Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Tennessee hotel reviews
  4. Memphis hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Holiday Inn Memphis-University of Memphis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Memphis-University of Memphis This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

3700 Central Avenue, Memphis, TN 38111, United States of America

#24 of 136 hotels in Memphis

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    The location was great for our visit and the facility is...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we didn’t like was the toilet sits very low to the floor. A tall person wouldn’t like it.

    The location was great for our visit and the facility is well kept. The facility is clean and updated. We dined in the grill area and was pleased with the food and service. It’s typical grill food and it was prepared to our liking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.5
    Deceptive online booking tactics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked the room for me and three children with breakfast included. Find out at the hotel that the rate only included breakfast for two of us. The other three are charged at 8.95$ a piece. Complained to the management and then corporate office about the misleading online booking but got put on hold and transferred three times for 39minutes. Still no satisfaction. Was told a corporate manager would be contacting me within 48 hours. That was five days ago. Still nothing from them. I’m done with HI.

    Nice hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    It was great for what we needed on our one night stay, clean and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we had to go ask for bedding for the pull out couch. It wasn’t hidden that we were using all beds with how many people we had. After being out late we had to go to the front desk.

    We are a family of six, they were able to accommodate us all in one room, with two doubles and a pull out couch. Plenty of room for everyone to be comfortable. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel,great!! The staff is questionable
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a bottle of liquor stolen off the night stand after our room was cleaned, we noticed it after coming back from breakfast away from the facility! We called down to guest services but was only told that they’ll notify housekeeping! Never got a follow up! The server in the diner Sunday morning was slightly rude when entering by immediately saying “this ain’t free you know” & when it came to sitting us!! We got a $4 bill Monday morning leaving for checkout about items at a sundry shop, when I asked the lady at check out what was it about,it’s a small gift shop.. apparently you can go there and grab whatever and just tell them any room number and they’ll bill you, because I never knew the shop existed plus at the time of purchase we were at golf and games with my son!! However, She disputed the charges!!

    It was clean and check in was smooth!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    The area was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a view of the beautiful landscape that was on the internet. The room window was blocked by trees, and paying for the room I was giving different stories on paying. I wanted to pay cash.

    The space in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect location for us visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet could have offered biscuits and gravy plus a better assortments of sweets. What was there was good.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Much nicer hotel than I would have expected for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom and vanity were a little small.

    The room was very clean and included ammenities that aren’t normally standard. The bed was comfortable and it was so quiet. I never heard any other guests or doors slamming. I slept better that night than I ever have in a hotel! The way the rooms were set up made all the difference. The staff were very friendly as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice size and comofort, perfect other than the plumbing issue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet had problems before I left, thankfully it did not overflow. So it is difficult to determine that was a problem that could happen anywhere, or if it could be negligent plumbing provided that may have to be modernized?

    I like the room size, very much space (two rooms), and it was very clean!!! TV quality very good, hotel bar very nice to have, room service breakfast was very good and they accomadated me without filling out the night food check form.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Hotel was beautiful inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel was beautiful inside and out. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Rooms were incredibly spacious and definitely a bargain for the price we paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    7.9
    I thought breakfast was included in the payment option which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought breakfast was included in the payment option which is one of the reasons i selected it. I found out 'during' breakfast that it was NOT covered. i.e. no ticket was given in packet. quite disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    It was extremely pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We were greeted with a smile & pleasantries. All staff was friendly. The building & our room were very clean. The kids had a great camp out on the hide-a-bed couch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and very accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The french toast was hard on the breakfast bar. The sheets were a little scratchy too.

    The space in the room was great, and the hotel clean and beautiful. The part of town was nice too. The front desk staff was very friendly and housekeeping was quick to bring up extra blankets when we called down.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2017

    9.6
    We loved the suite layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leisure King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast price wasn't posted anywhere we could see it, so we had no idea what to expect. The service was great, but the food was mostly what you'd get at any free continental breakfast.

    We loved the suite layout. Front desk personnel was super friendly and personable!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furnace blower comes on every fifteen minutes. Loud

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Yes i did
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s was nice

    Yes i did

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leisure King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We love the breakfast, many things to choose from. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Very convenient to University of Memphis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee maker didn’t work, but great coffee in the lobby.

    Very convenient to University of Memphis

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room is spacious and beds are comfortable, the place is extremely clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good overall experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Down home hospitality without breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property did not provide a continental breakfast. They provided a breakfast for 8.00.

    The property was clean and near historical sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    The bed was super soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was super soft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Area is not the greatest. However, it was near the facilities I needed to be close too. Felt Safe!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room felt very damp/musty and room service knocked on our door every morning

    Minutes to the Target House and St. Judes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Great staff, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    The spaciousness and airiness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The dining room was freezing. People were wearing coats while eating.

    The spaciousness and airiness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect and fit the needs of my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was food in the fridge from a previous guest when I arrived.

    The microwave and fridge in the room were a huge bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Great Location and Comfortable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Staff was friendly and accommodating! The room was spacious and clean. Hotel was quiet! Breakfast was AWESOME, INCREDIBLE and Superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    NA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N?A

    NA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.2
    Overall very nice stay except for the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were so uncomfortable. We all had problems sleeping.

    Room was nice and big for family of 4

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Angela and staff was wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Angela was exceptional. She even gave me the history of the location. Will never stay anywhere else

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.3
    Very quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet hotel. The rooms are suites with the sitting room nearest the hallway. The bedrooms are in the back, away from the hallway. Great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    Wonderful. We will stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NA

    Quiet. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    Wonderful except the cold weather.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The tub drained out water very slowly.

    Everything was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leisure King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect location, very safe. Beautiful interior decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    It was only one night but I had no issues at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing!

    Everything--great layout, roomy, wonderful breakfast buffet, staff super friendly, helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was black mold around the top of thetub where it met the tile. YUCKY!!!!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    10
    Unknown Memphis treasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly welcoming! Large rooms. Coffee and breakfast over the top!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    8.3
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leisure King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent. The breakfast was wonderful. It was an overall great experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2016

    7.9
    4star hotel near U.of.M.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very loud and noisy people downstairs..Management refused to move me to a better room!!///

    Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2016

    6.3
    Location, beautiful lobby, separated sitting area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air-con control in my room was not working properly: I could not turn it off nor change the vent-speed, could only change the temperature. The problem is it was turning on every 15min VERY noisily, which ruined my sleep.

    Location, beautiful lobby, separated sitting area

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2016

    9.6
    The employees were awesome , the beds are comfortable , very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They messed up on amount billed us way to much money on our stay !! It took us a couple of days to get everything back !!! But other then that I would stay here again we really liked it everyone makes mistakes !!!

    The employees were awesome , the beds are comfortable , very clean , etc

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    9.6
    The room was very spacious- clean- sitting area off the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really everything was very accommodating- only thing is the pillows were too big/high; caused a neck discomfort in the morning- go figure having a pillow issue!

    The room was very spacious- clean- sitting area off the elevators was enormous, would suggest a few more chairs, great area for family/friends to gather and chat. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    8.3
    Nicely designed room layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When you include breakfast with your room rate, they limit it to only 2 people. It's an additional $10 per person after that. Bookings.com and Holiday Inn should mention that when you are booking.

    Nicely designed room layout. Facilities exceeded my expectations.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    6.3
    they pace was close to where we wonted to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    they lied about a lots of stuff the breakfast book free for 5 got there only 2 got to eat had to pay for the other 3 and the room book a 2 bedroom suite got a one bedroom and a living room

    they pace was close to where we wonted to go

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    10
    The staff was incredibly helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was incredibly helpful. When visit had to cancelled due to weather, staff was diligent in getting second night cancelled. When staff found out this was my daughter's college visit cut short, a wonderful gentleman named Demarcus talked to her about the University and answered her questions. The facility was clean and quiet. Room layout allows for family to stay but still have space.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    10
    The room was very spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very spacious! Quiet, & clean. The breakfast buffet was good & reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    6.3
    Nice place, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom smelled like urine.

    Nice place, good location.

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Under construction putting down new carpet

    Excellent staff The Resturant staff are excellent and the food is great

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2016

    9.2
    staff were outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A little of the main thorofares and interstate roads

    staff were outstanding

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    7.5
    location good, breakfast great, comfort good, front desk...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    cable work taking place, no cable in room for my child for entire visit.

    location good, breakfast great, comfort good, front desk adequate.

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2015

    10
    Went into our room 101 and it wasn't made up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Went into our room 101 and it wasn't made up. She apologized and upgraded us. We were very pleased on how the situation was handled.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    7.1
    Frontdesk provided very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    water dripped on the faucet. Seemed fan stopped in the bathroom.

    Frontdesk provided very good service. Answered every question.

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    10
    A beautiful, clean mini apartment in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A beautiful, clean mini apartment in a great location

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: