Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Waikoloa Village 4 stars

69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738, USA

#13 of 17 hotels in Waikoloa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is limited supply in the room, no cup, no shower gel (only soap), no teeth brush, no sleeper. If you go to pool, you have to get the tower from the vending machines at the ground floor of your own tower and return it back there as well. Feels like the hotel is so mean about things. We pay 400 dollars per night is not worthy.

    The room is clean and spacious. Overall the hotel is a bit old. The swimming pool is big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kpc restaurant at the resort had a spectacular view over the ocean. It was a pleasure to sit on the outside veranda for breakfast and/or dinner when the sun was not too hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    our flight was late at night after we checked out. we asked for change room for having some shower before, but the counter said they doesn't have such room

    huge place, very clean, great stuff, and high value to the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like a lot of things were broken or out of service. It’s a hotel that feels like it “used to be” amazing, but now is struggling. But they still charge sky high prices as if they’re still that “amazing” hotel they used to be (6.99 for bottled water). The wait staff at the Lagoon were impatient and rude. It’s just a place that could (or maybe had) the potential to be truly magical but missed the mark with us.

    It’s a great place for families! Water slides and Dolphins! Very cool lagoon for snorkeling and water fun (with turtles)!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated. Beds are not true King size and mattresses are old and so uncomfortable. Housekeeping rumbles by with their carts and are so loud!

    Property was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding or getting beach towels was a pain. Went to two different towers just to find two towels for the beach. Need more places to eat or get drinks, especially at the Palace tower.

    I like the fact that they had activities on premise such as paddle board rentals and kayaking rentals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Resort was very spread out - so much that it required a shuttle to get from the lobby to your room. Felt like a big production to get from one point to another.

    Resort was very nicely landscaped. Lots of water sport equipment available for guests. Very comfy bed and room amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    sinks werestarting to leak because of age. Food and drink is very expensive at the resort and crowded, so rent a car and drive around the island to enjoy the real Hawaii. a very diverse island

    the employees are all very nice and the place is well kept. Lots to do and explore. You can rent a car onsite for a decent price to drive around the island (highly recommended). lots to do for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and shops were a bit too expensive. Yikes! We mostly went off grounds to eat. The $27 a day parking fee is insulting. We are paying to stay there, our parking should be free OR MAYBE $10 a day would be fair. The extra per day fees are ethically wrong as well. There’s a room charge, tax, fees for the grounds, etc. then on top of that I was told $300 is kept for ransom as well for room cleaning, damage, parking etc. but isn’t that what all the other fees were for? I felt like I was being taken advantage of. Ended up costing about $1,000 more than expected.

    Food was great, loved the coffee shop under our room, our view was to die for, the birds in the morning were an extra natural bonus, staff was meticulous and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants didn’t serve the greatest food and the parking is quite expensive.

    The facilities here are amazing. We’re not the type of people to sit by the pool all day but we loved doing that here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really far from everything else. If you want to do some snorkeling or sightseeing prepare to travel

    The resort has everything you need... well maintained for an old property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the BREAKFAST was way OVER priced for a BUFFET and no alcohol. Did not eat there again. Italian restaurant was very good. Didn't eat any were else because the prices were high. In our room, the Palace Tower, in front of the bath room sink, your feet would stick to the floor. I think at one time the toilet maybe went over or there is a leek some were around the sink area. because the floor was sticky and wet. I would go back to the area, how ever I would look at other properties. The price for this property was a little high.

    bed was comfortable, are room was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is beautiful however the sheer scale of it is very overwhelming. It took nearly 2wks for the resort to release held funds on my credit card. The dolphin cove was very upsetting. I can’t support a business that promotes the exploitation of wild animals.

    Everything you would expect from a Hilton resort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The offerings in the room are less than what I would have expected for the price of the room, pretty basic, shampoo, conditioner and shower cap. The price of parking is enormous, i.e. self-parking $27, valet $37, per day. Food prices at the resort are also very high. There are cheaper restaurants outside the resort several miles away.

    The property is exceptional. The immense amount of exceptional East Asian art on display alone is worth staying at this resort. Add to that the expansive and beautiful architecture, the elaborate well kept grounds, the beach lagoon, the extensive amenities offered and the welcoming staff.. It goes on and on. This is a VERY large resort so it takes time to navigate from the room to leaving the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were wonderfully comfy and invitingly appealing. (Will buy those pillows for my home.) The beauty of the resort is well worth seeing. Good place to take long walks, if you have the time between all the varied activity opportunities. The Concierge services were superb, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Nearby are two good shopping areas, particularly Queens shopping mall with a reasonably priced good supermarket general store.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room - Disability/Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small downside to this hotel (and every other hotel in Hawaii for that matter) is the use of single-use plastic. It is terribly bad for the environment to use so much plastic (eg. Plastic take-away cups, straws, food containers etc). I am very environmentally conscious and hope in the future that the hotel might implement some more environmentally friendly initiatives (eg. Paper straws, crockery in the bakery instead of take-away cups, no plastic cutlery etc.)

    It has long been my dream to stay at the Pink Palace, and from start to finish, this was a 5 star experience. The moment we arrived at the property we were greeted with a fresh flower lei, a nice touch that makes you feel special. Our room was ready for us to check-in at midday, even though official check-in time is 3pm. Thank you to the front desk staff for allowing us early check-in. It is a lovely touch that was very much appreciated and did not go unnoticed. Our room was in the Historic section of the hotel. We booked the cheapest tier of room as this was a very special treat for us, and we could not afford more than this. I was shocked at the vast size of the room. I was expecting a small room with barely any room to move, but to my surprise the room was huge. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. A little tip - we pre-booked a beach umbrella with 2 beach lounges for the day. You must do this ahead of time. I booked 3 months ahead to be on the safe side. If you turn up on the day and expect to hire one you will be disappointed as they are almost always fully booked by then.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Mountain View - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was pretty shocked to have to pay a significant amount per day to park there that wasn't made obvious or included in room rate. Many cafes/restaurants closed quite early so not much for late night fun

    Pool setup was fantastic felt like a real treat - waterfalls, waterslides and spas. And then all of the lagoon for swimming as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Myna birds swalking early in the morning.

    Love the tram, the boat ride to and from your rooms. The big island breakfast place was wonderful. And the pools... They were awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bizarre place. A time vortex to 1980's version of oppulence... which is now falling apart and very dated. Not to mention just too large and difficult to get around. Guest service is also stuck in the past. Perhaps okay for families. Very Americana culture... pass.

    Great sunset views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet cost too much money. Need a lap pool for adults. Need hotel shuttle to and from the airport.

    Staff made the extra effort. Property is well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Self-parking at 27USD a day is quite steep and should really be part of the resort cost. The captive dolphins were a major disappointment. After learning how dolphins are captured, separated from their families, and then broken down until they learn how to do tricks from the Dolphin Project, it was painfully sad to see these beautiful creatures performing and posing for a souvenir. Nothing compares to seeing dolphins, or any animal, in their natural environment. Based on this alone, I wouldn't stay at the Hilton again in the future.

    Maria Elena at the front desk was amazing! After telling her that we were there celebrating a big joint birthday, she went and printed out birthday cards for the pair of us, gave us leis, and two complimentary drink cards each. It was such a lovely way to begin our stay! We were also upgraded to an ocean view room, as they had overbooked our original room. The view was lovely and the room was very large. The Kona Pool is incredible - absolutely massive - but the Kohala pool was essentially empty for our whole three-day stay. Even though it is mainly used for kids, there is still a small pool up the stairs with no waterslides and wasn't used at all. Most of the families seem to head to the Kona pool, so having the space to ourselves was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is WAY to big w/ long waits for the tram or boat @ times. Every thing is WAY over priced from the room, all the extra hidden fees, & the parking to the food & merchandise ($13 for a small bottle of eye drops).

    The kids (10 & 7 yr old girls) loved the pools, slides, & fish tube

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit bummed that one of the pool slides was closed for repairs during my stay. The resort is so huge that you'll get a great workout, but the tram is really slow and rather noisy - walking ended up being almost twice as fast (or more) every time.

    Probably the most fancy and luxurious places on the Big Island. I booked here based on the price I could get compared to other resorts in Waikoloa, and I was hugely surprised. Can't say I expected dolphins or a gorgeous resort the size of a small town, but now I'm just upset I didn't book more than one night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large property lots of walking from rooms. Too long of a wait for tram to take you. High food/drink prices.

    So many things to do at the Hilton. Snorkeling in the lagoon, nice swimming pools, clean property. Will stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it’s so large that it’s inconvenient to get anywhere fast. The trams were never often enough. The food was less than mediocre at all the restaurant except one, and for the kind of money we were spending I expect good food. Also every pool should have a bar, atleast a bar on each side of the resort. It’s really annoying to be at a pool on the ocean tower side of the resort and only have a little cart that comes around with a handful of things. And lastly the towel situation...I have never been to a resort where it is such an ordeal to get towels. Your seriously going to charge $10 Per towel if not returned to the exact location you got it from? Its outrageous and annoying more than anything.

    Was a very beautiful resort

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the fact that somehow as booking through a 3rd party I got charged twice for the resort fee!

    The beauty of the place! Well kept and staff exceptional!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    What makes it great, is one of it's downfalls. To have all that opulence, you need a lot of units, which requires a lot of buildings. It's a massive resort. It took us around 25 mins to get to our car in self-parking, using the Tram. Vacation time is precious. The Tram running every 10 mins does help, and the property has dolphins, so walking by them on your way to your tower, can be a very unique experience. The toilet and shower room felt crowded in our Palace Tower rental. Their DVD collection is limited, and contained the worst title ever, Silence.

    I had meals at KPC and the Lagoon Grill, both experiences were better than I had anticipated, quality restaurants. I haven't had too much luck with hotel/resort restaurants in the past. They have a moat in the middle of it, shuttling passengers from point to point. A very pleasant ride at night, it gives you a chance to look at the canvas of the sky. One massive pool with 3 hot tubs, and some smaller pools at the Ocean Tower. The property is beautiful, with animals everywhere. Cats hustling at the bars, fish in the moat, turtles hanging out, and even an eel slithering around. There's a nice beach within walking distance, where you can find some beach cats on welfare. The Lava Java is close by, and saw multiple happy visits from us, they have a great beachside view of the blue Hawaiian ocean, and you may possibly see birds having dirt baths. The staff was friendly at the Hilton, a pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much nickel and diming. A daily “resort fee” which is nothing more than an increase in the room price by over $100.00 for our three day stay undisclosed (except in the small print, which we did not see until we arrived), daily parking fee of $37.00 a day, etc. What seemed like a reasonable rate when we searched options to booked, turned out to cost almost double of what we expected.

    A beautiful setting and a lot of lovely artwork on the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View and Lanai
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You'll pay for any extras; expensive for families., but there are ways around that.

    A great place to stay for 3 nights to explore that side of the Big Island. It is expensive for sure, however if you want that tropical hawaiian experience , this resort had it! We were upgraded to a room overlooking the dolphin pool and out to the beautiful ocean through the palm trees. The resort is large but accessible, especially in off season times. I imagine it could get very busy during the summer. But there are regular trams/ monorail that take you to your rooms or lovely little boats that go through the canal. There is no sandy beach as such, except at the lagoon, but you can easily walk through the rocky path towards the nearby beach. We did that our first night, seeing the sunset and then having a great dinner at the Lava Lava cafe. It is within walking distance of nearby outlet shops and restaurants ( Daylight Mind Coffeee company is wonderful) if you don't want to eat at the Hilton itself. (We bought yogurts, cereal and fruit at the supermarket nearby) .There is also a shuttle bus that will take you to the shops for $2 each way. We were able to snorkel just near the lagoon and saw turtles and some colourful fish. Location is great if you want to use as a base to explore that side of the island ( we did a sunset trip to the top of Mauna Kea( they picked us up from the resort) and drove to the top end and through the rolling "ranch area". It is a very easy drive from the airport to the resort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Tower Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facility was to big for us. It felt like a tourist factory. One example is the breakfast that was served in one of the ballrooms. It was not nice and it felt very unpersonal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Tower Queen Room with Mountain - Mobility Accessible with Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too many vegetarian options to eat in the restaurants located at the site.

    Liked the room, activities the hotel offered, ocean view and access to the ocean. It was expensive for our budget proba ly because of the holiday time. Not too many vegetarian options to eat in the restaurants on site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They provide us a complimentary upgrade from regular lagoon tower ocean view room to luxury suite which is stunning! The largest room in the 6th floor almost 100 m^2. I feel so lucky to be upgraded for free that we only spent one fifth of the room fee to move into this amazing suite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower Queen Room with Mountain - Mobility Accessible with Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got double charged for parking and did not receive a reply to my email inquiring about why I was double charged. Not enough money to keep pursuing but enough to not rate this place as high as I would have

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was wonderful and great for kids. I was very disappointed with the staff who the people who ran the property. The property is 62 acres and at time, only one place to pick up towels for the swimming pool. It took me 1 hour to pick up some towels. Also, they will try to scare you by saying you must return the towel after done or there is a 10 dollars charge. I asked how can they monitor if we returned it or not and they say there is a chip in the towel. I cracked up laughing. It is a lie.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed at the Palace tower. I believe this was a lucky thing as sometimes the train did not work and we felt sorry for the people that had to work carrying children to the Ocean tower late in the evening. In the morning the train times were not so frequent and if you were lazy to walk you could be late for your appointment in case you were there for busincess like I was. We found out only on the last day that you could actualy see the train schedule on the TV. There was a chanel just with advertisement from the hotel. We went early December and the pool water was very cold it took some time to get used to it to manage to enjoy eith my child. There was no shower at the pool and no real changing room. I believe they do that to avoid that people that hasnt pay the resort fee use the pool but it is bad for the guests I suppose because the pool is not as close to the room and you may not want to go with your swimming suit in the train. We wish we could have made a reservation for the comlimentary photo section. It would have been nice to know at check in that was available at the hotel. The taxi to other hotels in the resort or the shopping are cost a fixed price of US$ 10 which can be expensive if you are using it a lot. There is a shuttle though but starts only 10 am.

    The room was superb, very spacious. The boat worked outside the working hours once and we could enjoyed. We loved to swim with the dolphins and take the pictures of the sea turtles. The resort is beautiful. The staff was very friedly and gave us a late check out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was either poor or very expensive, either way poor value-for-money. In a restaurant I do not expect to be feed luke warm burritos with the consequent risk of bacterial growth (food in my opinion should be either hot or cold) on a plastic plate.

    Wonderful position.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant selection is very poor. The service in the restaurants questionable The bars at the pools close to early for adults. Really 5:00?? that is just weird for people in vacation. You REALLY NEED TO TURN THE restaurant on the point into a much better restaurant. Word all along the coast is that it's just marginal at best but it has the best of you to offer. It really doesn't make sense for anybody who's willing to spend money here at this resort to have to leave every night to find A better quality restaurant. We had to leave because the first night we dined there was so poor

    Location and the grounds are sensational

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waterfall was turned off for maintenance on both days we went to the pool.

    There's sea turtles in the lagoon. The dolphin quest on site was amazing. We barely had yo leave our resort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food places were open very limited hours.

    It was beautiful everywhere we went. Saw new things each day just walking around. The staff were all very accommodating and our room was quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Tower Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like how trapped we felt there. The resort makes it purposefully difficult to leave (presumably because they want you to spend your money there rather than go out to other restaurants) . There is one primary entrance and parking lot so everything gets a bit bottle-necked. If you stay in one of the other buildings, you are fairly far from that entrance and will likely end up having to take the tram or boat to get in or out (we were lucky enough to be in the Lagoon Tower). There is no microwave so plan accordingly, only a mini fridge and Kuerig coffee maker. We preferred going into Kona for dinner and exploring beyond the walls.

    We loved the lagoon/cove area. It was a great place to introduce the kids to snorkeling. Also, the Luau was very nice (good food, great service and excellent dancing).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was really expensive but really bad food. Disagreed with dolphins being held captive in such a small area. Hidden costs included in everything.

    The pool areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1st room bad, 2nd room better but not great(location not what expected) Food overpriced for quality. Parking should have been free for self parking

    Beautiful setting and grounds. Most staff very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Mountain View - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to dinner one night at boat landing cantina for ok food and a family of cats waiting at our table for scraps. Recommend getting rid of cats.

    Pools are awesome. Resort is gorgeous!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniness. The floors in the Palace Tower were dirty; the elevators walls doors and button panels were beyond grimy; the bathroom in the room we stayed in was not clean. Everything was over priced.

    The staff and grounds were excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - VIP was not worth the money. - Luau VIP was a great show but not worth paying for VIP - waiter took forever to get us drinks - food serving and seating seemed disorganized - there were no special identifiers for VIP (no special entrance to get food as advertised) - mixed drinks are watered down depending on the bartender...more times than not - Everything closes early at the resort - if the pool is open till 10 pm, the pool bar should also be open - Restaurant waiters were good, except the one guy server with long hair at the Kona Tap room. He had us waiting FOREVER to order anything, never checked on us after we got our food, and I almost had to get up to as for the check after sitting there 20 mins after we had finished eating!

    - Beautiful scenery - Nice pools on site - Great bartender Jeffery at the poolside lounge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Tower Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough amenities , they should provide Q-Tip, lots of pool & beach time, we needed Q-tips.

    Lagoon with fish & Turtle. Dolphins Quest, It was like a Disneyland, very entertaining, Big swimming pool, great water slide ,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was extremely expensive. 50$ for breakfast is outrageous.

    The property is stunning. Views are beautiful. The lagoon really made up for the lack of beaches. The spa was really nice and the pool areas are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so big that it's takes a while for the tram to come by and pick you up or you have to walk a lot.

    Room was comfortable clean. Pools were fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everytime I needed tram the wait was too long...so had to always walk. The coke machine didn't work properly. Even though I had an oven view..i expected to be able to hear the ocean...instead I heard all the water falls, noise if the property.

    The bed was very comfortable. The service personnel were always friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    Room was a little dirty. upon check-in. found a dirty wash cloth hanging in shower and rubbish alongside bed. Told front desk clerk, asked if I wanted to change room but I did not want that. I wish they would've gave me something back but no

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Hearing Accessible and Garden or Mountain View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The hotel is rather isolated and guests are forced to use hotel food, drinks at all times, which were vastly overpriced. There is very little entertainment and no free hotel shuttle. We were put into the part of the hotel which was due to be taken down and hence has not been updated for quite some time (The ocean tower). This should have been made clear to Hotels.com and then passed on to us. We certainly paid enough for a luxury holiday but did not have a luxurious room and building. The other side of the hotel (The palace tower) was very different thus we feel short-changed. I hope that the hotel manager will not respond to this with his "We are very sorry..." as he cannot really do anything - the head office that should take some steps to rectify the situation.

    The breakfast was great but at $35 per person it should be...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and drinks way over-priced (martini = $16). Had to take a 10 - 15 minute tram to get from lobby to our room. Could walk but would equal the same time. Only 2 elevators to service a huge number of hotel rooms. Felt trapped. If I had left something in the car it would take at least 30 minutes to go retrieve it! Charge for parking in lot. Maybe good for families with kids. Resort area built up with shopping strip. All very fake and not a real representation of the Big Island experience.

    Comfy room. Nearby beaches were excellent. Cool art and sculpture in walkways.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower King Room - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for the quality of rooms. There are a lot of hidden costs - $30 for parking; $30 for resort fee. I would have chosen a different hotel if those fees had been obvious shown along with the room price. Room was not as clean as I would have liked. Breakfast was mediocre and expensive as well.

    Comfortable with many amenities. They accommodated our request for a complimentary late check-out, which was a huge help. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Resort View - Mobility Accessible with Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All resort activities advertised were booked upon our arrival. Kids did not get to do yuk, hula lessons or Lei making in the 4 days we were there....all classes were booked. But the grounds were amazing and we swam everyday in pools and played in the lagoon. Even saw sea turtles!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled musty and balcony and window was dirty when we arrived. Cottage cheese ceilings and very dated and chipped decor. Shower curtain smelled moldy. The waterways through the property were very green and in the heat of the afternoon, the pond-like smell wafted up to the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need more on-site breakfast locations. The luau way to expensive

    Very clean. Many choices for food. Stores nearby, complaint taken care of immediately, love the dolphins, lots of beautiful art and many places to walk,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    All the extra charges - we knew about the $30 a day parking and the $30 a day "resort fee" (which is mandatory and only seems to get you wifi, which is a bare minimum in most places) on top of the $300+ a day for the room. We found it disgusting that there was no shade around the pools, except the sun loungers with shades attached which cost $100 a day (no hourly rate). The cabanas were even more. Hilton = cancer or pony up even more dosh on top of the already high charges. Breakfast was dismal. They charged us $70 a day (plus tips) for 2 people and a 3 year old (she was free) to access a buffet of fruit and really cheap-quality pastries, waffles and fried food. The food was so bad we didn't bother using all our vouchers, and went to the Lava Java cafe in Waikoloa Village instead. Really good, fresh, food there for $30 for all of us. The pizza place on site was OK, though there are nicer places off the resort for a fraction of the price. The other restaurants were very poor in terms of food quality. We were pressured and pressured at a timeshare sales pitch - but it did get us a few hundred $ off helicopter flights we were going to take anyway.

    Clean and spacious room Nice sunset

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished that the rooms had a rug when stepping out of the shower. The room temperature would only go as low as 68 * and at night I felt could have been colder but there was no fan either. The room is poorly lit specially at night time. The food in all the restaurants was expensive and just ok. I wished that with each towel card you could get two towels, one is not enough

    The hotel was very clean and every member of the staff was very friendly. The tram was helpful although it moves very slowly. Lots and lots of beautiful views and lots of pool areas as well as relaxation spots. Great beach a short walk away next to the Marriott.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was very easy & they are very nice. The fact that they give children a ticket for a complimentary ice cream was so seeet of them.They have a rental booth on their beach that offers the use of life jackets at no charge is really great to. It helped my son learn how to swim by himself ! I loved it there & so did my son !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Tower King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything had a price tag on it, even the covered seats near the pool and the gondola near the beaches even if they were empty, I have traveled to quite a few destinations and I found that very bizarre. Also, I couldn't understand why would a staying guest should pay for parking even if the parking lot had so much space, also no airport shuttle service. even upon arrival no greetings and the most astonishing thing was they do not give drinking water in the room!!!

    very clean, pleasant and excellent managed property, the whole resort had a very friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent Spa and Gym facilities,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are quite a few additional charges that are not covered by the already high 'resort fee'. $32 per day for car parking is ridiculous and basically amounts to an additional resort fee for your car. $100 per day for a covered sun bed is outrageous, especially since there are very few sun shades provided by the hotel. The $35 per person buffet breakfast is overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was pricey - especially the breakfast buffet!

    The resort is beautiful and lush. There are many swimming pools to suit your needs and the scenery is breathtaking. We stayed in the Palace tower and the rooms were lovely! Very spacious with a big comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self parking is ridiculous. There weren't enough spaces so people were parking on crosswalks and impeding driving lanes. Also, the restaurants/eateries close pretty early (avg 9 p.m.)for it being a resort.

    The transportation around the grounds was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Partial View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in very slow and still got things wrong (like number of beds in room, number of towel cards etc). Also insanely slow queue for ice cream by kids pool. I gave up after it hadn't moved in 10 minutes and there were still about 20 people in front of me.

    Fireworks were great tho you don't need to be staying here to see them. Also the kids pool area was fun though very crowded.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As others have commented the hike from the car-park to your room can take up to half an hour if you have to wait for the tram or boat. We stayed in the Ocean Tower which is the most far of all the accommodation buildings and the distance got old very quickly. It is walkable in 15 minutes or so if the heat/humidity permit. If you intend staying within the resort the whole time though, this is not an issue.

    A lot of facilities and complete resort feeling. Views could not be beaten.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Resort View - Mobility Accessible with Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds!!!! Small, lumpy,unconfortable. The fridge,extremely noisy.. If staying in Ocean Tower your quite far from everything,or the centre of things!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the charges for every little thing. An example of this- a requested microwave that had not been put in the room was then given a $30 delivery fee when correcting the mistake. Also the distance to everything in the hotel makes for long travel times.

    The grounds were beautiful! The beds were very comfortable. And the statuary was incredible.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was expensive. Breakfast buffet is $32.99, but it was huge. But really I have no complaints.

    This is a great place to stay. Checkin and checkout were a breeze. Beautiful scenery. Plenty of lounge chairs all over the property to relax in and enjoy the ocean. Walking paths go from one side to the other or you can take the tram which has 5 stops. Never had to wait long for the tram. There is also a boat you can take from 2pm to 10pm but it is slow. There is no sandy beach to swim in because of the lava rocks but there is a really nice lagoon to swim in where you can rent lots of beach toys and there are several swimming pools, one just for kids and one just for adults. There are 3 towers with rooms in them which are approximately 7 stories. We had a king room with lanai. It was very big with a couch and walkin closet and mini fridge. Great bedding. I used their laundry facilities and the free movie rentals. I could go on and on. They have a very large parking lot which took a little bit of walking to find your car for $25 a night or valet for $32 a night with unlimited in and out. Shuttle to two small shopping centers ($2) about a mile away which have general stores where things are much cheaper than at the hotel. And a shuttle to the beach about 3 minutes away. They have thought of everything. (A taxi from the airport was $66.)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast food and coffee was cold, only one set of towels, no coffee maker, parking access was horrible so it was very inconvenient to eat anywhere else.

    The staff were nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they gave us was not the room we reserved. The hotel said if we wanted our room that it would cost a little more money. Also aloy of shops and restaurants were closed. The Hawaiian cultural room for visitors and kids activities was placed in a hard to find area.

    I enjoyed the facilities they had however it does need a little more upkeeping on the property and rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View and Lanai
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hilton time share club reception staff were offensive when only one of the two of us turned up for a sales presentation. The tone of voice "where is she" and "why isnt she here" was arrogant to say the least. I was shocked at the attitude and treatment. They shuttled me back to the hotel WITHOUT ANY EXPLANATION. In addition, the breakfast food was terrible and the cuttlery and crockery were not clean enough. There were streaks of ??? on most of it. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is too rocky, and there's a rip tide. The tram is slow. You could walk from your room to many places on the resort in the amount of time it would take the tram to pick you up and carry you, and you'd get there way before the tram. The water at every swimming location is extemely cold, and they completely ran out of towels in the middle of the day at the "Kohala" pool. There are towel machines (like vending machines) that were empty. The room we stayed in with king bed was not worth the money. The coffee maker did not work; the electrical socket on bath counter did not work, there was not a separate shower from the tub and you couldn't sit on the toilet and shut the toilet door at the same time--the door would hit your knee! Self-parking costs $27 a day! And the resort fee is high!

    The pools look spectacular. There are several pools-- a pool for adults only, 2 huge pools for families, a sand pool for kids, and a lagoon with boards, paddle boats, and snorkeling. There is a fantastic pizza restaurant (some of the best pizza we've ever had), and the resort is spacious and beautiful. However...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To pay 100 US a day for seat with sun protection. We did not and stayed below palm trees for free. The weekly Hawaiian dance show was too pricy and the food too average. The show itself was OK.

    Great location and facility. I travelled with my wife and we enjoyed every moment. The resort is really beautiful. We stayed in Palace Tower and it was perfect. Golf courses were perfect too. Small shopping malls are walking distance at 20 Minutes or may chose a shuttle from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Tower Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room and time it took to get in your car and depart premises. Using 1 tram for peak tourism time is POOR. Because Tram took so long we ended up walking. No problem unless you have appointments off property. I would not recommend to anyone who wants off duty activities. Would recommend to people who don't want to leave site. Just too much time from our tower to the car and getting around in general. Also , not having at least 1 computer in lobby for getting boarding passes is poor planning. Had to use business office.

    Food at breakfast restaurant was excellent. Staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Resort Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited access to beach and ocean in this region.

    Beautiful sea front location in natural surrounds and great ameneties. Ideal location for exploring Mauna Kea and the west coast of Hawaii Big Island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Tower King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our honeymoon and everywhere we stayed we got champagne up to our room and a congratulations but here..... Nothing.... Not even a room upgrade I know it's not mandatory but it's nice when resorts do those things. Hilton is not one

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: