled

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard

    Everyone that I encountered, that worked there, acknowledged me and used a salutation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the treadmills work.

    Bed was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room was noisy in the am.

    Ease of getting to/from. Size of room was very nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, huge dip in the mattress.

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    very close to runways

    the staff and the service was very good right across the street from long term parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast!

    The bed and pillows were amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    T

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced and parking for extended amount was off property and very expensive

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The odor could have been better.

    It was worth the money spent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero. Would stay at this hotel again.

    Staff was excellent. Food was excellent. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Free coffee

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    The breakfast was good, the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road is closed but a temporary snag only and no fault of the hotel.

    Great place to stay for the places I need to be.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bad roads

    Easy to sisters house

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The location coming from 94 was not good. I found that some of the staff away from the front desk either didn't have any information or were reluctant to furnish it.

    I liked the cleanliness. I thought that the staff at the front desk was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed sagged heavily and the room was not very clean. The property was not kept up very well either. I paid the same amount for a room in Grand Blanc Michigan (not Hilton) and it was so much nicer and cleaner. There was a communication gap in their hotel shuttle also.

    The staff at the front desk was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I was caught in a severe winter storm while traveling through Detroit airport and booked this hotel online. After traveling with multiple reroutings, lost baggage, etc I arrived at the hotel. Prior to arriving i asked if room service was available and told yes, until 10pm. I felt no need to pick up food at the airport as I planned on food service. Arriving at hotel, the front desk told me the same thing. I called for room service at 9pm just after arriving and was told very unkindly, "we are too busy and are not taking any more orders tonight because the computer is full." I asked if they could write it on a piece of paper and I didn't care what time I got it. They said "call back in 10 minutes." I called back in 10 minutes and they said no they couldnt help me. The airport had cancelled all flights due to a blizzard so going out for food was not an option. I thought it was incredibly poor service, especailly since they had told me it would be available and I had no other options for food for that night. Would not stay there again.

    The rooms were very comfortable. Nothing grand, but comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Clean, excellent staff, good service at dinner time - restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Group

    Beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet was dirty and the was left over food in the mini frid

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found hairs in the drinking water, and the staff didn't do anything about the water in the bottle.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No free breakfast offered.

    Lori at front desk was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was a little drab and dreary

    Spacious, comfy bed, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Pool closed at 10:00 and we didn't get there until 9:30. Kids wanted to swim.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is a bit slow.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Gave me an early check-in. Big clean rooms and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No noisy neighbors, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was outstanding. Location was ok but not to much around hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Broken shower head not like a Hilton Hotel to have.

    Bedding and location.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: