Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Rapids-Airport 3 stars

4747 28th Street South East, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1915, USA

#18 of 38 hotels in Grand Rapids

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    It was convenient being close to the airport.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The side door entrance off the parking lot wasn’t locked so anyone could walk in.

    It was convenient being close to the airport. Friendly staff, clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, staff, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels at the pool; the shower curtain was inefficient and flooded the bathroom - I spent time I didn't have sopping up water from the floor,; the breakfast buffet ran out of nearly everything

    Location, staff, bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    It’s a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for more towels every day. We had 2 adults and 2 children. Got 2 sets of towels. We all bath daily. The housekeeping staff was wonderful bring more. Very friendly, but when you pay for 2 adults and 2 children, you should automatically get 4 of each towel. Also, the bathroom is very tight, although I have to admit I am very clostrophbic .

    It’s a very nice hotel. Great staff. The most delicious cookies ever!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Horrible no fridge microwave no continental breakfast and so pricey shouldve been at motel 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt even have microwave or fridge someone got room for some teenagers i was harrassed because they assumed they were my kids and they were not. Called my room threatened to charge me for the hallway smelling like weed when they were smoking not us

    Horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Best overall experience in a while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Tub was out of service the day of our stay (but signs at desk to advise). Very loud group of kids or young adults in room adjacent to ours until midnight (but hotel at capacity)

    Delicious warm cookies at check in. Staff super friendly. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed in this being a hilton property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful Looked nice but was an old hotel bed with a mattresses pad on it It was hard and no good spot to sleep I did not sleep well and I hurt in the morning

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    it was ok... id except more common sense from the hotel given the situation
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked 2 rooms for the bridal party the night before her wedding... i guess it should common sense that the rooms should be next to each other or adjoined... but instead they were split apart down the hall from each other

    the facility itself was very nice. the breakfast was great and the staff was pleasent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    It would be great if the infrastructure were half as good as the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ice machine didn't work for the duration of our stay. Because the bathroom fan didn't work, paint is peeling on the walls. No fridge, no microwave, no guide to local attractions. Signpost the fitness facility (we weren't the only ones who had trouble finding it).

    The desk staff was excellent--welcoming and accommodating. The people who cleaned the room were outstanding. The location is reasonably convenient to downtown and a few places to eat. There's plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old towels could have been tooken and replaced with new ones

    The bed was super cozy . I loved it and the room temp was great . Loved the pool also .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Great weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the check in and check out staff could have been nicer. I requested a handicap accessible room and we did not get that.

    The room service dinner was amazing and delicious. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay with family for Thanksgiving!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction was going on and that made taking the stairs harder but not impossible. Did not create any problems for us.

    We stayed to go shopping on Black Friday so were there for Thanksgiving dinner so ate at Ganders restaurant. It was awesome. Loved everything except the melon was not that ripe. The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was extremely clean. Great location. We had breakfast at the restaurant too at 6:00 AM. the staff brewed ice tea for me and gave me a to go cup. We loved our stay and will go back!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    It was ok. Just ok.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money we spent (477.00), you should have provided breakfast at no cost.

    Beds were comfortable and bath was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Short visit but great.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in bathroom is such a necessity. No hotel has them any more

    Staff were wonderful. On site restaurant/bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay if visiting Grand Rapids area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style of the decor. Friendliness of the staff. Convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Hard mattress!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard mattress!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislike.

    Timing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great size room, beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. The floor under the sink was stained and dirty.

    Great size room, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay Staff was great Felt very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cookie of Course

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great variety in the hot breakfast buffet, with absolutely...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great variety in the hot breakfast buffet, with absolutely exceptional service (restaurant, front desk) and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    We were happy and comfortable. The room was very clean
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mobility/Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not good. a bit over priced

    breakfast was excellent Rooms are clean, good location for Airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall stay pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room air conditioner unit was too loud, mattress/pillows too soft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    The room was spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't fluffy enough

    The room was spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great place with a friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't find anything that I didn't like; everything was great

    Wonderful french toast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    We would recommend this hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We prefer to stay in hotels which offer complimentary breakfast.

    The room was extremely comfortable, and the bed was excellent. We love the cookies!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Wedding Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm chocolate cookies at check in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Very close to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No enough salad foods.

    Very close to the airport. It gave me enough time to rest in the morning. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary breakfast only coffee.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Everything I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything I liked

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    We were confortable. I slept my best for a first night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom to small. Take tub out, put in shower

    Lobby & Dinning area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    4.2
    Reservations issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservations issue. Inaccurate and difficulty fixing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    The hot chocolate chips at the desk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast potatoes were hard but the food spread was nice over all.

    The hot chocolate chips at the desk

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.9
    Good stay at the DoubleTree
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could use some updating.

    Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Staff was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Airport shuttle is super convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really cheap toilet paper

    Late hours on the pool—doesn't close until midnight. Airport shuttle runs every 30 minutes like clockwork.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.9
    swimming pool existence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ongoing renovation was so so

    swimming pool existence

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.1
    No refrigerator, elevator broke
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator, elevator broke

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    6.3
    They claimed not to have booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They claimed not to have booking.com reservation even though I had confirmation. 11 at night a line to check in 30 minutes for them to not find reservation. Desk staff gave person in front of me a key to occupied room. Front desk a mess!!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    2.5
    I thought we were going to be able to use hot tub and pool...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I was billed incorrectly the first time which result in a overdraft charge! Thought it was corrected only to be billed again 149.00 the second night which was paid in the first billing. I thought it was taken care of when I checked out and was told no more charges. Then Today Two Days later I have three more smaller charges on my card from my stay!

    I thought we were going to be able to use hot tub and pool but not!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    5.8
    Group of girls on my floor who played room tag until 1:30 in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Group of girls on my floor who played room tag until 1:30 in the morning. Complained to front desk at 11:30 but it still continued. Had a seven hour drive the next day. Not fun on no sleep. Complained to staff again next morning and she didn't seem to care at all.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    6.3
    overall It was a good place, big rooms, easy to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom was dirty, there was hair in the bathtub, and it had a big chip in the paint in the bottom of the tub.

    overall It was a good place, big rooms, easy to access.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Staff were helpful and kind
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy

    Staff were helpful and kind

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good sized room. Good water pressure in shower

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    Good size pool and hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little pricey for a night in GR, especially for a Sunday.

    Good size pool and hot tub. Spacious room with nice decor.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    It is located near the airport & have good services.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    It is located near the airport & have good services.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.5
    Pool stayed opened later than some other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool stayed opened later than some other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    7.1
    Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old facility....needs lots of update....!

    Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Not enough clean towels at the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not enough clean towels at the pool

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    12pm check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    spa and sauna didn't work. Gave me 20% off because of issue.

    12pm check out.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    Liked the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wish the beds were queen instead of full-sized. The real world uses queen.

    Liked the rest.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.5
    Loved the bed and choice of pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm short so the bathroom sink was way too high for me

    Loved the bed and choice of pillows

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very comfortable. Room spacious!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.5
    That nobody told us when booking that the pool was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That nobody told us when booking that the pool was not usable.

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: