Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North 3 stars

670 Gateway Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080, USA

#3 of 26 hotels in South San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot within walking distance. From past experiences with Hilton Garden Inns there are usually delicious cookies but not this time.

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The dinner menu is limited

    It's easy to access to company shuttle bus and hotel airport shuttle bus. I like the self-service laundry for my business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating unit was very loud, and the hotel did not remedy the issue even after we requested it. We also found the front desk was not available many times for questions, etc.

    Good location, near Hwy. 101, comfortable rooms, food service employees were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktail drinks were gross.

    The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The beds were comfy- and locate was easy to go back and forth from to downtown SF.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was filthy and it made my skin get a itchy rash I couldnt even sit down in the tub

    The bed was comfortable like my own bed it was a little better even

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive and bad - always were the worst I have had anywhere. Very far from anuth8ng other than the airport

    Near to the airport. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are at least three Hilton garden inns in the vicinity of San Francisco airport. The naming of these hotels is very similar and confusing especially when you’ve been awake for 20 hours!

    Good place for an overnight stop following a long day travelling . Nice clean room and very helpful staff. Good breakfast, noting that this was an extra cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed more pillows.

    The room is impressive and clean. The bathroom is clean and equipped with stuffs for personal use. I like the bed...it's very comfortable. The staffs are courteous and efficient. We will definitely stay in this hotel again...😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great as far as being by the airport but next time we may opt to stay closer to the city where we planned on being most of the time

    Staff was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had requested a quiet room through Booking.com, however, that message wasn't covered to the hotel. We were assigned Room 101 - a first floor room opposite the Laundry, and next to the stairwell door and outside door for our floor - very noisy. It also happened that our bath sink drain would not close. I brought this to the attention of the hotel the following morning, and not only did they move our room, they credited our breakfast and gave us a hand-written note of apology - an unheard-of kindness that was much appreciated. I give them 5 stars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nightly problem with key/door lock system. Food at breakfast buffet was very poor - cold eggs, bacon not well cooked, etc.

    Rooms were spacious and clean. Bathroom was very clean and well-kept - not old or falling apart in any way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a very bad musty smell after the Air freshener wore off. Sheets were not changed. Got into bed and the sheets smelled like men's deodorant in many places which means they were the used sheets. Disgusting!

    Staff was nice. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe more restaurants and store beside one here and there, the closest restaurant and store or gas station was 7-12 minutes away so not to bad but nothing in walking distance.

    Everything was great at the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took us an hour to get into a room that didn't smell like smoke or already have someone else asleep inside. The service here is far below Hilton standards, we won't be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was never asked the floor preference and just automatically assigned a room in the first floor. I prefer a room on the upper floor.

    Its centralized location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I could check in at midnight or 1 AM because I requested special checkin due to the time we arrived in SF. I had to wait till 4 AM before I could get into a room. After that the rest of our stay was GREAT

    Very helpful and treated my daughter very special on her birthday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite our short stay, everything was perfect.

    Unfortunately, our stay was short but sweet! Your hotel exceeded our expectations. Checking in and out was a breeze. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Location was perfect. Room was clean and very nice. Bed was comfortable. Area was quiet. We plan to use it again when visiting South San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed only overnight, did not have time to eat breakfast, but the room was very nice, very clean. The staff were friendly. Will definitely stay there again and will recommend the hotel to our friends and relatives.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would've loved to have a complimentary breakfast. Snacks were expensive...no map to public transportation

    Beautiful lobby, beautiful room and check in was amazingly quick. The room actually smelled like cleanliness. Would love to stay there again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overwhelming smell from deodorizer upon entry. Loud heater. Bathroom fan is continuously on. Breakfast is $13 if not included in room rate, careful!

    Location, comfort of room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit uncomfortable. Mattresses were definitely a bit worn down.

    Location. Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Short taxi or uber ride away from city attractions. Free parking was nice. Similarly priced options in the city charge $40-$70 a night for parking. Put the money saved towards more fun on the trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying $11.00 for parking and our car got broken into and the Hilton hotel don't have anything to do with the break in. Parking should be free

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgive my poor English. I stayed at Hilton Garden Inn south San Francisco for 3 night.They wanted to charge me more than $180.than my itinerary from Booking .com shows. I spoke out about it. Then they said they would charge me what Itinerary shows. 3 days after I checked out this hotel, I checked my bank account. They took out $692.20 for 3 nights twice, mean they charged me twice. The bed was mess, sheets and pillow cases were not clean and few towels did not smell fresh. I have to call them tomorrow and correct their mistakes. I am under stress because of their random attitude. I will never stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive. Coffee mugs were too little, not much in toppings for oatmeal such nuts, cranberries/raisins. Servings were hard to reach,

    Breakfast was expensive, others offers free breakfast better than you offer!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised there was not a continental breakfast, bagels, fruit, etc, available that was included in the room price.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was super.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not part of Dreamforce hotel shuttle network so had to make provisions to get downtown to events in some other fashion. Took BART from the hotel's shuttle to SFO.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    We originally reserved a room with a whirlpool but once we got there they told us that they were sold out. I would have cancelled the reservation had i known the room was sold out.

    The room that we got was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bars or cafe within walking distance of hotel. Hotel does have its own bar and restaurant.

    Free shuttle bus to airport, every 30 minutes allowing access to BART for central San Francisco. The breakfast were good too! A buffet style but everything you would want to get your day started. A chef is on hand to cook eggs and omelette just the way you like them. The hotel has a bar with a couple of draught beers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is fair way out of town and we used an uber to get in and out. It appears the public transport options were a little inaccessible.

    They let us check in early (great after an international flight). Good gym facilities, room large clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids knocked on the door and entered our room, even on check out day, at 8 and 9am. Check out is not until 12pm. We were sleeping and we're woke up by the intrusion.

    The room was clean, nothing special, but for being in San Francisco nice to have white sheets and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insuficient cleaning, far away of what we expect from a room rate of $300 per night. Towels with steps, hair in the bath tub... not meeting minimum standards at all !!! It was also easy to find food in the small shop beyond the maturity date. Are clients supossed to take care of this details? Overall, the hotel is becomimg out of date. Need refurbishing.

    Practical design, as usual in all Garden Inn. It is close to the airport, as others do. Staff is supportive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included in the price and at a fixed fee of $12.95 even if you only had a coffee, bowl of cereal and a yoghurt.

    Natalie & Reagan on the front desk were amazing. Very helpful and eager to please. Two wonderful ladies. Location to the airport if very good and the courtesy bus to the BART station is most welcome. Spacious rooms and ample parking facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may sound weird but the toilet paper was mounted in such a weird spot. Not sure why they did that but we loved our stay!!!!

    Bed was very comfy. Location was perfect for us! Price was great, staff was super nice! Would totally stay there again!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I need to split hairs, it could be mentioned that the ground floor on which we stayed was a little noisier than other floors- which, honestly, is to be expected. I'd also like to see a slightly cleaner bathroom (just found two hairs in an otherwise very clean unit). Another issue was being charged double and having money held on one card, although another was explicitly handed over to the clerk for payment. Neither the legal disclosures nor ads/prompts on the site mentioned or alluded to this being a possibility. It may also bear mentioning that I've taken contractual law classes and have a background in web-based technologies, so yes, I notice when deals are advertised as "needing cards to be held and not debited *unless* bookings are secured within 24 hours of scheduled stay..." Either way, the manager was fairly understanding and got charges reversed. Of course I'll be upset for the next business week while my monies are being refunded, but what can you do?...

    Fresh fruit-infused water available to all guests and visitors was an unexpected perk that set this hotel- along with it's uniquely modern, well-designed lobby- apart from others in its class. The complimentary breakfast was noted, and the totally free shuttle from the airport was appreciated. This Hilton also lies an acceptable distance from local car rental services (located at the SFO airport, less than 15min without traffic). The workout area was small but very adequately equipped. The business room with copiers and office supplies was also a great asset, and, in terms of location, the traffic seemed to be better on this southern side of city than on the north or northeast. I could hardly imagine renting a hotel room in those other areas. This was definitely overall a well-worth it stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked whirlpool room in advance because my pregnant wife & I were going to spend all day in SF walking around on Father's Day weekend. I wanted my wife to relax in a whirlpool after the long day so I booked in advance plus payed extra..But was given a regular room instead.👎👎 the whirlpool room was the only reason I picked this location😳

    Room was actually nice just not the room I booked in advance..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, maybe it is my fault that I did not check prior to booking

    Rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was super friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels had a weird smell.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and inductive for sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have any quarters for the laundry.

    It was an older property but well maintained. Great location for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little bit disappointed about the cleanness in bath room

    Complimentary shuttle bus and laundry room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything

    The choices we had

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amount of coffee in the room

    The quite room and the friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit noise at mid-night

    near airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant pretty average. Everything a taxi ride from hotel.

    Good location being close to airport and quiet. Comfortable as airport stopover.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing close by to walk to (CVS,restaurant or any shop). Breakfast was very expensive with very few options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking was free of charge and did not need to be pre-booked, even though the description on Booking.com indicated otherwise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoy my stay there good attention and service, everything was very clean, thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby restaurant too brightly lit

    Great remodel was done

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service at night ... at times we had to pick up extra towel or toilet paper downstairs.

    Friendly staff very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were terrific.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not try the breakfast

    Did not try the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant is within walking distance

    Lemon water and fruit bowl are provided for free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff better price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool on site.

    Being close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights

    needs better pillows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, comfy beds, extemely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful. They got us early check in and helped us arrange our transportation to concert venue

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a bit high and the fitness center could be a little better.

    Room was clean beds were comfortable and it was very quite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive.

    great experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city large rooms New and modern

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everthing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It suited our purpose for a quick stop over. Shuttle bus to airport was efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Additional charge for parking.

    Hotel was pretty clean ,and our room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big room,friendly staff and free shuttle bus to/from airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and shuttle to airport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better kuerig coffee selection

    Room was clean, large and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really clean. Especially the sheets.Noisy, but it's an airport hotel no surprise here.

    Big bedroom. Recently renovated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Beds were comfy and room was super clean and roomy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance city center

    Near airport SFO

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was wet after lots of rain.

    Mac n cheese very good

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: