Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Lake Okeechobee 2 stars

3101 US Highway 441 South, Okeechobee, FL 34974, USA

#2 of 11 hotels in Okeechobee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good but program your remote controls.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Universal remote controls have to be programmed in order to function. Shouldn't be the guest's responsibility.

    Your breakfast area staff was very helpful and caring.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Very mediocre hotel at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside music was on all night and when I asked for it to be turned down, the employee said that it was not possible.

    Very mediocre hotel at best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great location as in shops and restaurants close by lovely friendly staff great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    The staff were friendly and polite the cleanliness of the work being carried out to renovate the place was quiet and clean good location with shops and restaurants close by . Having a pool to chill out in for a couple of hours was for sure a bonus . You can see the work being done is of a good high standard as our bathroom was very nearly done the bath and shower and the lit mirror were top stuff . The beds were lush

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    The pillows were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was under construction, and we didn't know ahead of time. I'm 5'2" and had to bend down to get under the shower head.

    The pillows were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    booked a handycap room and room 315 is not one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked a handycap room and room 315 is not one. The bath had a tub and my wife needed help to get in and out. No seat and she did not feel safe. Desk they were a 3rd party and could not assist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed no warning about construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was under construction even inside the rooms. There was no warning to me when I booked the room that the hotel was under construction The rooms also spelled musty

    Breakfast and staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tv wasn't put up , toilet ran all night, pieces of wall paper stapled to the wall, if you rent a room at 179 a night I would expect it to be put together and not halfway done.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed to find the hotel undergoing renovation, and still charging full price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is undergoing major renovations which was not shown on the website. There was no breakfast, and no lobby furniture. Rooms were still half complete, and yet we were charged full price.

    The location is close to the lost trail for biking which made for a nice exercise break on the cool days we stayed there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    This hotel is under construction.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is under construction. Every room is being changed which could be nice but our room had wallpaper hanging everywhere light switches that didn't work. the lobby is a construction zone and they serve the breakfast from. not sure how sanitary that is. we only had the sealed options. I'm sure once the construction is finished it would look nice. this hotel as is right now is not worth the price they are asking. Booking.com should let their customer know that this things are going on in the hotel. Very disappointing!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a comfy & relaxing place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs help and it's always the same. The eggs lack flavor, there is no bacon and the sweet rolls taste Frozen and stale. The cinnamon rolls are usually delicious but this time they tasted like plastic. The lady who takes care of the breakfast bar is sweet, attentive and friendly as can be.

    The beds and the pillows are extremely comfortable. I love that we each have a firm & a soft pillow & there is a Keurig! The staff is friendly & helpful. We've stayed here eight nights over the last 3 months and they always remember us, even when I call. they are quick and efficient to help with any issue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed with the state of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is undergoing renovations so hot tub and fitness closed and we were not informed of this when we booked. Looks like it will be a long time before reno is done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    The location was convenient, and the staff (excluding the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was remodeling happening which was fine, but the staff was rude to me for no reason. I mean, I grew up in Okeechobee and was there for my 10 year reunion and the rude front desk staff kind of put a damper on our visit.

    The location was convenient, and the staff (excluding the front desk ladies) were nice enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Quick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool. Very disappointing. On your website it appeared to be a large, relaxing pool. I had visions of sitting there de stressing reading a magazine. The pool had not been cleaned that day or even the day before. The pump was running but did not appear to be doing it's job. There was mold building up on the tiles. All in all a let down. The lounge chairs were all missing a strap. There didn't seem to be anyone else working at the hotel except the friendly person at the front desk,

    We were greeted by a very friendly person at the front desk. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Comfortable Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was kind of hard.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They made us feel right at home. The front desk ladies recommended somethings for us to do around Okeechobee that evening. We enjoyed the pool in the afternoon and took a dip in the hot tub after dinner. The morning breakfast was great! Plenty of options for the pickiest eaters! Ms. Gladys was wonderful and helpful. Seems like she enjoys having breakfast for the guests and making them feel welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    4.6
    No hot water, cold showers and staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water for the length of our stay. I visited the front desk 3-4 times and was told they would send maintenance. Upon check out I asked to speak with a manager and was told that they were off. I left my contact information and called back multiple times but never received a response.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel just went through an up grade with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel just went through an up grade with rooms. The first time I used the toilet flush handle broke and no was around to fix it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Convient and rooms will be beautiful when completely remodeled.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had scheduled a wake-up call and it never came.

    The rooms are beautifully redone but incomplete. Needs finishing. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot around. I had to travel somewhat far to get the things I needed.

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great stay! Room was very spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attendant at breakfast was very friendly and very attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Ok. It would have been nice to know about the construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under renovation. A lot of construction 7 days a week and late into the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    Under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation

    Close to our destination

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Great location, very clean and updated room and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, very clean and updated room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    The bathroom could have been better and the breakfast needs a lot of work not good at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was missing plaster around the edges throughout the restroom.

    The room was clean but the bathroom needed a little more remodeling...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to Lake Okeechobee was not as presented in ad.

    Good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Difficult entry into parking lot for a northerly direction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult entry into parking lot for a northerly direction.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good hot breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hot breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Loved the front desk people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too small....

    Loved the front desk people!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    4.2
    It was a place to stay. That's it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness dated

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Not many places to eat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many places to eat

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Breakfast was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Great stay nice staff good breakfast in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to clean a/c filters very dirty doesn't take very long to keep them clean

    Great staff very friendly and professional

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Did not eat eggs.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cannot think of anything.

    Did not eat eggs. Cinnamon rolls were excellent. Bed was ok. Staff at breakfast was so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    We liked the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived for breakfast around 9:15 and the hot items were already gone. Some eggs and sausage were brought out after a few minutes but they were not hot. Should have come down earlier I guess.

    We liked the location of the hotel. Very clean inside. Friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    The staff including Robert and Sandy? at registration and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Going home

    The staff including Robert and Sandy? at registration and Gladyes and ? in food delivery and a certain few chambermaids. All made us very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff,always glad to assist you,rooms are very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff,always glad to assist you,rooms are very well cleaned. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    The staff was friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was friendly & helpful. The location was perfect for my hs reunion. Very comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Clean and comfortable motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and comfortable motel. All of the employees were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to friends.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Staff were friendly and eager to please.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were friendly and eager to please.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was great. Super clean room. Super friendlly staff. Definitely, will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    THE ENTIRE STAFF AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS OFFERED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE ENTIRE STAFF AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS OFFERED

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was good

    Excellent breakfast. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    7.5
    Free breakfast, gym, Wifi, hot tub or whirl pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool not heated, no restaurant on the premises.

    Free breakfast, gym, Wifi, hot tub or whirl pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    Cleanliness throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness throughout Friendly staff Great breakfast Great location Would highly recommend

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: