Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3 stars

26225 North River Woods Boulevard, Lake Forest, IL 60045, USA

#1 of 1 hotels in Lake Forest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked the bathroom to have a vent fan, so when I showered the mirror wouldn't be all fogged up.

    The room was clean and the halls were tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked an included breakfast, which this property doesn't have. It does have a more traditional food service, with a good but limited menu of flavorful entrees.

    Very nice property with open, contemporary common areas. The staff was friendly, and the complimentary coffee and lemon-infused water in the lobby were welcome amenities. And the cookies were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the highway because of our room location was loud.

    The staff were awesome. The room was very clean. The restaurant breakfast was wonderful. Later check out time due to evening flight was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I ordered a salmon dinner and the salmon tasted very old with not much flavor. The glass of water was also dirty with finger prints and water drop marks on the outside

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not offer a continental breakfast which would have been nice, however, we did eat there for dinner one night and breakfast one morning and was pleased with both meals.

    The entire staff was very pleasant and very accommodating. During our stay, approx. 12-14 inches of snow accumulated and the concierge was continually busy brushing off guest vehicles and helping guest out to their vehicles with their bags, ect. The lobby is spacious and inviting with water and coffee available all day. It is apparent that they pay close attention to detail and pride themselves on customer service. I highly recommend to anyone staying in the Chicago area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bartender was a little cold not to friendly.

    Your staff was very warm and kind made sure our stay was comfortable and inviting. But front desk was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found everything to be just right. There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was accessible to various restaurants and stores. We were there for a navy graduation (basic training)and it was convenient to the base. Coffee, tea, and water was always available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room Accessible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed that the refrigerator was not on, was not cold and there was no switch to turn it on. Seemed strange.

    Room was spacious and clean. Bed was super comfortable. The folks at the desk were so warm and welcoming. I always plan to eat in the restaurant but my visits with family keep me on the go!! Each time I returned to my room, maid service had cleaned and restocked the room. It was lovely!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too cold and the restaurant was too expensive but everything else was ok

    The staff was great and understanding and they get on top of an issue while there is a complained and they did their best to resolved every issue as fast as possible the maintenance gentlemen was ok and the staff was excellent also. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I can think of is that our room was on the side of the highway with consistent noise 24/7.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Close to everything! Comfy beds! Large lobby with various places to sit and relax with a book or a cup of coffee!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power was out for longer than 1 hour. No explanation was given by staff as to why. No staff came to room to apologize for the inconvenience of light and power to hotel room. Made my short stay in room very awkward and uncomfortable for the evening.

    Clean, great staff, location was perfect. Decor in hotel was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Accessible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the guests in the room next to ours woke us up at 3am and were very loud and swearing and carrying on in what must have been a alcohol or drug induced state until 7:30am. This is not the fault of the hotel but very inconsiderate guests!!!!

    Jeff at the front desk was wonderful! Location was terrific for us!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our "home away from home" while our daughter was at Lake Forest College for four years. Only booked this hotel every time we visited and needed a place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff MADE this experience. One of the gentleman (I believe Michael) covered me with a blanket when I was resting in the lobby and waiting for my room. And Avery helped get me set up with a room hours before my check-in time. They were unbelievably hospitable and showed true compassion to me when I was exhausted from traveling. They both are the best and made me feel at home on my trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No improvements needed.

    Staff was very pleasant and aimed to please, whether at front desk, dining room or other service. The room and entire facility was very clean. The complimentary 24 hour coffee/tea/cookie availability was much appreciated. Above the standard breakfast buffet options were excellent. Had a great 4-day stay and have already recommended this Hilton Garden Inn to others.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not good to be on the highway side too much noise. Don't stay when they have groups like Teen Soccer teams as they let them run wild. Beds have holes in the center of them

    Very Clean, Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Talked to front desk 3 days in a row about our door which would not lock completely. It never did get fixed.

    Rooms were clean & fresh Staff was attentive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free pastries for breakfast would be nice.

    Food was good, breakfast a little pricey ay $12.95

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful shower!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed were just a little uncomfortable. The room could've been a tad bit bigger. But overall nice visit.

    My family enjoyed the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite noisy room.

    Very good service, clean room, good breakfast. Good place for business stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff was very friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet with option to add made to order sides was awesome. Staff super helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Roon Accesible with Bathtub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    offering a free breakfast

    location, cookies

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 desk people were making fun of other guests while we were che king in

    Perfect location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodated us on all that we asked for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • One Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great for RTC graduation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing there was nothing to complain about I would recommend staying here to anyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems

    It’s close to my family and convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard but probably just my preference.

    Staff was ver friendly. Loved having coffee & tea available in the lobby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed cleaning our room one night

    Nice hotel, staff was excellent and super close to the purpose for our visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was gorgeous! And the room was very clean and welcoming! Great staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast

    Rooms, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pricey

    Excellent staff wonderful hotel not much I'd change

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from nearby expressway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress needs to be turned around

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Great Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I made it there, I'm sure it would have been excellent !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the high price of the hotel no free continental breakfast was offered.

    The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff very accommodating .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room specifically the beds ... shower was very powerful and awesome, room size, 2 queen beds great AND quiet 😊😊😊😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room only had a shower.

    Very nice and safe place to stay. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean very good buffet breakfast. Professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road noise

    Easy to get to but the howdy noise Was bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed too early

    Very nice! Helpful staff. Good food at restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was well used on one side and could use replacing.

    Convenience and price, spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud if you are on highway side. Needs an option to get quick scrambled eggs without spending $13 to gorge on buffet.

    The price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was a little weak and broke up easily, facility was sufficient for the purpose and room is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything not to like

    Friendly staff, entire building updated and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fantastic, very helpful with all request. The location was close to the Great Lake RTC which was the reason for our visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for grandson's graduation from Navy Basic.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too from from city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So clean. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of the staff members were unfriendly and unhelpful - others, such as the resturant staff were great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a lot of noise due the road adjacent to the hotel

    everything is clean and the staff are to gentle

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was corteous, friendly, and informative of area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks at poor extremely costly.

    Nice exercise facility.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the pool/jacuzzi and the staff is always so friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a minor problem with the cleaning crew at check-in, hotel management made sure they made us happy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi issues

    very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is always friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free breakfast

    very clean, nice lobby

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our daughter graduated from Navy Basic Training. We had a great stay, this is our second time in this hotel. We recommend it to anyone in the area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly - made you feel at home - one of the best hotels stays I've experienced.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Evolution King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pantry was way too expensive!

    Paying .90 in toll every time I had to get on 94 to go to the Naval Base.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free tea and coffee in the lobby was great. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. They remembered we had come for Ferris Fest and asked us how it was the next day.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really aside from the $50 applied to my credit card for incidentals which cledared several days after our stay.

    The price fro what I consider an upscale hotel for as little as I travel. The Keurig was a nice amenity, as I own one at home. The room was very comfortable and nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    as a hilton honors member services I have received at other locations were extremely more free breakfast 7 days, complimentary shuttle within 5 miles, I asked for a handicapped room mine was not, laundry machine did not dry my clothes, in room coffee maker did not function other locations, fruit out all day

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wish the restaurant and bar would have stayed open a little later at night.

    Valerie at the front desk made my stay the best experience of my life. She gave me advice, friendship and was stil completely professional. Thank you for having such a wonderful employee.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked on line. The hotel desk clerk could not tell me what the charges would be for the room with dinner added and referred me to the booking agent. Frustrating.

There are also 79 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: