Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express New York City Chelsea 3 stars

232 West 29th Street, Chelsea, New York, NY 10001, USA

#272 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3009 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but that's Manhattan for you. My tub plug was malfunctioning, which was a bummer. Be prepared wait 30-40 minutes for valet to fetch your car (at least at 6am :/).

    Location, staff was very friendly, valet parking (you do pay, but still convenient), breakfast good for a Holiday Inn Express.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security guard in the lobby was not friendly. The rooms were small. No cinnamon rolls!! Outside seating area attracted people who weren’t customers.

    The facility was clean and was in a convenient part of the city. Parking was convenient and the staff would hold your luggage after check out if you weren’t ready to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    room with 2 queen beds was too small for 4 people, more space would have been appreciated for that price.

    very friendly and helpful personnel, great location close to Penn station and in walking distance to city center, we had to leave early and we really appreciated breakfast bag.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was way too crowded. You had to wait over 30 minutes to get through the buffet, I eventually gave up and did not eat.

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are from Texas where everything is bigger....shocked by how small the room was. City has trash everywhere!

    Rooms were sound proof, couldn’t hear any outside noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the property was good Not enough room to enjoy your breakfast inside, but due to the rain we were having to wait until a table was cleared. Staff was very pleasant and helpful about different venues pertaining to New York.

    Safety and cleanliness. Rooms were clean and smell fresh. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the elevators was down for a whole day, which was unpleasant for everyone. Breakfast is, well, very express I guess.

    Clean and nicely located, great bed and pillows, which truly matters!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should absolutely be at least TWO breakfast people!! The poor lady was overwhelmed! Not acceptable to watch a very hard working person be expected to cater to hundreds of people!! Hire more people for breakfast!! I won’t use the WASTEFUL coffee makers if they have those unsustainable one cup coffee. SAVE THE EARTH FOR GOD’S SAKE.

    Quiet room with a jacuzzi! Amazing! Nice having coffee downstairs. Perfect temperature, LOVELY housekeeping staff! They always greeted me with a pleasant good morning or afternoon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator working for my fu stay and was at the -15th floor. Took over 15 min every time to get to the lobby. Took over 20 minutes to do checkin because they had an issue with the internet to process credit cards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anthony at front desk was very kind good humored and helpful. Elevators were good we noticed others reviewers did mention slow service but did not encounter that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room - a king room - was very small. Two people cannot move around at the same time. The wardrobe was tiny and a lot of the space inside it was occupied by an ironing board and iron. The only way to get at these was to remove everything from the wardrobe.

    Quiet given it was near busy avenues. Bed comfy. Located close to two key subway stations. A few good medium range bistro/bar places nearby to eat in. Liquor store close by. Very handy for the hi line, Macy’s, Empire State, E line to airport. Staff very helpful. Free coffee in lobby 24/7. Luggage can be left free of charge on last day for you to collect later. Handy when flight is evening flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 8 nights

    My towels etc seemed to be renewed pretty much every day (there was one day they weren't) even though I had hung them up as instructed. The lifts took ages in the mornings (and I would have taken the stairs but I was on the eleventh floor), but there's not much you can do about that! It also annoyed me that I couldn't leave the bathroom door open.

    One of your front desk people helped me make a phone call to my shuttle company and was on hold for ages, which was really helpful. Great breakfast, and really nice to have it included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were all incredibly helpful, friendly and sincere. We felt like our staying at the hotel was important to them and they wanted us to be satisfied guests. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not helpful when asking directions. Count find hotel called to ask if there was construction going on in front of it desk person said no so I walked the other way. Duh! There was construction all around it. I asked about Penn station and female clerk said it's right here! Like I was stupid! Make clerk said turn left when I went out at the corner turn right and it was three blocks ahead. Better much better!

    Breakfast had to leave too early for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is so small, but that's typical for NYC. Breakfast was too crowded.

    Excellent location. Room was clean and comfortable. Every staff member that I encountered was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location, 5-7min walk from the Penn station (for those who flight to EWR and take a NJTransit train to get to Manhattan), 3min walk from the subway (1/2/3, A/B/C and with easy change to other lines). The staff at the reception desk were superb, always willing to help. The breakfast included option comes handy, especially if you're a tourist and want to start your itinerary early in the morning. Excellent Wi-Fi signal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons - the breakfast area is too small for the guests. Either grab & go or get breakfast outside - does not cater for the number of guests. Also range is very limited.

    Pros - friendly and professional staff, always willing to help you. Even posted something I forgot at the hotel back to me in super quick time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ! Keep up the great work

    Everything was great from check in to check out ! Breakfast was great as well. Location is amazing if you are visiting Times Square or Madison Square Garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two rooms were for four people (two teens and two adults) could have used larger beds. I sure the room size limited that choice. A refrigerator would have been nice to have. Again room size probably limited that also. That being said we are very happy with the hotel and the service it provided us.

    Staff, location, cleanliness and value. We will stay there again!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It only has 2 elevators and 1 of them broke down, so for a 15 story building at 8:00 am we had to wait literally for 1 hour to go down from our floor with our luggage to the lobby. Also, the air conditioner was not working.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the counter staff members had a negative attitude. Also they said they provide fresh bake cookies at 5pm and it was 4:59pm and she told my friends they couldn’t have a cookies because it wasn’t 5pm, WOW so they missed out. The next night they were on time but discovered that the cookies were NOT fresh baked!! Don’t lie to customers.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms felt worn and the carpeting was not clean. The room heater under the window was noisy so I turned it off for the night.

    Friendly staff, easy location from Penn Station and okay breakfast (as expected). The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevators need to be replaced ASAP. They truly give a bad impression of Holiday Inn as a brand. Moreover, the gym looks like a 1900s gym, please renew it. The breakfast space should be larger, too crowded. The doors of the room are very old and should be replaced.

    Regarding cleaning staff, all very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lifts. There are only two and on a couple of occasions they were down to one( in fairness they even got in an external contractor to try and resolve the issue as they were unhappy with the speed of the existing one) and this lead to waits of up to 5 mins at times. The Baths: Which some one had cut in half height wise meaning they were effectively only showers or suitable for bathing young children in.

    Best Thing: The staff here were amazing and accommodating at every turn. Full of helpful ideas and advice no matter the time of day or night. Location: EXCELLENT. Around the corner( literally) from Penn Station & Madison Square Garden. Easily walkable to Times Square and access to the whole city via the Penn Station / Subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. Food was pretty good, with a nice variety. Rooms were very clean and location of the hotel very easy to get to. Would definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest rooms are cramped and are really showing their age. And the hotel has a tiny lobby area, not a pleasant place to wait for a friend or a cab. Lots of people must pick this hotel because it includes breakfast... but that's laid out in the lobby, which cannot even remotely accommodate the number of guests fighting it out for the Fruit Loops and sausage gravy. Our modus operandi each morning was to find a single available seat (or two) at one of the formica tables that are crammed in there and take turns.

    Good location for exploring Chelsea, the Highline, and the Midtown area. There's a business center in the basement - if you need to print out boarding passes, etc. Staff was helpful and let us stash our luggage for a few hours after checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some disruption with young adults staying a couple of rooms from ours but it was taken care of by the staff

    The room was comfortable and breakfast options were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian dishes were missing in buffet breakfast. Restaurant staff are not polite and needs to be trained how to talk to guests.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. 24 hour complimentary tea,coffee & water in lobby was great besides complimentary cookies from 5pm to 7pm was surprise. Beds very comfortable. Great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound proofing of rooms entirely inadequate...with regard to noise from inside the hotel. Heater was not working in our room. Very long wait for elevator...no service elevator so that made wait times even longer as the staff also used the guest elevator....to make that situation even worse there was only one elevator working for the first 24 hours of our stay.

    Value for money, ....location location location. Being on a side street the traffic noise level is lower than what we have experienced at other properties. King sized bed. All staff very polite and cheerful, helpful. Housekeeping was very efficient and rooms though small were adequate for our requirement.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts were slow at breakfast. 2 lifts to cover 15 floors. Breakfast was like a cattle market. Seating for around 40 people which wasn’t anywhere near enough for volume of people in hotel. You could take your breakfast to your room but it was cramped and I’d prefer not to eat on my bed. You can only fit a certain amount on small paper plates and plastic cutlery makes it difficult to cut up your food.

    Bed was comfy. Good location. Staff friendly. Breakfast tasted good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two elevators but only one was working. Hotel staff with big bin did not get out during busy time to allow guests the use of the single elevator.

    Although check in was in the afternoon, we were able to drop off our bags earlier. Room was inviting after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the employees in the restroom used discriminatory words in her convo with another employee over the radio thinking i didnt know spanish until my 6 year old daughter came out of the bathroom stall and heard me telling her to go wash her hands in spanish

    manager she was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator took exceptionally long, there are only two elevators for 13 floors and no service elevator for the staff. Too many guests for the space (or lack of space) for breakfast. Of the four mornings we ate breakfast, not one had any seats available. And breakfast consisted of a waffle station, sausage, powdered eggs, oatmeal, or cereal. Not a lot of options.

    In room jacuzzi was great, and room was clean and cozy, as was bed/pillows, but if you're going to ask me to re-use my towels - which I'm happy to do, along with soap/shampoo - then why did the staff change towels three times during my stay, and also changed bars of soap/shampoo three times as well. What a waste! Coffee was good though and the hot cider they provided in the early evening was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated how small and confined the rooms were. The rooms are so close together, you can hear everything going on in the room beside you. The TV was constantly having problems , and the water pressure in the bathroom was bad. I also didn’t like the fact the house keeping would fold my clothes , and move my stuff. I believe housing keeping should not touch your personal belongings.

    I liked how close that hotel was to the local subway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The staff was extremely helpful. Had to go breakfast ready for our 430 am checkout. Bed and pillows were comfortable and room cozy. Hotel was in great location , easy walk to Time Square and subway entrances close

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was a little confusing and it was only blowing cold air but thats not really a problem for me.

    I loved the location! Its in the middle of Manhattan and everything is easy to reach from there! I will definitely book here again when going to NYC!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was our second stay at Holiday Inn Express New York City Chelsea and it was as good as last time. It's not a fancy place, but it was as good as the description of it. The staff was friendly and the room was very clean. Breakfast could improve, but it was nice to see that they had renovated the seating area. The hotel is located very close to Madison Square Garden and fairly close to Port Authority if you for instance are travelling to a close-by city or Woodbury Premium Outlet. All in all, I can definitely recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t recommend anyone for this place where they don’t treat with respect

    My husband wants to go to the bathroom while I was checking in, we were traveling for hours before reaching there, the security guard in the building wouldn’t let him go to the bathroom even when he told him that the front office staff gave him permission to go. We have not completed our check in yet at that point , the security was so rude and arrogant, my husband told him that he is diabetic and he couldn’t hold any more, and if he doesn’t let him in he will pee on the pants/floor, but the security superviser told him that he will be arrested, he never apologized. Because of him we are giving a low score on the review. The front staff were ok and helpful. We never treat any customers like that in Canada.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only bad mark I would give to the hotel is making sure that all thermostats work properly before guests arrive to the room. When we got back at night, it was warm in the room. We tried putting the air on but the thermostat did not work. We did call down and someone came up to look at it and it was eventually fixed that night before we went to sleep and did not have to change rooms.

    There is not much I didn't like about the hotel. From the start of being checked in, the staff were very friendly and let my husband and I know what was available to us and that there was breakfast in the morning; and coffee and tea available all day. The breakfast had so many options it was hard to choose from and the food tasted good! In addition, the hotel was willing to accommodate making a room change due to a non-working thermostat at no extra charge. The location of the hotel was excellent to the subway and to walking distances of several great restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms but I understand. It's New York City.

    Front desk people were great. Joked with us. Very friendly. The breakfast choices exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes had cold air blowing from the heater and you could smell the heater when it was hot.

    Location, amenities, staff. Breakfast had eggs, sausage, waffles, and other foods. Beds comfy. Clean and quiet. Safe and secure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room fire alarm set off on various occassions and it took time for the engineering guy to get to us, while the alarm got us almost deaf. The guy had to come 2 times and still the problem was not fixed. My husband just had to take it off to stop it from going off again.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that house keeping kept coming to our room asking to clean it.. One time at 10am and the second time about 20 minutes after when check out is clearly at 11am.. so we felt rushed..

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wall shared with elevator shaft. Noise subtle, but I prefer no voices outside my door when trying to sleep.

    Free Breakfast. Clean Room. Very friendly and helpful desk clerk. Ideal location in Midtown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    longer stay

    the breakfast was great breakfast area was very very clean the lady that set up the breakfast i believe her name was rita super nice ,very plesant and helpful. mornings were wonderful. also there was a man named anthony sapp who was very helpful getting an item for us that we had left in the room his fast response to the matter was great it made us feel like he cared about the job he was doing awsome stay at holiday inn one of my best hotel stays ever not one thing was even close to not good . i know it sounds like bs but this stay was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that there wasn’t a fridge for the price of the room.

    I had the king room with the hot tub with the doors. Great concept but the door sliding door was off the track so was difficult to slide.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent and had easy access to many subway stops, but you could also easily walk to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and Times Square (if you're ok walking half a mile). The staff was very friendly and helpful - they moved my sister and I from a room with one standard bed to two beds, and told us about perks like the free cookies and hot cider from 5-6pm. The room was small like all New York hotel rooms, but well-maintained: bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean with a surprisingly good hair dryer. I like that they have tea available in the lobby all the time. I'd gladly stay here for all my New York trips.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap dish by basin and soap dish in shower no good. Need another shelf in bathroom for your clothes. Pipes made a noise at night.

    Cinammon rolls. All day tea cofee and water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the door from the bedroom to the spa bath was open; you could see whoever was in the bathroom going to the bathroom. For as many floors as there is; there should be more seating inside for breakfast.

    The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept on. Breakfast was a little different each day and it was pretty tasty. Quick walk to Times Square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was not in working order. We were situated on the 6th floor so it was inconvenient to pull luggage up and down the stairs.

    Price was well worth our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the elevators was not working. Dirty carpet in the room. Overcrowded at breakfast at 8am.

    Comfortable bed. Kettle to boil some warm water. Fast internet access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard fare, quite processed, for breakfast. But so many people found that to be just fine!

    Staff was pleasantly engaging and responsive. I felt as though they were glad I had chosen to stay there!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small, the location is not that good. The complimentary breakfast is good, but the place is very small and confusing. It is difficult to get a table to seat.

    The price is fair. The staff is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have a room refresh despite being out the room for 6 + hours Fire alarm was constantly going off - was fully resolved on the 2nd attempt

    breakfast was real good -

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just wish they had room service, as some of the other Holiday Inn Express locations do.

    Nice place to get away for a while. King bed with spa tub was a great room. Quiet, warm, clean and comfortable. Close to a lot of restaurants who'll deliver to your room. Check in/out was a breeze and the staff at the desk were always warm and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish the parking cost was a cheaper-even with the discount

    Staff was kind and attentive. Breakfast was really good-many choices. Multiple coffee pots-always fresh. Discounted parking with valet. Bed comfortable. Clean towels. Our small dogwas welcome. We come to NY to see our kids often. This was our first booking here. Really great place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Elevators were barely working... and when they were they got stuck. During the two weeks the firefighters had to come at least twice to rescue people who were stuck in the elevators. Gym only had a treadmill, elliptical and a stationary bike. Cleaning ladies came in to clean my room - afterwards the toilet was clogged.. No healthy options during breakfast

    beds were comfortable, location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were to small for the family, not exactly the same as a picture shown when I made a booking. It's hard to put our 4 big luggages, there is not much room at all. The breakfast room was too small.

    Easy access to everywhere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators were out twice. Long wait for. Elevator even when both were working Eating area was very crowded you could hardly move it times

    Everyone was very friendly, Proffessional and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options limited, not many healthy options. Dingy furniture and rooms.

    Coffee available all day. Great location. Express check-out and flexible check-in. Responsive thermostat/room temp control.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    you have to wait a lot of time for getting the Elevator service and getting to your floor - it is so slow :-(

    I liked the location of the hotel, the staff was so helpful. great hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator was always broken, healthy options for breakfast were not always available, small rooms

    Beds were comfortable, very clean rooms, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very small. Smelled like spoiled, sour laundry. May have been the carpet? Only 1 of 2 elevators worked 50% of our stay. VERY Crowed in the small, small lobby during breakfast.

    Location. Rate. LOVED the hot apple cider served free in the evenings. Nice staff. Cleaner than most places in NYC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the two elevators was out of service. No hot water for bathing. Rooms were not very private - you could easily hear people talking in hallway and other doors closing.

    The location and the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was like a small motel not Holiday inn standard and one lift was not working all 3 days every time we have to wait at least 15 to 20 minutes come down and go up over all pathetic stay ...I will Neve stay in this hotel again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that 1 elevator was down for maintenance with no explanation. This also caused extra time we had to spend waiting for the other elevator that was full most of the time. Also ballet parking was very expensive compared to normal!

    I loved how close the hotel was to downtown especially for the price!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator broke down and I took the stairs to get to my room which is OK because I am fit and on a lower floor. It was noisy that one night because many visitors were in the stairwell. I did get a credit to my bill for the unconvienence. I appreciate that.

    Express checkout is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's crowded for breakfast, the room was very small with only a tiny standing closet that really only fit our coats. This room was clearly a room shoved in a corner. The view wasn't particularly nice.

    We decided we need to change our mattress at home because we slept so well! The hotel is in a very good location. It's only about a block from Penn Station and in the other direction a few blocks from Times Square. We don't particularly care for Times Square, but this hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 elevators for a tall busy hotel and they could really use an upgrade. Elevators were problematic, not wirking well and are too small; and one was closed at end of our stay for repair. We were on 9th floor and used the stairs. That would not be an option for all. Breakfast had a nice variety but there could be more healthful less sugary options; you had to go early to get the fresh fruit as they would run out.

    The room was comfortable and clean, and pretty spacious for NYC. Location is convenient, near Penn Station in midtown, good for walking to things and by public transit. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with one of the elevators that made it inconvenient.

    The bed was very comfy and super soft sheets. Enjoyed the in room coffee. Great location, short walk to Empire State Building, Times square and other attractions. Lots of restaurants & pubs nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating at breakfast can be a bit of a struggle but not too bad. Sharing tables is not a bad thing. The elevators can also be terribly slow as there are only two for the entire hotel.

    Small room that fit our needs for a bed to sleep each night. Comfy and accessible. The hotel is near the subway station so it was super convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too unhealthy and same every day. You get sick if you eat it for 7 days. Also no options for vegetarians. The elevator sucks. It is about time to invest some money and change it. Last but mot least, we ordered a taxi from the hotel to take us to the airport and was there with 15 minutes delay. Thank god there was no traffic and we arrived on time.

    The price and the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition unit is too noisy. Also, the room is too small if you want not just get some sleep and leave in the morning.

    Great buffet breakfast. Location is very convenient for those, who travels from/to Penn station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are SUPER SUPER small. Breakfast could have been better but definitely was duable. Breakfast area are was very small.

    Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No assistance with luggage and the trolleys were particularly difficult to maneouvre for a woman alone with heavy bags The breakfast area was always packed with people standing - I bypassed it for that reason.

    Value for Price and location especially in Manhattan

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: