Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg 3 stars

1060 Hospitality Lane, Fredericksburg, VA 22401, USA

#17 of 35 hotels in Fredericksburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is overpriced. The manager at the front desk was most unhelpful and had an unpleasant tone. I dislike being called "darling." There was a 5k race going on in the vicinity of the hotel that weekend and when I asked how this would impact our leaving, he told me that I might not be able to leave on Sunday morning because the police close all the roads around the hotel. I thought he was joking at first, but he was quite humorless. I've never been moved to give an unfavorable review before. This is a first. But it's the last time I will go to this hotel or to any other Hilton. There were no bath robes, the toiletries were meager, as was the coffee and tea provided in the room. Two water bottles were available for a charge of $5 each. I expected better of a Hilton for a two night stay that cost (with taxes but without breakfast) just under $500.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff in the restaurant and the cleaning staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged 135.99 and 129.99 and a $20 incidental hold on my card for a 1 night stay. Didn’t know till I was stranded 20 miles from hotel. Bank card denied as they are holding the money. Called hotel and they told me was not there problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entertainment system could use an update, but that's just grasping at straws to find something to put into the negative comment box.

    The entire facility was clean, well maintained, and staffed with friendly, personable people. I was there for a full 7 nights, and felt right at home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed linens were wrinkled as if rough dried. The shades were somewhat difficult to raise and lower.

    It seemed quiet and safe. The lobby was very inviting. The room was okay but the bed linens were wrinkled and the pillows were just thrown across the bed, (not placed in a decorated manner).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very nice at this hotel. However, the mattress was terrible. At a Hilton property, we expected a much more comfortable rest. After all, isn't that the main point of a hotel?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small. Close to the highway, so you hear trucks at night.

    Location was great for a quick stop over on our journey to the south. Close to a bunch of restaurants. People were nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not helpful. I felt unimportant to them. They did not provide the service I have previously had at Hilton establishments. Bed was hard as a floor and I had to sleep in the chair!

    The bed was like sleeping on the floor. I called down and was told the beds were scheduled for replacement. I slept in a chair. The next morning I was met by rudeness at the front desk and told that there was a way to adjust the bed. I was not told the previous night when I needed to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cost $12. Wi-if was not working. Hotel's internet was not working so they had no record of my AAA reservation and they did not honor the AAA price, although I had a confirmation email which showed the price. Internet still not working in the morning when I checked out so they were unable to provide a receipt. It's supposed to come by email but that was yesterday and I still haven't received it. I see that the hotel has 2 pending charges on my credit card right now .. a $20 charge and a $200+ charge. My room should cost about $120. Also hotel is directly on 95 so road noise was quite loud from passing trucks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. The bed had a dip in the center that you can't feel until you lay on it for awhile. And found bugs in the bathroom.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more supervision for children at the pool . There was about eight to nine kids in the tiny pool and the adult with them was highly entertained talking on the phone . I lasted ten minutes in the pool .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hopefully you don't drink coffe because the coffee machine didn't work in our room. Don't be 5 minutes late for breakfast. They will not let you touch it even though it's all still out and hot. They charged me an extra hundred dollars to stay at this place. It's clean and comfortable but I would never recommend this hotel to ANYONE because of the very poor customer service.. I stayed here so I could attend a funeral and I'm still literally paying for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing against the hotel but we were in town for my moms visitation and funeral so we did not have much time to enjoy all the benefits of the hotel but were still very pleased!!

    this was such a beautiful place, the staff was so friendly and helpful i highly recommend this hotel to anyone !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The business office internet was different this time. Trying to check in to my flight it forced you to sign up for service and required my personal information. I declined to sign up and informed the staff of the problem when I checked out.

    This was my third stay at Hilton Garden Inn and every thing at this site is just outstanding. A very clean facility and a superior staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was NOT included although your website gave the distinct impression that it was. To purchase breakfast is $11.95 per person which is NOT a good value. Apparently, you have to book your room with the breakfast option added in. Also, I could not get a military discount because I booked through a third party! Booking.com does not offer a military discount. Needless to say, I will NOT use third party booking in the future.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a handicap accessible room, which we did ask not fo, and we couldn't lay in the tub to take a bath because of the handicapp chair.

    The staff was extra friendly and the bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say! :-)

    The location was great near shopping, restaurants, and close to downtown Fredericksburg. The staff was very helpful and the hotel resturant served a wonderful breakfast at a fair price with little wait time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids were very excited for the indoor pool. But after arriving we realized the water was way too cold for the kids to go in . Such a disappointment! Breakfast was too expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bathtub! I was stunned that a reputable motel would not have a bathtub in a King room. When I complained during checkout, the clerk said I should have specified when booking. I told her there was no place to select and I saw nothing that said the room would not have a bathtub. During check-in the clerk did ask if I had any special request such as room floor but didn't mention that bathtubs didn't come with all rooms. The bed that they emphasized in the description on their website was way too soft. It wasn't easy moving or changing sleep positions because we sank down several inches when laying down . During checkout my wife noticed a placard at the front desk that gave instructions on how to adjust the bed. There was noting anywhere in the room that had that information or suggested it was adjustable. The cable TV had a basic universal remote. Therefore there wasn't a button for channel or viewing guide. The only way to find out what was on was to click through the channels. Of course, we didn't catch any show or movie from the beginning. We were going to order room service for the first night but the menu items were so expensive that we ended up calling out for delivery. The room did not have any brochures or listing of local restaurants so we searched the internet.

    Lobby looked nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upper end room we booked and paid for through booking.com was not available. We were placed in a lesser room and still had to pay the high price of the room we booked.

    Location was acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit of a challenge to get to there. If you have an older gps the roads to the hotel won't be there. There is a lot of construction of new hotels in the area and it is a fair distance from the downtown area.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Check in was quick and easy and staff very courteous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the other guest were offered water during check in except me .I had to ask for water. I felt that it was a racial thing and thought that it was rude. Every customer should be offered the same service. I know because I work in this field

    The food was good and the rooms were clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub has been down since i have stayed there before and that was 2015. Pool didnt look to cleaniness as well. Also temp of the pool water was pool. So for the second time was unable to use the pool or spa.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy part of town

    Location, safe, quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair from someone shaving in our bathroom sink...

    Beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cap. No Starbucks in lobby.

    The staff was able to find some non feather pillows and a blanket

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    food

    clean, difficult wifi spots

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wonderful and friendly. Breakfast delicious and hearty, great meal to get ready for a long day of driving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was too close to the toilet in the bathroom.

    Everything except for the small bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Food, drinks and conversation at the bar after a long day of driving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to our destination (UMW) and great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conveniently located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed there before.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no complaints

    Comfortable bed, and good staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was waaaay over priced! Horribly overpriced! Especially for the location!

    The beds were super comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far better pricing and accommodations at nearby competitors where we stayed at earlier in our trip

    decent accomodations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv stations kept going fuzzy, only a very few could you actually watch a program

    Close to where I needed to go

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linens needed changing

    Everything was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were super friendly, the room was perfectly cleaned and comfortable, the price was awesome for such a nice room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't find one in every city down Rt 95 on eastern seaboard.

    Never any surprises at Garden Inn, always perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No free continental breakfast

    Helpful,Courteous and Friendly Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast included.

    Short walk to nearby Expo Center. Nice room. Beautiful lobby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had a funky odor which I could not discern the nature of

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome!!!

    Check in was so fast and easy. The room was very clean and the bed was amazing!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could've been cleaner

    Room service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very peaceful , clean , staff was very helpful ..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the meals had been added in the cost of the hotel stay instead of having to pay separate.

    The bed was definitely like a cloud.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit old, but it worked fine

    Nice restaurant and hottub after a long drive. The price on sale was a big motivation!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing much around for an evening stroll

    good spacious room nice breakfast good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seating.

    The breakfast was fine - just a little expensive.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, comfortable hotel!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fresh ice water availoabel free just as you enter - a great welcome on a hot day. Nice spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsanitary toilet. Toilet not anchored to floor. Not expected standard of Hilton Garden Inn. Location not close to historic Fredericksburg VA.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Evolution Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offered no discounts

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our noisy neighbors had us up at 2am and again at 4am. We finally got up and left at 5 am. Told the girl downstairs and she refunded us but our good night of sleep was ruined.🙁

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fact that you have to pay for your food. You pay enough to stay there and i feel food should be included. I had family stay at the Hilton and the breakfast was included. Plus its per person.

    The room was nice and clean. Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Family with older children

    The vending machine only dispensed cans instead of 20 oz bottles. There wasn't a snack vending machine. It was a little noisy facing the interstate.

    The bed was very comfortable! The linens were fresh and crisp but not scratchy. The bathroom was large and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a little dark so more lighting

    The room was nice and clean, no bad smell like some hotels have. The staff was really nice. very quiet and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not right off and easily accessible from major highway. Back in among a lot of bldgs ..not readily noticeable. Ceiling/wall moisture damage in shower. Also what looked to be caulking "mold" developing.

    Size of shower was great. Not cramped. Amenities good.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They need to offer continential breakfast to all guest. The cost for a weekdend stay along with cost of breakfast, lunch and dinner is quite expensive for those on a tight budget.

    The location was excellent, close to movies, shopping and restaurants. I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Ive stayed here several times when in Fredericksburg over several years. Staff was always very professional and friendly. I had to leave a day early shortening my 3 day planned stay. Changing my reservation wasn't a problem. They were very accommodating. Upon returning home i had a issue with my AE card, i called the manager and he was so helpful and friendly, Issue was resolved with AE, Not a HG Inn issue,

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Should have choice at breakfast to get just a muffin/danish with coffee instead of full breakfast.

    Clean and friendly hotel. I had a pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Housekeeping did not vacuum the floors..Fire alarm went off and no employees were out directing people were to go and fire department didn't show till late

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excelled in all area of service and comfort and location.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Yes, but would have liked a firm mattress.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The overall experience was excellent. Efficient, friendly staff and impeccable facility.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quietness

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit far from the historical center but a very nice hotel. Perfect parking just in front of the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Non windows

    Good

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    convinient...

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not what I expected from Hilton.

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: