Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3 stars

3950 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033, USA

#6 of 18 hotels in Fairfax

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel. Our only problem was that receptionist failed to notify us that there was going to be a hold on the credit card used whiles we were checking in. They need to be very clear with that part of business. Other than that, we enjoyed every bit of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    It was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comforters kind of sucked. The tub was tiny and there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The alarm clocks were super dated.

    It just had a great atmosphere. The staff were young and didn't seem to be annoyed by all the silly questions guests ask them. The rooms were nice and clean. Very quiet, not too much outside city noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel; I would never use booking.com again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would never use booking.com because they lost my reservation even though I had a confirmation number. It was not in the hotel system when I arrived. Booking.com does not respond to email even though their app says they will respond in the next 24 hours. I had two rooms and cancelled one. The one I cancelled they charged me full rate. I asked for a waiver but I was denied.

    Breakfast. Clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Very Nice!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked that the property was central to tons of restaraunts a and shops.

    I liked that the property was very clean and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The front desk staff provided great information on where to eat and hang out at. The staff are an example on how customer service is to be delivered every where. Very nice and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Hilton vacation in Fairfax County
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was across from the ice machine which constantly made noise even when not in use. I was also told the breakfast buffet was complimentary which was untrue as I was yelled at by staff when filling a plate.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Great! Staff were nice and accommodating of needs! Hotel was very clean and well taken care of!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extra clean and they had even taken a step up and folded our sleeping clothes that we left in the bed. Location is within walking distance to a cut little morning bakery if you don't want the hotel breakfast, a nail salon and a grocery store.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location and clean rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management staff was rude and unprofessional. I booked through booking.com. I received a notice from American Express that the hotel had booked 300+ additional dollars to my card. Concerned, I called down to the desk and the lady working the desk was zero help and told me that the price I was going to be charged was the price with the 300 dollars added to it. I sternly told her I would be paying for the reservation I booked through the website. After having to pull up my reservation she was still argumentative with me. Eventually we spoke with the gm and he said to honor my reservation that apparently there was a glitch in the system and I got my room much cheaper than most. Isn't that the whole idea using sites like booking and Expedia? Also, I work night shift at a hospital and asked for an early check in after my first night at work. The man yelled at me on the phone telling me there was nothing he could do to accommodate me. I told him I spoke to a young lady the night before as I was traveling into the city for work. I explained I would need to check in around 10-11 if possible. Rudely told me no. I then asked to speak with a supervisor and yelled into the phone and said to me "I am the SUPERVISOR". I then hung up the phone and made sure my presence was known downstairs. I am a healthcare professional and consider my job a customer service job as well working with my patients. I expect to be treated with dignity and respect as that is how I treat others. I don't think my request to check in early should have been such an issue. In the end, I waited at the corner bakery after my shift hoping I would receive a phone call telling me my room was ready. As I sat in the booth at the bakery and began to doze off on my laptop I hear my phone ring at 10:57am. It was a nice lady letting me know my room was available.

    I absolutely loved the location. I work at a hospital in downtown dc and I get there via the Vienna metro station. It is literally minutes away. The drive is a breeze (for the most part). I also really liked that Harris Teeter and the corner bakery were right across the street. I was able to park my car at the hotel and walk over to the bakery and have breakfast after working 12 hours on night shift at the hospital. The convenience of Harris Teeter was nice as well because I had forgotten to pack a few toiletry items for my stay. They also have a hair cuttery and pizza cafe in the same shopping center. I personally appreciate having amenities like that so close to my hotel. Also, Fair Oaks Mall is relatively close. The value of the Hilton Garden Inn was fantastic given its location to the metro and shopping center. There was also free wifi. My room was cleaned every afternoon as I was leaving for work. The housekeeping staff was remarkable and very polite. They greeted me every morning with a smile as I walked down the hall to my room exhausted. And they made sure I had a new black tea k cup re stocked in my room. I'm not really a coffee drinker. Overall, amenities were great, location was great, staff (housekeeping) was great. I'd most likely stay again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Very poor welcoming attitude from breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast areas staffs are older age. They were both of them alwasysbbusy on Internet browsing on mobile. Less attention on to the guest. Poor welcoming attitude.

    Very well welcoming attitude found on reception staffs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smelling of the room

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Would be nice to have real glass for drinking water rather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have real glass for drinking water rather than paper cups.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    No free breakfast served
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast served

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    It was so convenient to everything.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so convenient to everything... friends and family, shopping, Dulles snd WashingtonDC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    It was a great weekend and the hotel served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful. We told the front desk upon checking out but he wasn’t too concerned

    Location was easy for us to access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to shops, nice seating area, nice to have a bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Found the free shuttle to the metro station very useful and the on-site restaurant serves great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great facilities helpful, pleasant staff. Free shuttle to nearest metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was wonderful. We had a variety of choices for breakfast. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful, the staff wonderful. I ate st the bar both nights and the food was excellent and so was the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great stay, just nitpicking here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was pretty small.

    Great location, right next to shopping/services and very quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Chose this hotel because it says they had a restaurant. Breakfast was subpar and $12 per person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant. And no other decent restaurants nearby to go to instead.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Not the usual Hilton Garden Inn high quality.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the usual Hilton Garden Inn high quality. Appeared worn or not as new. No luggage carriers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    staff +
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closer Restaurants

    staff +

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Not happy that water was shut off one day for several hours and I received no discount for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what and how served.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Staff at desk, breakfast staff
    • Couple
    • King Room with BathTub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access weak

    Staff at desk, breakfast staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Fit to the purpose. Convenient.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron was stained and almost damaged my shirts.

    Quick check in, easy and quick check out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    The Best Hotel I have ever been to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully clean, staff was helpful and very friendly, breakfast was amazing, enjoyed our stay! We can't wait to go back and stay again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Clean welcoming & quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with BathTub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean welcoming & quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    yes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Clean and new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and new hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Pending" charges that take forever to come off

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff makes stay worthwhile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast food not very good. Expensive for food and drink.

    Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was well kept.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Customer Service! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ambience and Warm Customer service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Excellent attention to detail and very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Excellent attention to detail and very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    very pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with BathTub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reel cups in the room for microwaving hot drinks

    did not eat in beds were ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Luis at the bar/ restaurant was super nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luis at the bar/ restaurant was super nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Decor is sharp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is sharp

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    I'd stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft but staff sent New one which was better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Glad we found you on such a short notice. Very good accommodations at a convenient location for us.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a little bit too firm for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel . . . but no breakfast included?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included.

    Breakfast not included. Bad idea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    I enjoyed how clean the hotel was .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed how clean the hotel was .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.3
    Staff are amazing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decore is a little bit old.

    Staff are amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Couple
    • King Room with BathTub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Excellent Service - Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That I couldn't smoke in my room (lol)

    The staff was wonderful, the coffee in the morning was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great Family Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was convenient and the rooms were quiet. The pool and hot tub were awesome😊 Absolutely LOVELY staff!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    The whirl pool seemed dirty and the bed was not very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Mobility/Hearing Access with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whirl pool seemed dirty and the bed was not very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable. Was able to get room nice and cold for sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.2
    -Price ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Dirty bedding -Room smells like cat pee Before entering the room, staff was spraying air fresheners in the room to cover the smell. No room to switch to, weren't able to sleep after waking up in the middle of the night because of the strong smell.

    -Price ok

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    10
    The staff at this hotel were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff at this hotel were incredible. Helped us move other family members in at the last second due to filthy conditions at another area extended stay hotel. Facilities were extremely clean and the food at the restaurant was very good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    the staff were so friendy & helpful room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were so friendy & helpful room was spotless'ly clean good location for manassas & oxhill battlefields shopping centre over the road bonus if you want to buy food or eat out would stay there again & recommend

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    The room and bathroom was clean as soon as we arrived.
    • Couple

    Breakfast for 1 adult is over $12, which is over-priced for a buffet. Luckily, the Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea was complimentary. Free Wifi needs to be improved majorly; Wifi was horrible and did not meet expectations.

    The room and bathroom was clean as soon as we arrived. Bed was very comfortable, television was excellent, and breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Great location not far from the Vienna Metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffeemaker in our room didn't work.

    Great location not far from the Vienna Metro station. We were able to park at the station and visit downtown DC with ease.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    WiFi stinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi stinks. So slow it was ridiculous. Tried plugging in the laptop with the cord in the room and it didn't work. Yes, I was on vacation but still had work issues.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast should be included with the price of the room. It's a separate charge in addition to the room rate.

    The staff was extremely helpful. We arrived at midnight and they granted us an extension on our check out time. The room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    The staff were excellent,helpful,pleasant & polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were excellent,helpful,pleasant & polite. The room was spacious,clean and had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again and fully recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Location was good for local events, other amenities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price for breakfast was a little high.

    Location was good for local events, other amenities were right next door (food store, restaurants), quite location and the staff were very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.0
    I liked how quiet the property was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As expensive as the room was, I think they could have provided a free breakfast, rather than charging almost $12.00 for the buffet.

    I liked how quiet the property was.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    8.8
    Spacious rooms are very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool only opened at 5 PM on weekdays, was very small and was not heated so water was freezing. Breakfast looked okay and the chef would do you an individual choice but the fruit juice was not very drinkable and could probably notch the quality of everything up quite a bit. Luckily the corner cafe bakery was pretty much opposite for a great breakfast for under $10! Location is a bit far out for Washington DC especially as the freeway can get chockablock at rush hour

    Spacious rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    The pool was disgusting the water was not circulating there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was disgusting the water was not circulating there was a dead worm floating and you could see massive hair balls just drifting in the water, to have a full time lifeguard on duty, they should clean the pool every now and then

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel was very clean. When it comes to hotels, i always trust my nose, the place smelled pleasant. Comfortable bed, slept great. My room was very spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    I would stay again in the same place if come back to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would stay again in the same place if come back to the area.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Did not eat at the hotel, staff was very attentive.
    • Couple

    Did not eat at the hotel, staff was very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    lounge, room, facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    reception desk staff

    lounge, room, facilities

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    The welcoming staff and clean rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was ok to sleep in comfort wise. I like a soft mattress.

    The welcoming staff and clean rooms . The location and style of the hotel looks great

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.5
    The free breakfast due to the facility being renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fire alarm and truck that came..

    The free breakfast due to the facility being renovated

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.3
    Poor wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Cleanliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath tub stopper was worn,all of the water ran out and it took me 30 mins to correct it.

    Cleanliness and location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast

    location

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    The staff was so nice and the room was clean and always beat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was so nice and the room was clean and always beat when we arrived back in the evening

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    employees make you feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    employees make you feel at home. The coffee was nice and hot.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Good location and wonderful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location and wonderful service. Most of all friendly and courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.5
    room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    room

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Friendly and accommodating staff, value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was pricey.

    Friendly and accommodating staff, value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    The staff was very helpful nice bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful nice bar and restaurant. Rooms very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.1
    TV channek options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV channek options

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group

    door did not open after 12am. also, their food is too expensive.

    Clean and comfortable

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: