Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix North Happy Valley 3 stars

1940 West Pinnacle Peak Road, Deer Valley, Phoenix, AZ 85027, USA

#45 of 141 hotels in Phoenix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. The only downside was our room view was of a wall and ac unit.

    It was perfectly located with quick access to shopping and entertainment. It was very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showing wear- although room was. Lean - asomeones Half drank water bottle was left in room. There was also a dirty towel on the floor outside the elevator and The hallway in front of our door had chip crumbs.

    it was Convenient and quiet and 1/2 hour from airport to get us on the north side of Phoenix

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Jerome' review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and front desk staff. We were intially placed in room near construction. Exposed to toxic fumes. Room replacement had old, noisy AC AND smelled.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The landscape on the ground was manicured nicely and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can say I didn’t like. Except the breakfast good could be changed daily not the same type of food serving.

    The landscape on the ground was manicured nicely and the pool area was so clean. Pool was clean and the jacuzzi was clean as well. The inside was very tidy and clean and the staff was always Happy to see us and greeted us daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff at the desk were very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The first day of breakfast was very poor. The oatmeal was very dry, there was no cinnamon, no cranberries and no hot water for tea. The second day was better.

    The staff at the desk were very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    I will return to this property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We really loved having the restaurant onsite. The location of this hotel is great. It enabled us to get to the freeway quickly to travel north. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was outstanding. They took great care of us right down to giving us complimentary bottles of water for the road when we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Please see the above comment
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed overall with the experience. The hotel was dirty in general,however our room was clean. The elevators were not functioning properly and we experienced many unpleasant odors. The worst part of our stay was the lack of sleep. The guests directly above us sounded like they were running sprints all night. Around midnight we called the front desk to ask for assistant. About 30 minutes later the stomping/running sounds stopped briefly but then started up again for several more hours. My child had fallen asleep and I feared waking her by getting up to call again. Unfortunately, I feel like I overpaid for a room that’s intended purpose was to sleep in and that did NOT happen. I would not recommend nor would I choose to stay again. Sorry for the poor review.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A suggestion would be to enhance the offer to include breakfast for hotel guests or at a substantial discount when booking. Even if the breakfast offering was paired back as a continental style.

    The property was well kept, clean and staff was very accomodating. Room met and exceeded my expectations. The evening cookies the hotel provided were delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Hilton better wake up or continue risking their reputational image with managed properties.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is screaming for updating not to mention a total on property dining menu.

    Time to update this property and being it's not a wholly owned Hilton Property (Hilton manages it, a private co. owns it), I doubt it's on their radar. Hilton needs to better Q.C. their branding partners or perhaps they don't care about their reputation...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall it was great and we would stay again if we were in Pheonix.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had trouble with the air conditioning the second night we were there which made for an uncomfortable night's rest

    Beds were fairly comfy but we required the use of multiple pillows for comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was good stay and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked and received a handicap accessible room, however there was no walk in shower but a tub. A tub is not handicap accessible to someone in a wheelchair.

    The room was clean and lots of space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Stay was excellent, loved the breakfast and pantry, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was very poor. Stood at the counter for ten minutes waiting for my receipt. Staffer had to be asked if it had been printed up. He was on his phone and apologized for forgetting I was there!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Clean but not comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too firm, sheets not soft. Very clean and nice otherwise. Don't bother eating at the restaurant, limited menu, over priced, quality of food not good. Chicken was dry, vegarables overlooked and mushy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a problem with the shower doors and within hours of being notified of the problem, it was corrected. I was very impressed with the timely response.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    8/ out of 10
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special occasion held there. Was supposed to be Double table clothes. And white /ivory Was surprised to see brown napkins. Food good

    Staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    I booked thru booking and they said my total was $223.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked thru booking and they said my total was $223. When I got there the hotel ran my card for 2 separate transactions. One for $307.00 and the second for$50. Not happy about this at all. As of right now no credits have been done. Very unhappy about this!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    3.3
    Totally Disappointed in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access with Roll In Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First off the key was not working and we went 4 times back and forth with new keys and had to end up waiting 15 minutes for the maintance. All together we waisted aproxamately 1 hour to simply open our door. The room was not clean. The microwave was not working properly and was unable to use. The carpet was dirty. The showerhead was only one position and was very uncomfortable. We were unable to sleep do to us hearing every noise around us, felt like there was no insulation in the walls. We came to Phoenix for a wedding and wanted to relax but in return we were very tired and unrested. The a.c. unit was set on very cold and we were unable to set it to a diffrent temperature. My husband got a cold due to the cold femperature... over all we were very disappointed and we changed out overall look on the Hilton Gardens. We will not recommend this hotel to our friends and family! Lili Apahidean

    Besides the location we didn't like anytning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    4.6
    Not a good value
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. I can't believe you have to pay 10.95 for a breakfast at this hotel when you get it for free at hotels that are less expensive and just as nice or nicer. Not a good value at all.

    Good area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    All good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    May
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For your bookings, we got a room with the view of the air handling units on the roof.

    Nice, clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was good for the purpose of our stay. Would not book this for downtown sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The smoke/fire alarm went off in the middle of the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke/fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. Two nights out of a three night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    The food and staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed quite outdated compared to what we guessed from pictures online

    The food and staff were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay, great customer service, questionable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was outrageous, if I weren’t celebrating my honeymoon I wouldn’t have paid almost $400 for the room.

    Room and staff were amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did not have the room that I booked

    Hotel was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean, friendly, comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con set to 60.

    Clean, friendly, comfortable. Prompt breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Great location and wonderful breakfast!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    Shower was dirty (mold) pillows were awful, and the hot tub...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dirty (mold) pillows were awful, and the hot tub wasn't very clean either.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    I was upset that our coffe maker was broke and so was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was upset that our coffe maker was broke and so was the ice machine on our foor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Friendly staff. Clean room. Nice and newer facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean..up to date and heated pool!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Loud A/C
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud A/C

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Every thing was GREAT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing was GREAT.....Will stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean, friendly staff, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly staff, quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Clean, hospitalible and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe price was a little high but otherwise ok.

    Clean, hospitalible and comfortable. Staff was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom

    The. Gm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but nothing else to see or do within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included.

    Wonderful beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Reasonably priced and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, rooms well kept and just overall very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    like this one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    like this one

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Enjoying Arizona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark, dark, dark.

    Big

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Pretty nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is adequate but would be better updated

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Very clean and quiet, but still close to expwy and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet, but still close to expwy and Happy Valley mall, which has multiple dining options.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.0
    Not very friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Water was not hot in the shower, faucet was loose .
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was not hot in the shower, faucet was loose .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.3
    Noice hotel in an industrial locstion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Nice hotel in a sketchy industrial location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.9
    Good service, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let an item in the room. They were unable to find it...

    Good service, good food.,nice people. Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and professional staff, great food, nice clean room, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Evolution
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean. Easy check in. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Great Hotel Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff to a person was fabulous to work with. Everyone of them was helpful. Solved problems immediately, and had a helpful serving attitude.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was to be included but staff indicated it was not.
    • Couple

    Breakfast was to be included but staff indicated it was not. The manager in the morning confirmed it was supposed to be included and apologized, but that didn't put breakfast into our stomach.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.5
    Clean, nice room
    • Couple

    On the third night of our stay, there was a water main break. No water in the afternoon/evening. Could not clean up prior to dinner. Came back, 6-7 hours later and no hot water. Very disappointing. While, this was beyond the hotel's control, I expect at least warm, running water when I am paying for it!

    Clean, nice room

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    5.0
    There seems to be an err in communication between booking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There seems to be an err in communication between booking.com and the hotel, neither one is willing to take responsibility. I requested an airport pickup for my non-English speaking parents (whom were the ones traveling), the request was sent through booking.com and was answered that they can arrange for such service with a fee, which I agreed to paying. However, come the day when my parents arrive at the airport and viola! the driver is nowhere to be found. I called the hotel whom insisted that they made no such promise and then booking.com who informed me that I should simply get a taxi and the hotel will pay for whatever that exceeded the fee they mentioned before (which was $50). So here I was, stuck on the other side of the planet trying to figure out how I'm going to call a cab for my parents whom whom spoke very little English and were standing on the side of the curb of PHX. I eventually had to call uber (thank goodness for Uber) and the cost of the ride totaled up to $30. So not only did they lie about being able to provide airport pickup (thank you front desk manager whom later denied he/she ever uttered those words), they also tried to charge more on the fictional car ride..?! I will never trust booking.com (or Hilton for that matter) in the future for my hotel needs again.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    7.9
    The HGI was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was the least desirable. There was not much surrounding the hotel to experience or take in.

    The HGI was a pleasant surprise. Upon arrival we were greeted with warm cookies and fruit infused water. The facility was in excellent condition and rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was a bit off the beaten path but it was not an inconvenience. I would consider a return stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A couple housekeeping staff were noisy in the morning and woke us up.

    It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. My favorite thing was how comfy the bed was and how soft the towels were.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    9.2
    Location-great shopping and dinning nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lousy feather pillows.

    Location-great shopping and dinning nearby. Quiet area. Good restaurant in hotel. Nice staff. Fridge and micro a plus. Easy access to anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.2
    I had to call about noise in the hallway and the next day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I happened to be here during a BMX bike competition and the hotel was filled with families. The kids really, really loved how loud the doors slammed from 6:30am until nearly midnight. If you are facing the pool, the noise from the hot tub amplifies toward the building. It was like they were in the room! Room has no white noise unless the a/c is running.

    I had to call about noise in the hallway and the next day asked to have my room changed. The staff was helpful and my room was quickly moved without any issue. Definitely not their fault about the other people staying, but would have hoped that a single adult would not have been put on a hallway of families in the first place.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    7.9
    Price was reasonable based on Super Bowl weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was a little out of the way

    Price was reasonable based on Super Bowl weekend The coffee/tea bar was nice to have and loved that you had cookies at night

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Paper cups for coffee and water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paper cups for coffee and water.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    Awesome hotel, very clean, quiet and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Awesome hotel, very clean, quiet and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    9.6
    The beds were nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The coffeemakers

    The beds were nice and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    👍

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    The entire staff was very courteous & looked ahead to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entire staff was very courteous & looked ahead to ensure no issues for me

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great Staff

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed pillows

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    It was perfect for our needs.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It was perfect for our needs.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    9.6
    Responsive staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had an issue with the toilet, but maintenance was very quick to respond

    Responsive staff! Friendly and accommodating

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    6.7
    Staff is very kind
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning too noisy

    Staff is very kind Room was clean

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Every special request was met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Every special request was met.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.9
    The shower tiles need better cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower tiles need better cleaning

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Very nice pool area
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very nice pool area

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Great to have a bar after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great to have a bar after a long drive.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    would stay again.
    • Couple

    would stay again.... would rec. to others

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Loved the fresh fruit water everyday n endless beverages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved the fresh fruit water everyday n endless beverages

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: