Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark-Wilmington South Area 3 stars

640 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713, USA

#5 of 22 hotels in Newark

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Paid WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was gross. Bathroom was not clean and the elevator was scary o thought I was going to be stuck. Housekeeping was not all that good to be a Hilton. I was shock

    The bed was nice and the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not clean,tub stopped up,room ice maker broken,hotel ice maker broken,smoke alarms removed from my room during my stay with small children occupying the room.

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two doors in living room (with one to the next door) is a bit scary.

    Bed , blanket and pillow is comfortable. Room is warm and cozy. Free breakfast is good. Kitchenette is useful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel sign at the road making it difficult to find the first time. Pool water was very cold the one time we went to use it.

    Variety of hot and cold breakfast items. Breakfast area very pleasant. Manager's social was excellent. We made it our supper. Lobby area seasonally decorated and had gas fireplace and comfortable seating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had a better sign outside for hotel

    The accommodations were great. The room was nice and clean the bed was very comfortable. Once the door to our room was closed it was very quiet. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a very funky smell in my kitchen (think cat urine). The front desk kindly offered to switch me, but I said no because I was leaving the next morning. I just wanted to inform them of the smell. After some visual and nose investigating, I think it was either some water damage that hadn't been repaired, or a spill of some kind under the fridge. I hope they follow up and check it out, as either could turn into a health hazard.

    Excellent value for the price. The complimentary hot breakfast, and the socials/happy hours every evening made my trip super easy (free small plates, beer, and wine!). I was beat after long days of work, and it was nice not to have to go out again to find food. Also, the staff was so great! Everyone I encountered, from the front desk to the kind ladies covering breakfast and dinner...everyone was friendly and attentive. Further, the suites have a full-sized fridge/freezer with ice maker, plus a full kitchenette. I believe that the loveseat in the "living room" is a sofa bed, so I think Homewood Suites would be an amazing value for a small family. You could feed everyone for practically nothing during the weekdays, and there's room to spread out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed there was no ceiling exhaust fan or air freshener for the bathroom. I thought it was odd that bottled water was for honors guests only. I have never stayed in a hotel where bottled water was not available in each room.

    Very spacious and well appointed rooms. Bedding and pillows were of high quality and very comfortable. Ceiling fan was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom (shower area) needs to be updated. Needs new lighting too.

    King bed but every time the person next to me moved so did the whole bed. The mattress was comfortable though.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C not working when we arrived(Which they did fix) but room was not cool for sleeping, room was run down, shower was awful shower head barely fixed, tub did not drain, ceiling fan not working

    staff was nice and helpful breakfast is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strange "pool smell" when you come in the front door.

    Clean room and comfortable bed. Nice selections for breakfast. The breakfast staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be cleaner ( mirrors needed cleaning, better vacuuming, build up of dust in areas on carpet) Bulbs missing in the lamps in both bedrooms Direct TV was slow functioning

    Quick checking Pool open late in the evening Staff friendly Meals in hotel were good Loved the wine and beer

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that there was no automatic doors for individuals requiring easy accessibility in wheelchairs. I was also concerned about how dangerous it was for young children crossing the street to get to the parking lot. I observed a lot of cars driving very fast entering the Homewood Suites area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, far too soft and fluffy, little neck support. The aircon was quite noisy with no instructions how to adjust it.

    Large room well kitted out with small kitchen area. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny flashing light at night.

    Eggs were not extra fluffy. Bed was not like a cloud. Eggs were a little bit like a cloud, but bed was not extra fluffy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great as usual

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is ridiculous for a business trip

    Up to date;many amenities; everything you need

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free happy hour apps and convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    waffles!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were baby ants in the kitchen area of my room.

    Love the breakfast and dinner that was offered. Staff was friendly. Room size meet my needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!!

    Everything was very clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Cleanliness of facility and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room view out of the wondow, it was a big giant vent view. 😔

    Nice place hear and there

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Non-Smoking King Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Very spacious, clean room. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't like that I was charged double the amount for my stay! I don't like waiting for my money to be refunded!

    Brian at the front desk was extremely pleasant! The room was quite spacious and the pool was awesome!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I loved the concept of the two bedroom suite that we stayed in.It was very convenient, the fully equipped kitchen was a plus.The breakfast was awesome.The staff was very hospitable and caring.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    strange, tired staff in the evenings, otherwise very friendly staff. Coffee was very bad. And the optic of the dining room was very poor.

    The fitness and the pool. And the shuttles from hotels who were always available - great! Waffels for breakfast - and the fresh fruits - were fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    NOTHING! Everything was amazing!

    The waffles were the best start to my day. Also, the whole family slept like babies and we were so well rested the next morning. The lady at the front desk (Sharon?) Was so helpful and put me at ease!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Prices in the lobby store are "really" high.

    Great location, on/off I95 and close to the University of Delaware. Rooms and common areas are clean. Complimentary breakfast is "wonderful". Food is very good and kept full during the service hours. The staff that is responsible for the breakfast really go out of there way to help in anyway they can and are "so" friendly - it's a pleasure to have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The first impression is the front doors and they need to be cleaned and painted.

    The rooms are very quite. The breakfast selection and coffee were good.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The curtains were damaged and let light from the parking lot into the room, the shower wasn't as hot as I would have liked.

    Staff very pleasant, especially breakfast, great bed, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast staff was extremely attentive and worked hard to constantly keep food items stocked and keep tables cleaned. Staff did a god job keeping parking available for guests across from Blue Hen stadium.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing immediately close. The TGIF is very close but was not very good. No fault of the hotel itself but there is nothing in close proximity.

    Room was nice, hotel was clean, staff was friendly. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    the refrigerator was not cold although set to the coldest setting. For this reason I could not,store perishable food in our room.

    The location was perfect for my needs, and the space was ample for everyone and our puppy.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    Perfect location, clean comfortable rooms, very friendly, professional staff, reasonably priced, breakfast included. I would highly recommend and definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay at this hotel was better than we anticipated. The quality of the breakfast was first class and the lovely ladies that prepare it and organise it were also first class. The staff and facilities on offer were brilliant, will definitely be coming back

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really. The bed was not 5 star level of course. But clean and comfortable enough.

    Room was roomy,clean,and kitchen had everything we would need for longer stay. We stayed just one night with two dogs. We travel a lot, sometimes with 5ster hotels. This one was more comfortable.Will use it again.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Check-in took over 30 minutes Dryer was weak (2 cycles to fully dry a small amount of clothes)

    Suite was convenient and roomy 2 TVs! Clean room Friendly staff Pool water was warm Breakfast was delicious (waffles were great!)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    Pillows.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was great!

    The beds were really comfy! The staff at the front desk were really nice!

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    very comfortable bed, just like home, loved it.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Family with older children

    Managers afternoon reception

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk clerk, Liz not hospitable at at all.

    The price the room was ok.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good

    Rates were great for the room we got

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Keys wouldn't work properly

    Room had kitchen and laundry.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    I have paid more for a lot less quality. This is better than embassy suites next door. I will whenever possible stay at a homewood hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the staff weren't very helpfull.

    Rooms are really big and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price per night was increased because of a special event the weekend I stayed, it's called price gauging. Not happy about that at all

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular

    Large rooms, comfortable bed, clean, well equipped bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noisy with 5 children playing in the hallway until almost midnight

    Very pleased with my room and services.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    terrible smell from Kitchen sink

    nice size suite-- spacious

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Free breakfast. Kitchen

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is not enough light to apply makeup.

    Quiet, clean, well appointed suite.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: