Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton University of Houston 4 stars

4800 Calhoun Road, Houston, TX 77004, USA

#165 of 389 hotels in Houston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Yo high to say the air dont blow cold air.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the booking.com website it says $15 parking you get to the hotel to check in they tell you its $20 for parking plus $50 for accidental that will be refunded after you check out. Get to the room the air in on 75° we put it on 65° nothing change its still hot in the room. Call Guest Service they said they will send someone up That person never came to check the air.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    overall too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no mini fridge and no microwave and TV channels were not good at all.

    bed was comfortable and room service and food was good. staff was really nice and informative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Not a bad stay just needs minor improvements.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restroom door did not close reported it to front desk. AC didn’t cool like it was suppose to . Stayed just cool enough that didn’t make it uncomfortable. And when I got under the covers to go to bed there was a girls T-shirt under the covers . And the free parking was a pretty good walk away from the hotel.

    The style in room was very nice probably one of the best I stayed at. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very friendly and willing to help with all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk over a block down the side of the road to get to the pool, which closed at 8 on a Saturday and didn’t open until noon on Sunday.

    The staff was very friendly and willing to help with all our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Served its purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall experience in checking in and restaurant service seem slightly less professional, but I found out later it was run by students which explains why. For college students ran hotel, it’s decent, but it could also be better.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest issue was the shower. The glass door wouldn’t close all the way so there was water everywhere when done. Also, the bathroom door was a sliding door with no lock. Apart from that the room was quite nice and very clean. As for the value...no. $200 a night for a room with no mini-fridge or microwave, no breakfast, or free parking isn’t a good deal. I stayed for the location; which was excellent considering it was right across the street from our show’s venue.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    It fit the purpose, but next time will pick a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1; Beds were hard and both wife and I woke up with backs hurting. 2; AC was blowing directly on bed and could not change direction of air flow. 3;Inside restaurant very expensive for simple meals. not really any offsite placed to have simple meal within walking distance. 4; extra $20.00 parking fee a day for street parking was a surprise and was hard to swallow.

    Staff was nice and answered our issues. As coffee drinkers, they provided extra packets when we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    We liked the location and all of the staff we ran into were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the room was horrendous. We could not determine if it was just a horrible musty smell or if it was a sewer smell. The room seemed to have been unoccupied for quite some time so maybe that was it but it was awful. The beds were hard as a rock and for someone that has RA back issues it was tough to lay there all night. We were there to attend Cougar Preview with my son and it made it really hard to walk around all day after sleeping on that rock of a bed.

    We liked the location and all of the staff we ran into were perfectly polite and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    My son attends college at the university so it is convenient.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not good. Woke up with sore neck and shoulder. Parking is ridiculous based on the cost of the hotel. Should be complimentary for guest.

    My son attends college at the university so it is convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel but restaurant needs help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel. I ordered something to my room and was quoted "10-15" minutes. After 55 had elapsed I called and told them to forget about it.

    Had a junior suite and it was very spacious! My vehicle did not fit in the parking garage and they were very helpful finding an easy alternative solution- very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    It was just a one night stay convenient to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage underneath. There was barely enough room to get in our Ford truck

    The room was very clean and the beds were very soft. Plenty of room to sleep the five adults with a pull out sofa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how my debit card was charged when I checked in for the hotel restaurant...I was told if I didn't eat out of the restaurant it could take up to 10 business days for me to get my money back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    We ate breakfast and lunch from the hotel restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we didn't have to pay for parking.

    We ate breakfast and lunch from the hotel restaurant and both meals were delicious, especially the mushroom ravioli. The hotel room was very beautiful and in the middle of the University campus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Great stay - our second time using this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints - staff was extremely friendly

    Near the location where we were attending an event, clean/ comfortable room, and great food. Also, we love the fact that booking.com and the hotel were able to make adjustments since our stay was only one day instead of the original 2-day stay as planned due to weather conditions. Thanks for your consideration!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Access to UH recreation centre (which is an excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited stores and shopping available in walking distance/ surrounds

    Access to UH recreation centre (which is an excellent facility), great to be based on campus, clean, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff came to our door 5 times asking when we were checking out. Staff was prompt in bringing up a crib but no sheets

    Large room comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Modern, great location on campus, super staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just remind the cleaner to do a brief vacuum under the bed. Otherwise the room was really spotless and the bed extremely clean and fresh.

    Modern, clean and super comfortable hotel right on campus. The staff were really outstanding and went the extra mile in helping me with information I needed. Really comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    It is very convenient since my daughter goes to University...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very convenient since my daughter goes to University of Houston

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    My stay was excellent.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike.

    I like the proximity to the college. The staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    It would have been nice if we were told ahead of time before...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if we were told ahead of time before booking this hotel that there was a additional fee for parking!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Very happy. Convenient location. Friendly staff. Helpful reception staff
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive

    Extra comfy bed and right on campus for graduation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Nothimg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothimg

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is Within the campus of UoH and very clean room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is Within the campus of UoH and very clean room with elegant view to campus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    There was no heat in the reception hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heat in the reception hall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. My son attends Th University of Houston

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent experience and facilities!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Liked the decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to restaurants

    Liked the decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Microwave, need inside and better coffeemaker.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwave, need inside and better coffeemaker. Rest of facilities was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Roll in Shower - Hearing Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to open room door. Needed pressure and bend up on the key card

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Doesn't have a pool
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't have a pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    No hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Spacious of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking underground.

    Spacious of the rooms. Promptness of guest services.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    So far no problem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far from downtown

    Atmospjere of the Hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    7.1
    Close to the UH
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1. When I checked in, a staff didn't tell me about Wifi password. When I typed my room number and my last name, wifi wasn't connected. I went to the counter and asked about the password. He said I had to type my last name and mother's first name, which he hadn't mention when I checked in. 2. On 12/17, when I inserted my room card, it did not unlock my room. I asked a staff for help, but there was no explanation nor apology. 3. Most of the staff are UH students and I think there was a communication issue between students and the director. Students did not know about free parking.

    Close to the UH

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    5.8
    Room was very nice and clean.
    • Family with older children

    No pool/hot tub on site, website is misleading on this. Front desk was clueless to questions asked about hotel amenities. Hotel shares pool with the university and there was a swim meet while we stayed, so all aquatics were closed but nothing was mention on the website or at the front desk...kids were not happy.

    Room was very nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff were wonderful and the hotel was quite nice.
    • Family with older children

    It was confusing to get to check-in from the parking garage. We ended up wandering around quite a bit at first.

    Staff were wonderful and the hotel was quite nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    Very nice room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested room with view at booking and upon check in. Got room with view of garage and roof. No fridge in room. Have to pay extra for parking and very difficult with a large truck.

    Very nice room and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    Son arriving to attend UH, so great location for this.
    • Solo traveller

    Would have been good to have a small fridge in the room, especially as the ice machine room was under repair.

    Son arriving to attend UH, so great location for this.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.8
    Location at the university.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Both elevators were out of service and we were on the 5th floor with my 75 year old parents for my daughter's graduation - this was completely unacceptable. The staff in the restaurant appeared to be all new and service was very poor compared to our prior stays - this was unfortunate and surprising given that it was such a big weekend at UH.

    Location at the university.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    The hotel is beautiful and very well kept.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be nice to have a microwave and refrigerator in each room. I requested a refrigerator and it was placed in the room immediately. Perhaps the same thing would have occurred with the request of a microwave. This was not a problem.

    The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The staff was very friendly, and did everything to accomodate all of my needs.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.8
    John from security was the most helpful staff member...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    paying for parking is non-sense when the rates are as high as they are and with no other options. Bar could be larger

    John from security was the most helpful staff member I've run into with special assistance with logistics.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.6
    Had to be at.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to be at. u of Houston, great place to stay

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    It took us over 15 minutes for four orders of bagels and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It took us over 15 minutes for four orders of bagels and muffins!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Super nice and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing we didn't like!

    Super nice and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was nice and clean.
    • Family with young children

    Over the weekend only one elevator was working.

    The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very professional.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff!
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff! Beautiful facilities--well maintain and sparkling!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    5.0
    Location close to venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All the amenities were closed due to the holiday

    Location close to venue

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Entire experience was incredible!
    • Solo traveller

    Entire experience was incredible!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice clean upscale hotel
    • Group

    No free breakfast.

    Nice clean upscale hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.1
    Room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool under construction during the summer time... ? No mini refrig or microwave

    Room service

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    I couldn't get a paper receipt stating how Much my card...
    • Family with older children

    I couldn't get a paper receipt stating how Much my card will be deducted . :(

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Cold food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cold food

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Parking garage had a strong foul odor.
    • Family with older children

    Parking garage had a strong foul odor. Pipe broke in our room and I was offered breakfast (what?!?) after paying for 2 nights and staying 1.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    3.8
    -Nothing-
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    NO WATER, what is that!? -HOTEL!- OMG! Really Poor!

    -Nothing-

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.2
    Location of the hotel to the venue.
    • Family with young children

    Water leak on Sunday. Could not take a shower or flush toilets.

    Location of the hotel to the venue.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    The courtesy and attention to detail of the staff was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The courtesy and attention to detail of the staff was exemplary!

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff comfortable beds Local

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    I noticed the room didn't have a Bible I thought that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I noticed the room didn't have a Bible I thought that was sad, glad I had my own.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.8
    very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    vey poor wi fi connection

    very friendly and helpful staff

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: