Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Evanston 3 stars

1818 Maple Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201, USA

#8 of 8 hotels in Evanston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were okay. Bathroom shower not as clean as I thought it should have been. Looked like mold between shower tiles. The jacuzzi wasn't very hot and it wasn't working so I had to get maintenance to turn it on.

    Breakfast was good. Convenience was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was with my mom and specifically had requested an accessible room. The bathroom had a step in bath and no bar for the (very low) toilet. The desk offered to switch us, but by that time we were already pretty settled. They did send us a non-skid bath mat.

    I enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel, service, staff, and comfort of the room were all great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I work in the area and just wanted a night away . It was a very nice overnight stay. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, clean- and our king room was very comfortable-so all in all a good experience. We would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instructions for using parking facilities were not given at check in. I didn't find out about the use of the hotel card until the second day. Areas of the room were dusty!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready at check in. Desk clerk said it would be 10 minutes. Housekeeper was supposed to call down when clean. Checked with them after 20 minutes and it still wasn't ready. After waiting 45 minutes I asked again and found out room was ready and had been for a bit. Staff not apologetic at making us wait. No effort to make up for us sitting in the lobby that long.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed at 10.

    Everything was great, including buffet breakfast, servers, desk staff, and all facilities. Pool was nice, the whole property was modern and clean and well-maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had picked this hotel since I have been extremely satisfied in the past with this chain, however we chose also because of the options of a hot tub and a bar. We were highly disappointed that the hot tub was out of service and the bar closed at 10 pm on a Saturday in Chicago area. We had our daughter with us and knew we would not be able to frequent the local bars in the area. We chose not to purchase alcohol at the store because we thought the bar would be open later than it was. Quite disappointed with this facility. The staff was great however and would not like this review to reflect upon them. Awesome staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant was very good but breakfast left a lot to be desired. Items on the buffet were terrible.

    Generally, this was a good hotel. Fairly convenient to Northwestern. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff not able to make decisions. Manager not on site. Had to wait 90 minutes to check in. Bathrooms smelled like mildew. No fan in the bathroom. No lightweight blanket option, only a heavy comforter. Crap pillows.

    Convenient location. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't seem engaged with us. The toilet leaked. I did not call the staff because I was able to fix it myself.

    Beds were comfortable. I chose this hotel because we had stayed in it before and liked it very much.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a view Was dissatisfied with it It was a view of a roof top And other buildings blocking What was left of the sky🙄

    Location Clean & eligant Room & common areas Friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t shut my curtains Paying to park.. it should be included with your room or cheaper!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to Northwestern’s campus and the train stop and the convenient parking made for a great visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Host was amazing!!!! Very nice!! with a great attitude. Loved that

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Desk clerk was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this Hilton when we were doing a college visit of Northwestern. It was a great location for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost and no enclosure connecting to the hotel.

    Clean, friendly, location, restaurant in hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked to know that the parking fee was extra before I arrived

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast.

    Proximity to hospital. Helpfulness of all staff .....they were all amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    housekeeping forgot my towels on the next to the last day

    I loved being able to swim in the pool first thing in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept cutting off. The ceiling had a Whole and water was dripping, my bed got wet. The jacuzzi was not working. So dissapointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The channel changer was very dirty and sticky! Yuck!

    Great comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast offered many choices and was delicious. My grandson really enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too thick for my taste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need at least one firm pillow

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hidden costs: parking, breakfast, higher-speed WIFI

    Location, convenience, comfort

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the elevator to my room, it was too far away

    Bed and breakfast bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything :)

    The woman who check is in was so incredibly sweet and the property was very accomidating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in room.

    Always friendly and efficient check-in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 2:30AM the Hilton charged my credit card $60.00. The front desk says the do not have a record of the transaction. This charge is still on my card.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi kept going out.had to mess with it for a long time.

    I loved the cleanliness of ther facility.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a good place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front Desk Service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing was outrageous, plus I was forced to take a 4 night package because of events at northwestern. Felt scalped.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price a little high for just a mediocre hotel

    The front desk staff were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be careful with parking, we parked on street overnight and got a $40 ticket even though no signs saying you can't. Tried to grieve ticket bit unsuccessful - "everyone knows that and hotel should have told you"

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast seemed too expensive for the options given. For the same price we went to le peep cafe and got better food.

    We appreciate that the pool was there and the room was very spacious. The facilities were in the middle of downtown Evanston so very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff couldn't have been nicer! Unfortunately, I only remember one name....Jeremiah. But everyone was helpful and seemed proud of their hotel! The pool was wonderful after a day in town. We visit family in Evanston and now we have a new hotel to call our own!!! Also love that it's handy to rapid trans. Metra is the best way to get to the city!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely outstanding customer service. Front desk always incredibly friendly and helpful - everyone went beyond what could be expected, especially Jeremiah. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not including the highest speed wifi for free. The toilet kept running even though I did call it in to be fixed. For the expense, I expected more things to be included.

    * Location * comfortable bed and large room * refrigerator and microwave

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we first arrived at the hotel the heat was not working. It was 50 degrees outside and freezing in the room. when we called the front desk the hotel did not have anyone that was able to come and fix it that night and no other rooms avail so the first night was horrible and miserable. And in addition to that the same night our neighbors to the left of us complained that we were talking too loud. We were talking like normal people do at a normal volume, but what seems like the problem was our room had a connecting door to their room which we know made our neighbors very sensitive to our voices, therefore we had to whisper the rest of the time. That connecting door in the rooms makes me think the hotel is a little older so it needs updating before I ever consider staying there again or referring anyone.

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect!

    The front desk staff went above and beyond to help me, answer my questions, and exceeded my expectations, especially Tina and Kelsey!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I thought the price was a little much for what was available.

    Evanston is a GREAT town. The hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never know whether they're going to provide complementary parking or whether they're going to charge $13 a day. Nevertheless it's worth it to not have to find parking.

    Nice hotel and the only one that provides parking next-door. Also has a free shuttle to take you around Evanston which is very helpful. Always stay here when visiting our student at Northwestern and always enjoy it.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattress and linen were very warn. Shower was leaking, some of the sockets were detached from the wall. Cutlery was sometimes dirty (food stuck on it)

    Wi-fi worked and was free Location close to the station

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Couple

    The night manager John was wonderful. We got to the hotel late and he was so nice and helpful. It was a pleasure dealing with him!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast wasn't complimentary

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The advertised "corner suite" actually is a larger room. It should be corrected to corner room or something to reflect the truth.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the desk staff was awsome

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast buffet was delicious and affordable.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    staff was very helpful, location was perfect for evanston high school

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room, very clean, front desk staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Beds aren't very comfortable and linens are fair

    Cheaper than staying in downtown. Lots of amenities within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to pay for parking.

    Location was great. Lots to do in the area. Rooms nice and large.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service and food at dinner both disappointing, service at breakfast surly but buffet ok

    Very friendly helpful front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    heating/cooling system too loud

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No where to pull up to park & unload luggage. And parking was "less" than convenient.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paper cups instead of mugs and glassware. Actually went out to buy a ceramic mug.

    Friendly nighttime desk service.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort. Good pool.

There are also 49 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: