Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3 stars

2223 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011, USA

#17 of 36 hotels in Carlsbad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    I am definitely going back when I stay in the area, totally recommend it my whole family was pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had nothing to do with the hotel it had to use the 3rd party that I used to book the hotel.

    As soon as I arrived I was acknowledged and greeted even though the young lady at the front desk was with another desk. That's what I call customer service, I wish I knew her name but I don't remember she was totally amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Near outlets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had a choice I would not stay here more than two nights because I could imagine a hotel with more cosy atmosphere , or a view. This is more a practical hotel to stay at night , not to lounge at day

    Good location , stayed here for a night before visiting the outlets . Breakfast was fine with healthy options fruitsalad, fruits, toast and scrambled egg. Went in the jacuzzi and pool ( in the centre courtyard - rooms all around ).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    I was with my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your question of who I was with!

    I was with my wife...shame on you for not having that as an answer option...thereby promoting marriage between man and woman.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more channels available for tv

    Very comfortable and quiet. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Nice rooms, plenty of room, great amenities, good amount of parking available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    I didnt like that we had a room with a loud motorized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like that we had a room with a loud motorized refrigerator and there was no replacement. Because of this and our food going bad, we eventually unplugged it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Overall amazing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be a better area for pets, also finding the hotel we went into the wrong place. Should be better Marked and defined from the hotel right next door.

    Bed was amazing, excellent breakfast, amazing lighting around the bathroom mirror, awesome suites, loved the personal shopping option

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and adequate accommodations 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy and crowded at breakfast. But other family members were staying there also, otherwise I would have stayed somewhere else. Breakfast was okay except for fake eggs😐

    Was staying there only at night was with family reunion activities during the day. 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary Breakfast was disappointing. Eggs were cold. Selection poor. Seating was extremely overcrowded. In room coffee was terrible

    Beds were comfortable. Room was basic. Sprinklers ruined our car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    I would consider staying here again
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location and just a bit pricey

    In comparison too other hotel chains, Hilton properties shine. Good breakfast buffet. Comfortable rooms (air temperature was a bit hard to control). The only ding is the location because it is directly across the street from the airport and a bit distant from the restaurants and beach. Literally had to drive to the next town eastward to get food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Best Birthday Family Trip EVER!!!
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved it all especially the staff, outstanding customer service,especially Andrea!!! This trip was to celebrate our grandson Caleb's 11th Birthday, simply marvelous :) :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    good service and friendly/helpful staff, good location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    sofa was uncomfortable, needed pillows for back support. Bed was a little stiff. Need better bed pillows - they were very uncomfortable.

    good service and friendly/helpful staff, good location, clean room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Hospitable staff, clean room and very conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good, but would be great if including some eggs.

    The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The pull out sofa bed was also comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked. We were surprised to find it was a functional kitchen with cookware and utensils. The evening complimentary happy hour was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Overall good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not that good and gets too crowded. Bathtub bottom surface turned yellow, they got to replace old one!

    Free shuttle to Legoland. Friendly staff. Includes kitchen equipments.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Fun family time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs were terrible. They were not"real" scrambled eggs. We saw lots of people throwing them away. Need more than 1 toaster

    Bed very comfy. Kitchenettes are well stocked

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The king mattress on the bed should be replaced. We rolled toward the center due to a dip in the mattress.

    Loved the full kitchen. Enjoyed the free beer and wine with pupus from 5-7pm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    2.5
    Inoperable Toliets experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite from Sept- 17 to Sept 18 , with my family of 6 which included my elderly parents and young kids. I regret staying at your property. We were given inoperable toliet and nobody attended till 9 am. We were given a plumbset to rectify on our own which we couldnt. All my family including my senior citizen parents had to walk down in the lobby to use the toliet. Very disappointing. When you guys knew that there is a family of 6 why were we given that room. I regret staying at your property and you have lost my business Thanks Nagendra

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Facility was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was bad....all pastries cold and hard. Not enough staff to clean tables and those that did wiped all crumbs and let them fall onto carpet. Not enough staff to refill food and beverage and plates.

    Facility was clean. Good variety of tea bags

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door stop was falling off the wall in our room. We wish the breakfast session would have lasted longer since there was a large number of guest staying at the hotel.

    friendly staff, clean rooms, complimentary breakfast, close to Legoland

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    I liked the manager's reception and the breakfast in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish there had been microwave popcorn in the hotel store.

    I liked the manager's reception and the breakfast in the morning had a lot of options. I liked the size of the room and having a kitchen was a plus. The pool area was very clean and I enjoyed sitting outside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was several problems from night one, and the way they handle the problems was far less then professional.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Spacious suit, clean, quite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    , be needs to fixed or rplaced The refrigirator was very noisy

    Spacious suit, clean, quite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Sweet spot👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.

    Love the rooms. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff. Clean & comfortable. Great Job Homewood Suites!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found everything great.

    Free Parking. Awesome breaky so much variety and yummy! Great helpful staff and close to so many shops even Leogland!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything about it was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it was perfect!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    +++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    +++++

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    All services were professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    All services were professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.9
    Breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge me 3 times on my card, it was a spider and cucaracha, and the futon it was so old and uncortoble.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    It was good stay with my two dogs n children.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast!!!

    Pet friendly !!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Too much chlorine in the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much chlorine in the pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Everyone was very nice and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning and the business center computers and copiers did not work well

    Everyone was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Comfortable bed. Quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Only one negative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative. They gave misinformation about their shuttle to Legoland and we ended up waiting for about an hour and a half to get to the park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Great family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean and updated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Waffles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waffles!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Recommend for Great Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little bland but overall it was a great stay.

    Great room! it was everything we needed and more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    We booked through Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked through Booking.com. When we checked out, the staff could not give us an itemized bill. Our credit card got hit with a much higher bill than it should have been. Booking.com is working the problem. SO FRUSTRATING!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.1
    Its nice that there's a complimentary snack especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the tables are dusty, the hallways smelled like paint. Which was kinda strong for my kids. The sofa bed was not comfortable and it felt itchy when we slept on it, Driveway entrance was hard to find.

    Its nice that there's a complimentary snack especially when travelers checked in late in the afternoon.. Breakfast was good. Staff are really nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    Good location to legoland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No hot water in the evening was fixed by morning (boiler issue was told). Understaffed so rooms not available until after 4 pm. Breakfast running out of food, coffee (I am not kidding) , silverware, plates, etc. Staff overwhelmed on breakfast to the point of being overstressed. No order for breakfast so people just grabbing whatever came out. Needed some crowd control barriers for queing: Felt bad for the crew need more staff to help in the morning and have rooms available earlier than 4 PM

    Good location to legoland. Nice pool and rooms are spacious with nice amenities.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    My family and i enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    My family and i enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice interior and great location too. Everything we needed is just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    2.5
    Front desk new girl doesn't know ways of payment and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Front desk new girl doesn't know ways of payment and unsure about it. Confusing at Check in. Took 30 min. Called inadvance and verified payments. 3rd floor very noisy running kids and slamming doors. Pool guys put over the limit of chlorine. My kids swam for 2 hours and their clothes turn from blue to white. Pool guy closed the pool after notified and admitted to pool level was to high after he tested. Ambulance came for my kid after complaint of dizzy, fatigue, skin rashes. Hotel did nothing. Cause were African American GM did nothing either. Hotel didn't give copy of incident report. They said no.

    Front desk new girl doesn't know ways of payment and unsure about it. Confusing at Check in. Took 30 min. Called inadvance and verified payments. 3rd floor very noisy running kids and slamming doors. Pool guys put over the limit of chlorine. My kids swam for 2 hours and their clothes turn from blue to white. Pool guy closed the pool after notified and admitted to pool level was to high after he tested. Ambulance came for my kid after complaint of dizzy, fatigue, skin rashes. Hotel did nothing. Cause were African American GM did nothing either. Hotel didn't give copy of incident report. They said no.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    When I entered the hotel customer service was excellent.
    • Couple

    What I did not like about it I have to go to work.

    When I entered the hotel customer service was excellent. Working in a hotel facilities before gives me a experience in what too expected. And how you should be everyone was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Room was nice and had a lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walls are very thin between rooms. I could hear the family in the room next to ours at 3:00am in the morning doing what sounded like jumping from couch to couch in the living room space. I know this is out of the hotels control but was still a little annoying after driving 2 plus hours to San Diego

    Room was nice and had a lot of space. Bed was very comfortable and great tv channel selections for young child. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.1
    Fast check in the breakfast was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The fire alarm went off accidentally at five in the morning, which totally scared my kids and had a really bad day because they where not able to go back to bed after that. It ruined our day

    Fast check in the breakfast was awesome

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.3
    It was near the park we were visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Housekeeping just OK. Didn't bring new plastic cups, coffee cups. Had to be reminded we need more washcloths. Left crumbs on tables -didn't wipe them. ..

    It was near the park we were visiting. Lots of parking. Pool was heated.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Free wifi is really poor.

    Good value for money. Having a Kitchenet is very useful when staying with young kids. Great staff at the front desk. Very helpful and friendly, I do believe they make a difference. Free shuttle for short trips. Afternoon snacks.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    6.3
    Nice staff;
    • Family with older children

    The price of $299 (plus fees/taxes) per night for a King bed with pullout sofa was too high. The pullout was very uncomfortable and we stayed at a 4-star resort in Mission Bay for less than this cost. Didn't like taste of breakfast.

    Nice staff; enjoyed kitchen space; King bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff tried to help with every request we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At checkout we were charged 75% more than we were guaranteed through Booking.com. They had the record of our reservation but not the amount. I wish to have this checked.

    The staff tried to help with every request we had. The breakfast varied each day and was always good. Facilities were quite good and many attractions were in the vicinity.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet, nice pool/jacuzzi, beautiful room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not one thing

    Breakfast buffet, nice pool/jacuzzi, beautiful room with a kitchen and very comfy bed, and best of all--complimentary happy hour with a light dinner buffet on week nights! Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    9.2
    Our room attendant, Adriana went over the top in refreshing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room attendant, Adriana went over the top in refreshing our room daily. We had our 2 year old grandson with us and she took the time to ensure every attention to detail was touched.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    I loved the pool and th he room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The fridge in my room was very very noisy. I mean unusually noisy.

    I loved the pool and th he room was nice. The nights where the serve dinner and beer/wine are great. Frees up time not worrying about feeding the family.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They were doing construction and the second day they blocked off the elevator

    Location was great. Close to Legoland and the beach

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    The room was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was great ! The people were great ! Just all out great ! So much better then the others we have been in ! Will be coming back !

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.0
    Quick check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were too soft

    Quick check in

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, clean facilities. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    everybody was so helpful, loved the hotel shuttle dropping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everybody was so helpful, loved the hotel shuttle dropping us off at Legoland!

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    9.6
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    N/A

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    Room was spacious, hot breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was spacious, hot breakfast was very good. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    Nice set up very spacious
    • Family with older children

    Nice set up very spacious

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    The whole experience was delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The whole experience was delightful!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Room layout very nice, well kept up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool area crowded and breakfast buffet a little crowded but expected for location.

    Room layout very nice, well kept up.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Very comfy stay, no complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very comfy stay, no complaints!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We appreciate the free dinner, but the menu could have been little better.

    Great location. Proximity to Legoland makes it perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was wonderful. Every question or request was promptly addressed and always with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    the rooms are just right, not so big not so small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the rooms are just right, not so big not so small. My friends children said they want to live in this hotel! And the breakfast was above expectation.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Bath tub looked dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath tub looked dirty

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    The complimentary breakfast had really good selections and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The complimentary breakfast had really good selections and food tasted great. The pool was great for the kiddos.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was okay! Same with the pillows

    Breakfast was amazing! It was quiet and relaxing

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    8.8
    It was really busy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was really busy!I loved the room

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: