Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Saint Charles 3 stars

4070 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174, USA

#5 of 10 hotels in Saint Charles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 53

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.5
    This place was pretty good except for the few instances we encountered some unfriendly staff member
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lady at the front desk was not very friendly. The lady at the breakfast was rude the first day and then the next lady was very nice and friendly. the jacuzzi was out of order. The last day there was wet carpet in our room from condensation. from the air conditioner.

    the buffet was amazing but Iwould not pay $12.99 again. the room was very clean and the pool was nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Within reach of stores, quiet, plenty of outside space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to cross the main road over to Pheasant run, cold and wet, light takes a long time to change (not the fault of the Hotel).

    Within reach of stores, quiet, plenty of outside space. Super helpful staff, cleanliness of the room, such a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    okay-ish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was a bit slow. I got the bill of my stay 5 times, each time with different information...? the pool was closed. It all looked a bit dated. which is a shame because the place can be a real jewel.

    it was close to work. The location of the hotel is close to places where you can eat, which not a fastfood chain. Which was really important to me. The rooms was spacious and the bathroom was clean and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Stay for work, close to work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks out dated. You can buy drinks and food from a pantry but there is not a lobby that is very inviting to sit down. Staff was a bit slow. But very friendly

    I loved to room. I had 2 queens. Very spacious room. The bathroom was also very nice. Breakfast is good with plenty of choices. Pool and gym look simple but functional. Sadly was not able to use it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.0
    Good
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were overbooked. Going through renovations. We had a room that wasn’t complete. It didn’t have a tv, pictures on wall or room fridge. Upside room was comp 100% / hard to complain . We were treated well

    Liked modern motif. Breakfast good. Staff super.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice, clean, comfortable hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra blankets would have been nice. More hooks to hang towels in the bathroom would be good too.

    It was quiet. Beds were comfortable. Location on a main road was good, close to food and shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    I will look elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not informed that the hot tub was broken. There were people running the halls and slamming doors all night. Housekeeping tried entering my room well before check out time.

    spacious rooms with comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    The stay was nice. The surprise $50 fee from booking.com was not.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was cold and never at the desk when we would approach. Had to wait each time. The walls are thin and we were kept up all night by other guests in the halls, etc.

    The bedding was nice. The modern look of the lobby is nice as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Other than cold hallways and hot tub not working it was as nice as could be for us !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hot tub not functioning / All Hallways Cold/ Light in Bathroom only half working / Dinning was limited to breakfast only / Not informed ahead o time first floor under construction so had to go out in -13 degrees weather to go to pool area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    Never again will we stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard...Pillows flat....Freezing hallways...I broke out in a rash from the sheets or towels.....Customer service sucked

    How close it was.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Not the best experience we've had staying at a Hilton Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction below us going on until 8:30 p.m, very dry air, only way to get anything besides coffee in morning was a $12 charge. Would have been nice to have found out before going to our room that construction was going on.

    The room was clean & beds comfortable. Staff tried very hard to make comfortable, friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    The beds were amazing!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub would not drain. The day staff was rude.

    The beds were amazing!!! The Main floor rooms opened into the courtyard! The night staff was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    My husband was in Preston said he would like to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid about $30 too much if I had gone through Hilton I would have gotten an AARP discount

    The breakfast was very nice. Better than most places that I've stayed around there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Enjoyed the ice cold fruit infused water during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for breakfast. We've really gotten used to having a continental breakfast at no charge while traveling.

    Enjoyed the ice cold fruit infused water during the afternoon. It was hot and muggy out so to have that in the lobby was a real treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.8
    Not pleased with the stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard and uncomfortable. There is no sound or noise barrier at all. Every footstep above us was heard very clear. The ceiling height was very high, I believe that there could have been some insulation put in if ceilings were lowered. Up all night due to walking around in the room above us. Water pressure of shower very low, poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    OK, but nothing stellar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during check-in were quite nice, but the morning shift was short and abrupt the next day. Work-out facilities were mediocre and the bedspread was a bit dated. Our 2nd floor view was an obscured rooftop. There was only a very small Hilton sign along the weed-infested road to identify the hotel and parking was not well-lit on the evening we stayed. The lovely old downtown area is 5-7 minutes away by car and the police park outside the bars on the weekend, looking for easy targets. We expected a bit more class from a Hilton. OK, but nothing stellar.

    I liked the room... nice layout, tv, amenities, comfortable bed,and clean, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.0
    Not the cleanest but a big room & don't expect a free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sheets had stains as well as pubic hair from the previous people. Gross!!!

    For the price, could have offered free breakfast. $11.95 for dry eggs & muffins

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Great Stay at you Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kids running around hiding in spots we could have tripped over them, unsupervised. Staff got them cornered in one section by the TV's. Where are the parents?

    Front desk staff, I think her name was Lori, evening shift, super great person and Hector from the kitchen area, very personable! Will stay there in the future. Only drawback was the coffee machine. I like real coffee and bought my own coffee pot while there as I brought my own personal coffee. I do not think these new coffee machines are eco-friendly, it would be nice to go back to the old ways. Will keep a coffee pot in the car for travel in the future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Great place to stay with a friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both this time and the last time we stayed at this hotel the vending machine was completely out of bottled water.

    The breakfast was excellent. There were so many things to choose from that I got 3 plates of food, all for the sake price. It was nice to have a working fireplace in our room as well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast not included!
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included! Poor service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    My wife was bitten 7 times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs

    Room size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Very Nice; Excellent Location with so many restaurants and stores nearby.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that breakfast times differs from weekday and weekend hours

    Bed was excellent! Super comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    I’d go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I was getting a jacuzzi room but it was just a whirlpool regular bathtub.

    It was clean and updated and comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful new facility but priced a little more to match that.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was more expensive than surrounding hotels. Breakfast was not included in the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell and ceiling had water damage and stains.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean bathroom and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for meals

    Clean bathroom and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but nit great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The xtra price for breakfast The miney the put a hold in takes firever to get back

    Big rooms.. Nice entry...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    was ok just there to sleep
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't use anything just slept there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Great value!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    It is close to a lot of things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive

    It is close to a lot of things to do. Coffee in the morning was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel being remodeled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel being remodeled. My room was new inside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning caused carpet to be wet and room was musty

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Very big room, king size bed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big room, king size bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    We had a great time in St. Charles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I really like having a keurig in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from room next door most of the first night. Pretty sure it was staff memebers.

    Nice beds. Clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location for the events we were in town for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'fridge, microwave and the hair dryer didn't work in my room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    We truely enjoyed our stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bright and airy environment Helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Good customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good customer service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.8
    Bed good but needs a light cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi had to be re-set at the front desk every day. TV terrible. Rain shuts down the system. Get cable. Also get some better channels. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE TO O'HARE.

    Bed good but needs a light cover. Either too hot or too cold. AC/heating system good. Good location. Room generally comfortable. Buffet restaurant very good and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Very first time we asked for a crib and it was already...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really would have liked two pods of regular coffee in the room

    Very first time we asked for a crib and it was already set-up in the room! We did call just before the trip to make sure and it helped greatly.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.8
    The Hilton always does pretty well in terms of facilities,...
    • Group

    The Hilton is great, the area not so much. In good to no traffic it takes approximately 40 min to reach this area from ORD. It's basically in the middle of no where but you do have a Walmart pretty close by.

    The Hilton always does pretty well in terms of facilities, cleanliness, and customer service.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.3
    Great room for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: suburban sprawl - not within walking distance to a downtown area. Postage stamp-sized pool. Also, everything else in the room is so nice, get rid of the cheap styrofoam cups.

    Great room for the value. This will be my go-to hotel in the future when I need to stay in that area. Spacious room with fireplace and spa tub. Super comfortable bed and pillows, fast wi-fi with easy connection, microwave, fridge and Keurig in room.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are awful. Noise was outrageous. Fireplace broke. Lights bulbs out

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    Very good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good time

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Close to Arcadia Theater not even a 5 min drive a must for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to Arcadia Theater not even a 5 min drive a must for those who visit St Charles

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    Rooms were very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were very nice! Access to the exercise room and pool by 5:00 AM.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.8
    The spa tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa tub

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very friendly staff. clean room.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.3
    Very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dated. Carpet needed cleaning. TV didn't work. Bathroom toilet area had permanent urine smell. Not impressed.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    clean and comfortable, conveniently located close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    clean and comfortable, conveniently located close to pheasant run conference center

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very accommodating and the facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not the most comfortable and the heater was loud.

    The staff was very accommodating and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: