Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton Detroit-Troy 3 stars

1495 Equity Drive, Birmingham, MI 48084, USA

#2 of 3 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For much of the weekend we were unable to use the main hallway that provides access to the lobby, fitness room, and pool. They were also doing carpet cleaning while we visited so that was another inconvenience. Hilton should provide advance notice to people that the property is undergoing extensive restoration that impacts the common areas.

    The staff was friendly and tried to make adjustments for the inconveniences imposed by remodeling efforts, but there was only so much they could do given the restoration work that was going on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the ceiling is thin. I can hear every step of the people who stays above my suites.

    Convenient location with Walmart in walking distance. Vintage style furniture. Good breakfast. They provide cooked rice, miso soup ( japanese style) and Kimchi (korean style pickled vegetables) for breakfast, which is rare for an american hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like. I would highly recommend booking here. One of the best hotels I have every stayed in.

    That staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean as was the entire hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Studio - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been a little cleaner but all in all it was relaxing and peacefull.

    I absolutely loved everything about the hotel! It was perfect my son who is 8 and myself enjoyed every moment. The breakfast was incredible and fresh and hot. Absolutely perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and bed were not very comfortable. The bed seems to be dented in the middle.

    Nice & clean property, managed well. Breakfast was good. Enough choices, hot but not made to order.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light switch of the bathroom was outside the bathroom, a bit confusing.

    Comfortable bed, very much space, two TVs, able to plug-in my smartphone to the lamp next to bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom faucet leaked and spewed out water. The floor of the bathtub was poor.

    Reception nice. Room nice. Helpful lady in the laundry when asked for directions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed bothered and annoyed when answering questions. One staff member spoke with street slang that was almost incomprehensible.

    Room was clean and problem free. Liked the whole facility, felt upscale and modern.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing, they ran out of food and the staff had a bad attitude about refilling the food. They did not refill the food our group of 7 did not have any food. The attitude was very poor.

    The staff was very helpful, we needed a wheelchair and they were able to help.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to everything I wanted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beautiful staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh food. Eggs. Fruit. Hot coffee. Great staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    slow wifi speed and need to sign in everyday.

    Good breakfast, clean room and i like the cookie at the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking One Bedroom Double Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    next to highway,tooooo noisy!

    close to walmart,convenient for supplement

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all really good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    just good operation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • People with friends
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screwed up my reservation by charging me gor an additional room Now checks bouncing for their error.

    Environment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    blanket kept sliding off bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff were great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed there was no jacuzzi.

    Comfortable beds, two Tvs. We really enjoyed our stay! Great hotel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Studio Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The linens and towels were very nice. The room was welcoming and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for room was high.

    Very good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room and furnishings were a bit dated. Spiff it up and charge a little more.

    Bed was incredible. Room layout was great. Location was perfect for our needs. The staff was the best we ever experienced.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought the breakfast was not fresh enough. It was a little disorganized and not laid out properly. My room had a toilet that didn't flush properly and needed the insides replaced. The sink handles leaked.

    room was nice as for beds and kitchen and met needs. centrally located near my activities

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we "didn't like" although the breakfast facilities were adequate and quite basic. I stress though that these were adequate.

    Everything! The staff were helpful, providing guidance on the surrounding area. The pool & fitness room were great. The suite we had was superb and far more luxurious than we were expecting.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Couple

    The long walk to my room

    Cleanliness, very professional staff, conveniently located to everything i needed, response of the front desk to my inquiries and requests.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the fact that I had to come home!!! The only complaint I remember having was the entrances from the back parking lot...are designed on opposite ends. Our room was in the middle which meant we had to walk a little further. We got good exercise though!!!

    Our stay was amazing! The rooms were nice, clean & very cozy. It felt like home & was very comfortable. We took advantage of the full breakfast bar...the food was excellent & we couldn't have been more pleased!!! I miss it already!!! We have already told family and friends about our stay there & hopefully they will be booking with you as well.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My booking was at a rate of $125 per night. When checking out I was received an invoice at $159 per night. I immediately told the woman working reception who told me there was no problem and my card would be charged only $125. My card was later charged the higher rate. I called the 1-888 number of the hotel and was told there was nothing they could do - I had to call the hotel directly. Upon doing this I was told that the rate they had charged me was correct. Only upon contacting Booking was the issue resolved

    Breakfast had a waffle iron. However was lacking in pastries.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Kind employees and a wonderful place for a 'staycation!'

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor in rooms.

    Nice place.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Long walk from parking into hotel and finally to the room. I use a cane, so it made it more challenging

    Room was very clean, comfortable, and large.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy hotel floor with both elevator noise and heating system making noise. Bed was uncomfortable with a poorly fitted pad on top.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Couple

    No covers on the eggs and sausage links to keep them warmer. Coffee was like warm in the large dispenser.

    Close to our relatives

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    really nice room.. wasn't there very much... would have been nice to hang out..

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    Didn't receive a bill.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is helpful and positive. Happy hour is a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: