Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Otay Mesa 2 stars

2296 Niels Bohr Court, Otay Mesa, CA 92154, USA

#1 of 2 hotels in Otay Mesa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was old trash in the trash can when we arrived and the lamp bulb didn't work and there wasn't anyone there to replace the bulb. It was very late so I understand. But the trash not being emptied bothered me.

    The buffet was great. Lot's of options to choose from

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled. Sheets were not the cleanest and pillows had stains. We had to cover them with our own blankets and pillows cases. I would have complained but checked in super late and left early.

    Breakfast was good but hrs could be extended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised by how large the suite was and very clean! Complimentary suite upgrade upon arrival was greatly appreciated. Stood here with 4 adults and the suite still felt very spacious with all of our luggage in it. Five stars for how clean, comfortable and spacious it was. The beds and pillows were comfortable as well. This hotel is perfect if you're looking to stay some where very close to the border Cross Xpress since it is less than 8 mins away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for top floor got middle, guy at reception desk was rude and impatient; blood on our bed in first room before we moved to New room; location was different, tons of construction to get thru! EVERY single time we left our room, we came back and had to go all the way back to the front desk to get a working key card!! EVERY.SINGLE.TIME! Also, 2 days in a row no cleaning done to our room; had to go request it-didnt even leave the do not disturb sign!😣

    The variety of breakfast;new hotel; very nice style & flooring instead of carpet; great pillows & nice large bathrooms! Tins of channels as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lights in parking lot over cars for safety.

    Unexpected nice bed bath and decor. We usually stay at expensive hotels. Needed to be here for appointment and were pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was comfy and the pillows were soft and fluffy. The room was nice and clean. I especially liked that there was a shade that could be pulled down over the window to block out any light. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing around..

    we have chosen this hotel because its very closed by the Mexico.. the hotel surrounded by factories. thats why security is at a good level..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the shower, it was open. whenever you would use it the bathroom floor would get soaking wet.

    I liked the bed it was nice to sink into

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was trash from a previous guest still in the Kitchenette area ,I wish they had a better Late Checkout policy and for such a busy weekend they needed more staff to assist with the breakfast and guest services.

    It was a nice size room for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only complaint i have is that the air condition in my room didn't really work. I had it on the lowest temperature, highest setting and a constant fan and it still was barely pushing out air. In the second room we had the air conditioner worked great.

    When I booked the room i didn't realize how close to the Mexican border it was. It's literally the last exit before you hit the border. But the room was nice. I actually booked 2 rooms for my family of six. Everybody was comfortable and it was a great experience and a great sleep after spending the day at Sea World. I would probably stay here again if i was in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was pretty lame because it was in the middle of a business complex and not near any restaurants or attractions.

    I specifically looked for this hotel chain because I love the breakfast buffet (lots to choose from) and the room is comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    We booked this hotel after arriving at the nearby Quality Inn and finding it unacceptable for my travel partner who felt uncomfortable sleeping there. The Holiday Inn Express had modern furniture, was clean, had a nice bathroom, and a comfortable bed. It was also located very close to the Cross Border Express which we used in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature not consistent. Room was stuffy. Not enough blankets. Cost and amount of laundry detergent.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable. Sitting bench for bath. laundry room convenience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so many breakfast choices but still good

    Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was good. Close to border. Accommodated our late arrival check in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had to come back after food was ready.

    Had to wait for more sausage and eggs, but only one person was working breakfast and was working pretty hard to keep up.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their customer service was terrible also. We had an emergency and they didn't help

    They charged us $5,000 for one night at a 106 room. Plus the 106

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms, beds are very comfortable and staff super friendly. Very accommodating with late check in and check out. Stayed 2 nights going and returning from Mexico City through Tijuana. Excellent location for CBX crossing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is extremely close to border. Doors are very poorly noise insulated.

    The breakfast was very filling and hearty. Food market was pretty plentiful. Room was nicely designed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little off to much from the fwy, had to use gps to get to it. Wasn't as accessible from fwy.

    Close to the location I had to go to the next day, which was the cross border express.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast for the most part was good. Gravy for bisquits would be nice. We also stayed for three days and there was no variety for breakfast. Shower curtain was torn and worn out. Pay per view movies would also be a plus.

    Very quiet. Staff was very friendly. Comfortable, clean, modern room. Would probably stay there again if not for location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Place was a bit of a building site and the only lift was out of operation for a day. Room was not serviced on the last day of an 8 day stay.

    Very comfy bed.Modern room. Nice but small pool. Good breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience ,unsafe facility. Checked in and got the key ,as I opened the door of our room, there's occupant in the room, went back to the lobby and told the receptionist that someone was in the room, so he gave me another key to our new room, a king size bed( I requested 2 queen size beds ) but he gave me me king size bed with sleeper sofa with no extra blanket and pillow . No iron board no flat iron which is a must for travelers .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think if we wouldve known about the remodeling we wouldn't have stayed here. There was a stack of stuff/trash outside our room 201. Also, by the elevator.. Where was an object left on air conditioner with a wire sticking out. Shower head kept slipping down rod.

    Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost $21 and they charge you for breakfast.

    The rooms were very clean,nice staff,and the food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was so slippery when taking a shower it is an accident waiting to happen.

    The king bed was so comfortable and soft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service and dirty hotel and bad customer service from booking.bom

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to industrial businesses

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, shampoo and lotion, breakfast, computer access,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and the room was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Biscuits but no gravy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like location

    Very nice property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Super clean room and comfy bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants close by was very inconvenient.

    Comfortable, clean room. Good WiFi. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m surprised with very nice facilities and friendly people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to locate it...map works in the area is very spotty.

    Very clean and neat hotel..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok.. could use a better variety instead of sausage everyday.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Gym was equipped properly for my needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant onsite. Major deal breaker! Totally unacceptable, unheard of!!!

    Overall comfortable furniture

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    everything was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows smell sweaty

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fragrance used in the air conditioner was too strong and very overwhelming.

    The staff was great and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a great Continental breakfast! Various amount of options to chose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets was stained (black stain)

    Service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location isn't the best, but it fit this trip.

    The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Lovely pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Service from the front desk personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pancake machine was not workin

    Not enough variations

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Felt like i slept in a luxurious hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bars restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We do enjoy this property but they could be just a bit lower on the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young woman at front desk that night was very rude to me and my wife. Room key did not work and blamed us for it.

    Comfortable, clean, beautiful rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was too much noise, the room wasn't clean with hair on the bathroom floor, & the tub wasn't clean.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed, breakfast, fitness center, pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of accommodation

    Only one crib available not a good place if you have babies or toddlers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Very clean and well maintained. Great location to Tijuana airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit too thin, so you could hear others.

    Good breakfast offered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room and very clean. Loved the decor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    They said it was a heated pool and it wasnt

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The entire room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sheets didn't feel clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to hard to find

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They needed a few luggage carts more than just 1. Had to wait to use it and really needed it.

    It was great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a excellent.

    Everything was clean, staff has excellent customer service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Had a wonderful mini vacation with my boyfriend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is close from crossing Tijuana and cheap.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is very clean and spacious...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to CBX

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    I liked the cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Friendly Staff... Quick check in... and feeling of the place is clean, welcoming, and love the new modern look of the rooms =)

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: