Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North 3 stars

373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080, USA

#12 of 26 hotels in South San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice, but not that nice.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged our card multiple different amounts that was not the room charge, they stated it was deposits for the room that we were not informed about when checking in. The housekeeper who covered breakfast was very rude, breakfast ends at 10, and she was putting stuff away at 9:30 and we had to keep asking her for items that she had already shoved away and she just gave us attitude the entire time. Then the power went out in the whole hotel. So overall was it worth $425 for two nights? Absolutely not.

    Room was clean, Welcoming staff was nice, I believe her name was Frann that checked us in and she was very helpful in upgrading our room to our proper needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and loved it only draw back that I found was the hotel was shot far from tourist destina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was up to the mark

    The breakfast choice was gr8 Hotel staff were very friendly and co operative Nice clean and big room Gr8 shuttle service from the airport th the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    I WASN'T HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE MY ROOM HAD A BAD SMELL AND WE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR PARKING
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THAT I HAD TO GO BACK DOWNSTAIRS TWICE BECAUSE THE KEY DIDNT WORK AND I DIDN'T LIKE THE FACT I HAD TO PAY FOR PARKING THAT'S RIDICULOUS ILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disposable plates/bowls and cutlery but this seems to be an American thing. The shuttle drivers need to clarify to guests which hotel they are going to - how was I to know there are three Holiday Inns near the airport!

    The business suite Good size and well appointed rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel staff member Fran was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym could have had more equipment.

    The hotel staff member Fran was very helpful. We were extremely pleased with her friendliness and she was very helpful. I would give her an "On the Spot Recognition!"

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Look elsewhere for stay and park packages!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although they have a free park and fly package, which we have used several times in the past. They failed to make it clear that there was no free parking when using Booking.com. In turn, they charged $25 a day for parking! The manager never returned my phone calls regarding this situation. Very disappointed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is ok - Holiday Inn standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is ok - Holiday Inn standard. But horrible neighborhood - the hotel is surrounded by drug users and homeless people 24/7; we often saw people using drugs or passed out on the sidewalk out of their minds , right next to the hotel entrance. Not a place you want to walk with your family at any time of the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall the stay is okay, what is not okay is we are not booked, no reservation at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It turned out booking. com wasnt able to appear in their records, we have no reservation made by booking.com. Your booking ref didnt appear in their records even our names. Its a good thing the property is not full so they were able ti accomodate us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    The establishment was clean and it was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    house cleaning comes a little too early. I was woken up by their knocking, didn't like that

    The establishment was clean and it was quiet. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and home feeling

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This location was perfect for us.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too late to have and make early return flight.

    Great accommodations and shuttle to SFO made it perfect. I love planes and had a view of planes taking off. Made my trip. Also close to many restaurants. Quiet and well maintained. Well worth the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    I wouldnt stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and worn hotel. Very expensive for an old place. Breakfast was not worth eating and bedding looked dirty. Found hair on and under the bed covers. Asked for both beds to be done over with new linens.

    Nothing...I wouldn't return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean but very rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff very rude, not welcoming, snappy, seemed to be purposely slow when doing any transaction only hurried when manager unexpectedly approached

    Soft bed, tv channels were good, breakfast was good and replenished when needed, clean rooms, clean dining area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Toothbrushes have to be requested and not readily available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toothbrushes have to be requested and not readily available in the bathroom. The elevator broke down during our stay. There was a fire alarm during our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Good property for a short stay when arriving or leaving SF by plane
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast served with basic products. no healthy or local food. industrial food. it coult be better

    very large bedroom with a queen size bed. very clean very quiet room although the hotel is near the airport free shuttle to aiport every half an hour the whole day checkout time at noon

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.5
    Good place for a overnight stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No health eating options around or near by the hotel but then again that's not the hotel's fault. Could hear all the airplanes.

    Location, room size and complementary breakfast and free airport shuttle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    we love to stay in Holiday Inn .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was very good except your plastic spoon,fork & knife need to be more durable.cosco brand will be more acceptable.next year same month we will be here.

    me & my wife like the smell of our bed,very comfortable .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Very nice my wife was very happy.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None,excep will be nice to have a pool in this beautiful hotel.

    The freakfast was realty good the front desk so friendly and kind the only thing i mist was the pool,the room very clean and the hot top was awesome very nice gim,thank for make our stay very happy.Thank you booking.com for make everything easy for us and thanks for the good deals.Jose.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Close to the airport with early morning shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the airport with early morning shuttle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Damp carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes at the lobby entrance

    Damp carpet. Appreciate that they clean but we we arrive it was really damp

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff’s friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Bed was alright.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive for this hotel.

    Bed was alright. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    It was good overall
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi problems and the hallway was noisy at time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    N/a
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Awesome stay, would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was perfect.

    The bed super comfy! Everything was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfy bed, microwave fridge and its quiet
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, microwave fridge and its quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just used it to stay in to catch late flight to fiji

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with good rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with good rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Very close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, hotel close to airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Francesca at the front desk was a very happy person and made...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Francesca at the front desk was a very happy person and made interactions absolutely cheerful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Free breakfast option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free breakfast option

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Facilities and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    I only stayed a night.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed a night. No glaring problems.

    Breakfast was okay. Clean overall. I have no complaints.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Meh... just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was overpriced for the accommodations.

    Hotel was OK, and close to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff and the vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the vibe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    I never had to pay for parking at a Holiday Inn Express before
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let me know there was a parking charge.

    Very nice accommodations, $10 charge for parking was unexpected. Friendly staff, good breakfast options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A good place to stay for the final night of our vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk clerk Fran was excellent: accommodating, enthusiastic, knowledgeable; very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.6
    DONT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a particular woman who works here called FRAN she's the most unhelpful persinperson

    Hol inn exp is a franchise and it shows

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    2.5
    I don't remember a good think.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager is really bad and all staff.

    I don't remember a good think.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.0
    Location to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby and general areas not very clean, room was cleaner than other areas.

    Location to the airport

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable but way TOO hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable but way TOO hot. I suspect a plastic mattress liner and polyester puff for a comforter.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Very pleasant & comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant & comfortable stay. Friendly staff. Clean facility.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    N/A
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for Parking. Bed uncomfortable, location

    room size. Free bfast ,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was extremely noisy - noise from the hallways and from the outside during the night. The hallway and the room had a weird odor. Didn't appreciate being charged $10 to park our car on top of the expensive room rate.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    2.5
    No compensatin nothi
    • Family with young children

    My T.V was malfunctioning in the whole time. A message kept popping up stating that If it kept it up to contact front desk....so I did. The hotel did NOTHING....?

    No compensatin nothi

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    2.5
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very horrible attitude when asking when is the receipt dilivered the indian front desk said stop asking dont let me answer you several times if every one like you i really get headache! wtf

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked a double queen room as travelling with our 2 boys. Arrived to be told they were sold out and a king room with sofa bed would be provided instead. Then getting to room to find sofa bed not made up and no pillows or sheets in room either. Not what you want when you arrive at 11pm with 2 small kids. No apology or anything.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.1
    Easy access to sfo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The booking site said parking was $9.99 per day. I agreed to pay this as the hotel location was convenient for me to drive to when I made my reservation . When I checked in I was told the daily parking rate would be $15.00 because I would not be a guest for the time I would be leaving the car at the hotel. I am accustomed to 'stay and fly' accommodations and thought this was a rip . I'll be more selective and specific about parking charges in the future when making reservations. The Booking website did not present the 'stay and fly ' option when I booked. Otherwise all was good.

    Easy access to sfo

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    The breakfast buffet had a great array of food, spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we arrived on Saturday it was almost 11pm ( after a long haul flight from Europe), to my surprise they declined my 3 cards and told me to solve the problem with my bank, they weren´t willing to help or wait until Sunday or Monday although I wanted to pay deposit. I was sure it is just a misunderstanding because I had sufficient fund on my cards, but they didn´t care only wanted money right now, so I had to call a great many times to Europe to prove I am a solvent client.I spent almost 40 bucks for my calls. The problem was that they charged me more than they should ( 600 USD more ) that´s way the transaction was blocked. I was livid, they let me in 1.30am. I saw a stranger who was not evidently hotel guest in the breakfast room, he was grabbing and putting everything into his bag even eggs and then walked away around a receptionist with a full dish of food without noticing.

    The breakfast buffet had a great array of food, spacious and spotless hotel rooms.The bus stop to Downtown is not far from the hotel, it takes roughly 45min.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff not able to advise on simple postal query. Not signing any bill make me feel insecure on the credit card. Charge on parking was not clearly stated upfront during booking. Vending machine is not user friendly.

    Location. Breakfast. Gym.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.1
    Large room allowed for comfortable in room dining.
    • Family with older children

    Parking was not sufficient. Credit card was charged $25 extra to cover any potential extra damages or services. Waiting for refund.

    Large room allowed for comfortable in room dining. Close to airport for early flight out.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    I loved the room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the room very comfortable. The breakfast had lots of options to eat I was very satisfied with holiday inn. The front staff were nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    The room was great, very nicely appointed and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't take advantage of the breakfast due to the early time of our flight.

    The room was great, very nicely appointed and clean. The location was close to the airport for an early morning flight yet the room was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Nicer than most UK Holiday Inn Express hotels, fridge,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only bad point is the location is quite industrial but that's to be expected this close to the airport. McDonalds next door and best western hotel restaurant across the street only local dinner options but great options around 2 mile drive away and being the U.S. plenty of take away places who deliver to no objections from hotel management.

    Nicer than most UK Holiday Inn Express hotels, fridge, microwave and coffee maker in all rooms. Comfy beds and good on site parking. Staff were knowledgable and keen to help. Made a point of knowing your name too.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    6.3
    We had to pay for parking but then there wasn't even a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had to pay for parking but then there wasn't even a regular parking space available. Apparently, this happens regularly. I was worried all night that someone was going to plow into our car, which the front desk had told us to park in a no-parking zone. Several other guests had this problem.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    The bed was one of the most comfortable that I've slept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a shame they don't have curtains that close as the light from the street did interfere with a good nights sleep

    The bed was one of the most comfortable that I've slept in for some time, the staff were really welcoming and helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had credit card guaranteed reservation for a double queen bed room for my family. Upon our arrival at 15h, the room was not available and we were charged a higher price for a room with a single bed. No bed for my 15 year old son. The staff insisted that I did not read the fine printing in which the hotel does not make those guarantees.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    3.3
    When I called them in the morning for Airport Shuttle...
    • Couple

    When I called them in the morning for Airport Shuttle timings, I was told to call in the evening. After reaching SFO airport, I tried to call three times, but no response. There is no much attention for the queries. Facilities average.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    5.8
    convenient shuttle bus from hotel to airport.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    unfriendly staff in check-in. Reserve a twin room, but finally get a one bed room.

    convenient shuttle bus from hotel to airport.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was quite surprisingly good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was quite surprisingly good!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.5
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs a little updating. Seems a little worn.

    Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    good, firm mattress,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good, firm mattress, nice pillow selection

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    The room was clean and bed was very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was clean and bed was very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Convenience, location, price, and updated facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Billing different from receipt to credit card....working it out.

    Convenience, location, price, and updated facility.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.9
    Very handy to the car rental area of the airport, which is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very handy to the car rental area of the airport, which is an easy people mover ride from the airport

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast and staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stains and bed bugs.

    Breakfast and staff were awesome...

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.5
    Very helpful, pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to pay for parking. Dark palette of room colors was depressing.

    Very helpful, pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.1
    Helpful checkin desk staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful checkin desk staff member

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    9.6
    very clean and quiet room with new TV.
    • Solo traveller

    parking garage is bit too small

    very clean and quiet room with new TV. Easy access to free way, rental car company and airport.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    Room was very tidy and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very tidy and modern. Breakfast options were good.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    Room and bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Room and bed very comfy

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Charge for parking if only parking while staying at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charge for parking if only parking while staying at hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    Ok..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ok..

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    nice friendly staff, airport shuttle, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    paying for parking

    nice friendly staff, airport shuttle, clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent customer service, cleanliness and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No outside space really.

    Excellent customer service, cleanliness and comfort

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good location with free shuttle bus to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, good location with free shuttle bus to the airport.

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: