Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101, United States of America

#2 of 25 hotels in Portland

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 473 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little too firm and you can see right into the bedroom windows from the outside.

    Check-in process was easy and the staff was very accommodating!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Accomodation for a quick Weekend Getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room lacked alittle amenity (safe box) and there was pet noise (dog barking) during my stay.

    Location of the Hotel and Friendliness of the Hotel Staff Members.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    With a sixth-floor room facing the waterfront and a huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Water View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With a sixth-floor room facing the waterfront and a huge picture window framing the bay-and-wharf view (despite the parking structure rooftop in the foreground that is easily overlooked), our room felt more like we were in a well-maintained boutique property than a chain hotel. There's a nice street-view bar downstairs, a small gym with indoor pool, and a restaurant if you need it (most likely for breakfast since so many excellent Portland eateries are in walking distance; the handsome Fore Street restaurant and scrumptious Standard Baking Company are thankfully steps away). Staff is friendly and efficient, rooms are spacious and well appointed. This was our first time in Portland and it was an ideal base; with so much to recommend it--including reasonable rates--I'd definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Our stay was an amazingly positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not one thing.

    The lobby was gorgeous. The valet and desk staff were prompt and friendly. Our room was lovely, beds and pillows were comfy, and the location was more perfect than we had imagined it would be. We were able to walk to many fabulous places in the Old Port. It was a Mother's Day gift to ourselves and exceeded our expectations so much that we plan to make this an annual tradition!! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Overall great location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was described as room temperature. It was freezing and I never saw it used in the two days I was there.

    Bed was very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    Paying for the location not the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Water View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Called ahead before checking in and they told me they didn't have my reservation; arrived and they had us on complete opposite ends of the hotel. Booked two rooms for a bachelor party, that would be if not connecting, then on the same floor. Paid for breakfast with my hotel stay but they told me I had to pay for it there as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the Hotel we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative of the room was the water pressure of the shower.

    The best thing about this hotel was the location. Couldn't have asked for a perfect place. Room was great, very spacious and great view of the harbor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Walk to good restaurants within the Old Port. We just took Uber to the breweries & to Fort William. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    All you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our view was of the back of the building. However it was quiet.

    Hot tub and lap pool were great. Next door to Standard Baking Co which was great to walk right over for a coffee and pastry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    Fun girls weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise transfer between rooms is very noticeable. My friend and I were in our room just chatting and laughing and received a noise complaint, but we also were constantly disturbed by other occupants and doors slamming nonstop.

    The beds were SO comfy, and the front desk staff were super friendly with great recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.1
    The room was over 200 per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was over 200 per night. The hotel was nice but for the price point, I would expect to be blown away. 25 bucks a day to park and only vallet park as an option, is disappointing. Include parking in the cost, or give an option to park for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.8
    The location was convenient and we enjoyed the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for valet parking was mandatory. Booking.com did NOT make this clear on regards to this property. Beds not that comfortable.

    The location was convenient and we enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Water View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing .... except my buddy said coffee wasn't that great. He poured it out and we went to a coffee shop two blocks down. No big deal. We enjoyed the walk.

    Perfect location. Great view of commercial street and the harbor. Easy to walk everywhere we needed to go. We had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn’t stay here, or recommend it. It was, at best average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was at 4. We arrived at 3:55, to be told our room wasn’t ready, and they didn’t know how long it would be. We had to wait 40 monies before we could check in. We were one of the first to arrive for check in, and one of the last to get our room. All we were given was a drink voucher for the inconvenience. There was a laundry cart in front of our room door, when we arrived upstairs. And a huge rip in the curtain. I found it to be over priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable, friendly and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything! Well except the in room coffee maker but the coffee in the lobby was great.

    The beds were comfy and the location was perfect. We could walk to everything and the front desk helped us with restaurant selections.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    I’ll be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious room. Our guest services gal up graded us and we had a great room with a view of the water. The staff is great and very accommodating. I asked for a late checkout and it was not a problem. When I needed my vehicle , it was brought out quickly and valet service was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    7.9
    The pool & hot tub room had huge windows overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool & hot tub room had huge windows overlooking the downtown. It was awkward to have people outside walking by and stopping to stare at you while trying to relax in the hot tub:) Otherwise enjoyable:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay except for the very loud group near our room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were told to call for our car 10 minutes before we wanted to leave. So we did, when we arrived to valet the valet didn’t know we called for car. He rushed to get it but now it was cold. Overall, the guys we’re great. Probably a miscommunication. Plus, very loud neighbors.

    The guys were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Good staff. Average value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view. Mid level furnishings and bath fixtures. Elevator floor remained littered all day. Late maid service. Average value for the price.

    Location. Friendly helpful staff. Omlet station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    The beds were super soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was not aware until I got there that parking is $25 a night I didn’t mind... I just wish I had been told upfront.

    The beds were super soft. Ice and vending on each floor is a plus as well... I left my wedding ring in my car and the valet went back and got it for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    10
    Great stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel met all expectations.. I have stayed here before and it has always been perfect. Great staff!

    There was not anything I didn’t like. Easy walking distance to wonderful dining and to the Merrill for the show we came to see!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    The fridge and microwave were awesome amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge and microwave were awesome amenities. Valet was courteous and always willing to accommodate. Location was prime for walking to the restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    Loved staying so close to all the bars and restaurants in Old Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff was vacuuming and noisily cleaning at 9am. That, combined with their very loud conversations, woke us up & we couldn’t get back to sleep.

    The front desk staff were incredibly courteous and friendly. The Hilton provides a very welcoming atmosphere in addition to spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.6
    The best located hotel for exploring Portland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren’t confident about using the pool and hot tub which overlook the street and looked like they might not have been clean enough which isn’t to say there was anything wrong with them but we didn’t try.

    The best location in Portland, with Portland’s best bakery in the parking lot, this hotel had a great staff, a partial ocean view from our room, a nice lobby with papers to read in the morning and coffee and tea, and great seating areas. We used the tiny gym which was nice. We arrived in freezing weather and appreciates the valet parking and elevator. Overall the hotel is showing its age but was comfortable and simply in an unbeatable walkable location. Would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great value in Portland's Old Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included with stay and pool/spa was closed during our visit. Also, bathroom floor was ice cold.

    Valet was quick and friendly, check-in was a breeze. Great location and the room we had, 202, offered a great view and privacy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    I loved that there was a couch in the room it was nice for...
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed a little stressed because of the NYE holiday but did try their hardest to make sure everyone was happy and things were done in a timely manner. They were giving away rooms to other people as they check in so people whose rooms should have been ready then had to wait.

    I loved that there was a couch in the room it was nice for hanging out and relaxing. The set up of the room was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect location for staying in the Old Port! Very courteous staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low toilet

    When we got there I was on an inside room. I used to live in Portland and really wanted to be overlooking Commercial Street and see Casco Bay. They made it happen and changed our room to à very awesome room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could not get credit for this stay on our HHonors membership because we went through bookings.com

    Well appointed hotel, friendly staff, near all major events

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend Portland Hilton Garden Inn when staying in Old Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not a fan of the breakfast options for the price (both hot and cold). Omelette was dry and the breakfast meats and potatoes were cold. Next time will go out to a diner for breakfast.

    Bed was comfortable, room was clean and the location was PERFECT.....We were able to walk to everything, enjoy an evening out with out worrying about driving. Best hotel we have stayed in when in Portland.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect! Right in the heart of the city with a 5 minute walk to everything -Especially being right next door to the famous Fore Street restaurant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pull-out sofa had a very thin mattress that didn’t stop you feeling the metal frame.

    Fantastic staff, could not have done more for us, particularly check-in and valet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    9.6
    It is not exaggerating to say that Portland is the northeast's, San Francisco. Portland is a worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying for parking at the hotel

    Great, friendly and attentive service from both the front desk personnel as well as the concierge. Rooms spotless and serviced quickly. We attended our grandson's wedding and were able to walk to most of the venues. This hotel is across the street from the cruise ship berths and in the middle of what I consider the most attractive part of town and close to many fine restaurants along the waterfront.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.8
    Great place for a 2 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free parking for guests.

    Excellent location to waterfront. Had a beautiful view of the waterfront from our room. Friendly staff. Room was very nice and bed was comfortable. Had a king room with a view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    6.9
    Room had a great view but getting there by elevators were painful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel elevators were extremely slow and needed to be vacuumed. We forgot a pair of earnings and they were nice enough to send a message alerting us and offered to ship for$10. I replied and approved. However, it's been weeks and my follow up emails have gone without response. I spoke with the front desk and they said they would follow up but still nothing. At this point it's not worth my time!

    Very nice hotel and decor was appealing. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff and welcome and best of all everything on the doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a slightly chaotic affair although there are lots of alternatives nearby

    Convenient location in Portland from which to visit the beautiful Maine coast. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Everyone was helpful polite, and efficient. The location was perfect. The only issue,as in all Hilton Hotels, is the difficulty in getting g good and free internet.We had better internet on the Great Wall in China...seriously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, excellent staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was average for cost...nothing special but very comfortable and a great location. They also let us check in early as we arrived by bus from Boston :) The staff was very helpful and professional. Hotel could use a spruce up but it may have just been our room. Very comfortable but for cost expected a bit nicer as far as accommodations go.

    Location was perfect...close to Ferry for Peak's Island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    6.3
    Though the hotel has great potential, it was overpriced and lacked quality customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of all staff encountered EXCEPT parking attendants was not particularly welcoming or helpful. Front desk staff answered questions when asked but gave the impression of being bothered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    10
    Great location, we walked all over town and as a bonus there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing jumped out at me as a 'bad' experience, it was a fine hotel in a good location.

    Great location, we walked all over town and as a bonus there is a pub across the road that has strong drinks and decent music. The staff at the hotel was super helpful, the valet parking attendant was most kind and gave some good advice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed Portland but not impressed with this facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not like the parking situation and no complimentary breakfast. My husband got a bowl of fruit and coffee and was charged $11.95! Hotel also charged for parking which was not disclosed when we made reservations. Also the Vending machine on 6th floor did not work.

    Did like that it was within walking distance to all activities and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't get our free wifi to work Pool was not big- but we were not there for that anyway Very expensive- but location was good - they have another hotel near the Portland Airport that Is very good and better priced.

    Best omelette ever Staff was excellent- Dominic took great care of our car, concierge gave us great advice on restaurants within walking distance, room was clean - disappointed we didn't get a water view for that price, on site breakfast buffet and staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    9.6
    Location, Location, Location...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The workout facilities are weak, not much equipment to work with...the pool is much too small, not everyone likes to just do laps!

    Loved the location! Bed very comfy, clean! Water view was really nice...Staff were very attentive and positive!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.2
    The property was convenient for accessing all Portland has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area was small and highly visible to those walking by on the sidewalk and looking in. We had fun with it, but would prefer some privacy glass along the long expanse of windows - especially in the night time.

    The property was convenient for accessing all Portland has to offer. The location allowed for friends and family to return to the hotel throughout the day and night. The staff was extremely professional, personal and laid back - a winning combination. The bartender and dining staff very engaging and informative. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    9.2
    Great location clean room and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was low end and not best choices quality or taste. Was like a continental breakfast but with cook making eggs & pancakes. Less than what I expected from a #2 rated hotel.

    Lots of parking choices after 6:pm street parking over night is free until 9:am on weekends. Two Parking garages near by plus valet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    Yikes! Parking Fee Too Much!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps I overlooked the valet parking fee. I expected paid parking. Not quite as much as I paid. I would have looked elsewhere had I known of the high parking fee. Perhaps the fee is the same across all hotels in the area.

    Convenient, good view from room. Quiet during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in perfect pocation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $24 for parking is a little bit to much on my opinion, but it is as it is. Found no other option around ))

    Nice location right across the main pier at the bay-front. Nice facilities. Everything is clean and working. Good connection speed, good sleeping quality. Business-area in lobby is very well developed. You can freely use shared PC, printer and scanner. valet parking is very smooth and convenient

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    9.6
    Everything you'd want in the Old Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't complimentary. It's $12 per person. We tried it one morning - it was buffet style but a chef would take your order for eggs, omlettes, French toast, or waffles. We figured it would cost that much to go out to eat breakfast anyway, but complimentary breakfast is always nice.

    The room was larger than other hilton's I've stayed in the past which was very nice. I called ahead and asked for an early check in and we checked in at 2:30pm with no problem. Also, I asked if we could be on one of the higher floors and they said absolutely! They put us on the top floor with an ocean view. We had a view of the sunrise as well. The pool and hot tub were great. We traveled on Sunday-Tuesday so there was hardly anyone there! The pool was open from 5am-11pm. We were right on the corner of the Old Port and were in walking distance from everything. At first we were bummed about the $22 per night you stay for the valet, but it ended up being great because it was the cheapest overnight parking around and our car was in a safe garage that only our valets could access. We stayed in a double queen room which had wine glasses, cups, microwave, fridge, keurig, desk, tv. We even had a could with a pull out bed - the room was large. 10/10 would recommend. P.s. We visited the Portland head light - light house which is in Cape elizabeth in fort Williams park. It had an amazing view and a few forts to look at. We also visited the Jewish mueseum which was beautiful, would definitely recommend. We also went to the Portland art museum. Walked through the Old Port (many stores). There's so much to do and see I. This area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    9.6
    Overall the perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost had to stay elsewhere since they were short on rooms and we were late due to weather conditions. Fortunately, one of the 4 of us had arrived earlier and when I pointed out that 1 of the 2 rooms I had booked had already been inhabited, the front desk agreed to give us the 2nd room after all. A close call. We were already exhausted since the 3 hour trip from Boston had taken us over 5 hours. We should have notified hotel that we were going to be late, but it never occurred to us under harrowing road conditions.

    Location excellent. Room spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    7.9
    Location, clean, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heat didnt work great and the bed was not the usual comfortable hotel bed. Also, we had to pay $25 for valet parking for a spot 5 ft from the door.

    Location, clean, friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    6.7
    Warning with prices advertised!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices advertised for a double room occupancy are not as is. When we arrived we checked in and confirmation was agreed that our room was paid in advance. However on checking out the Assistant Manager added an extra $75 dollars to our bill for double occupancy and tried to blame bookings.com. Yet we were never informed, They have never rectified the so called problem or have signage up informing you in advance. So what you see and pay for is not what you get, felt they are well aware of it. Strange that it never happened with our other booking in different venues. After a lengthy battle the assistant Manager refunded us, disappoint that a hotel like this conduct business like this.

    Hotel is really nice and great location in the centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    10
    My sleep was disrupted two times after 1:00 am by yelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room- Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My sleep was disrupted two times after 1:00 am by yelling outside my door And then the dog started barking The noise was loud enough to wake me and frighten me Someone addressed the noise the second time, which could have been your staff It was unsettling

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.9
    Comfy bed, good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a handicap accessible room (we are not handicapped and did not request this) the room was massive which was a plus but the shower was terrible and virtually unusable. The shower was the only downside.

    Comfy bed, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    10
    Mm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one thing!!??

    From valet parking upon arrival, staff at reservations, restaurant and lounge..all staff greeted us with warm welcomes and answered our questions knowledgeably. The icing on the cake is the hotel L O C A T I O N ...waterfront and ability to walk downtown as far as desired... exactly what we were hoping for. We will return to this Hilton sooner than later.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2017

    10
    The receptionist, once she heard we were celebrating our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist, once she heard we were celebrating our anniversary, offered us complimentary breakfast for the 2 mornings we were there. That was an unexpected surprise. She (Ellen) was very knowledgeable about area sights, restaurants etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    7.1
    Good price for winter months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Valet parking is only option available. $22 day, not $20 as posted. And there is no self park. Nor is there a free shuttle within a mile as stated on line.

    Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable with a few concerns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pay parking. Pool and fitness room disappointing as the windows were open view from the sidewalk. Any passerby could stand and stare at me relaxing in the jacuzzi, no sense of privacy.

    Nice folks. Clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2016

    10
    Perfect Place in Portland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was miniscule, mostly good for a quick cooling off after the hot tub. The bathroom was just fine, but had not been updated.

    The location was excellent, the room large and comfortable. Enjoyed the coffee in the lobby. The hot tub was great and we had the place to ourselves.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    10
    We had a wonderful Holiday vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wonderful person that worked in the bar/dinner area was really wonderful. It was really nice to meet people that from Vermont and one that lived in Irving Texas. The Chef was very helpful as well. He had a lot of wonderful suggestions for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    10
    Would not hesitate to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast was fair at best. Hash brown and bacon were cold. They did replace them when asked. Paying for parking was disappointment.

    View we received was Great. Staff was Great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    5.4
    Ok location but the evening staff is just terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a gentleman who roamed the halls looking for people to find fault with. At one point he told me and one of my guests we were not allowed to sit quietly in the hall while my child slept inside. I have never been treated so rudely in my life. Also unless you like the entire city of Portland seeing you in your bathing suit, I would skip the pool.

    Bartender and waitstaff were great. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast food was really gross for it to not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast food was really gross for it to not be included in the price of the hotel. $12 for a plate that you would get at any other hotels breakfast (waffles, eggs, etc.).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    10
    Great girl's weekend getaway/shopping spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in shower was a little weak

    Comfy bed, clean bathroom, hot & cold beverages in lobby. Super friendly, helpful & professional front desk staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    7.5
    The room was very comfortable with two queen sized beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room overlooked a parking lot.

    The room was very comfortable with two queen sized beds, large flat screen TV, a Keurig and a full sized ironing board and iron. Bathroom was large with plenty of fluffy towels, nice shower, a hair dryer, and magnifying makeup mirror.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    7.9
    Great location in Old Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly can't think of one thing.

    Great location in the heart of Old Port. Easy access to the Ferry, shops, walking trail, and restaurants/pubs. If/when we return to Portland I wouldn't stay at any other place! Highly recommend the water view rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    7.5
    Portland, Maine friendliness meets ideal location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's time for the mattresses in my room to be replaced; the one I slept on had a "valley" in it.

    Staff were friendly--I was consistently greeted warmly. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    10
    Fantastic seaside accomodations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took forever to get a taxi there. The front desk called one for me and after waiting a while I ended up hailing one on the street in front. Not sure if this is something the hotel could rectify.

    Service was fantastic! There was one front desk attendant (male with dark hair) that was especially fantastic - very helpful at check in, and went above and beyond to ensure I was happy. Beds were comfy, I had an amazing view of the ocean, lots of space and the location was perfect:) There was also a young woman who was a new driver for the airport shuttle - she was incredible!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    9.6
    Perfect Locationi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was just pricey, so we just stayed 3 wonderful days.

    Very roomy room with great view of Harbour Close to everything, Staff was great, French Pastry Coffee Shop next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.6
    If you can only stay at one hotel in Portland , this is the hotel to stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The exercise facilities very average. The Westin close by much better exercise facilities.

    The best hotel location in Portland.Truly on the waterfront, walking distance to excellent restaurants, shopping, excellent bakery next door, walk to ferry terminal across the street. Truly the best located hotel in Portland.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location; dog friendly and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car was valet and $18 a day. It was covered in seagull waste. Should have washed it for the price.

    Breakfast, bar and Sloan. Front desk especially Autumn. Location. Friendliness of everyone! Dog friendly and always clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    9.6
    98% great and 2% bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went to breakfast at 9:45 and was told by a snappy waitress they closed at 10AM. Almost all the food was gone and we had to wait 10 minutes for 1 egg some fruit and a piece of toast. Paid $26 for two people for 10% of the buffet food and crap service. Should have everything available if open till 10 or tell customer most of buffet will be gone before 10 ?? ...made a pleasant experience a little off.

    Excellent location and staff overall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected to feel pampered! Other than the bedding it was no different from a less expensive hotel. There was no wow! When the valet was the only one that left an impression......there's something lacking overall. I've stayed with you before , I expected more!

    The bedding was very comfortable. Location fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    10
    The front staff was fabulous -- I'm a senior citizen and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just making sure that there was hot water for the tea in the morning; however, the front staff was very helpful in obtaining it for me

    The front staff was fabulous -- I'm a senior citizen and I came here with my daughter -- we were both very impressed by the front staff -- very helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    10
    A perfect getaway with my teen granddaughter to enjoy coastal Maine in June
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing comes to mind that needed improvement.

    The staff from Autumn at the front desk to the room attendant and the shuttle drivers were all cordial, helpful, and entirely welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.1
    Price for 2nd night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price for 2nd night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    This is a very convenient hotel to restaurants and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a very convenient hotel to restaurants and shopping. Everything is modern and nice. The ocean is literally across the street!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: