Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville 4 stars

3333 Southwest 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608, USA

#14 of 35 hotels in Gainesville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Homewood Suites? Yes, please!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to not like was that the pool was down for 4 of 6 nights we stayed but all we had to do was walk across the parking lot to another Hilton owned pool.

    We are a family of 8 and it is rare to find a hotel that will allow all of us to stay in one room. Six kids fit just fine with the sleeper sofa. There were two bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms, made our 6 night stay so easy and comfortable! The staff was exceptional! They were all very friendly. After we had driven through the night (13 hrs) the staff allowed us early check-in and even went back & got 5 bowls of cereal and milk for my kiddos.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    The woman at the front counter, Danielle, was so wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was one trash can in the breakfast area and it was overflowing.

    The woman at the front counter, Danielle, was so wonderful. She was very friendly and outgoing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for. Marriott is a leader in the industry for a reason
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions are everything Perception is always reality(Hotel Mgmt/Staff was not prepared for anything) Checking in was a catastrophe Employee on her second day was left to fend for herself with no help from staff Was supposed to check in at 4 Could not check in until after 630(was told there was nothing they could do, no rooms had been cleaned from checkout at 12noon until 6p) Sofa bed linen had not be changed had crumbs still in sheets Bathroom shower/tub had mold on top of ceiling in room 124

    Breakfast was great Staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very nice, clean and had a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa bed was not very comfortable. The rate they initially charged me was much higher, but when I was able to demonstrate the rate I was given on Booking.com they corrected it without any hassle. I recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

    The hotel was very nice, clean and had a good breakfast. The staff were great too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Great place will be comming back again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Plenty of room for the family to stretch out. Very clean room and the onsite restaurant was great to have a snack before bed. They have a field on the back and our dog love it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Convenient safe location definitely will stay here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient safe location definitely will stay here again been here twice and Jasmine made our check-in wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was not clean, carpet in halls visibly stained. Rooms were not cleaned thoroughly. Bed was not comfortable. breakfast was awful. Vent in the bathroom was full of dirt and lint, looked like it was never cleaned. The fan over the bed was extremely wobbly when turned on and looked unsafe to use. Way over priced for the condition of the hotel

    not overly impressed by any aspect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    Bring extra bedding for sleeper sofa whenever you stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called ahead of time to make sure bedding was available for the pull out couch and lady sort of chuckled and said yes of course they are all going have bedding because they know it’s thanksgiving weekend; this has happened to us in the past at the same facility. Well sure enough they didn’t have any bedding just extra pillows. I figured before leaving home to pack some up just in case but pretty sad we actually had to use them.

    Socials downstairs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Not impressed for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like smoke, even after they moved us to a different room. Went to take a shower in the morning, and the shower was not working.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Overall good stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was sufficient, but not as good as others we have had.

    It was convenient for us...near enough to the University and plenty of shopping/food options. My son liked the fact there was a small basketball court onsite!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Staff offered umbrella at entrance when storm brought...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need Air Conditioning in elevators.

    Staff offered umbrella at entrance when storm brought downpour of rain and we were dressed in our formal attire. Also able to do early arrival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Easy access to interstate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts at Homewoods are nothing to write home about.

    Easy access to interstate. Close to restaurants and groceries (rooms have kitchens if you want to eat-in). Close to UF (5-10 minutes depending on traffic) if you're going for a school function.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    The room we had was disability accessible and it was huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed two days and I had to call late in the afternoonto request maid service, and the room was vacant most of the day. I don't think they even attempted to service the room (pick up trash,make bed,clean towels)

    The room we had was disability accessible and it was huge which was great. It was clean and fresh and the bed was comfy. Loved the breakfast buffet but the food in the buffet was plentiful but of average quality. The room price was high in my opinion so my expectations for the hotel were also high

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location for UF and super room layout for a small family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above.

    The location is great and the room design is wonderful - full bedroom and kitchenette! However, this property is starting to show its age and needs a bit of updating and replenishing of materials. The carpet in the elevators was horrible - lots of stains. The bath tub needed regrouting and the kitchenette floor needed to be cleaned thoroughly...not just wiped down. Some of the common areas were showint their age and need to be refreshened. However, we've really enjoyed this hotel over the years and hope that if it is maintained we will return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Lakeland is a very good location close to St. Mary's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't realize there was a room for eight as Bookings.com only showed us the suites with one bed and a sofa bed. However, they were good when we complained about the room for eight filled with young boys which was right next to our room, they reduced our bill.

    Location and atmosphere. Also the staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Time for a refresh!
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tub did not drain. When I told the front desk staff I was told that there was not a maintenance person working on the weekend. I suggested they pour a bottle of Drain-o down it to help is run a bit easier, but that was not done! Very disappointed. We've stayed at this hotel about a dozen times over the years and it is starting to show its age. Cleanliness and overall state of the hotel has declined - stains on carpets, broken tile floors, dirty elevators. It's definitely time for a refresh!

    Room design - 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette and living room - is very comfortable and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for what it was.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    We really enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Better internet service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Awesome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The rooms & the view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean Bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non Smoking

    Clean Bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    It's okay
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV only got 8 stations Couldn't close the window curtains at night

    Good breakfast Low noise Price of stay Convenient location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Space in the two bedroom suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space in the two bedroom suite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast and Happy Hour was very good.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms and hallways seem to be falling apart and outdated.

    Breakfast and Happy Hour was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    As Good As It Gets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved

    Suite including two rooms. Well maintained pool and basketball court.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Good Space for Adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little dated.

    There was lots of room to spread out in the 1 bedroom suite. Breakfast was very good, with lots of options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location and rooms were set up perfectly
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more luggage carts.

    Perfect location and rooms were set up perfectly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Improve value with better breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast needs improvement. Runny oatmeal. Dry egg pellets.

    Singing birds in trees outside our third-floor room. Personable folks at front desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Homewood Suites is on my radar. I will look for them whenever I travel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like was bereakfast. Hot items were not good

    Friendly front desk and housekeeping staff. Great rooms and hospitality areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The housekeeper on the fourth floor Sunday morning did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper on the fourth floor Sunday morning did checkout was amazing!!!! I had to give her a $20 tip she was beyond helpful!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    everything was great. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything and all staff was great. Thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel stay for the whole fam of the UF graduate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous bagels for breakfast! Close to Chewy’s restaurant for a great authentic Mexican meal. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Good was cold and overcooked. Worst hotel for breakfast.

    Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was super comfy. Room was very clean and stocked. The hot breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    I wish we had that hotel in the Sarasota area where we spent 6 other nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman at the check-in counter was exceptionally nice and friendly. The room was comfortable and packed a lot of utility spaciously.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Served my purpose and had good nights sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You give no opportunity for non profits to put in tax ID. Hotel has to eliminate taxes in separate transaction.

    Happy hour food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Pet fees are too high for a one-night stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pet fees are too high for a one-night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen needs stove

    Breakfast was nice Complementary afternoon catering was nice Staff were helpful and friendly Place is clean & wide

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    We booked two double beds and had to stay in a room with one...
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two double beds and had to stay in a room with one bed and pull out couch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    hotel is ok , could be more clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning not too good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Need improvement in house keeping
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dirty in shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Super cozy, super clean!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very clean, nice room! Very cozy! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay. GreAt employee in Destiny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of guests above my room

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place for long weekend
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    view

    The room and bed and shower were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and bf accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was little difficult at times but not extremely uncomfortable

    Friendly staff and bf accommodations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was only a twin/double. A queen sized one would fit in the space and be more comfortable.

    Location. Near plenty of restaurants and Univ of Fl

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Quick overnight stay was a pleasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seating... the chairs were large and comfy but the size of them filled the room and made me feel crowded.

    The waffle and the coffee were delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ended at 9:00, I thought it should stay open longer

    Staff was very accommodating and the rooms were clean and roomy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Great EVERYTHING
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast foods daily M-Th evening reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Very happy with the overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy it was available but did not have the pleasure to enjoy being we were always up after breakfast was over

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    6.3
    room itself was fine.
    • Couple

    room was very noisy. was put in a terrible room location wise, near elevators, bottom floor, and across from gym.

    room itself was fine. amenities in room were fine.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    8.8
    We were late for the buffet, but the staff helped us anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didnt see a designated place to walk pet, play with my dog, or dog bags for waste, but I could've missed them. Overall great place I would visit again

    We were late for the buffet, but the staff helped us anyway.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a double charge to my hotel room, but the staff (not the manager) took care of it as soon as possible. Had to leave 3 messages with the manager before the staff took care of it.

    The staff was wonderful. The food was great. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    The rooms were very large.
    • Family with older children

    Arrived at 5 pm told rooms not ready due to a big problem with housekeeping. Elevator on our side of hotel broken. LARGE groups of rowdy children there for softball tournaments running the halls at all hours and taking over the pool area. Internet cable broken

    The rooms were very large. We had a queen suite with 2 queen beds and a rollaway couch. Clean beds ,comfortable, ceiling fan kitchenette Staff very nice and apologetic. Put out free salad bar snacks and cookies at 5pm

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very hospitable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints

    Staff was very hospitable and friendly. The room was very nice and comfortable. Great amenities, the location was excellent and breakfast was delicious!!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    4.2
    Good location for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a room with two beds and were given a room with one. This doesn't work well for a family. The staff were rude and not at all helpful when trying to sort this out. Pillow cases were not clean; had hair on them. That is nasty.

    Good location for our needs.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    Nice clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice clean room. Quite. Quick breakfast. Close to highway

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Amneties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amneties

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    2.9
    Room not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room not clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    Great front desk staff and cleaning folks.
    • Solo traveller

    Damn shower door seemed to leak.

    Great front desk staff and cleaning folks. Most helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice!! Great breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    the stay was just so nice and the Hotel was lovely AS WELL...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the stay was just so nice and the Hotel was lovely AS WELL AS THE STAFF AND ESPECIALLY AT BREAKFAST THE HAD REALLY GREAT HOSPITALITY!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    Loction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Loction

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Clean friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Couldn't log in to wifi.

    Clean friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    We stayed there with other family members who were there for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    We stayed there with other family members who were there for our grandson's Baptism! A wonderful time and very relaxing!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    7.5
    Free dinner and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Diet Pepsi or anything you purchase at the market was ridiculously expensive

    Free dinner and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was sub-par at best

    Good location. Friendly front desk

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: