Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hofsas House Hotel 3 stars

4th Ave and San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921, USA

#25 of 44 hotels in Carmel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1116 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very cute, in typical romantic Carmel style. The service was lovely, we received so many information on Carmel and its surroundings. The breakfast was modest but perfect for us - delicious, fresh pastries and coffee. Pleasant swimming pool for a refreshing swim. Thank you to the Hofsas team, I'm happy I stayed with you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff. Quite a different place which was great and suited our needs. Room was good and views from our balcony were nice. Close to restaurants and shops and Carmel is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproof at all. At all. We could hear all night people talking, walking around, moving things and using the toilet. In the morning, cleaners will wake you up very early. We barely slept

    Staff, pool, sauna, things in the room and position are very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are really thin, you can hear everything in the next room.

    Good location and good value, staff were friendly and the property had a nice view. Highly recommend the Hogs Breath Inn for dinner, the food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast choice. Only sweet things on menu, nothing salty or cereals. The room for breakfast was actually the same room for check in although it was allowed to bring your breakfast in your room.

    Location was ok. Nice staff and comfort room. Pool was in function.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was noisy. Even with the door and windows shut I could hear a lot of noise outside.

    the view from the fourth floor was great and the staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean and had the amenities I wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no elevator.We had to move all our belongings and luggage from 1st floor to 2nd floor which was a very tough job to us.

    The employee of front desk was quiet friendly and gave me an map then introduced Carmel enthusiastically to me. The space of room fit family to live and there's also a kitchen in the room to cook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    prior to this stay we stayed in the most exclusive hotels in Carmel, but Hofsas House exceeded all of them! The staff was so friendly that they felt like family. The room... omg it was the best! Fireplace... ocean view.. ease of access.. giant bathroom.. cozy comfy bed.. We'll always stay here from now on!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property doesn't have an elevator and we had to carry suitcases up the stairs. Not sure I was aware of this before booking. To be fair, we were offered some help with our suitcases so this note is for those who can't do stairs easily. Ask for ground floor.

    The staff were great and very helpful. The included breakfast was excellent - great coffee, muffins, yogurt, fruit and newspapers. We had a lovely view of the ocean from the balcony of our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was really nice. A variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, and delicious fresh pastries is offered. Our room was very clean and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request a room that includes this feature. There was no microwave on either visit.

    Hofsas House is a distinctive hotel with Old World charm, built on sloping terrain with multiple levels reached by a series of exterior stairs. The room was spacious & comfortable, with a Dutch door which can be opened to enjoy the sea breeze. There is a dining terrace & an attractive swimming pool. The breakfast features an assortment of fresh pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, orange juice, hot tea & coffee. Trays are provided on request if you want to have your meal on the terrace or in your room. The owner & staff are welcoming, gracious & helpful if you have any needs. The most wonderful quality about this hotel is the close proximity to downtown Carmel, which is a short 3-5 minute walk. The beach is within a 7-10 minute walk, depending on the path you choose. We stayed here on two occasions & we would return again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, there was a leak in a pipe in the larger bathroom. The light fixture in the hallway outside the bathrooms did not work and we would have used it for a night light. Because of layout of the facility there are so many stairs to carry luggage....unavoidable I realize.

    Plenty of room in the two bedroom suite. Room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were LOTS of stairs. Not the best situation when you have young children. Hard to get to the room from parking w/o going through lots of staircases. The rooms were a bit dated.

    The rooms were huge and there was a fireplace in the room. There was a private outdoor patio area where you could sit and chat with friends and family. Our kids enjoyed the heated pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get the same hotel for next month based on availability. I wish they had a frequent stayer program.

    The staff was excellent! Very friendly. Heated pool was a big hit with the kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stuff was super friendly - don't remember the name of Lady from reception but she was supernice, room was very clean and spacious, i really like the place and despite the changing weather felt a bit like at home and even stayed there one night longer than planned in the beginning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small and rather rickety! There was too much furniture in the room. We also found it noisy.

    Breakfast was better than average and the hotel was well located after leaving the 17 Mile Drive. Had a nice looking pool but we didn't have the time to use it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located very close to the center of Carmel. All restaurants, bars and shops are in walkable distance. Room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Minimal continental breakfast, but definitely enough to kickstart the day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant hotel! Could not recommend enough. Carmel is definitely something everyone should see once in their life. Hotel was spotless, a little hilly but not unlike the rest of Carmel. Great staff and a great breakfast 10/10!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this room had a view from the door and window of the stairs and pool-spa pump system with chemicals located below steps. I actually made this reservation when I was staying there in early December and requested a quiet room with a nice veiw, and I got neither. This room appeared to be a storage room that had been converted to a room for rent... small TV, poor furnishings, outdated look and a shower (shower head) so tall (about 8.5 to 9 ft from floor level) it appeared to be setup for the center of the LA Lakers. I have attached photos.

    Breakfast items offered were basic and satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast sugar coated croissants in very small foyer and hot drink they would have been better offering that in rooms rather than very limited sofa seating in entrance of hotel.

    Great location just a short walk into centre of town, car parking on site though we did have to carry heavy suitcases up outside staircase as no ramp.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at Hofsas is modest and basically happens in the reception area by the fireplace. However, we didn't stress about it and just had a larger lunch than usual.

    We very much enjoyed staying at Hofsas House. The whole place and the room had lots of character, and we loved the overall atmosphere and the warm welcome in this lovely little town. Parking was free, and there was a well functioning heating and a nice bathroom - real treats when temperatures suddenly dropped and being in a comfy place was all the more important.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can only judge according to the room we had, but we were bothered by noisy neighbors, and he bed was very uncomfortable. Room needs some renovation and updating!

    Quaint, not cookie-cutter! Good location, although built on a hill which makes getting around difficult for someone with mobility issues. Very accessible to the village.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, a short walk away from the beach and all of downtown shops and restaurants. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay longer. . .No fault of the hotel truly. . .I just didn't have the time.

    The staff was super friendly. The Dutch doors at the room entrance are wonderful!! The room was nice, very clean and comfortable. I will definitely remember and book here agian.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, gap under door, split door, flimsy thin walls, can totally hear neighbors in next room, blankets, and if I didn’t already say, thin walls.

    Location and reception fireplace plus parking, friendly reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cute and cozy, but the noise right outside your door, was a bit unbearable, we stayed 3 nights, and 2 of the nights, we couldn't sleep due to one of the neighboring guest, was snoring like a bear.I asked the first time we heard him, if we could be moved the next day, if he will still be checked in, but staff said not to worry, he would be checking out, but he didn't. We heard him all night on our last night. On our day to check out, we decided to sleep in longer than usual, before heading back to Vallejo, we normally get up around 8am, but the maid knocked on our door waking us up at 9am. Asking if we were ready for our room to be cleaned????? I was confused, I asked her what time is check out? She said noon. I told her she can clean at 10am because that's what time we checked out. The pool needs to be heated as mentioned in the ad. It was not freezing cold, but it wasn't exactly warm either.

    I enjoyed, that it was in a great location, close to everything. I enjoyed how friendly the staff were (Kerrie) especially. I also liked that there was plenty parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dated, but that didn't bother me as much because the staff was so nice and the bedding made up for it.

    We had a wonderful stay. Clean room, boutique feel, very comfortable bed and pillows and the sheets were nicer quality too. Had a lovely sauna also. So close to downtown and we walked everywhere. So easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convenience for parking Price was high for the room's condition Pillows were so soft;so discomfort

    Staffs : nice, helpful Location: convenience for visiting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very noisy and outdated. Expected more for that price. All in all it was ok but wouldn’t return.

    The location is great and people who work there very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin. We were waken up by kids upstairs. Breakfast was just pastry, coffee and some fruit.

    Parking on site was not a problem. Didn’t use the pool or sauna. Top floor may have a view of the ocean on a clear day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No need to charge a per day rate for the dog. One flat charge to cover the stay would have been fairer.

    Friendly, helpful attentive staff. Well located to the main part of town and restaurants. Excellent continental breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are older seniors and there was no elevator ! Luckily we had a room street level and was able to find a parking spot in front of the room

    We had our own private balcony there was a table and chairs on the balcony and inside a room where we could eat or have a snack

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing I loved staying there!

    Wasn’t able to use pool , busy weekend, we are coming back in April for our 36th anniversary, loved the top deck for our breakfast and the people were all so friendly, walking distance to downtown was great too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was aware that there was a party going on and did not move our room. At 11 pm with multiple people out on the walkway and making noise I was forced to call after hours number. They responded 30 minutes late to get the noise down. This could have been remedied by moving your guests away from the location. Room was not properly dusted and bed was hard as a board.

    Not much. Breakfast in morning was adequate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not close to the room. However, we parked the car and walked everywhere due to the wonderful location.

    Friendly staff, very accommodating! Room was clean, huge and a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset! Definitely will stay again. Also great location close to everything!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In keeping with the rest of Carmel a mite too much 'chocolate box' and too little substance. Room desperately tired. Mattress appeared to have previously supported several horses and failed. (sagged and bounced) Black mold on shower grouting. Running finger on airvent in bathroom gave noticeable layer of dust. however Staff utterly welcoming and helpful. What I object to is the OTT reviews which persuaded us to go there. This is about as close to a Tyrolean chalet as Disney studios. It is a large wooden shack made of sheet timber rather than substantial logs as in real alps. You can hear someone showering in a room several doors away. It is NOT ultra clean as some reviewers say - key parts are clean but this is not thorough. So - we liked staff, liked the lightweight 'continental' breakfast, thought it was a tad overpriced (but this is Carmel). I would have been happier if people told the truth and didn't launch into hyperbole about it when reviewing- it is what it is - someone's 1950's interpretation of a Tyrolean building made out of cheap materials with which the owners seem to be fighting a losing maintenance battle. If you get a room lower priced than the nearby Best Western then its an OK place to stay but some of the reviewers seem to imply its the eighth wonder of the world and worth going out of your way for --- NOT.

    staff were helpful and welcoming. The 'continental' light breakfast was to our tastes fortunately few other guests around

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it were in any other town, it wouldn’t be worth the price. Fairly rundown furniture, uncomfortable bed, bad lighting in the bathroom.

    We were leaving got to snag a room in Carmel only a few days before a holiday weekend. It’s a funny place - frilly bedspreads with matching wallpaper. I appreciated their commitment to the theme. We enjoyed mingling with other guests while BYO on the rooftop during sunset, the fact we could bring our dog, and being a quick walk to downtown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast was a bit lame considering this is Carmel. There was no option that was not a combo of white flour, lard and sugar except for sugary little cups of Yoplait and fruit - more sugar. The coffee was not of a good quality. Sound insulation was somewhat lacking but because everyone - and their dogs - quieted down early this honestly was not a problem for us.

    One of the most spacious, prettiest hotel rooms ever. Amazing when considering how cramped and crowded Carmel can be. It also featured charming quaint decor that fits the storybook architectural style of the hotel and Carmel itself. Excellent location in walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach. Thoughtfully laid out bathroom with sinks both in the enclosed toilet/bath area and the outer vanity area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Makes you feel back in time! We had room with fireplace, absolutely loved it. Quite location though still close to Main Street. Slightly on top of the hill, so have a nice view. Parking inside hotel available. Good pastry for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't my style but definitely fit the name Hofsas House.

    Great quality for the price. There are lots of stairs and ramps so it will not work for everyone, but we liked it. The Staff was incredible, helpful and anxious to please.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really thin walls. Could hear neighbors above and below us really well. Electrical outlets in room were all really loose so had to charge phones in bathroom. No trash can except in bathroom. Bed was very hard. Shower poorly designed. Too many stairs and no elevator or ramp.

    Great location, affordable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not the most comfortable

    It was a boutique motel and the size of the room was large compared to most accommodations we have had for the price. Nice little area with items for eating in the room if you desired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    My husband, son, daughter-in-law, daughter, son and myself are visiting from the East Coast. We booked a two bedroom suite. It was so cozy and welcoming that we hated to leave. Continental breakfast had the freshest of pastries and coffee was fresh brewed and delicious. Staff was extremely professional and friendly. Very helpful with suggestions about what to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, guess it suits people who prefer a harder mattress. The walls are thin. We heard people laughing and talking next door to us. Around 11pm I was talking on the phone with my sister and an older white lady came knocking on our window and told me she was trying to get some sleep and asked if we could keep it down. Funny part is that I was already whispering. So yeah, really bummed me out that the walls were so thin.

    The property location is just minutes away from the beach and downtown. super convenient location. Bathroom has heated floors which was a plus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very old, need updating Small TV, looked at Hotels.com upon arrival and room rate was $50 less than what I paid thru Booking.com

    Location Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service to assist you with the transfer of luggage to our rooms. Rooms on 1st floor without any elevator. Breakfast room with only 2 tables for maximum 6-8 guests to sit and have breakfast. Necessary to take food away back to the room (was to cold to have breakfast outsude) . Bathroom very small. Hotels in Carmel gets fully packed very quickly and are quite old.

    Good location with walking distance to center of Carmel and Ocean Avenue. Efficient check-in/check-out. Quiet rooms. Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk is cold, when I asked for my payment details, I guess the gentleman was checking but didn't respond at all, just keep us waiting. Basically, each room in Hofsas house has certain to the front desk, where also serves the complimentary breakfast, however, with so many rooms (above 20), the dining space is only 1 sofa and 2 additional chairs. Our entire family walked from far-away rooms to the front desk, and the lady told us we can eat in the dining room (where? the sofa and 1 chair were already occupied by another family), or, bring the breads (delicious by the way) and 5 glasses of milk/juice/coffee back to our room.

    We booked 2-bedroom suite and the space is quite large, 2 bedrooms are connected but divided by door and equipped with large restroom, really love the room quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area is very tiny . So prepare to have an option of taking your meals out to the porch is no seats are available

    Location. Especially end of the corridor room so no one can pass you and on the top floor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    thin walls which means you hear everything and no safebox in room.

    great location with seaviews and Carmel is a quiet town with a fantastic beach at sunset

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was like a trampoline. I wonder where the other clients have slept as they said that the bed was good. The breakfast was totally American with sugar, sugar and sugar. The old lady at the breakfast service was very hostile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind of difficult to get access to several of the power outlets in the room, but this is pretty common for older buildings and is the reason I always travel with a power strip. No big deal.

    Absolutely terrific location right at the top of town. Makes for a great walk going down the hill towards the beach and is a really lovely setting to walk through as well. The staff are super-welcoming and helpful and kind. I don't know what some people are complaining about the breakfast for. I found the coffee to be quite good, which is a rarity and the pastries seemed to be bakery-fresh. We were very satisfied with the breakfast and it was an unexpected value for a room that is already a good price for such a location. The rooms are quaint and lovely, a bit of old-school romance to them which the whole hotel seems to embody. I really liked the community-focus of the hotel with communal tables outside encouraging people to gather and enjoy the wonderful weather. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings and fixtures were very nice. All in all it was a perfect stay for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People from other rooms coming to sit at the table and chairs just outside our room. There should be a sign marking those areas for the apartment guests only. The sea view was very partial across the tree line.

    We were upgraded free to a 4th floor apartment as we were staying for 3 nights. Breakfast pastries, yogurts and fruits were delicious, good coffee too: note that these generally have to be taken back to the room on a tray as there is no dining area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed in the room I had booked a king size room with a pet and was given a full size bed . Walls are super thin you can hear the other rooms using the restroom :( ... no ac or fan just a heater . Tv channel selection was horrible . In the reviews it states pets are given provide a doggy bed or blanket so we didn't bring ours for our dog ... nothing was provided . Definitely not worth the 200 dollars .

    Loved the location . Staff was friendly .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult to find on sat nav and breakfast was ok but generally had to be taken back to room

    Room was good and view was ok staff were very helpfull and knowledgeable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oven view room?!? It should be cal Ocean peek because we could only just see it peeking through behind the trees. Too pricey!

    Sauna was nice. Staff were nice. Room was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have difficulty with steps/walking, not the property to choose. This review form does not have a choice of "family" that does not include under-18 children.

    Unique property - "old world charm". Staff was great - very friendly and helpful. Excellent pastries, as part of continental breakfast. Close to shops, within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was hopeless

    The bed was comfy, everything was very clean and it was so close to town, the beaches and all other tourist attractions, the breakfast was great and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is on the side of a hill and so can be quite steep and places. There are lots of stairs

    Within walking distance of Carmel by the sea, this beautiful pink building has a lot of character. The pool was clean and welcoming. And staff were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You may consider to stay near the aquarium area instead of in Carmel, there are a lot more entertainment and food choices down there, especially in the evening. There is nothing in Carmel after dark you can do besides eat and sleep.

    the bathroom and the heart they put into running this hotel. you can tell from the bathroom that they try to create a warm experience for you. heated bathroom extra warmth. and it's nice little hotel to stay in. pleasantly surprised because it's a great value stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Loved this place. Very spacious, spotlessly clean apartment. Very comfortable beds, two bathrooms. Nice pool. Good location. Plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing. Although the staff said the pastries were from a local bakery, they seemed more like something from Costco.

    The staff were welcoming and provided clear information. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was roomy. The balcony was small, basic but comfortable to sit on and we did indeed have an ocean view. The hotel as a whole was charming, with a nice lobby and a European feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was saggy so the comfort level was poor. The bathroom mirror didn't line up with the sink so it was a bit awkward getting ready in the morning.

    Location was excellent and the morning pastries were terrific. Liked having a private balcony as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The limited parking situation was very difficult to deal with. It was extremely challenging trying to find parking whenever we returned to the hotel. Our room was on street level, and street parking was usually full. I had to drop my husband off, park down below, and walk back up many stairs to our room. It was pretty inconvenient. The room walls are very thin. We could hear every noise from those next door and all other outside noises.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious. I enjoyed sitting on our balcony having my coffee and danish every morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally I was pleased with Hofsas House

    I liked the location. Close enough to the shopping district. For some reason that shopping district doesn't have a lot of restroom access, so its beneficial to be able to walk back to the hotel if you got to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since my husband has a tracheostomy and has a lot of cleaning supplies for it to deal with, we didn't think it necessary to clean our room every day as we were staying there all week. But the front desk said it was a must so we had to put away and store everything every day. One "clean" towel was dirty. But nothing that would keep us from staying again

    Like that it was close to all of the Carmel-by-the-Sea attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could include other kinds of bread lika toast. The only bread available were sweet bread and croissants.

    The size of the room, nice with a big room with space. Nice with a small "kitchen" area with micro, coffemachine, fridge etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the tv screen was a bit small.... the room was also a bit small...just enough to walk around in there was two of us and they only gave us one key

    I liked that they had the soap and body wash....it was refreshed for the second night the mini breakfast and coffee in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in city is terrible. Carmel should get a ticket for the way they treat visitors. Walk from hotel. Hotel has good parking.

    Very light breakfast. Coffee and danish. Coffee was delicious. The person gave me a carafe to take back to the room. Nice! The bed was good. Room was 4th floor. Stairs. (lobby is actually the 3rd floor so I onlt had to carry the cooler up one flight) The view was out of this world. We were looking at ocean and trees. Short walk to everything! Awesome. The price is better than surrounding hotels. All of carmel is dated. You wont find a cheap hotel that is modern. However, I liked this hotel and will stay there on my next trip. Book this hotel and you will be happier than the others around it. Bring lunch and breakfast stuff for you to eat and take to the beach. Spend your money at dinner. Lots of good yet pricey restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms seem to have thin walls. Had to listen to my next door couple argue and slam doors until 1:30 am. Had I brought my little white noise sound machine it would not have been a problem. But I forgot!

    Spacious room and bathroom with a very comfortable bed. Lots of nice little touches in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fair - we had low expectations knowing it wasn't going to fulfill us. They did serve whole fresh fruit which was good.

    Great location !! Friendly staff !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISEY. Street noise at night, and then cleaning began early AM, as departing guest left, the worst was vacuuming the room above us . Official check out was 11:00, and they should have known we, and others, were still in room. This spoiled the otherwise charm and tranquility that draws us back to Carmel.

    View from balcony, friendly staff, spacious room. Good location only few blks from town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street and other rooms

    Bed comfortable room clean deck very nice I would recommend a deck if traveling g with a dog. In room microwave refrigerator large room were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great. There was very little room to eat it and no cereal or toast. Just fruit, yoghurt and croissants

    The room was very big and lovely bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside noise carries in. Bathroom could have been designed better--small shower; mirror not over sink but a foot away. Bed too bouncy.

    Friendly staff. Ocean view and balcony are nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first impression was the lack of parking. My second impression was there is no ocean view unless you leave the room and walk out onto the balcony -- why am I paying a premium for no view? Third, for ~$220 per night, this breakfast did not meet that standard. The coffee was weak, the pastries were chewy, and there was no breakfast room with tables. Other things that could be improved -- thin walls and windows made for hearing almost everything outside and in other rooms. Not quiet except when everyone in the hotel was asleep.

    Location was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and accommodating -- after-hours check-in was easy and fast! Bathroom was big, clean, and had a fan. Room was quite big.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: