Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carpinteria 3 stars

5606 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013, USA

#1 of 8 hotels in Carpinteria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost, and from selection. We were given a room we did not ask for at a higher rate than we asked for

    Quantity and number of selections to choose from for included breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone parked in the no parking zone next to our car. My handicapped husband could not get in until I backed out. It should be monitored better.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast omelettes and pancakes were very good! The fresh fruit selection was nice. The pool and hot tub was very clean and relaxing area. Nice grassy area for your dog! Would definitely book at this hotel again :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While we personally had no problems parking, the lot filled up since our stay was fully booked.

    Extremely comfortable bed and nice little sitting area. Love the dog friendly atmosphere. Convenient to this quaint town's nearby shops and walking tails to the seaside via bike or car or even a hearty walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both the sink and the tub had a hard time draining. Spoke with the hotel management and they said they'd have it looked at.

    Liked the extra sitting area which was separate from the sleeping area. Perfect if one person wants to read while the other can sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had someone else's razor and a cloth left behind in it. Location far from restaurants. Poor response from reception/housekeeping. Expensive for the accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked snickers or M&M's and individual wine bottles in little store

    Beds and pillows very comfortable, pool was nice and breakfast good and very convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel offers easy access to the freeway and a quick trip into pricey Santa Barbara. Quiet, perfectly clean, bounteous buffet breakfast and the staff were angels. Misplaced my key twice and nothing but smiles. Also left half dozen dress shirts and ties in the drawers [ out of sight, out of mind ] and they are mailing them to me as a courtesy. Does not get better than that!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main door has gaps, so the noise in the hall travels into the room. The breakfast has powder eggs and not many non-dairy choices. But, it's good overall.

    Cleanliness is what we liked the most. The bed was comfortable as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend and i checked out at 5am and we had put a $150 cash deposit. At checkout when i asked for my deposit back, Andrew said we had to come back at 8am, when the mngr was in and house keeping could chech the room as well as he did not have any money. We live 3+ hours away so that was not happening and also we were never told we could only get our money back at a certain hour. After asking Andrew multiple times to call the manager he did, very reluctantly. The manager called him back, Andrew went to check the room and somehow he had money in his register? He had told us the money was locked and he had no access to money. He was a little rude and not providing the same great customer service we received at check in.

    Room was great, clean and very comfortable beds!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Really great value for the price. Everything was clean; the breakfast was basic, but suited our needs perfectly; staff was friendly and professional; the facility was great for our dogs, too! This will be our hotel in Carpinteria from now on! Love this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great property. Very clean, friendly staff, pet friendly and completely accommodating. We were very impressed and we have stayed here before. The location is close to walking trail and also very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not check in until 3 pm. It would have been nice if a room could have been ready a bit sooner.

    The hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. The location was excellent. It is very close to the downtown area of Carpenteria.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything at all that we didn't like. Our stay was perfect

    The Hotel was awesome. The pool and Jacuzzi were absolutely clean and gorgeous. I honestly have never stayed at a nicer hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great! And the kids loved the pool and warm cinnamon rolls for breakfast! YUM! My family and I will be staying at this hotel again, next time we are in the area!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be longer for late sleepers. Bed was hard as a rock...ouch! I think it's over-priced for such a generic, corporate hotel. It's like staying at "anywhere USA".

    The cleaning staff were excellent. Quiet place depending on room location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy guests

    clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Have to have a comfortable bed! That is my only demand when staying in a hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited parking

    good free brkfst bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff members were not very friendly.

    Second time for me. It was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price

    $182 total nightly charge for a mid level hotel in this area is just too much for a weekday!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great

    I've been staying in holidays express for months now and been my best stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge was noisy and kept clicking on and off through the night so made it a poor night's sleep.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to freeway. A lot of noise

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sleeper sofa blocked the refrigerator door when it was out. The price was too high.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, clean rooms better rates than in Santa Barbara.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated, convenient to freeway access

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    BE AWARE HOUSKEEPER STEEL YOUR STAFF

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOUSEKEEPERS

    somebody steel my money and the hotel from my room probably is housekeeper BEWARE DONT GO THEIR PEOPLE!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your personal staff disappeared from your room

    Never go back there Aware people please don't go there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside area from room

    The breakfast is worth the extra money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less noise from next door but not the hotels fault!!

    I love the crisp white linens and soft & firm pillows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close enough to main restaurant street. a few blocks from nature beach area. very comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was broken.

    Love this place overall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wider shower curtain. Water was getting out of the sides.

    Very nice staff. Great pillows.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little overpriced, but it was the holiday season.

    It was a pleasant stay. Check in was simple, the room was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no dislikes, all OK...

    Everything was decent, good $ value for the area. All OK, simply nothing special...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    complimentary water

    late check out; full free breakfast;

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean room. And quiet grounds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price was a bit steep but probably indicative of the area.

    I liked everything! Except maybe the eggs were not real/processed?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfest was great. Will stay here again. Thanks to the staff for a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an emergency situation and the staff stepped up beyond measure. Great place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay and close to Santa Barbara.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we get to our room we find it is already occupied. Thankfully they were not in the room at the time, can’t imagine what may have happened if they had been there when we walked in. We were given another room with a mention of a discount for our trouble, of course that never happened.

    No coffee at 7:30am!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    They say they offer breakfast, but the breakfast offered was subpar. Just the usual bagels and coffee. Not a true breakfast.

    Quiet location about 11 miles away from downtown Santa Barbara.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 1st night our room had freeway noise along with 4 air conditioners below which cycled on & off the entire night. We asked to move to a different room for the 2nd night. The pillows were to thick for our liking.

    The hotel was very clean. And when we asked for a different room, they moved us without issue & also gave a 1/2 off our 1st nites stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    When I checked in about 4pm there were 2 staff at the front desk who were talking to each other. I am the only person standing there waiting to check in but they continued to talk to each other even though they MUST have seen me standing there. I finally said, "Excuse me." and then they looked at each other as if to say you take her no you take her. Finally one of them turned to me and checked me in. Apparently the notes that I put in with my reservation as to my room preference on the second floor were not listed OR ignored. When I saw my room number I asked to please be changed to the second floor. Room was noisy from both outside and in the hallway. This room was expensive for what I got.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    $350 was a little expensive for a Holiday Inn however the property and rooms were very nice.

    The room was clean and very updated with higher end finishes. Usually stay in higher end hotels however the rooms here are 4 star. Beautiful, clean and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Aircon too cold and not easy to control. The fridge was very noisy so we had to unplug it.

    Loved the feel of the place, great staff and atmosphere. Beds were really comfortable. The aircon was tempermental, and I found it too cold. Would definitely stay again! Loved how we could park directly outside our room. The breakfast was good, lots of options.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    staff not real friendly.Bed squeaked. priced high for what you get

    Great location but little too close to freeway to have window open. Bed was comfortable. nice facilty

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was clean and the staff was awesome! Excellent breakfast saved us money each day. The pool area was wonderful and the cleaning staff was very helpful as well. i would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Couple

    The windows should have been double-paned. The freeway noise was very loud. The air conditioning system has a mind of its own. We could keep the temperature at a good level. It kept changing on us.

    Elevator was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just okay, there doesn't seem to be an actual kitchen onsite ot if there is one they don't use it. The hot water in our room was barely warm.

    Great location and nice new hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hot tub was being cleaned and was not working, which seemed unusual for a weekend.

    we could all go to the breakfast room at our leisure and there was something for everyone.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our heater did not work. They gave us extra blankets. Our friends room the water heater was not working they did get that fixed.

    Room was clean, staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy Check in, check out. Wonderful for a weekend getaway. Beds were very comfortable. Friendly staff. Had a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, comfortable, close to business intended

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast

    Facility too close to highways pool and spa filled with kids. Could not use. Located so no sun in afternoon

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfy beds and pillows. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could hear the highway traffic.

    The accommodations were great as were the staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Eggs looked like they were from the mix. Nowhere to walk to without driving. Freeway noise is prominent

    Clean and safe

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance from lobby....

    Spacial room

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was larger than expected. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from the road was a little bothersome, but all the good outweighed that.

    Good size room, very clean, great free breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Newer hotel, only 2 levels so it felt homey as you can walk down one level to the lobby and breakfast area

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people next door were very loud and noisy, yelling, by the parents.

    Centrally located, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Suite and beds were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was cramped, table in corner too close to bed, one chair against wall was unusable

    It was clean

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved everything! Beds were so comfortable. So nice to have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in our room. Like home away from home!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Group

    The bacon and sausage were not cooked enough.

    The room was clean, close to a Starbuck's, and close to a freeway.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the front desk was not the friendliest people...

    the rooms are really spacious and the WiFi was great!

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    The WiFi was bad.

    Nice clean room.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: