Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hob Knob Inn & Lounge 3 stars

2364 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672, USA

#13 of 29 hotels in Stowe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No NESN. Could not watch the Red Sox game.

    Everything! The room was clean and very comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was fabulous. The bartender was wonderful. The family that runs the inn was friendly and always available for anything. The continental breakfast every day was excellent also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Mid level cost inn, a bit out of the way, very quiet, clean, rooms a bit dated but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills and a bit out of the way. Would stay closer to downtown Stowe next time. The lounge was closed for renovations, which we knew ahead of time.

    It was folksy and pleasant, clean and well kept. It was quiet. The woman at checkin was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant and relaxing place to just unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything.

    The location was excellent, lots of trees, and had a pool as the weather was extremely hot....the Owners went over and above to accommodate all our needs....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The location outside of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    constant noise in the background from A/C or water heater (never been able to identify the origin). Breakfast was not very good.

    The location outside of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    We would definitely consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was very worn, had a funny odor; could have been from previous pets since they do allow them.

    The staff was very friendly and professional. It was nice that the inn was located off the road, away from traffic. We can't comment on the amenities (breakfast, hot tub, etc.,) since we didn't use any of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was looking forward to the bar and the games that were in the pictures. Unfortunately it was not open.

    Cute, quiet family run inn. less than 2 miles away from restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    The room, the bed, the bathroom facilities were all very...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, the bed, the bathroom facilities were all very comfortable and very clean. We would not hesitate to repeat our stay should we find ourselves in Stowe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Convenient location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a refrigerator and maybe a microwave, but not necessary if this keeps the price down. Driving out is dangerous because it's hard to see traffic beyond the hill and curve.

    Beds were comfortable. Parking right at the door of the room was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Big clean room and comfy beds. Continental breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some issue in the communication of booking.com and the Hob Knob. Booking emailed me to confirmed the number of guests and my answer didn't seem to be known by Hob Knob. She printed out the bill before I paid and good thing I checked the number since there was US$60 extra. Also I would hope that they open their breakfast earlier in the winter for skiers/snowboarders. 8AM was a little late.

    The size and cleanliness of the room were over expectation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was large with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking was informed the restaurant and lounge was not open, leaving short notice to book elsewhere. They charged to allow us to have a refrigerator to keep food, despite the restaurant and lounge was closed. No microwave either. It was just little things. All in all the staff was great.

    Room was large with balcony. Cleanliness was ok, good enough for me. The secluded aspect of the inn was refreshing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall this was a good value providing a clean comfortable room with no frills. I would stay here a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or small refrigerator in the room. Location of the outside hot tub required driving to it. Could not turn off annoying balcony light.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was just minutes from the mountain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved if the restaurant and lounge was open during the week as well. Was open on our last night but when we went down it was packed so we didn’t stay.

    We wanted a quiet stay and we got it. Very peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, family friendly gem in a great outdoorsie location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family who runs this inn is absolutely lovely. So kind and friendly! Our kids played in the snow on the grounds and played games each night in the lounge with other kids who were staying for the weekend. Extremely family friendly. For people like me I have to comment that the sheets are nice! Cotton, comfortable, better than expected for a less expensive hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    2.9
    It was dirty- looks nothing like picture- there were no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was dirty- looks nothing like picture- there were no perks- never saw breakfast or coffee- snow not cleared from parking lot. Heater made noise all night; and the bed was nothing but "peaks and valleys"- terrible. We left after one night. Horrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more selections for ala carte breakfast. French toast with vt maple syrup;)

    Was there for winter rendezvous gay ski weekend. Very welcoming and positive experience. The owners had an Amazing ice and fire sculpture Event that was very special.........yes ice and fire ;) Hot tub at night in snow. Great bed ! Definitely will be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Cute place in a good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room’s heater wasn’t working super well.

    The room was spacious with a nice firm bed. The breakfast was tasty and served in a cozy room in the lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay! Lots of snow!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold outside (-10) to use outdoor hot tub. Wish hot tub were closer to guest rooms.

    Game room, bar, comfy. Great for families and dogs. Nice owners.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like over there at the hobb knobb inn

    Clean quiet comfy. Just what the doctor ordered. Staff super nice and helpful, made me feel like I was visiting family 👌🏻👌🏻

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The accomodations were very comfortable, and the staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was slightly difficult pulling out of the drive onto the road.

    The accomodations were very comfortable, and the staff and breakfast were great. I will rebook if we return to Stowe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We had a very enjoyable stay at the Inn. We Would definitely stay here again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have back issues so the bed was a little uncomfortable for me. Other than that everything was awesome!!

    The room was very nice and clean. And the staff were very friendly, kind, and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    The fireplace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an error in my booking through Booking.com. The front desk insisted I was wrong. I showed my email with the correct room boked. She made no effort to apologize and then proceeded to insist I pay the difference in the room, rather than letting it go as a courtesy and as a way to make a goodwill gesture. That certainly soured my feelings about the place even before we checked in.

    The fireplace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Cannot rate the air conditioning as it was cooler weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot rate the air conditioning as it was cooler weather. The couple that own Hob Nob are delightful hosts. Very enjoyable. View from our room lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Property was quite and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi strength was low in our room. Everything else was great!

    Property was quite and peaceful. Sleeping area and bathroom/dressing area were spacious. Bedding and mattress were comfortable - had a very good night's sleep. Complimentary breakfast was delicious! Lodge and dining area are very inviting and comfortable for couples and families. The owner/operators were welcoming, friendly and kind. We will stay here again!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.5
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not think door was safe, so my husband put our suitcase in front of the door, and the owner actually walked in on our room at 5:00 a.m.!!!! She said she was sorry and that she didn’t realize anyone was in our room! REALLY??? We had just checked in at 4 in the afternoon. Needless to say, we didn’t get much sleep after that. They offered us nothing to rectify the situation. The inn needs a bit of work, bed is practically on the floor and the place needs a bit of upgrades. Would NOT recommend even without the incident happening.

    Did not like at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready on time, we had to push them to finish cleaning it on time. The main building with the game room, lounge and restaurant was closed and locked except for a breakfast. The staff was no where to be found. The room was nice and comfortable. This is a family run business ,but they are too busy with family to bother much with the guests. There was supposed to be a balcony with our room but there was none. Would not return .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    We will not visit again to many other places in area likely better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting could not read inadequate seating room needs updating shower responded to someone else turning on their faucet resulting in cold or hot water. bathtub slippery needed mat. no overnight maid service to make bed or replenish towels or coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Top nocth, best place ,going back again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stay in many hotel and motels over the years and this is one that I send everybody I know too . The owners were great , the staff was tops and the place was kept up very well . It is in an area where you can walk too a lot of the places , too site see , stores , places to eat or just go for a good walk . Can't wait too go back again .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really.

    The only lodging in the area we saw that was up off of the road. Lovely, secluded location with a small pond onsite and seating arrangements for guests even outside. Continental breakfast was more substantial than most with delicious hot oatmeal, fresh toasts, jam, fruit, yogurt. Eggs available to order for those who chose a larger meal. Room large and comfortable with a gas log fireplace. Bed comfortable as well. Clean, quiet, lovely all around - especially enjoyed the presence of the innkeeper's children and pet dog on our arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    Won't be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bar and Lounge, which is also the only restaurant, was only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday, 5:00 to 9:00. We had one drink, which was $17.00 each. There are no other restaurants or lodge areas on the property. There is a free continental breakfast which is available 8:00 to 9:30 every morning. If you want eggs or bacon, that's an extra $7.00. The hot tub is a small covered hot tub which was located down the hill from our room. We stayed in the summer. I can't imagine walking back to our room in the winter! Wifi works on a random basis unless you're staying in the rooms next to the lodge area. Don't try to check in early, you won't find anyone available, the office is locked.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, fairly comfortable property, overpriced though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furniture and bath. Rather a motel look.

    Stowe is a fairy tale village with a warm overall look, conveniently located within a magical mountainous playground. Bears are present also...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Cute, clean, safe Bed and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner poor, cold outdoor pool, no workout space Driveway is steep and has sharp curves.

    Balcony overlooking a little pond. It's really a bed and breakfast. Cute place and Breakfast was surprisingly robust with hot oatmeal, and fresh fruit as well as continental type offerings. Air conditioner did not cool the room but screened windows allowed in cool fresh air. Place accepts pets, but was very clean. On site bar serves food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    My Vermont Lodging Destination
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have the option of renting a microwave and refrigerator for our rooms. Nevertheless, we still had a great time.

    It's peaceful to take a stroll and hear the babbling brook/nature. I love the friendliness of the innkeepers/family and the regular guests during breakfast. It's was very convenient to all stores on RT-100. When I return for a visit to Vermont, this will be my lodging destination.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    Good location but severely disappointing property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were highly disappointed in this hotel. The carpet was severely stained, the sheets were stained, the toilet did not flush and the shower went off during a shower. The light outside our window was on a timer that went off at 2:00 AM. Needless to say our room was light as day until then. Breakfast was in a dark, old, tired looking lounge. We were visited by the owners 2 dogs while having coffee and I overheard him tell a patron that one of them was not housebroken! I love children, but not when the owners children drink orange juice off of a the tray for patrons and puts it back! We felt like we stepped into the owners home. They were nice people, but all of this was inappropriate for a business.

    The location and parking were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Fun, laid back and a great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only concern was the light outside our window shown through the curtains and did not go off until 2:00 am when the pool lights went out. A blackout curtain would help tremendously.

    The food was good, the staff was great, they made us feel right at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    If you are visiting in the summer, I HIGHLY recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are visiting in the summer, I HIGHLY recommend getting a drink from the bar and enjoying it in the outdoor seating behind the backroom. It was so beautiful and such a perfect cozy retreat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Rustic area, beautiful setting, comfortable room, easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no refrigerator in the room, but the motel owner offered to keep my ice packs in her own personal freezer. Breakfast offerings were minimal but acceptable.

    The property was beautiful- in a wooded area, very quiet and peaceful, lots of places to sit outside if one wanted to do so. Parking was right at the door to my room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    awesome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a refrig in room.

    I really liked the fact that the rooms were up in back of office and restaurant. nice and quiet. would stay there again. Love the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    good fit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    departing entrance,

    The Room was very clean quite location, the only downside was the leaving the driveway location between two corners with fast traffic coming both ways. would stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    A great place with NO disappointments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn't anywhere nearby to get late-night food, snacks or drinks, so it's good to bring some provisions with you. There is a restaurant on site, but it isn't open late.

    Our stay was in the Fireplace Junior Suite. We arrived late after the office closed; an envelope with our room keys and directions to our room was in a box next to the office door. (Call ahead for late arrival instructions.) The property was well-lit, and we had no trouble finding our room. The room was clean; it was immediately obvious that the owners take pride in keeping a nice property. The bed was very comfortable. We had a room with kitchen facilities, and there was a nice Keurig and a selection of coffees. The bathroom sink was in a separate space just outside of the toilet and tub/shower area. The tub/shower was big; two can shower comfortably together! Plenty of decent towels are provided. There is free continental breakfast available in the on-site restaurant in the morning. We did not partake, so I can't say more. The property is beautiful! Views of forest and well-maintained grounds. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Hob Knob Inn Stowe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame but a bad start when we arrived after a 5.5 hour journey as they could not provide us with a cup of tea and no tea making facilities in Reception. We were one hour early to check in time and understandable the room was not ready and would only say it will be ready at 3 pm. The dining room is only open Thursday to Saturday which they said is included in their comments. When we finally got into our room we found we could get some hot water to make tea and this could have been explained when we booked in. Wouldn't put us off staying here again and would try to book in when the pub is open for drinks food and hopefully good atmosphere!

    Good location with short walk into town. Parking outside cabin. Outdoor pool. Very good breakfast. A lovely pub when its open.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    LOVED IT!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were wonderful! family run facility who were very friendly and pet friendly. Facility was close to town walking distance and walking distance for hikes, and bike trails. Highly recommended! We will definitely be returning!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Great place, but only if you are 30+
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff wasn't friendly. Suspected that it was because we were a younger group of guests (24-28). It was off-putting that one of the staff members greeted the other guests during breakfast, and wouldn't even make eye contact with our group. Upon our good mornings to the staff we were ignored. I guess the owners prefer an over 30 crowd...

    Great area really close the a few bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Good parking, acceptable breakfast, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fine, hot items were extra. Although there were instructions for the TV, it was still confusing to figure out. Was expecting more from the previous ratings.

    Easy parking; pet friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Great place to stay with kids! Friendly and fun staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast that was included was VERY minimal so we ate out every morning. Also the maid did a terrible job cleaning our rooms. Never vacummed, or friends rooms bed was just thrown together and nothing was put in place.

    the game room and lounge is perfect for family's. and the outdoor patio was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received a wonderful welcome at check in. Breakfast included environmentally correct and award winning. Spacious rooms but no microwave or refrigerator. Bring a cooler. Perfect location to all sites including Alchemist. We loved it!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    I haven't stayed there in many years but enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The driveway can be a little tricky to get out if traffic is heavy coming off the mountain.

    I haven't stayed there in many years but enjoyed the stay. The continental breakfast was perfect. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a little uncomfortable. Would have liked a small fridge and microwave in all the rooms.

    The property was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Its family owned and operated, the restaurant/rec area/bar is family friendly. For all ages. The owners were extremely pleasant to chat with.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast could have been a bit more filling, maybe a couple more pastry or cereal options. We liked the ability to add food a la carte, but there was only eggs and meat. Our second morning we ended up going out for breakfast instead.

    Dinner was delicious and the lounge was the perfect place to relax. Quiet lot set off the road, good for our toddler to explore the woods and ponds. Our deluxe king room was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Will stay at again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed somewhat uncomfortable, a little too hard for my liking. The room was very warm, however the windows opened and we had just had some very hot weather so not their fault the room was too warm.

    Owners very friendly. Great location, good continental breakfast to go with room. Room was very large and comfortable. Loved that was able to open windows for fresh air. Had view of a pond from our room. Large grounds with ponds and walkways.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    We ate our breakfast out every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of places to eat, which had nothing to do with the inn

    We ate our breakfast out every morning. Because of the time of the season a lot of the eateries were closed. For the price we thought we had an excellent place to stay. Would return at another time of the year. We were the only people there for most of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.4
    It was a nice area with a very nice bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and pub were closed when we went but we were not informed of this, the bathroom was dirty and had very poor hot water.

    It was a nice area with a very nice bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    An easy escape from reality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Driveway into hotel is steep and entrance from south is a "hard" turn

    Suite had everything we needed to make this a "stay at hotel" and totally relax and close enough to town or the walking paths. Quiet surrounding made you feel like you were totally alone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    The room was spacious and comfortable and it is a very nice...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication, fees, charged more than quoted for pet, had questions re: travel routes due to road closure that weren't really answered and told that breakfast was not inclusive in room rate (continental only), uphill driveway not plowed causing extremely dangerous parking incident that took over one hour to dig out in the middle of the night with no one to assist.

    The room was spacious and comfortable and it is a very nice area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location for our ski trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not a refrigerator or microwave in the room.

    Great location, large, clean rooms and close to everything in Stowe. The hottub was awesome after a hard day of skiing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    The staff is incredibly friendly, the location is perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we drove in a snow storm and the area around the rooms was not plowed very well. If it's ski season, best to drive in a 4-wheel drive vehicle, as the hill to get to the inn is steep and snowy.

    The staff is incredibly friendly, the location is perfect, and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    Clean hotel and great location but could improve what it has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been more comfortable. They beds squeaked and shaked when getting on and off the bed. We wish the complimentary breakfast was offered earlier at 6 or 7am for the skiers that like to get on the first chair at Stowe at 7:30am.

    Hotel was located close to the mountain and restaurants. Hotel room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Sleep deprived - horrible mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 3 nights, but only stayed 2 completely sleep deprived mints. The mattresses were horrible, shaped like a bowl and jiggled and made noise with the smallest moves. We did not sleep an once either night and had to leave early.

    Clean, large rooms, friendly staff, good food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.1
    overall stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom door did not lock toilet seat was loose the bread at breakfast was rotten,had to show it to the staff and they took it back.and provided with fresh one.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Attractive and well run lodging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was a little sparse. Sosa and ice machine inconvenient and hard to find.

    The management team was great, including the sweet "beggar" dog! Loved the fireplace in our room; great for knocking back the morning chill. Nice view of Fall Colors.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    The way the breakfast was set up was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the breakfast was set up was wonderful. Oatmeal was ready in a crockpot, fresh breads or muffins, real dishes (not styrofoam), soft music playing in the background!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location, friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast makes a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking in the back of the lodge on the hill is very tight...be careful!

    It's a beautiful site and just on the edge of the very busy Mountain Rd (VT 108), so it was less busy at the location. Also, you can easily walk to a couple of the eating places and the Edelweiss convenience store. Even better, it's just a short drive to Stowe Main Street (VT 100); beautiful views all around; walking/bike riding paths; the outdoor sculpture garden is interesting; and you're not too far from the Cold Harbor Cider Mill--great donuts and cider.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Worthy of recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Feel more like houses more, several stores considerate service, like family, building well-proportioned, comfortable health room is bright, the scenery outside the window class, convenient transportation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been cleaned more thoroughly. Needed a good vacuuming.

    Location was great. Room size was larger than expected. Restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.4
    Family owned business needs to remodel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very shabby. Horrible beds. No grab bar in bathroom for tub/shower and very slippery. This in would be worth the over $200 per night price if it were upgraded. These rooms comparable to Motel 6.

    Family owned inn. Very friendly. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice place, friendly staff, good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bathroom fan, so noisy you wanted to be in the dark versus turning on the light. Can't imagine the noise to the upstairs guests - tried to minimize use. Left note for the staff and mentioned at front desk. WiFi not dependable, needs more expensive unit that reboots itself every day (or a timer). Did not bring to their attention till checkout - my bad. TV has only basic channels (staff could not help), sports and infomercials during the day... A movie here and there at night. Suggest discovery at least and maybe a few other premium channels. Not that we spent the day watching the TV, but at 4pm after a long day on your feet nice to sit back for a bit before leaving for the evening. TV was totally useless at 4pm Saturday to us anyways.

    Place is dated, but it's been around forever, adds charm like our old house. Few minor annoyances, but mostly everything was great. Family pets are friendly and love attention. Breakfast good. Dinner very good and excellent service. Nice wine choices. Ice machine works great. Room was nicely larger that most. Excellent layout with separate bath/toilet and sink/mirror areas. Floors were very clean. A good nights sleep and no noticeable noises from other guests beside or above. Place seemed packed from the parking lot and it is no wonder based on the outstanding location, amenities, comfort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.8
    Arrived early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early. Had to use the restroom she said I couldn't because the restaurant was closed. I found out later it was behind the check in desk. I'll never go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Would love to come back in the winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used a larger television and an additional comfortable chair. Very tricky getting out of the drive onto the road. Blind curve both directions.

    Very quiet spot back away from the road. Extremely large room with sofa bed, table and chairs, king sized bed and gas remote control fireplace. Small kitchen area with mini fridge, dishes and sink. Huge bath tub! Large benched closet are at the door which worked good for suitcase. Nice restaurant area with small breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice, clean facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Preety nice, very clean. The furniture could use some updating and the breakfast is awful but overall it's a nice place to stop over on your way to and from Canada

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location in an amazing town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only mini nit picky thing, no fridge and the pillows were a litttle flat for our liking. Again that's just being nit picky.

    being greeted by the two pups. Super friendly staff. Location is ideal. Nice view of the ponds from our balcony. Would come back again!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Great experience. Best spot in Stowe !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay at Hob Knob was very pleasant. Place is immaculate; clean and comfortable room, convenient location, friendly human and canine staff, and great breakfast....loved the homemade peach Bundt cake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Dated
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old. Paint was flaking and everything seemed very dated and felt grim. Could use a major update

    the grounds were nice and location good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Great value for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable made a deep well in center of mattress, hurt back. too soft. TV choices very limited it was frustrating. Rooms very dates but value for the price paid for sure.

    Breakfast was great, staff very helpful and friendly, location is great, beautiful area. The Dog Stoli made us feel right at home!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.1
    We were very happy with the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with our mattresses. They were not comfortable and we woke up sore in the morning. The pool looked dirty on the bottom.

    We were very happy with the location. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was great! The pool was set in a nice, sunny area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    The continental breakfast was nice and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard, the room didn't have a fridge or a safe and the staff were not in the main office when I had a question about local activities or when I checked out.

    The continental breakfast was nice and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    3.8
    Fifty shades of green, they must have had a sale on paint.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved for 2 dogs, called right after reserving and asked about the Pet Policy, the owner said "I'm busy I'll call you back" she never did. I had booking.com confirm the pet policy for me. When we checked in she did not know we had 2 dogs, even though I selected 2 dogs and 2 Adults on my reservation and mentioned it in the comments, and emailed the hotel requesting a ground floor room for our 2 dogs. We were given a very dated and worn out room, (obviously decorated from garage sales) that was pet friendly. The pictures were NOT what the room looked like at all. The swimming pool was not clean. Not very hot water, and the hot and cold facets were backwards on the sinks and shower. Some people may find this quaint, we felt it was all poorly done, and "home made". The owner has obviously got too much on her plate, and that would explain her over worked attitude.

    The grounds were very pretty, it was close to the action. A family lives on the property - including 2 dogs and several small children. Two small ponds on the property.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: