Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown 3 stars

225 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904, USA

#24 of 47 hotels in Rochester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was exceptional, and we were lucky to be able to park on the property. The breakfast we had was incredibly good, and the choice of breakfast items was excellent. We loved the location and the beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was crazy firm! Reminded me of grandparent beds 50 yrs ago when that was “in”. Most people prefer a pillow top now ...even if it’s not super plush.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were not good and the sheets and pillowcases were very rough. It made it uncomfortable to sleep due to the stiffness and roughness of the bedding.

    Nice hotel, staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I would say could change are the beds. They were a bit hard and uncomfortable; however, the staff was kind enough to give us extra comforters we used to lay on. Everything else was wonderful.

    The staff was exceptional, everyone was extremely nice and made our stay as best as possible. It was in a great location, we also thoroughly enjoyed the snow!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having to pay for parking. I don't think parking fee was listed on Web pages. Breakfast area was drafty.

    Recently remodeled. Very clean. Great shower. Convenient to downtown. Quiet. Bed comfortable. No waiting on elevators. Friendly,helpful staff. Breakfast had lots of good choices. Skywalk to nearby restaurant and shopping is a plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the entire hotel there were only about 25 free parking spaces. The only other overnight options for parking was $13 ramp parking which we had to walk back to the hotel to or have valet park. So we walked outside down the street with all our luggage to get to the hotel after we checked in. Air conditioning did not work. We were supplied a fan from the front desk. Breakfast was another $10 per person and it was really nothing special. I’ve had free/included continental breakfasts that were the same quality or better.

    The rooms were nice, and clean. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and prompt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very courteous and accommodating staff. Hotel was very clean and maid service was excellent. Front desk staff very helpful and travel to and from various facilities by drivers was excellent. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero complaints here :)

    I didn't use the fitness center so couldn't rate that. There was not a hotel restaurant in the traditional sense but they did serve breakfast, had a snack bar and provided supper-time room service and all were excellent. The friendly staff made all the difference! Such genuinely nice people and made my stressful trip to the Mayo Clinic so much better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not good. Landed late at night and there was no parking left in lot so either I had to valet or walk a few blocks back from a self park ramp in a n'hood I am not familiar with. Parking costs are ridiculous.

    Hotel staff are very friendly and the facility is clean and inviting. Always have coffee, cocoa, tea and cookies in the lobby. Facility is compact so don't have to walk far on main level to get to the exercise room, pool, breakfast area or "little store", so I found the floor plan convenient. Rooms were updated, modern and clean!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were polite and very prompt and everything was excellent. The staff really made sure we had everything we needed. They gave us room service and the next morning they made us omelettes to order. We will definitely love to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff told me when I called that they had a free shuttle from the local airport and to call when o arrived. I called upon arrival to be told they did NOT have a free shuttle and it would cost $15 for a shuttle bus

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The desk clerk did not acquaint us with amenities when we arrived. The bed could have been a bit softer.Garden Inn was a comfortable and convenient

    We liked the location to the skywalk so that we could access Mayo Clinic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the front desk from Hwy. 63 not so good - dangerous getting out drivers side door with all the traffic.. Parking was an issue that night. Had the valet take my car to park it somewhere as no parking available near hotel and had to pay $13.00 for parking. I'm used to parking in Hotel lot free of charge.

    The room was very nice. Liked the microwave, frig and coffee service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts early 6am, great for travellers to mayo clinic. Skybridge and subway systems fast and comfortable. Plenty of coffee shops and snack stops as well as options for lunch and dinner near by. Water for hhonors members!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing A!t all.

    Cleaning lady was wonderful. Desk staff was friendly. easy access to all amenities. Great breakfast every day. Great wheelchair access. Overstuffed recliner. Fast service to Mayo. Nice drivers. Skyway access to Mayo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction

    The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and always offering to help with anything. I would and plan on staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our first stay at a Hilton and we expected at least two bottles of water and none were provided. We did purchase some in the lobby.

    The handicap room was roomy. The bathroom had adequate space for wheel chair.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent (location, cleanliness, breakfasts, courtesy of the employees). I exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff st the front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and up to date

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the clean, modern room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was matter of fact and right to the point. Not quite the warm and fuzzy feeling I expect.

    Accommodations were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was freezing and thermostat didn't respond to adjustment. The pool was closed. Parking was expensive.

    Expensive for the quality of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect to things and clinic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. Convenience to Mayo Clinic. Ticket to ride.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Roll-in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet, friendly bar and front desk staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic bags in waste baskets are not strong or big enough. Especially when people have medical issues and things can get messy.

    Impeccable service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only valet parking small lot behind hotel was full

    The front desk lady Tiffany was fantastic!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, it would have been nice to have free breakfast and wish we knew the extra parking charge ahead of time also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking ok, not great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was loud but worked well.

    Very convenient. We've stayed at the Hilton 3 of the last 4 visits to Mayo Clinic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was freezing! The housekeeper said she only spoke Spanish so getting another k cup for tea was impossible.

    Jason at check in was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnace noisy, toilet flushing terrible loud couch to firm

    helpfull friendly staff, nice size tub

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service breakfast and food till 5pm

    Staff behavior and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the internet connection did not work; and the AC was incredibly noisy

    staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Mayo and everyone was so pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room that we were given was smelling rather moldy and my wife is very susceptible to allergies. We were given another room when we asked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    construction

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & helpful staff. Good location for our needs. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location to Mayo Clinic, nice morning breakfast, and I enjoyed the bar in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They checked us into a room full of children and a mother (looked like a birthday party) at 11 p.m. When we told them, they acted like no big deal and gave us another room with free breakfast certificate. This situation could've been very bad. What if the room was empty with jewelry laying out or money because the people stepped out - what if the children were in a joining room with the parent and they were alone - could've been BAD

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Couple

    Our room had green mold on the tub and we were offered no discount or refund they said it couldn't be cleaned and it was cleaned up by 80%.

    The front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    I thought I had already filled out a survey. I wanted to mention the fantastic girl at the front desk and her attitude. She went above and beyond to accommodate us.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Inconvenient parking. Gym is a joke and doesn't match what is shown online. This is a family property. Lots of little kids running around in swimming suits. Lobby floors wet and slippery. Price was higher at checkout than what was agreed to online at reservation. This was corrected but shouldn't have happened.

    Nice location close to local restaurants and bars etc. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are really noisy - absolutely no sound-proofing. Everything seemed a little worn & run down - broken card readers, crummy caulking job on the sink, weird smudges on the walls & ceiling (!)... It didn't feel like the quality I've noticed in other HGIs...

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room service and food was terrible. The hotel was dirty. The phone was dirty the alarm clock had dust on it and looked like it had not been dusted for weeks. Dust was all around edge of the room . The shower still had hair it.

    Breakfast was wonderful in the morning,

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Couple

    There was a day where the water was cold in the shower. Addressed this with the front desk and the janitor check into it and a boiler had malfunctioned. This was inconvenient as we had to be at an appointment and did not get the shower as necessary.

    We stayed at this property because of the approximity to mayo clinic.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Couple

    Did not like that we didn't get Hilton Honors credit!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Couple

    TV remote not working, room fan was extremely loud when it kicked in/out

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Family with young children

    furniture could take an update

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Group

    The picture in the Booking.com is different than the real room . I send I claim to booking.com , the admitted the mistake but nothing changed .

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Couple

    no restaurant for lunch and dinner

    location

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That u had to pay for parking

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Couple

    Clean, updated room, proximity to Mayo via Skyway system

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: