Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2 stars

5601 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028, USA

#252 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1603 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    A home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We gave the attendant some feedback about a swivel TB for the master room. He was very receptive.

    We loved the location. We stayed in the large family unit. We loved the layout, A/C, and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful stay, I would return if the need arose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location and pricing were good, especially for the area. Facility was clean and quaint, B&B style. Parking being included was an added benefit, breakfast was contracted with a local business and was satisfying. The staff at the facility and breakfast was courteous and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    The place is pretty, and seems that for the prices in LA even well priced. But rooms need an uplift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need refurbishment and no lift is available for higher floors.

    Location is good and staff helpful. Even breakfast although served two doors up, was pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    This property is in a great location, right by a few major...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms was pretty gross. I am a pretty easy going person and don’t complain much, but this is was pretty bad. There was mold all over the ceiling and all In the grout in the shower and there were hairs on the inside and outside of the toilet on my arrival. Not very clean.

    This property is in a great location, right by a few major freeways. And they give you a voucher for a free breakfast at a restaurant two doors down that is a pretty tasty little buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    It is very close to walk of fame, and metro station, easiky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been a little cleaner, found some spiderweb in the kitchen cupboard, but we did not open that door, so did not bother.

    It is very close to walk of fame, and metro station, easiky accessible, good and sufficient breakfast was included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    I was so impressed with my stay at the Hollywood Downtowner Inn, I didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street/Traffic sounds. Room needs floor length mirror.

    The bed was comfy and the location was perfect. Aside from being on a main street, the value is 100.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.9
    Worst place I have ever stayed in!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I can praise about this place. Room was dirty. Beds very uncomfortable, area very noisy, breakfast was a joke. Definitely not worth the money we spent on this inn!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfeast was hot but not fantastic. Air conditioning is noisy

    Location was great. Central to Hollywood and griffith observatory. Also close to the citysightseeing bus stop. Room was spacious it good facilities for the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointing and loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very run down, it looks like they are about to paint everything which is needed, but right now it is half done. All the room furnishings are old and/or broken, the air con is extremely loud, as is the street, so if you get a room near the road like I did, you won't get much sleep. The breakfast was also not great, flavourless eggs and waffles next door, and they use all single us plastics and polystyrene cups which is terrible for the environment.

    The pool and staff were great, and the room size was huge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Run-down or retro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was horrible, unhygienic. A shock! Yuck, I still feel terrible when I think at it. The motel is either run-down or 'retro' , depends how you look at it. If it is retro, it could be cleaner and better maintenanced. Overpriced.

    Pool is nice. Parking is ok. The classic 'Hollywood' ambiance is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Good experience even if it is not what we were awaiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No visual contact with the outside because of curtains Old amenities Swimming pool didn’t give the desire to test it

    Very spacious apartment Air conditioning in both rooms Free parking WiFi could be better but worked Greatly situated for visits Breakfast is basic but well done especially waffles The girl on the reception was

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility condition is quite old, during 4 night stay the room was cleaned just once. The lady serving breakfast is quite agitated. Wifi could be better.

    Location - near to walk of fame, universal studios, Hollywood sign, Beverly Hills. Breakfast is decent. Free parking and a clean pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    If you give more than 30 USD for a night in this hotel, you'll surely be sorry about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool wasn't clean. Sin in bathroom broken. Windows can be open enough to let fresh air into the room. Conditioner is loud, we could not sleep, but when switched off, there was hot in the room without any air. Coffee maker was not only simply dirty, but we found there the last coffee from one of the last guests - who knows when it was made? In two meters distance from our window (3,5 m from our bed) there was a table with chairs where relatives of the hotel owners, or other guests liked to loudly discuss very important things, mostly when we wanted to sleep - late evening, or early morning. Wifi was poor, we could not use it even for browsing the net, and absolutely wasn't able to use for chats. Fortunately we had mobile net.

    Guy at the reception was polite. We could park free and close to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay, staff is great, value for your money and accessibility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iif anythiing maybe get new sets of towels but very minimal thing to not like the place

    The value for the money, place may look old in front but pretty sure they made some renovations of late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.5
    We didn’t like it at all we stay there for a night and the...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like it at all we stay there for a night and the room was to small and the beds full of bedbugs we went to the office to ask for a refund and they say they can’t because we spend a night there our kids and I end up with bedbugs bites we still asking for a refund I show them the videos and the picture she of the bedbugs and the still say no

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Hardly 2*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: half an hour walking from walk of fame. Homeless people all along the way, everywhere smell of piss. Terrible shower. Rooms were fairly clean but everything is too old, worn out. Extremely dirty hallway. Limited breakfast. Lukewarm coffee. Many people, not enough seats. Only 1 waffle maker so you have to fight for it. We skipped the breakfast after 2 days.

    Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin so you can listen the noise from the street or people upstairs.

    The walking distance from the sight seeing places is great and the restaurant has a great atmosphere, food and customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic is very loud at night if you’re in the front rooms. The area is a little bit dodgy but it wasn’t scary. Skip the included breakfast.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The place has a kind of authentic trashy Hollywood feel and is really close to Griffiths park and the walk of fame.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The rooms was cleaned every day, the location is fine, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was very limited option, so if you stay longer than 3 nights, you will not enjoy it very much I believe :). Wifi wasn't stable

    The rooms was cleaned every day, the location is fine, close to the metro station and walk of fame is about 20 minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Great for quick stay and seeing main Hollywood sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and pool a little tired looking. No water available at breakfast

    Great location for us; 2k walk to pavement stars and a 5 min drive to Griffith observatory and Hollywood hills trails, Easy to find and check in. Good wifi. Breakfast simple but did the job so decent value for money for us all in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Delightful! We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    HATED that the sliding door screen was torn leaving the room vulnerable to unwanted insects. We left it open anyway.

    LOVED that it's quaint, quiet and old-style Hollywood....LOVED that it was on the blvd and centrally located to everything Hollywood. LOVED that it was safe! LOVED our balcony and the fact that we could open the sliding door for a cool breeze.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit noisy from street caused by traffic. But nothing terrible. You just can hear cars but not so loud as it could disturb sleeping.

    Motel is smaller than it looks on pictures but it's not problem. Room was OK with everything as described. Location is very good as it's placed on Hollywood Blvd. You can just go outside motel, turn right and go straight through attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay if your exploring the Hollywood area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest issue I had was with the card reader to get through the front gate. It was frustrating at times.

    Never been to Hollywood. This was our opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    If you want to be in a good location , free parking and practical rate , this is the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room is dusty, not throughly cleaned.. housekeepers do not fix the bed..the place where you get breakfast has grouchy servers and not really good food.just edible. otherwise, place is okay for the price and location :)

    staff were courteous, great location, free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great budget option with easy driving distance to the downtown district!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If your room is on the first floor, you can hear the people in the room above yours walking. The noise from our upstairs neighbours walking about in their room at 5.30 a.m. woke us up because we could hear the thudding. The coffee that we drank for breakfast was rather diluted.

    The location is right on Hollywood Boulevard, near the freeway entrance/exit. There is a metro station located nearby (4 min walk) and a supermarket (Ralphs) around two blocks away. The staff was friendly and answered our questions with a smile. The inn also provides breakfast in the restaurant next door - the DIY waffles were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Close to walk of fame and friendly staff. Not too bad for 1 night. Bring ear buds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't too keen on the location, close to Hollywood walk of fame which is good but in general that whole area seems run down and unsafe. Floor in room wasn't totally clean.

    The staff were friendly and the room was a good size. Breakfast couple of doors away wasn't bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    If you don't care about luxury, you just want a place to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, don't expect too much. The pool was very dirty. The pool area is very small compared to the photos.

    If you don't care about luxury, you just want a place to sleep and you won't spend too much time at the hotel, it's a good place. It's clean, helpful staff. Breakfast is ok, they have some waffles. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Cosy but not a good location if you don't want to be confronted with the homeless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was facing the main road so very noisy. Walking from the Hotel to the main part where all the tourist things are the streets are full of homeless people living on the footpaths, bus shelters and smells of urine and constant smell of dope. They all ask for small change as you walk along. If you don't like to see or be confronted constantly with this then I suggest another hotel closer to a better part of town. The picture of the pool on Booking.com is not really what it is like. Much smaller but not the weather to swim anyway.

    Staff at the reception desk are excellent. Small and Cosy little place..good for a couple of days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The room was a bit random there was a bed in the lounge no...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t feel safe in the area at night when walking back to the property there were several very drug affected people we had to walk past to get back to our hotel

    The room was a bit random there was a bed in the lounge no tv huge kitchen with no utensils and another bed in a separate bedroom with a tv. Internet was good and included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Would only stay at if I had...not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a shower the first night, the tub was actually clogged so bad they had to bring in 2 people with different tools to unclog the drain. It took about 1.5 hours to finally fix. So you can tell the tubs don’t get cleaned that well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there twice in 3 weeks - at the begin and at the end of our holidays. First we had a room we needed 4 Keys as we had to go through to 4 doors. .. In the bathroom there was an old ugly soap with hair on it in a dirty mirror board. Beween the 2 beds there was no lamp - bad when you want to read at night or go to the bathroom in darkness. We got a lamp after asking twice. One chair was missing a leg - dangerous.Sofa with holes in the fabric. The secound time our fridge did not work and ice was only available at the front desk - but not as much as we needed. Where the hairdryer is fixed it hasen't been cleaned over month. One wall in the bathroom was over and over full with white splashes and the mirror bord inside was ugly again. The top of some furniture was still covered with "greetings" of some former guests. And so on... We often made holidays in the USA over 20 years. This kind was only to be found one or two times in motels with lowest prices under 50 Dollars "at the end of the world." About 180 USD for a night is a lot of money. Maybe not for LA. But this is no reason for dirt and ugly. Instead driving a Mercedes the owner should take more care for his motel. ..

    There was free hot breakfast in the neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location. Rooms below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I haven't felt well on the room - quite used equipment and bathroom, we werent able to open the window (there was a mold on the curtain). Generally - the hotel has already past its best years.

    The breakfast was served at bistro next door and it wasn't actually bad - rice vith vegetable (potatoes the next day), eggs, toasts, juice and coffee. vaffles. Great location of accomodation- close to walk of flame, close to metro. There is starbucks 200m from doors. The lady on the reception was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way to the room was a little bit confusing.

    The room was very nice and big. All the employees was very friendly and the price was very good. The Wi-Fi was mostly good but at some points it seemed slow or unstable. I also liked how close it is to hollywood star walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Large and spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the older part of the hotel (but it was still good) Does not belong to the hotel: 1) in LA is better to rent a car 2) house for the homeless in the neighborhood

    Large and spacious apartment Close to the "Walk of fame", HLV Sign and observatory Breakfast is fine and 10 steps from the hotel Close to many shops and a large supermarket Free parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Free parking was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little cleaner. Kept finding long sark hairs everywhere and the fridge had something that had been spilled on door seal and seal kept coming off.

    Free parking was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay at conveniently placed property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen could have some utensils to make use of stove-top/ oven...didn't bother me though

    Very good location on Hollywood Blvd. Clean rooms with powerful AC. Staff were very friendly and helpful, esp. Darshan at the front desk. Overall had an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After checking in, the clerk didn't show us how to get to our room (this place is quite confusing) & gave us the wrong keys but didn't come looking for us. Tea and coffee facilities were very sparse with only coffee provided. Were told we had to provide our own dishwasher cleaner after we asked where it was, but fortunately on our last night of 7 days the cleaner felt sorry for us and provided us a tablet. Pity about the completely ripped net curtain in room as would only take 2 mins to put up a new one and make the room look better. Some of the windows open up to their junk pile outside the back of the building. The front of the building needs some love and doesn't quite look like the pictures but ok.

    We were able to drop off our luggage in our room at 9.30am and head off for the day. Floor was mopped everyday, rubbish bin emptied, beds made, & new towels provided. Beds were completely stripped half way through our stay. Perfect location to Metro and easy to get to all the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very friendly & responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but old. Same for appliances. Window didn’t close fully in bathroom to street. Also, was a fairly long walk to attractions.

    The staff was very friendly & responsive. Bed was comfortable. Nice to have fridge & microwave in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    I liked that we could check out later than usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything looked bigger and more luxurious in the pictures. We had the impression that the Downtowner Inn was going to be way nicer than it was with a really big pool and a big, comfy room. However, the pool area was really small and breakfast was served in a small fast food place o the other side of the street (breakfast was ok). On the plus side: The crew working there was friendly.

    I liked that we could check out later than usual.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    2.5
    Horrible place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing. Nothing like the photographs or descriptions . Booked a deluxe double and we were “upgraded” to an apartment. It was in another building up steep dirty stairs . Door barely closed. It was filthy and uncomfortable and smelt of other people’s food. The bed was uncomfortable And the windows so filthy you could barely see out and where you could the view was a mass of old paint posts and building materials. There were broken sockets and exposed wires, dirty handprints everywhere. We had to wash all the cutlery and crockery as it was all disgustingly dirty. The internet was either snail slow or not working at all.Hot breakfast is a joke and served off premises in a fish and chip shop. Slept with chairs under doors handles and barricades as did not feel safe. Really horrible place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Shabby place in little Armenia
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is an actual joke, dont let the pictures fool you! It is in little Armenia, somewhat close to the Walk of Fame. We only stayed here for 1 night, my friend got bed bug bites! Hairdryer, telephone, toilet flush and some plug sockets didnt work! It has breakfast included, which you get in a little snack restaurant next to the Motel (filter coffee, toast, scrambled eggs, waffels and maple syrup). Very noisy at night. Normally i dont leave bad reviews, but there was no value for money, wouldn’t recommend to my friends. The gentleman at check-in was very friendly though. The room also has a fridge, which is also nice.

    The gentleman at reception during checkin was nice and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Great Hollywood location - walking distance to Walk of Fame,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no towels in room, but when asked, staff member apologised and provided. The room was very tired, not all plugs/lamps worked.

    Great Hollywood location - walking distance to Walk of Fame, Hollywood sign visible on the way and very close to Griffith Observatory. Friendly, responsive staff. Great to have hot breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Its not worth the money a night, they need to fix it up better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, lack of attention to detail. The sliding door in the room didn't open, not enough hot water when taking a shower. The towels had stains on them, over all the room can use a make over. For the amount of money they charge a night isn't worth the money. I didn't see any smoke detectors in the room, the shades on the windows are dirty and old.

    It was close to all the attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was larger than we expected, kind service, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok but a little basic.

    The room was larger than we expected, kind service, good location and secure parking even after we've checked out. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Poor breakfast, few choice, no juices, just scrambled eggs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast, few choice, no juices, just scrambled eggs and waffles, coffee and soda's Noisy : close to Hollywood boulevard (great!) but very poor window isolation Swiming pool only open between 9am and 9pm.. a little too squeezy to really use it But rooms are OK, bed and linen also, bathroom convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.5
    Terrible and very expensive possibility in LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To tell the truth, I would give 0 point of less, if it would possible. It is a shame, that this hotel can work in LA. If you are by car, you can get main attractions (TLC Chines Theatre, Dolby Theatre, etc.) easily, but by foot it is about 30-40 minutes. It is not on the best part of Hollywood Blvd. The room is dirty, the bathroom is terrible, dirty and it was renovated in the last century, the room is like the Magic House in Calico (no straight, but oblique, if you stay in this hotel maybe you don't need to visit Calico's oblique house). The check-in procedure was terrible, it took 10-12 minute, because we had to wait until a girl comes out from behind, and the man at reception showed her the check-in procedure. It was approximately at 11 pm, when we were very tired. The parking place is nearly full, and you had to be skilled driver to park in the small places. The breakfast... OMG. It is in an another building in a "restaurant". It was dirty, the staff there was rude and unpolite, and they would wait for the tip for this terrible service. It was one of the most terrible accommodation in my life (the other two were in Turkey and Greece). And it is for nearly 150 USD/night (in Turkey I paid 10 USD/p with breakfast and dinner, and the meals were nice). I cannot understand that how it is possible that there are some good reviews. It is pity that the minimum points are 2,5 on Booking.com. I think minus 10 would be correct. It was the more expensive accommodation during my trip, but it was one of the most terrible in my life.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property it is very old for the price. Inside and outside. Did not like parking area. Smoking, people drinking and talking at the middle of the night. I did not like my stay. I won't come back.

    A little bit the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Good place for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy because of the thin walls and busy street outside.

    Good place for a few nights. You get what you pay for, it's not a 5-star hotel. It was clean and felt safe to leave stuff. Close walk to Hollywood boulevard, about half hour walk to Griffith obeservatory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, comfy bed, but run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels shabby, old and rundown Way too much furniture in a small room Pricey

    Staff was nice Great atmosphere, really feels like a motel from a movie Location excellent Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.3
    The worst hotel experience I have ever had in U.S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly speaking, that was the worst hotel experience I had ever lived in U.S. 1, dirty everywhere, 2, all the facilities are out-of-date and look very dull, 3, swimming pool is very small and full of leaves, 4, towels are not clean; 5, low quality-to-price choice; 6, suspended my credit for a long time. Even not de-frozen until I am writing this comments, which is 7 days after check-out.

    1, Close to Walk of frame; 2, They have a kettle in the room for boiling water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, although basic, was a very good size and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. Once we understood how to use the public transport near by, we realised how great the location of the hotel was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Was good location to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was abit uncomfortable to sleep on. TV inside room kept restarting itself and coffee machine did not work. Apart from that everything was ok.

    The hotel could do with refurbishment. Looked a lot newer than it did in person. The owner was very friendly and house keeping was done everyday which was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, retro atmosphere, over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price, close more than any other rooms on our trip to Oklahoma. Breakfast was offsite and extremely basic.

    Location and quite room on far side from the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's at the dodgy end of Hollywood boulevard. Some of the power switches were faulty but once we informed them, they fixed them the following day.

    It was very near a metro and had free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's loud on the strip but that's just the deal in LA

    The owners were lovely and so helpful, the bed was super comfy and our balcony was a sun trap😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed would have liked to use the pool. Staff bery helpful though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was filthy unusable, bathroom dirty we got grout cleaner and did it ourselves! The room wasn’t particularly clean and our beds were never made. I presumed all hotels and motels did this. The food was ok but very unhealthy I did presume there would be more fruit available.

    The staff were very polite helpful. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Close to universal studios but very poor standing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 was terrible, litterally on the sidewalk so very noisy. The windows were cracked and didn't close tight. Half of electrical outlets didn't work. Bathroom door locked itself from the inside!! Had to wake up the guy at the reception at 5am so that he could give us an ustensile to open it up. Parking is tiny.

    Very close to universal studios (less than 10 minute drive)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mesh door has some holes cannot prevent from insects and flies. Broken face-wash towel.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, nice decorations, good breakfast included, clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were a bit steep and hard to navigate with luggage, at least in the building we were in.

    The front staff was friendly and helpful. There was plenty of space in the room and the beds were comfortable. It was nice to be able to park on the premise. And having a hot breakfast provided next door is a nice bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    I will be back here to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tape covering huge cracks across the glass doors leading to balcony...need some repairs. Full kitchenette but only two plates available and no glasses or mugs, cutlery, etc. It said room was carpeted but there was no carpet.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Hot breakfast included (even if same food twice in a row).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    The front desk staff (man) was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connection of internet isn’t well, suddenly it stops working then I needed to reconnect with my phone. Not strong internet wifi And also the light was not enough to keep blight.

    The front desk staff (man) was awesome! He researched many things for me,it was helpful to get place. The location is cool to stay in Hollywood Close to Metro station. Just move to one station, you’ll catch FLYAWAY (shuttle bus for LAX) It was my first time to stay in LA, but had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Experience matches value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that while there is a pool it is not heated until May/June. Had I know this, I may have booked elsewhere as I booked based on pool and breakfast. My kids are 15 and 17 and had some issues with the Wi-Fi.

    Breakfast was good, accommodation was great for the value. Overall, depending on the time of year, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely owners, good location, great price, and a chance to meet travellers from all over the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is terrific from various perspectives: close to the 101 for getting around the city; walking distance to Griffith Park for hiking; walking distance to Franklin Village for a great meal or a couple of drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, plenty of parking, huge rooms in apartment,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen poorly equipped kitchen (not many pots and pans, no oven trays) however I got the feeling the apartments were a new addition to the motel so can only get better than already is.

    Friendly staff, plenty of parking, huge rooms in apartment, nice kitchen, large fridge freezer,(booked a room for 4 and ended up in apartment), comfy beds, excellent value for money. Enjoyed our 5 night stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    Dirty,Rundown,Unpleasant .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend travelled w my fiance and myself.she was checked into a room w a broken sliding glass door. The clerk would not refund the room,and wanted fo put her in another dingy unkept room.she ended up roomimg w us.this motel is seedy,dirty looking and overpriced.ive stayed in East Hollywood several times and would not stay here again.broken fixtures,thin walls,dirty floors,dont be fooled by the booking.com pics.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Room is perfect for travelers on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs some love! Renovation and better scrubbing should do the work. My husband and I did not like the location at all. You may be better off getting a place that’s further but in a safer area.

    The owners were very nice and helpful people. It was a decent price in comparison to the other places. The room had an iron, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, balcony(with not so great view), and the price included breakfast(scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, home fries, coffee and juice- was not great, but it was free). Free parking!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Amazing...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs some TLC like painting, fixing broken doors and some blackouts for the windows...

    Darshan ( I hope I pronounced his name right) was so friendly, helpful and professional Our room was much more like an apartment with a huge bed and bedroom and dressing room 😳😳😳, whole sitting area, kitchen with oven, toaster, microwave, dishwasher and a huge refrigerator. Utensils, coffee maker and all the essentials.... it was beyond my expectations. I received many deliveries and they were very happy to help me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable stay in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outworn. Room a bit to small. Ac unit about half a meter from the bed (fortunatelly we did not have to use neither ac nor heating). Kitchen almost with no equipment.

    Good Location. Parking lot on site. Kitchen (unexpected).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    3.3
    absolutely horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything, our room was never cleaned once while we were there until the day we checked out. never a knock on the door, no one in the office. disgusting. the bathroom looked like a jail bathroom and i’ve never been to jail

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.2
    would not choose this again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dirty and old and tatty. Could do with a lot of decorating and washing. Bathroom was ok for one night but would not want to stay any longer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast and staff attitude, family oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations in process, not a downfall just a consideration, it may be finished when others visit it, seems to be a family operated business getting on its feet.

    Breakfast and staff attitude, family oriented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    LA was not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shady area overall, do NOT go east of the hotel. Many homeless people around the area, beware and always take an Uber/Lyft or own car. Do not walk out at night or even wing it to the "closest" store.

    Comfy bed and pillows, big TV and small fridge + microwave. Good thai restaurant across the street. Good size balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Restful .....as the days are full of much to do and see nearby
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here for years as my daughters both live nearby. This is a family owned property. They always and for years now have accommodated my needs. The hotel is an icon. Pool is clean. Rooms clean. Desk staff is the many family members who can give great tips regarding where to go! Location is perfect for all Hollywood venues. Thank you again for a clean, comfortable and safe place to rest at night. Cynthia from Louisiana

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    If you’re looking for a place to rest your head and don’t care about how clean things are, it’s ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not very clean and there is quite a bit of noise. I think the website advertisement is quite misleading.

    The location of the property is great, and so is the hot breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Waffles at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness. Some days a cleaner did not change towels (just feld dirty towels up and put back to a shelf). Also did not change garbage bag, one day I found the full garbage bag from a table.

    Waffles at breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hollywood Downtowner Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: