Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton - Oakland Waterfront 3 stars

1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606, USA

#18 of 42 hotels in Oakland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great place to visit lots to see and do remember to pack jackets and layer up your clothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough information relating to hop on hop off start points. On our second day we had to walk three blocks to get the bus. The weather was different every day. One day really cold we had to buy jackets to keep warm. When the sun came out it was lovely.

    We visited Muir Woods but a little advance information on parking would have been useful as we had a few hiccups reference parking in the wood and transport from the car park to the woods. After resolving these it was a great experience. We took the hop on bus round san Fransisco but again some of the pickup points were not made clear at the start of your trip. Once ironed out we had fun. The trip to solito island was beautiful. Riding the trams were brilliant. Crossing san Fransisco by ferry was a great experience perhaps we would have been cheaper getting a ticket for a week as we travelled on four different days but were not aware of any other payments that would have saved us money. We ate at various restaurants on fisherman’s wharf all were good food. We travelled across the Golden Gate Bridge it was really windy crossing over. We visited Jack London Square in Oakland and had a drink in the first and last chance saloon. Also Alcatraz worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    I felt at home here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like all the road construction going on on the road in front of the hotel. It makes it difficult for people to pick you up.

    I love this hotel! Everything was great !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money and they charge your card secretly with out asking or telling you
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was so overused, I could not sleep on one side as it was so indented that I would slip off for slide off to the side. I was erroneously charged for therapy dogs $150 for three days which is something I was not warned about as they are papered emotional therapy dogs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Kind of pricey for what we got, but that my just be Bay Area prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was positioned so close to the wall that I had to slide into it sideways. There was no nightstand on my side of the bed, so no place to put a glass of water or my glasses and phone. The final bill said only "zero balance", with no detail of any kind. They charged an additional $25 for "incidentals" but at this point I have no idea if I will receive the promised refund (we used nothing that should incur a charge) or not.

    The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Solid value for families traveling to the Bay Area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shortcuts in supplies (f/e no dishwashing soap in kitchen, too few pillows, sheets that weren’t snug on bed), filthy carpet in stairwells, broken/poorly functioning equipment in laundry room. Still good value for the region but small fixes could make it a lot better.

    Great location if you want to explore beyond SF. Easy access to highway and local roads, and quick hop to transit options such as BART and the ferry. Lovely outdoor space and nice common area. Good breakfast and great to have kitchen facilities. Practical rooms good for families with small kids. Fabulous German restaurant/beer garden adjacent to hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small and old fashioned fitness center. No outside trail to run.

    Free parking. Easy entrance to highway both directions. Not far from BART. Dinner 4 days a week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant stay for a couple days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 restaurant nearby. If it's all going well, great, if not some of the junior staff don't understand what's being asked, only the desk can help.

    Pool, spa, social area. Harbour side.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    Great View...Not Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room wasn't ready when I arrived at 3:45 and that it took until a little after 5 to finally get into my room. The staff was rude and unhelpful. We didn't have any keys for our room because the system was having a glitch and it seemed like it was a bother for the staff when we requested some form of way to get in and out of our room. They finally gave us the emergency key for the room about 2 hours later. The room was nice until you really got down to it. There was a hole in the sofa, the screens on the windows were ripped. The breakfast the next morning wasn't good at ALL! They ran out of coffee, silverware, plates, and some food. It was a horrible experience!!

    The view from my room was nice. That's about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs were covered in car hair. My daughter had bites under her bathing suit. The breakfast was not impressive. It was not worth the price.

    The room was and excellent size.My family lives in the pool so I love it was heated. Nice view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    When I arrived at the hotel they did not have my reservation...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at the hotel they did not have my reservation on file and they were sold out. Fortunately I had a copy of my confirmation from Booking.com. and they were able to accommodate me. I am very suspectible using Booking.cim in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Make sure all you amenities are included before you book
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I paid same price as everyone with a kitchen and I did not get the kitchenette ​suite as I booked.

    I booked a room with kitchen when I got there they gave me a room completely small and without the kitchen . It was nothing like on booking. They said I booked standard when I know for a fact I booked with kitchenette

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean at a glance, but was very dirty overall. The walls in the kitchenette had dried blood dripping down the wall on 2 seperate walls. The fan in the bathroom didn't work so the shower was moldy. The carpet throughout the suite was filthy, and the area is sketchy to say the least. I found no comfort in the hotel security due to the guard chatting with the front desk girl every time I went outside to smoke...EVERYTIME! Hilton should be embarrassed to be associated with this property.

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything! Everything was great and I will be back to stay by myself!

    Everything! The staff, the room, the continental breakfast! Everyone was extremely polite and helpful. The front desk lady was beyond awesome

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Room was very clean roomy comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in the 1st time about 1pm she was unfriendly but when we checked in at 3pm she was very polite and friendly not only that we had a medical emergency and the phone in my room was not connected

    Room was very clean roomy comfy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice & safe stay when in Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be only one elevator per building - so a long walk

    Location, space in room, breakfast area is spacious, Libby inviting and very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room, it promised me 2 extra hours with the genius perks. The hotel however only allows for 1 extra hour. Booking.com really should take that off their site. Also took over a half hour past check in time for them to get a room for me even with my reservation.

    Very comfortable. I loved it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Good breakfasts and nice evening light meal and wine (during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble a few times with shower water getting cold. Had some problems regulating the water temperature.

    Good breakfasts and nice evening light meal and wine (during werkdays). The waterfront area is beautiful. I was worried about having a room so close to the interstate but the noise level did not keep me awake. Shuttle was helpful for getting to nearby areas.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.8
    I would not return if I had my choice. If my last resort, I'd rather stay further from SF.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was overbilled three times, and incorrectly billed twice. Each charge was pending for over a week. I had to call to rectify this issue, to which the billing person responsible admitted to overbilling me. Finally resolved 16 days after my check-out day

    The breakfast was a nice bonus. Scrambled eggs tasted "processed, but bacon/sausage was flavorful. They also had a waffle making machine that produced tasty selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Awful food and custmer service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the food served was gross and ridden with fruit flies. The staff was rude, difficult, and just seemed like they didnt know what they were doing. The manager berated staff members twice infront of us...not impressed.

    Nothing, it was super grosd

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.0
    It was ok, we liked that there was a starbucks next door, and a really good german place to eat at.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our bathroom sink and shower had little short hairs all over. I had to clean both before we used them, so that tells me it wasn't cleaned. It was gross.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    Employees made a huge difference.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No grocery store or restaurants close by, and I'm not from the area. Became lost but found a Safeway as well as my way back to the hotel. The kitchen did make up for the lack of restaurants. Good stay over all.

    The staff was fantastic. Friendly, helpful, answered all my questions and breakfast was good. Although my room was on the highway side of the hotel, I couldn't hear the traffic. Definitely a plus. Comfortable beds and very clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.4
    this is not a Hilton!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was disorganized and uncaring. Never offered to help with my luggage or open the door when I checked in alone at 11pm! 3 women just stood there talking. The lobby was in construction with work men and clutter all around. The internet did not recognize my name or room number and it took 45 minutes and 8 phone calls to the desk to have it taken care of. And the parking was totally inadequate! The front desk clerk actually suggested that I park my car in an adjacent lot not even belonging to the hotel and walk 2 blocks in the middle of the night! I ended up parking in the only space available, handicap for both nites. This hotel give Hilton a bad name!

    breakfast was varied, hot and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    3.8
    I should have kept looking ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their breakfast area is under construction and it was crowded. Trying to get breakfast was irritating. The bed was very bouncy and I could feel the springs. I didn't get much sleep due to the bed. I paid too much for what I got.

    It was clean. The waterfront view was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.0
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby under remodel (total disaster), no effort to even mask the work being done. Remodel is right next to breakfast where food is served, dust seemed to be all over. Breakfast was ok. Half of the outlets in the hotel didn't work. Phone and TV in room didn't work.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    3.8
    No enjoyment here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved this place because it had a view of the water and paid extra to be on that side of the building. Once I arrived I was told that I was also upgraded to an even nicer room. Once I got inside the room there was a huge willow tree up against my window and I had no view at all. Since I had paid extra for the view to be on that side of building I went down to the front desk and ask for a different room and was told there weren't any and ended up being put on the first floor in a handicapped room. They were remodeling the front of the hotel in the lobby at this time so that was unusable. When I went to park there was no parking left and I had to park on the street in Oakland. Once I got in bed I found there was no remote for the TV. It took 42 minutes for them to bring me one by that time I was asleep. In the morning we asked to speak to a manager and was told he was not there and would get back to us. Several days later he told us he would refund us half of our money but that never happened. Three weeks later we called him again with no luck If you need a place to stay for the night this will do. If you're going here to have a romantic time with your spouse don't bother!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    4.2
    Not Hilton quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not very comfortable. The Towels were very 2nd rate. There was very limited space for toiletries in the bathroom.

    My room was very dated and old looking. This property did not live up to the Hilton brand.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Lovely always my go to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay..Everything was great for my Sister in law..BDay Weekend....we cooked outside and it was awesome always my go to......wish the bottom tube could have stayed open longer thru the night...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    5.0
    Ban pot smoking in rooms....disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room smelled of marijuana. The second room had jelly on the nightstand. The halls were narrow and musty smelling.Lobby bathrooms were out of order and the lobby was under construction. We were not informed of the construction when we booked. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy. I would like more secure parking facilities. I honestly would not stay there again.

    The bed and pillows were comfortable. The soap was nice. The breakfast was better than most.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great. Easy enough to book and pay for the room online

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    Not going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator broken 1 day. Hot water difficult to get. Place reeked from marijuana smell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    The area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture on the website didn't match room... very disappointed

    The area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Elevator location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location amenities view quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff

    Front desk check in was horrible. I requested a second or third floor room all they had was handicap room next to the elevator.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Yes the bed was extra comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes the bed was extra comfy!!! Lovely view and peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    No restaurant facilities on the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant facilities on the weekend...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Decent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets got clogged multiple times. Old property and needs maintainenance. Location of the property was not great.

    Decent Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Always a great stay at Homewood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to unload our car in front of our building and then move it down at the other end of the facility.

    Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    not a modern hotel but family hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Customer service was not what I wanted

    not a modern hotel but family hotel good food in the afternoon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    I had a wonderful time!!The water view was AMAZING!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    making sure all of the lights worked, items were plugged in (lamps werent plugged in). Some of the furniture could be updated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location close to Oakland Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    The breakfast staff was very accommodating & patient even though I came right at closing time. They were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    3.8
    Dirty and smelled like smoke
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and smelled like smoke

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Perfect and beautiful
    • Group
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect thank you homewood suites

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    A 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was too high

    The view, the women

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    6.3
    I'm sure after construction it will be alot better
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine broken. Rooms too small.

    Breakfast provided

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great view of the water and VERY pet friendly!Staff was super nice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.8
    Alva's customer service was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking space, heating system didn't work well

    Alva's customer service was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Overall a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charged twice but customer service was great

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great Stay at Homewood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was terrible. Over priced and charged my card three times

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Nice rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cityside Queen Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in and out was quick and easy. The staff was friendly. The room was nice and clean. No problems at all!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rental car windows being smashed and my elderly mothers laptop being stolen.

    The pool and hot tub facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.6
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I NEVER WAS ABLE TO CHECK IN I HAD TO GO SOME WHERE ELSE BECAUSE MY RM WAS NOT READY NONE OF THE THREE TIME I CAME TO CHECK IN.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was being remodeled

    I thought the breakfast presentation was very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Wish there was a spa tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a spa tub

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Because of road construction I got lost multiple times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of road construction I got lost multiple times finding direction to hotel but they helped me til I arrived safe

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    I booked this for my parents while they visited me in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, they are upgrading some of the outside areas but that should be done soon!!

    I booked this for my parents while they visited me in Oakland. The staff were amazing, the rooms were comfortable and large enough. Breakfast was good each day and the free 5pm drinks and snacks went down a treat. I'd definitely stay here again. Everyone very helpful and they even took the time to drop my parent's off at lake merritt and pick them up while I was busy one day. Excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Mexican people of the staff make us feel like at home wich...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very expensive compared to other áreas and not a nice área, very afar of all, not wáter in the rooms, it is really expensive and not valued fo the overall service hotel offer.

    Mexican people of the staff make us feel like at home wich is good, bed was comfortable and breakfast included ok

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast was good, we had breakfast one time only due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elevator was really slow. Twice when we got back to the hotel late at night ( 11:00 PM ) we could not find parking space. We had a room facing the highway and it was a little noise.

    Breakfast was good, we had breakfast one time only due to catching early flight. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable. Also, while we were happy with the location, it is a few miles outside the city center, so if you are looking to be close to downtown, you might want to look elsewhere.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Our check-in process was very easy. Everything about the hotel was very clean and well kept. The free breakfast offered a variety of items.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.6
    The location was beautiful, very convenient to Oakland...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A basketball team was there, and morning breakfast was understaffed, there was not enough food or flat wear to go around. Also I was disappointed that there was not an airport shuttle. Still, I would stay there again.

    The location was beautiful, very convenient to Oakland airport, and there was a good German restaurant right next door. They have two bedroom suites available which are great for larger families.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    The room was very clean and tidy and the view of the boats...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I did not like was getting a room near the elevator, only because it dings ever time someone uses it,and I heard it a couple times throughout the night. Nothing major.

    The room was very clean and tidy and the view of the boats on the water was awesome. Also, very close to many restaurants with a starbucks just a few steps away.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was satisfying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It felt remote because there weren't many buildings nearby. It was near roadway construction. The highway divides the waterchannel property from the rest of the city.

    Breakfast was satisfying. Nice walking path along waterfront. Nicely kept indoor spaces.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    4.6
    I liked that the hotel was on the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The women at the front desk was Not accommodating at all.. I booked my room at the homework suites Friday night planning on arriving in Oakland Saturday staying until Sunday I made it to the hotel about 11:00am, I also requested a early check in when I made my booking which has never been a issue anywhere else... After traveling through rain and traffic all I wanted to do was check in to my room and get myself and my pet settled in, however the rude older Asian woman at the front desk told me they had no rooms ready at all which seemed strange for I have stayed at many hotels and unless they were completely sold out the previous nights before which the homewood suites was not sold out neither Thursday night or Friday night so it made no sense as to why she was telling me there was absolutely no rooms available at all, then she started telling me check in is at 3pm and to come back then and even rudely turned around and pointed at a sign on the wall that said check in was at 3pm.... I ended up having to go to Emeryville to be able to check into a hotel room. The homewood suites really needs to worry about accommodating their customers instead of allowing their staff to be rude to paying customers that are attempting to stay at their establishment!

    I liked that the hotel was on the marina.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    4.2
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Solo traveller

    My room smelled of smoke. It was small and dated. I was charged three times for a one night stay. Nothing to eat. One delivery service which was awful. I was told it was close to the airport and it was not. I have filed a complaint with my bank and Hilton.

    Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and the overall...
    • Couple

    When we arrived 12/3/2015 in the P.M. and our room was not ready; we had to wait 20-30 minutes for it to be prepared. 12/4/2015 at 4:30 A.M. awoke to the sound of water dripping from the ceiling in two locations within the room; contacted the front desk and within 20-30 minutes we were kindly assigned a suite. The early morning interruption, and having to repack and move to a suite in another building, was least to say, an inconvenience.

    Staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and the overall facility was good; has a great complimentary breakfast and the location for our purposes was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    4.6
    I didn't get receipt to declare my company.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I didn't get receipt to declare my company. I reported the stuation to booking.com customer support three weeks ago but there is no solution until now. There is a bad smell in the corridors.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice big room with kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Couch bed wasn't very comfortable. Air conditioner was a bit noisy.

    Nice big room with kitchen. Pool and fitness room great for our teen. Helpful and friendly personnel. Good breakfast. Location was good as we were driving around. Windows to marina - nice view.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.9
    Nice setting by the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 151 had,a distinct smell to eat....cleaning spray? The carpet just outside of the bathroom area and in front of the TV was wet/damp. Perhaps they had just cleaned the carpets. Made front desk aware of this and they indicated they would make some sort of adjustment but have not heard back from them.

    Nice setting by the water

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Easy access from freeway and staff very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I should have booked the bigger rooms. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and overlooked the car park, the freeway and a freight train depot. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel

    Easy access from freeway and staff very polite and helpful. A nearby German theme bar which was open at weekends served excellent food and drinks. The view at the rear of the hotel was breath taking with relaxing. The pool was small but we were the only ones in it so more tan adequate. Complimentary breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no one bedroom suites available due to renovation of another building. Was looking for that type of accommodation and instead had to stay in a studio-type room.

    Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.7
    Thought location was much closer to BART and Jack London...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought location was much closer to BART and Jack London Square. In fact, police picked us up on our walk to the hotel from Lake Merritt BART station and advised us to take a cab or use UBER to transport around the area - very nice of them!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location. If driving into SF, can take more than 40 mins due to long lines for Bay Bridge Toll.

    Staff was friendly. Room was spacious and had kitchenette, microwave.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    Ome staff member was very apologetic about our room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Gave us a queen size bed in a handicapped room facing the freeway with a loud ac unit right outside our window. We paid for a king size room facing the water. Wasnt told about any of this at check-in..

    Ome staff member was very apologetic about our room...but couldn't change it.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    The staff was pleasant and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was pleasant and professional. Pleasantly surprised when I received a welcome call after check in. Beautiful view from the balcony of my room and very peacefu . Excellent price for a pleasing room with a view. I would highly recommend this facility to friends and family. It's definitely on my list of favorites for another stay.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: